Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Llyn Gwynant Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Nantgwynant > Llyn Gwynant Campsite Reviews

Llyn Gwynant Campsite
Hafod Lwyfog
Nantgwynant
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4NW
Tel: 01766 890 302
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 440
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 141 Reviews
                9/10 from 141 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zimcamper 1 review from this member

 What an amazing campsite! 6 of us (4 adults and 2 kids) regularly head off for a weekend in the wild and thought we'd give our old favourite a miss because it always seems to rain when we go.

Needless to say, we weren't unhappy with our choice! As you drive over the stunning mountain approach road you get a real sense of being well away from the hustle and bustle of modern life and then way down below you Llyn Gwynant awaits.

The staff: from the time of signing in, to all the other interactions while there was flawless! When they say no radios they mean it and so they should. When they say no rowdy groups they mean it and why not.

The kayaking was brilliant and the guy who runs it was very helpful and despite it being a roasting weekend with more then 200 tents there he never once lost his temper, always had a smile and really took care of everyone renting one of his kayaks.

The pitches were great. You can pitch, if you get there early enough, with full awesome views of the lake / river or get away from it on one of their back fields. Yes, some of the site if very boggy but it was fine this weekend because it hadn't rained for a few days. It gets a bit windy at night being in a valley but nothing you can't handle.

Facilities: all this site needs is a little seasonal shop selling eggs, milk and home baked bread provided by local farmers and it would score off the Richter scale! The toilets were amazingly clean considering how busy it was and surprisingly they were free: we're used to paying everywhere else we stay. Free fire pits were available and logs (4/bag) were sold between 6pm and 8:30pm, which means it's a camp fire lovers paradise, also great for keeping the midges away!

We will definitely go back but will make sure we ask if/when and where the film crews will turn up.

PS - leave your mobiles behind because there's no reception, give Bedgellert a miss if you need anything because it, along with the shop in the opposite direction at Capel Curig are a rip off. If you need anything make sure you take it with you or drive a little further and get what you need in Betwys y Coed. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SlackPacker 4 reviews from this member

  For me, this is the perfect site if you want to 'get away from it all'. There isn't even any mobile phone signal here! The only things I can say about this place are good. It has everything any discerning camper or adventurer could want. Nice pitches, lots of space, a huge lake with a supplying river tributary, which is great if you have personal water craft or you can take advantage of the kayak-hire at weekends.

Not to mention the fact that you are in the company of some of the area's finest and biggest mountains! Which are worth the trip here to go and explore alone!

I came here with a group of friends, some of whom had never camped in their lives (average age 30+), and everyone was in agreement that it is a wonderful campsite to be in, in spectacular surroundings.

The staff are very friendly, the showers, toilets and washing-up facilities are more than adequate, and there's a phonebox on-site if you need to keep in touch with the outside world.

However, they don't allow music blaring out from sound systems anytime, which in my opinion is a good thing, as there are other sites around which will cater for that. And being in the mountain environment it is, if the weather turns it really turns. Be warned!

All-in-all, a very well run, well looked after and friendly site, and while not everybody has the same tastes or needs or wants in regards to site selection, in my opinion, I couldn't find fault with it. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pheel 7 reviews from this member

 Just like all the other reviews say. It's a great site! good facilities, great location, friendly staff, ideal for walking, have fire pits and wood for sale but the ground is quite boggy in certain places and also due to it being in a valley it gets rather windy at times. The campsite is on the edge of the lake and canoe's can be hired for around 10 an hour.

Overall I thought it was a great site and will be going back there for sure. 


Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mr_turkish 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed at this site with my wife, my daughter(15) and our friends. We all loved it.

We found the staff friendly and helpful.
The facilities were basic but well maintained and clean.
This site was ideal for us, as we intended to climb mount Snowdon.
We were there early in the season, so it was very quiet, which is what we were looking for.
I love the fact that you can have camp fires, as long as it is in a fire box and the wood is bought on site.
As we were there in late march, the weather was freezing, I woke up to find that my breath had condensed and frozen all around the tent, we were later told that the temperature had fallen to -5.
I love this place and shall be returning again soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ian_h 2 reviews from this member

 I don't want to sound like I'm exaggerating, but this campsite is everything that's right with Britain today! Let me explain:

The facilities are simple and effective. From the clean, adequate toilet and wash facilities through to the helpful and cheerful staff, I could find no fault with the services on site at all. Okay there's no mobile phone signal and no electrical hook-up, but if you're here to camp, why do you need those things so urgently anyway? Go to Majorca.

The setting is idyllic. Being bordered by such majestic mountains is great, but to have the attraction of a glistening lake to greet you each day and to look so wondrous and mystical of an evening just puts icing on an already delicious cake. Trust me, even on a freezing April morning you will alight from your door and your jaw will drop at how gorgeous this place looks.

The added bonus of Llyn Gwynant is the fire pits. These are portable steel units that you borrow from the camp office and set with wood purchased on site for a reasonable 4 for a bag that will warm you all evening. There is something magical about sitting around a fire, and in these times of excessive safety constraints it's great to see a site that takes the time to alert you to safe fire practices while encouraging you to participate in what must truly be one of the greatest elements of the traditional camp experience. It was the best opportunity I could think of to teach my own son about firecrafting.

My apologies if this review seems long or pretentious. I've been on camping holidays since I was 6 - that's almost 33 years now - and I can recall no site which is better served, better located, or better maintained. Unless you're into your 21st century mod-cons, you will love this site. No word of a lie: a true British treasure. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattwilde66 2 reviews from this member

 Probably the best site I've been to.

The people who ran the place were very friendly and helpful. The site has got loads of space so even though it was the bank holiday weekend, it didn't seem that crowded. The best bit is the fires. The smoke made the atmosphere on an evening brilliant. No noise or trouble at all though. Very peaceful indeed.

The toilets and facilities were spot on. You had to wait for washing up sink at meal times but if your savvy just avoid these times. Showers are free which is a bonus. An extra 4 hidden around the back of the block. The weather report on the wall was handy each day as the mountains were the main reason we went there.

We got use of the freezer for ice blocks each day for nowt. Just mark yours up and the wardens look after it for you. Wood was 4 a bag. Only really needed one bag per night.

Nothing really bad to say about the site. Can't wait to come back! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kev99 3 reviews from this member

 This is truly a stunning place to stay . Facilities are excellent the atmosphere is perfect. We found the location to be very central and there are 2 towns 15 mins away but other wise its very isolated but very easily accessible. Being in the mountains if the weather turns it turns - they update the weeks weather daily in the toilet block so you know what's coming. Will definitely be going back 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Delphi 36 reviews from this member

 Stayed here on May Bank Holiday Weekend with a group of friends in tents and a motorhome. Between us, there was 3 children under 5, and a baby.

This place is stunning. The campsite can do no wrong when it has a location as beautiful as this. If you have a canoe/kayak/inflatables, then you have a lake and shallow river right by you, and a beach or sorts that will be good for young children to splash around in. But even so, the mountains surround you in such a dramatic way, you could just sit by your tent and stare at them all day.

Any other time of the year, I would probably find no fault. When we arrived on the Friday morning, the site seemed enormous and spacious, and you could pick and choose amidst many level fields. Some fields are closed to cars, so you have to park up and carry your camping gear onwards. Our friends joined us, and all seemed fine.

But as the Bank Holiday weekend progressed, more and people crowded onto the site, and there is no organisation. It was like a festival.Cars became trapped between the tents.The huge numbers of people stretched the facilities which amounted to one big cow-shed type block.

Fires are allowed, in the sites' own 'cages', which is good, but I wonder how safe it is to have people camping so close to each other like that with fires burning etc.

Wardens patrol the site to keep down the noise after dark, which is good. Definitely a stunner of a campsite, but just be prepared for a festival atmosphere at Bank Holiday. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DJ Dunk 1 review from this member

 We stayed hear last September . . . It was wet . . . REALLY wet!

We had a 4x4 so managed to get into the upper field just fine and watched as many tried a failed to get their cars through the muddy field.

It got so wet that the guys running the site closed off the field and wouldn't let anyone else in, good for us as we had loads of space!

Anyway, what a fantastic location, truly stunning. All the mud, rain and general squelchyness faded away when we strolled up the mountains admiring the view.

Very well run site, the guys were very friendly, helpful and pleasant. Facilities were plentiful and clean enough. Never had trouble getting a shower, even though getting the showers was such a hazard though the boggy field!

On a sunny day it must be truly incredible.

Its a fair way out and a difficult turn in off of the main road, but well worth the journey.

Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liverbird08 13 reviews from this member

 It is a very beautiful site, very well located for walks to Snowdonia, and wonderful to hear the wind rolling across the valleys and the lake. Facilities fine, very 'green' site for recycling. The young staff were just lovely, kind and sweet as I must have seemed a bit hapless once my tent collapsed. I would recommend this site for hardy campers / walkers in late season for the great walks and sights (and it was very quiet), and for families in better weather for the sheer location plus kayaking must be fun in the summer.
Would love to go back as a family in the summer. Great value I thought at only 6 per person, firewood extra but plenty to get a good fire going for 4, keep the fire pits a good distance from your tent as the wind carries sparks a good way.

If you go, keep an eye on the weather as this is quite a boggy site, all around the loos and the wash up area was very muddy and wet so wellies a must. 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Llyn Gwynant Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Llyn Gwynant Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Llyn Gwynant Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Nantgwynant      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4605 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement