Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Lacon Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Wem > Lower Lacon Caravan Park Reviews

Lower Lacon Caravan Park
Soulton Road
Wem
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY4 5RP
Tel: 01939 232376
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 270
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 145 Reviews
                7/10 from 145 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  145 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Loop EC 1 review from this member

 Very clean facilities. Fun environment at night time. Lots of fairy lights on individual awnings etc making it look fun.

Had great time last visit. Same this visit but some unruly children on the park after 9pm should have been advised to go back to their tents. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pdfoxy 3 reviews from this member

 Perfect place, well organised due to covid restrictions

Toilets and showers cleaned regularly,

Good location for Shrewsbury,

We were on the purple field with a tent and electric hookup, plenty of room on the pitch for a 6 man tent and gazebo. 


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Pineappleray66 1 review from this member

 We have stayed here now a number of times, but this was the first time in our caravan.

The site staff are very friendly and helpful and the site is just about value for money this time of year (visited over the winter months) so the main entertainment spot was closed as well as the on site take away.

We stayed on the hard standing (red Zone) and they where massive with water waste and hook up for each pitch.

I do think it's time for a bit of a make over some parts of the park are looking a bit worn and broken and the toilet/shower blocks could do with a make over.

Don't let this stop you staying though it's a nice camp in a nice area and Wem has some great pub's and take away plus a good sized co-op for supplies. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fremsley 4 reviews from this member

 After ringing around many dozens of campsites across west central England on Bank Holiday weekend-eve, we finally found a space, mainly as we neither wanted an electric hook-up or bought a dog. For those who did, the site was full. We though, were away from the crowds and fully appreciated it. Also allowed fire-pits, which was a blessing when the skies cleared and the temperature plummeted.

Perfectly adequate sized plots, but no division apart from lined ground. Big site, so lots of people- the most tents I've seen outside of a festival or a scout jamboree. Means that there'll be a few selfish so-and-sos amongst them, but everyone we spoke to was lovely.

Site itself is fine. Staff very helpful and well drilled. Loo trip to permanent block at 0730 found all sparkling and hot showers; my son's trip at 1130 had cold water, but understandable. Facilities a little tired, pool needed some tlc. Temporary loos, at least the gents, too smelly for me.

Wem is a mile away, three curry houses and Chinese restaurants, Co-op supermarket. But the sort of place that charges 20 p for the public loo. Shropshire is lovely in the areas around. Went on the close-by Follies walk and climbed the Monument for a breath-taking, if vertigo-inducing, 360 deg view- expensive though, for what is a basically a walk through a bunch of rhododendron, but the sun shone and even the teenagers were happy.

Overall, perfectly fine, really enjoyed our three days, would have stayed longer and saw more of the surrounding area; would go back if needed too. Quiet after 2300 on all three nights. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Carolineuk 1 review from this member

 Fabulous place and lots to do even if weather is typically English,

We had rain, sunshine even a bit of thunder but still had great time with 2 youngsters, 4 & 9 year olds.

Crazy golf even in drizzly rain, take away lunch and play area, then sun came out and the kids went swimming in the outdoor heated pool, then walked around at the pigs, goats, alpacas etc, then later on we

Went to the clubhouse for families which had entertainment singer, bar, and kid friendly staff and their own bar hahaha x plus game machines for kids.

There is an adult only bar as well but we didn't go there but it's for over 18, s.

The pitch was great size and ample room for M/home and Awning.

Will definitely go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Radders58 6 reviews from this member

 Just visited this campsite, its a large site stayed 3 nights its a bit on the expensive side, staff welcoming and security good.

Crazy golf has had a poor job done on it not a good surface laid. The toilet cubicles have cobwebs in the windows and vents as mentioned in July 2015 review, swimming pool small but ok.

Definitely need some good rock pegs. No entertainment in Jacks barn during mid week. Been to better sites.

Wem village 5 mins up the road. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richnbex 2 reviews from this member

 Very nice friendly place. Staff in the cafe were great as we're the grounds staff.

Toilets are clean and warm.

You will need hard ground pegs, no matter what you think.

The only downside was the dawn chorus.

Will be back soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janes273 1 review from this member

 Stayed here over the bank holiday and loved our stay! Our two children (5&7) absolutely loved it here and made full use of the playground and swimming pool! Only downside to the site and particularly the pool was the wasp infestation. This is however what you expect in the countryside but maybe management could do more to tackle the problem.

The staff are what make this site so special! From the lady who runs the swimming pool and organises children's entertainment to the reception staff. Positive friendly and helpful! A special mention to a young man who works in the kitchen 'Ben' who never seemed to be out of work all weekend! He was there when we got breakfast in the morning and was still there when we left the club of a night. His confident flamboyant nature didn't falter the entire time and became quiet a hit with the kids. Little things like bringing food out to feed the pigs with the children really make a difference and I feel his attitude sums up everything this site is about!

Massive thumbs up! Will he returning! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snaffles101 1 review from this member

 Our first time here and I think I agree with some of the previous reviews I have read. The site is a little dated, which is a shame as it has the making of being a gem really, shame about some of the ground its full of rocks, stones etc we really struggled on pitch 29, use really decent rock pegs!

You are allocated set pitches when you book, which means being quite close to people especially on the electric hook up field, also you have to pitch tent a certain way, apparently the owner keeps it this way because of the council, it feels a tad regimental though. Toilets and shower clean enough, no charge for showers. There is however a 10p charge for hot water to wash up.

The outdoor heated swimming pool is a hit, although all 4 children with me, got cuts and grazes on the rough sides of the pool, below the water level.

The children's marquee outside the Windmill bar as advertised on the website is nothing more than a glorified gazebo, open to the elements and next to the road (5mph speed limit ).

Jakks barn is ok, but there's only really entertainment at weekends, alright for a few drinks and change of scenery.

The indoor amusements consisted of a few machines in jakks barn, lots of small toy machines, 20p and 1 coins are a must if you have children haha

There is an on site cafe, or you can get local take away menus from reception and they deliver to site. There is a shop which is well stocked with essentials on site, you can also hire freezer blocks for 1. 50, you get a 1 back when you return freezer blocks back.

There are various animals around the park, which is nice and 2 fab play areas, also crazy golf, which is again in need of a little tlc

Wem is a very short drive away, has various take aways, hardware shop, a decent sized co-op, and various other small shops. Its only a small village

We had a good time apart from inconsiderate campers, camping behind us on our last night, loud till 1am, then loud again at 6 am.

We found this site to be ok, but would not revisit. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Jules2007 1 review from this member

 We had a fantastic break here. Our children made many new friends and are eager to return. They spent many hours in the wooded area exploring. Our accommodation in the top of the range static was immaculate.

The reception, bar staff and wardens were extremely helpful, informative and friendly. The pool was a big hit and we were warmly welcomed by Bernie. The cafe was good value for money and we can highly recommend the homemade pizzas.

We found the toilet block and showers immaculate !The on site shop was fully stocked and reasonably priced, great pocket money prices for children's gifts and treats. Jakks barn has a pool table and air hockey table and numerous affordable prize machines for children.

The alcohol is reasonably priced with some great offers. Having the cute alpacas, goats, pigs, chipmunks and chickens was an extra bonus. The pretty town of Wem is a short car ride away and easily walkable.

There are a host of good pubs, dr's surgery, chemist and co-op. The train station is very handy for a day out in beautiful Shrewsbury. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly be returning again in the future.

Natasha Hamilton and Ritchie Neville. 


Previous     145 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Lower Lacon Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Lacon Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wem      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6732 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement