Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Llyn Gwynant Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Nantgwynant > Llyn Gwynant Campsite Reviews

Llyn Gwynant Campsite
Hafod Lwyfog
Nantgwynant
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4NW
Tel: 01766 890 302
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 440
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 141 Reviews
                9/10 from 141 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dazzy M 1 review from this member

 We are absolutely novices at camping! Although we camped out as kids for the odd night and got drunk, we hadn't really organised a camping trip before. Last month 'Shell island' in Wales was used to pop our camping cherry so to speak!

This time we decided to look on the internet for campsites in Wales and it was pretty much luck of the drawer! Me and my friends and in there late 20's and 30's with little or no experience in camping. We chose this one because the pictures looked amazing and it seemed to have all the amenities we needed.

We left to travel to the campsite on the 6th August using sat nav as a guide. What ever you do 'dont' use Nokia's Maps as your guide! Use a proper sat nav like a tom tom. When we relied on my Nokia phone, it got us within about 3 miles of the campsite, then decided to take a random right turn into the mountains! Odd!

The campsite itself is set on a beautiful lake, and you are guarded by a massive mountain with Kamikaze sheep grazing on it. The views really are outstanding both leading up to site and on the site itself. There are very good shower and washing facilities and hot water comes included with the £9 per night pitching fee (Tents) They offer boat and Kayak hire on site and its brilliant. We hired a few out and paddled out into the massive lake and marvelled at the scenery, and even got out and jumped off the rocks at 'Elephant point'. We befriended John the boat hire guy and he made us feel welcome and was really friendly and helpful. We also had a drink (Several) with him into the early hours of Sunday morning the next day!

Didnt seem much to do for children mind (only if your children like long walks and

Kayaking). This site and location to me, seemed more geared up for the serious walker/hiker type of outdoor person.

The only criticism about the site was that there is a 'no music ban', (this includes during the day too!) and no talking after midnight! Now as an adult in his 30's, when I go away from the stresses of life and my career, I'm going to want to unwind, relax and enjoy a drink with my good friends, and sometimes this inevitably leads to chatting and drinking till early hours! However I appreciate that people leads different lifestyles, have varying tolerance levels, and come on camping trips for different reasons, so I guess its a 'reasonable' campsite rule!

Saying that it never affected the absolute enjoyment we had at this brilliant campsite. We plan to come again 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cmc010809 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site overlooking the lake with lovely views of Snowdonia.

The campsite is really big there are no set pitches so you can set up camp anywhere. There is no electric on the site so itís back to basics with keeping milk cold in the lake water! The toilet and showers are kept clean and seem to be cleaned about three times a day which is good. Camp fires are allowed but you have to use the fire pits which are laying around the campsite, just take one to your pitch and you have to buy wood from the site (£4 per bag). Dogs are allowed on the site. It is worth noting that you can not get a mobile signal here but there is a pay phone.

You can hire canoes (£5 per person) and wet suits at the site and spend an hour on the lake. The water is shallow enough for a paddle and if you are feeling brave a swim! On one part of the lake is an area where you can jump into the water from the rocks!

You just turn up on the day and can not book in advance unless you are a group of over 20 people. The site owners seem a bit uneasy about having big groups of teenagers / young adults.

There is no shop on the site so donít forget anything! The nearest shop is about six miles away.

This is the perfect place to relax and unwind with a book and we would recommend a visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RonBrett 2 reviews from this member

 Great site with lots for the kids to do. The toilet block was clean and although we visited on a busy weekend they were kept clean. Something to be aware of is that there is no mobile reception at all on site (which can be a bonus).

There is a river and lake for the kids to play in and the site hire out kayaks and canoes for the kids. There are no electrical hookups however the site allows campfires as long as you buy the wood on site (for £4 a bag).

There are no set pitches so you can camp basically where you like as long as you stay 3m from other campers (which some people unfortunately would choose to ignore). As another reviewer mentioned, the site could benefit from a small site shop selling milk, bread etc.

Great campsite with friendly staff. We will be going back. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taz38 3 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site at the base of Snowdon (well actually Gallt y Wenallt), offering stunning views, level pitches, clean shower block, and canoe hire (as well as offering adventure days).

There's a small river to play in, rocks to climb, small 'caves' to explore, oak / ash woods to walk through, camp-fires to light and sit round at night or just chill out.

The site could benefit from more toilets and maybe a little shop selling milk / bread etc.

We all really enjoyed our stay and will be back soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davelozman 3 reviews from this member

 A nice site set in great country side. There is plenty of showers and toilets, although I only noticed 2 washing up sinks which wouldn't be ideal if the site was busy.

The ground was good and flat so pitching was no bother.

The site allows camp fires which is a nice touch but they insist on using wood which is bought on site, to prevent people from raiding the wooded ares of the site. So don't take your own wood as wee did.

The local pub however, which is 2 miles away from the site ,I wasn't that impressed with. The beer was expensive at £4 a pint, they also don't serve food until 1930 hours. After walking 16 miles to the summit of Snowdon and being in the hotel at 1800 this was disappointing. There was plenty of other people coming down of the mountain past the hotel at this point so they are losing out in my opinion.

The Staff at the site are friendly and keep an eye on your pitch while we were out which was reassuring. We had to pay for each of our nights on the day as each night was charged at different rates but we were hiking early and couldn't pay for 2nd night. On returning from our hike that evening we checked in at the Wardens hut and they knew exactly were we were pitched etc.

Over all I thought the campsite was good. The local scenery is so impressive it makes it worth a visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Muggle1105 2 reviews from this member

 Wow! We've had such an amazing weekend here full off relaxation! Our party was two adults, a 9 yr old and a 6 yr old. We had a real mixed bag of weather from downpours and gales to beautiful sunshine. Bear in mind when pitching that the wind normally comes down the valley, not across the lake like I thought! We had a pitch right by the lake which was just beautiful.

There is no playground for children but mine would disappear with their new friends or their bikes for hours on end, digging on the beach area, exploring, climbing up little hills and rolling down etc.Good old fashioned fun!

The campsite suited us down to the ground but I can understand it wouldn't be for everyone. Don't think there is any EHU and it is not a site with perfect grass and flower beds.

Their no noise policy is later than many sites but no radios or stereos are allowed. If you like sitting around a campfire and listening to a guitar being strummed whilst others sing, then this is the site for you. My children were able to go to sleep no problem with this low level laid back noise.

It is a back to basics traditional type of campsite so facilities are basic and purposely so but perfectly adequate. Although I think the newer showers round the back need a little thinking, maybe a bench or something would help rather than just a few coat hooks.

The views are stunning and boats are available fo hire. Great location for climbing, walking, canoeing etc or just for that time out. There is no mobile phone signal on any network, therefore no one can bother you!

There is no shop on site but for me that was an advantage as the kids weren't constantly asking for things. There are plenty of local attractions nearby such as the Copper Mine, beaches, Port Mirian (?) etc. We will be voting with our feet and returning again this year as requested by both of my children. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikerego 3 reviews from this member

 Great location to get away from it all.

PROs: Amazing location with large mountain overlooking site, lake and stream on edge of camping area, clean spacious toilet, shower block and washing up area, lots of space, open fires allowed in metal fire-pits provided (wood available to buy), website excellent and clear, close to Snowdon, cars not allowed in tent pitching area

CONs: Some areas further into site damaged by water logging (though this did not affect us at all), might be less peaceful in peak season as is a fairly large site

Would definitely recommend this site to all, we had a great couple of days and would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RandT 4 reviews from this member

 Well what can we say about this campsite other than wow! Great location, good facilities, plenty of showers, toilets and hot water and everywhere was kept clean. The staff were great, really friendly and always happy to help. Iron fire pits are provided which is a great idea as they are easily moved and keeps the grass from getting burnt, although you can only burn wood sold on the site at £4 a bag. Overall this is so far the best site we have visited and we will definitely be camping here again! It's not the cheapest of campsites but we tend to think you get what you pay for and we don't mind paying a little more for a great site like this! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Delphi 36 reviews from this member

 The location for this site is it's strength, and that is what you pay for, because it is relatively expensive, considering the quality of facilities and conditions. You are surrounded by mountains, in the heart of Snowdonia, and close to climbing, walking and lake canoeing.

However, there are other smaller, cheaper sites in the area that you could check out, that may not be listed on guides, but can be spotted from the road.

I have camped here on two occasions. Last time, it was dry, but got so crowded, that people could not move their vehicles, because they were blocked in by tents that had been put up in the night with no guidance. This is a Health & Safety issue. If someone needed emergency services for example, it would be a problem for access. When you pay £19 a night, you expect more.

On this latest occasion, the site was waterlogged. Staff decided to block vehicles off from driving across the fields on our second night, but it was a case of closing the barn door after the horse has bolted. The site was already deeply rutted and full of mud holes when we had arrived the day before.

Another reviewer has mentioned the microclimate. I tend to agree. On both occasions, I have found that there is a very strong wind that channels down the steep, narrow sided valley. This needn't put off the more hardened camper though, as you can fully appreciate the wildness of being in the heart of the mountains. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jell 2 reviews from this member

 I was a little surprised to see holnic1's review, as I stayed here in August and had a much more positive experience.

It was my first visit to the site, and despite the ground being very soggy underfoot after days of heavy rain, we had a good stay. Two families had come up to do some walking in the mountains, and we found Llyn Gwynant to be an excellent base.

The location is wonderful, and we found the staff to be polite and friendly. They helped us find a good spot and gave us advice on local shopping and facilities. Some areas of the site had been fenced off, presumably as they were too wet, and the remaining areas were busy but not too squashed in. People seemed to be generally quiet and respectful of others, and we didn't suffer from noisy neighbours.

The toilet/shower block is basic, but clean, and everything worked. (A contrast to a few other sites I've stayed at!) We all enjoyed the log fires in the evening. Beddgelert is not too far down the road, and we went there one evening for an excellent meal.

This isn't a 5* campsite with every mod con. It doesn't pretend to be one, and that isn't what I look for anyway. But as a basic site, with good basic facilities, an unbeatable location, lovely mountain atmosphere and plenty of space Llyn Gwynant is hard to beat. 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Llyn Gwynant Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Llyn Gwynant Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Llyn Gwynant Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Nantgwynant      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4434 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement