Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Lacon Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Shropshire > Wem > Lower Lacon Caravan Park > Reviews

Lower Lacon Caravan Park
Soulton Road
Wem
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY4 5RP
Tel: 01939 232376
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 270
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 149 Reviews
                7/10 from 149 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  149 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Donna Nicholls 10 reviews from this member

 Lower lacon is a big site that caters for all. Staff are really nice and helpful. Plots are very big.

Enough room for caravan awnings wind breakers and car. Even extra room to sit outside.

There's two parks that are well kept. Kids off all ages love it.

There's a good shop on site that caters for everyone's needs. It's a very family oriented site.

It's a very secure site with barriers. Cray golf could do with a bit of tlc. Out door pool with you do have to book in for. It's a little cold but the kids enjoyed it.

There's food outlets with serve good food at reasonable prices. There's two bars one adult and one family bar.

Entertainment in both venues even children's games and singer's.

The staff in jakks barn are brilliant with the children.

So thankyou for a lovely stay.

We will definitely be going back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jodie6 1 review from this member

 Clean site and shower block, well kept and very secure.

Lovely shop on site well stocked and reasonably priced. Parks are great for kids and site is really safe to let them play out.

Loved the animals around the park, the goats and pig were my son's favourite. The cafe on site has a cafe that serves nice food and the club attached to it has a kids club in the day where they do arts and craft and a really lovely feel about the place at night also for families. What made it for us is the lovely lady that works day and night in the club.

Bernie, she is really amazing with the kids and honestly made our holiday with her kindness and efforts as happy kids mean happy parents. She literally runs the place in my opinion and wouldn't be the same without her. Will definitely be coming back soon

Only negative is showers are temperamental in the ladies 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lin933 1 review from this member

 We have going to Wem for many years when my children were little in a trailer tent. We now have grandchildren and we have brought a touring caravan and it is in storage at Wem but we hope to put on a permanent site there to take the grandchildren we have took them before in a hire caravan and they loved it. So hope to have lots of good times next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Derric 1 review from this member

 Enjoyed our stay at Lower Lacon site.

The facilities were suitable for our needs. The staff were friendly.

The only issue was the shower block near us was out of order for a number of days. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Loop EC 1 review from this member

 Very clean facilities. Fun environment at night time. Lots of fairy lights on individual awnings etc making it look fun.

Had great time last visit. Same this visit but some unruly children on the park after 9pm should have been advised to go back to their tents. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pdfoxy 3 reviews from this member

 Perfect place, well organised due to covid restrictions

Toilets and showers cleaned regularly,

Good location for Shrewsbury,

We were on the purple field with a tent and electric hookup, plenty of room on the pitch for a 6 man tent and gazebo. 


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Pineappleray66 1 review from this member

 We have stayed here now a number of times, but this was the first time in our caravan.

The site staff are very friendly and helpful and the site is just about value for money this time of year (visited over the winter months) so the main entertainment spot was closed as well as the on site take away.

We stayed on the hard standing (red Zone) and they where massive with water waste and hook up for each pitch.

I do think it's time for a bit of a make over some parts of the park are looking a bit worn and broken and the toilet/shower blocks could do with a make over.

Don't let this stop you staying though it's a nice camp in a nice area and Wem has some great pub's and take away plus a good sized co-op for supplies. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fremsley 4 reviews from this member

 After ringing around many dozens of campsites across west central England on Bank Holiday weekend-eve, we finally found a space, mainly as we neither wanted an electric hook-up or bought a dog. For those who did, the site was full. We though, were away from the crowds and fully appreciated it. Also allowed fire-pits, which was a blessing when the skies cleared and the temperature plummeted.

Perfectly adequate sized plots, but no division apart from lined ground. Big site, so lots of people- the most tents I've seen outside of a festival or a scout jamboree. Means that there'll be a few selfish so-and-sos amongst them, but everyone we spoke to was lovely.

Site itself is fine. Staff very helpful and well drilled. Loo trip to permanent block at 0730 found all sparkling and hot showers; my son's trip at 1130 had cold water, but understandable. Facilities a little tired, pool needed some tlc. Temporary loos, at least the gents, too smelly for me.

Wem is a mile away, three curry houses and Chinese restaurants, Co-op supermarket. But the sort of place that charges 20 p for the public loo. Shropshire is lovely in the areas around. Went on the close-by Follies walk and climbed the Monument for a breath-taking, if vertigo-inducing, 360 deg view- expensive though, for what is a basically a walk through a bunch of rhododendron, but the sun shone and even the teenagers were happy.

Overall, perfectly fine, really enjoyed our three days, would have stayed longer and saw more of the surrounding area; would go back if needed too. Quiet after 2300 on all three nights. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Carolineuk 1 review from this member

 Fabulous place and lots to do even if weather is typically English,

We had rain, sunshine even a bit of thunder but still had great time with 2 youngsters, 4 & 9 year olds.

Crazy golf even in drizzly rain, take away lunch and play area, then sun came out and the kids went swimming in the outdoor heated pool, then walked around at the pigs, goats, alpacas etc, then later on we

Went to the clubhouse for families which had entertainment singer, bar, and kid friendly staff and their own bar hahaha x plus game machines for kids.

There is an adult only bar as well but we didn't go there but it's for over 18, s.

The pitch was great size and ample room for M/home and Awning.

Will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Radders58 6 reviews from this member

 Just visited this campsite, its a large site stayed 3 nights its a bit on the expensive side, staff welcoming and security good.

Crazy golf has had a poor job done on it not a good surface laid. The toilet cubicles have cobwebs in the windows and vents as mentioned in July 2015 review, swimming pool small but ok.

Definitely need some good rock pegs. No entertainment in Jacks barn during mid week. Been to better sites.

Wem village 5 mins up the road. 


Previous     149 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Lower Lacon Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Lacon Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wem      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4039 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement