Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Llyn Gwynant Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Nantgwynant > Llyn Gwynant Campsite Reviews

Llyn Gwynant Campsite
Hafod Lwyfog
Nantgwynant
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4NW
Tel: 01766 890 302
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 440
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 141 Reviews
                9/10 from 141 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Thkta0 11 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here a couple of times over the years, generally just for weekends. Love that you don't have to book and can just turn up and you always get a warm welcome. Very relaxed site with no set pitches, choose the spot that suits your needs. Great that you can have camp fires and brilliant that firewood is provided at low cost. Great kayaking on the lake, makes for a relaxing time or if walking is your fancy great to walk snowdon from here, twice now we have walked from the site up and down snowdon, particularly as the road from the site up to snowdon is so quiet just like being on a footpath. Shower facilities could do with a bit of improvement, but are good, when last here in June it looked like a new block maybe being built. Dishwashing facilities just fine. One of our favourite spots, not much around no town in walking distance but a nice relaxed site great for a quiet weekend. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oneof8 10 reviews from this member

 Just came home from this site and it was BRILLIANT!

The site is quite large, but the site is set up into fields, so it doesn't 'feel' huge. There are no official pitches and you can set up where there is space. The fire pits are plentiful and are dotted all around the edges of the various areas. We did think that maybe we'd not manage to find one as maybe there would not be enough for everyone, but as soon as we arrived we saw them dotted all around the outskirts of the camping areas, we even used one for the base of out stove and there were still plenty left for everyone else. There is only 1 shower block, this was behind the toilet block - though the is 1 shower in both male and female loos - 7 were open when we stayed. These were lovely and hot and FREE, just keep pushing the button in to keep the flow going. There were also about 6 porta loos in one of the fields, but only 1 was open during our stay as the site was not very full. But it was great not to trudge across the fields to the loos during the night.

There were only 2 negatives about the site, the female block smelled as if the drains/cess pit needed sorting and the other negative really isn't the sites fault, a group turned up very late on our last night, stayed up talking way past the absolute silence time (I think they didn't really go to bed as when I did the loo run at 5 am, they were still noisy). They then blocked the track to the field with their cars and became very shirty when asked to move. They had a go at the wardens who were trying to get them to behave like regular human beings. When we left, they were still remonstrating with the wardens. Despite all that, we'd go back there again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wave22 4 reviews from this member

 I want to start by saying this is a dreadful site and should be avoided at all costs. I say this because hopefully this will deter people and keep this camping jewel a secret to anybody who chooses to read just the first line of reviews.

A more picturesque site you would struggle to find. Set in a valley of Snowdonian beauty this Gem is simple and very uncomplicated. No music, no radios, no shop, no pub and little tolerance for people who don't abide by the expectations/rules that are respectful to the environment they protect.

Its a family site, not really for a group of lads. The toilets are adequate, we were there during August bank holiday and it was guy rope to guy rope. In my opinion too busy, but to be fair at times you would think you were the only people there because many people settled early and with the no radio rule, the only noises are guitars, wood crackling on fires and people chatting.

The fire bins provided were ideal and there is a man who comes to sell logs at reasonable prices. Shops etc are quite a drive away (10/20mins) as you are quite remote and mobile phone reception isnt good so if you are here you very much feel cut off.

You can hire canoes, kyaks etc and row on the fantastic lake or up and down the river, or you can take your own as many do. Our kids loved getting their wet suits on and paddling in the lake and river.

Mosquitoes can be a big problem so be prepared.

One of the only negatives I have is that it is prone to flooding and the ground can get very waterlogged. Also with tents being so close this meant other peoples fire pits are also. And whilst you may be careful with your fire, I worried that others may not be so attentive.

All in all, this is a great site to enjoy nature and simplicity. Just keep it to yourself! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dawnymac28 4 reviews from this member

 This campsite is in an absolutely stunning location and has the added bonus of a lake and a river, both of which you can camp beside if you so wish. Even if you just camp in the main fields away from the water, as we did, with our young toddler, you have stunning views of the mountains towering above you and there is plenty of space to allow for a green area in the middle.

As some reviewers have mentioned, you do camp away from your car, but each field has space for parking round the edge, so you are within a few metres of your car, it's really not too much of a faff in my opinion, and makes for a nice social atmosphere.

The firepits were plentiful and wood easily available on site. We were there in July and the midges were out in force, I guess because it's by the lake. They seem to swarm about 6pm ish for an hour or so, you need a good insect repellent and to be ready in your long sleeved tops and trousers by the time they make their appearance. It is a bit unpleasant but it did not detract from the overall beauty of the site, it's just a minor irritation.

We had breakfast in the Caffe Gwynant, just a few minutes down the road near the lake - really unusual setting in a converted chapel and few nice tables on a terrace outside. Reasonable prices and really good quality ingredients.

You can hire canoes and all sorts at the campsite and there were loads of people swimming in the lake while we were there, glorious.

The only downside was the fact that in total there are 7 showers (1 in each of the male and female toilets (not very inviting), then 5 at the back of the block - nicer), which for a site which can take up to 500 people does not seem adequate. That said, we did take showers while we were there and it was just a case of 'picking your moment', if you know what I mean. The toilet facilities were fine, nothing special but perfectly acceptable and clean.

There was a disabled toilet which included a baby change for those of you with small children, and all of the showers were big enough to bring them in with you.

It is not the cheapest of sites but in my opinion absolutely worth the money to be in prime National Park territory and with all amenities close at hand, including amazing walks and scenery. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joolsr 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned home from this great site, although unexpectedly early as the rivers have burst their banks and when we left on 10/08/11 at 8pm most of the site was either under the raging torrent of the rivers or covered in huge puddles.

If all has subsided would highly recommend this site for its location. Staff are on hand and really friendly, although when your tent is a foot under water it would have been nice for them to give us a hand rather than leave us to it.

Firepits are free wood £4 a bag and a great way to beat the midges.

You can take your own canoe and access to the river and lake is easy, just carry it from your tent, was brilliant.

Did Snowdon from the site up Watkins and down Ryd Du easily during the day, as before great location

Apart from nearly losing the tent down the river would definitely go back again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Extremetrader 4 reviews from this member

 Due to the no advance booking policy which was lucky for us, we arrived on the bank holiday Saturday at 1030. The site was already full.

We had looked at the weather forecast before leaving home but it stated very light rain and this was intermittent.

When we arrived we drove through approximately 25 minutes of torrential rainfall until we got to site. A number of people were already packing up and leaving the site due to some of it being underwater.

The warden approached our car ready to take money from us for the visit but luckily we had friends with children who had not yet arrived and we were allowed to park up for a recon of the site.

After 30 minutes walking (sightseeing of the lake) and wading through the mud where the tent pitches were we gave up and went back to the car. Some tents were sitting in big pools of water and packed in like sardines. Also the cars can't be parked right next to the tent although the car is not too far away on the road.

My initial verdict is that this site is ideal for walkers if it wasn't for the unpredictable valley weather and those with canoes for the lake. Other than that not much to do for those with smaller children unless you are taking them for a walk up Snowdon.

Facilities were also a fair walk depending on where you were sited.

I could imagine the breath taking scenery with the sun shining and the ground being dry. But unfortunately it was wet and cold.

Would I return to this site? Not unless my sole intent was to walk up Snowdon or boating on the lake. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Moonstone 9 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from an 11 night stay at Llyn Gwynant and have to say what a spectacularly beautiful setting for a campsite. We only paid £6 per night for our entire stay (1 tent / 2 people), so were extremely happy pricewise.

After an atrocious start, having to pack the car in torrential rain, we arrived at a dry Llyn Gwynant just as the sun was going down which meant erecting the tent by the light of our head torches. It also meant that we basically pitched on the most level piece of ground we could find in the shortest amount of time.

The midges were relentless during pitching and our first night was a bitterly cold one, so we ended up sleeping in our clothes, plus we had to utilise every available blanket we had with us, but the scene that greeted us the following morning was well worth a little initial discomfort.

Over the next few days we experienced a real mix of weather that would change in a heartbeat, ranging from dead calm with no breeze whatsoever accompanied by blazing hot sunshine to showers with a medium to strong breeze. However we were sheltered on two sides by stands of trees, so the breeze didn't really affect us too much. At least not at first.

We spent our time exploring the local area, taking in a wide range of attractions from South Stack on Anglesey, Portmeirion, Caernarfon Castle and of course the stunning surrounding landscape. Porthmadog, just a few miles down the road, was great for stocking up on supplies as it had a Tesco, Lidl and Aldi all within walking distance of each other, plus Beddgelert was home to the River Garden Guest House which has a very nice take away fish and chip outlet tagged onto the side of it. Just a reminder though, if you're fancying a chip supper make it a relatively early one as the kitchens close at 8pm.

The campsite lies at the base of the foothills of Snowdon and is perfect for many adventure activities such as walking, swimming and kayaking. It's also perfect if you just want to relax and enjoy the surroundings as camp fires (the site can provide metal firebox stands free of charge, but firewood must be bought on site) and raised barbeques are allowed, but radios aren't. Llyn Gwynant definitely offers up something for everyone.

The midge situation could have been much worse, but even so both my partner and I were bitten many times even after using midge repellent sprays etc. The supply of antihistamines we took with us helped to take the edge off of the itching though!

The facilities were more than adequate with plenty of free hot water, however careful choosing of toilet stalls is a necessity as the local swallows have claimed roosting rights to the rafters. Try not to use a stall with a swallow perched directly over your head or you'll spend your 'quiet time' constantly fretting over the fact that your little feathered friend might choose that exact moment to drop a well timed 'blessing' from above! The dish washing areas are in open covered lean to's on either end of the shower block and have decently sized sinks and draining boards. It might be an idea to take your own universal plug though if you don't have a washing up bowl of your own.

Cooler blocks can be handed in at reception where the wardens will freeze them free of charge in one of the two available freezers. Do write your names on your blocks or the bag they're tied up in however to make sure you can reclaim them easily. Speaking of the wardens they're a friendly bunch who keep the site nice and clean which is always a bonus. You're also advised to keep your camping receipt on your car dashboard at all times whilst on the campsite as the wardens will check it each time you enter the area, plus regularly wander around the site checking receipts whilst on the lookout for non-paying or overstaying interlopers!

If you're the type of person who requires an EHU then you'll be out of luck as there are none at Llyn Gwynant. There is also no mobile phone reception for any network. A public payphone on the outside of the reception building is available in case urgent calls need to be made. Recycling is required to be carried out by all campers staying on site, but regular daily trips to the designated bins situated near the shower block means this isn't a problem.

Unfortunately for us the weather closed in on our last few days at Llyn Gwynant and we experienced torrential rain and gale force winds (with up to 70mph gusts) of the like we've never experienced before whilst camping. Our Monty 6, pitched with Delta pegs and extra guys, stood up well to the persistent onslaught, but I have to admit the amount of flexing and creaking was nerve-racking! The gusts were strong enough to snap one of the poles of our windbreak plus completely pull out a couple of our non-Delta pegs and the rain eventually forced its way in through the zips, but faced with adverse conditions like this it was only to be expected. The 2 tents pitched closest to us were both damaged by the storm, one had its front zip broken and the other almost entirely collapsed, but judging by the amount of broken tents and sodden equipment dumped in the bins by reception there must have been many other unfortunate casualties.

We pitched with a footprint, but with this level of rainfall plus the extreme wind conditions a lot of muddy water was forced between the footprint and the SIG. However this wasn't a patch on the amount of water that was forced in under the footprint. The rain and wind started late on Friday afternoon and continued without letting up all through the weekend, so the ground beneath our tent gradually turned more and more swampy. By Sunday night the only solid land in our living area was a slightly raised island dead centre, so this was where our chairs and table ended up. Walking around this island was like walking on a carpet placed on top of a blancmange. Our feet left indentations at least 2 or 3 inches deep!

By Monday morning (our designated packing up day) conditions still hadn't improved and it took us an age to get everything packed up and stored away. Everything we carried from the tent to the car got thoroughly drenched, as did we, but thankfully we had the foresight to pack a couple of plastic bags with dry clothes and a towel so we could change in the shower block before setting off for home. Even our poor Monty had to be returned to its bag with a lake of water trapped within the SIG equivalent in size to Llyn Gwynant itself.

The time to vacate pitches is 2pm, but we stayed much longer than this as the weather hindered our every move, however the wardens were kind enough not to charge us an extra fee for doing so. I'd have happily paid the extra £3 though if I'd had to, but don't tell the wardens that!

All in all Llyn Gwynant is a lovely site in an even lovelier location and we wouldn't hesitate to return there. Having stayed there once we now know of the best areas to pitch a tent to avoid the worst of the winds, so will be sure to pitch there next time! The best advice I can give is if youíre planning to pay the site a visit then be prepared for just about any type of weather possible. Pitch sensibly, use Deltas and extra guys if necessary, but most of all have fun and donít let fickle Mother Nature get you down. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: T3 BYK 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights middle of June 2011. First time at this site. It is ideal location for walking Snowdon. On day 1 parked in Nantgwynnant, just down the road from the site, at start of Watkin Path and on day 2 caught the Sherpa for Pen y pass and Crib Goch.

Beddgelert is close enough by car for some wonderful ice cream and basic provisions at the end of a day walking.

The camp site was perfect for me. Warm showers, clean toilet block, quiet campers, in the midst of stunning scenery and only £7 per night.

Wardens very friendly, few rules, just be responsible and enjoy the idyllic location. Will definitely go back and highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grumpysimon 21 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Gwynant with a group of friends for 5 days during Whit week. Arrived on the Weds following bank holiday, weather was chilly and very low lying fog and mist. Also strong winds blowing across the lake.

You pay on arrival or if warden hut is unattended they will catch you later. The site wasn't particularly busy but the prime locations had all been bagged. We were looking for a spot large enough for 4 big units so were limited in that respect. Anyway, found our spot in what we though was a more sheltered area and pitched back to the wind.

Chilly and damp on the first night but weather improved on Thursday morning. Quick trip to Betwys y Coed and then on to the Pen Y Pass to walk up Snowdon.

Weather was lovely in the afternoon and for the rest of our stay. The kids loved the river and once they had found the rope swing were in their element. The site is in a stunning location and ideal for walking, climbing etc. Good place for kids with plenty to do and the accessibility of the river and lake make it excellent for families.

Canoe hire is available and we spent an enjoyable hour on the river and lake.

The facilities are basic but fine, it did get a little over run by the weekend with the toilets and showers struggling to cope with the demand. The sooner the new facilities block is built the better.

Firepits are supplied and you have to buy their wood at £4 per bag. Shops in Betwys, Llanberis and a convenience store in Capel Curig but all require a drive to stock up on provisions.

We walked from the site down by the lake and ended up at the start of the Watkin Path on Friday - 8 adults and 9 children. Lovely walk through varied terrain and took about 1.5 hrs. The weather was glorious and there is a lovely cafe at the end. Ice creams, cups of tea and cold beer. Actually went and had lunch in the cafe before leaving on Sunday which was superb. I gather their breakfasts are pretty good.

Would certainly recommend the site, location is everything. It can cater for all, from the serious walker and climber to families. Everyone appeared to respect the 11pm noise curfew and although their were groups of people, ourselves included, it was friendly and peaceful. It's not 5* in terms of facilities but doesn't try to be. I think the weather really made it for us, can imagine it gets very wet at times.

Middle of the road price wise - £7 per adult and £4 per child per night. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MBSLT 5 reviews from this member

 Spent one night here on possibly THE wettest/wildest night in May.

A little unimpressed by the attitude of the person on the gate. It was left to me to decide where to pitch with no recommendations and as he didn't take names or I think much notice he had no idea where the group I was meeting were likely to be!

The site is spread over a wide area and some sections were very boggy with little shelter from the wind.

Toilets /showers and sinks were clean and water was lovely and hot. There didn't seem to be sufficient facilities given the size of the site - in better weather I could imagine there being quite a queue.

If you need EHU / play areas and on site shops this site is not for you.

If on the other hand you want GREAT VIEWS, and a base for exploring Snowdonia on foot then go for it - it's beautiful. 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Llyn Gwynant Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Llyn Gwynant Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Llyn Gwynant Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Nantgwynant      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4761 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement