Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Hassocks > Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park
Southdown Farm
Lodge Lane
Keymer
Hassocks
West Sussex   (Browse area)
BN6 8LX
Tel: 01273 841877
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SusieQ74 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful setting, with wonderful views of the south downs. There is a stable and a few farmyard animals running about. A very laid back campsite with both kids and dogs running around freely. No set pitches, you can just plonk your tent anywhere which is great as your not piled up on top of each other. Showers and toilets nice and clean and cobweb free! Showers are 50p tho so take plenty of change.
Best thing about the site is that its within walking distance of Ditchling and Keymer and some fantastic country pubs.
Perfect for groups and families, highly recommended! will be going back deffo, even tho I only live round the corner in Haywards Heath! 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Echad 1 review from this member

 From reading the reviews we decided to choose this campsite for a 4 day break, however, I feel I should let everyone be aware that however nice the place is and the people, they do not take groups, even though we were two couples sharing a 4 berth tent for convenience and are all over 21. We were sadly disappointed that they could not accommodate us and feel their policy on non-family bookings should be revised.
 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen1978 1 review from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights over the Easter weekend, it was extremely wet and the field turned into mud where the cars were in and out. I was concerned how my little car was going get out, but I did!

Overall a good site, but not having hot water for washing up dishes was a bit strange I thought. You also have to pay 50p for showers which gives you 10 mins of hot water. Personally don't see why they charge extra for showers when usually at sites they're free as you are paying for the site!

Overall a good site

 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Mjgmjg00 1 review from this member

 We booked in for the Sunday night of August bank holiday and the weather was so good we stayed until the Wednesday. The staff were very friendly and a great relaxed atmosphere. Although not modern,the showers and toilets were fine. 50p for a lovely hot shower. Washing machines and dryers available to. Also they have about 20 BBQs that you can borrow for your stay as well as a few tables and chairs. Shops and pubs very close. The only mistake we made, was getting fish and chips from the local takeaway, would not recommend it. Fantastic views and central to all areas. Definately going back next year. 


Reviewer: RichandJames 5 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Had a great weekend at this very friendly and well set up camp site.
The views are great and the surrounding area is one to explore. The facilities were kept very clean even with the site at pretty much full capacity on the Saturday. Our kids loved the animals especially the parrot's. The only improvement I could suggest would be either hot running water in the washing up area or a new kettle that doesn't take half an hour to boil. Only 10-15 mins into Brighton. Jack & Jill Pub just down the lane serves good food and is kid friendly with play area in garden. Village shops just round the corner. We'll be visiting again. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Battyb 2 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Generally a very nice site. It is exactly as described a farm site. Friendly owners. Facilities are clean and adequate. Local village a short walk with good general store and pub. We are a family of 5 and it is good to be on a site were the ‘field’ is free for you to play ball, Frisbee etc. We will visit again. I may be a little out of touch on prices but at £20 odd per night I do not expect to have to pay a further 50p for a shower.
One minor annoyance I left my razor in the showers (my fault) and realised the following morning when I went to shave, It was handed in the previous day but they have a policy of binning everything at the end of the day, it cost me £7.00 to replace which I thought unnecessary and bit of a dull policy.
Do not be put off by my minor negative comments; overall it is a very nice site and great for family holidays.
 


Reviewer: Pacer 1 review from this member

 August 2005
The owners of the site were very friendly and make myself and my daughter very welcome.

Nice level field and not too far to walk to use the toilet and shower facilities. The birds, chickens and goats are on route to the toilet/showers so they amused the daughter.

Enjoyed our stay though have to agree with a previous comment that the flights from Gatwick and the road can seem noisy at night. 


Reviewer: Spence73 1 review from this member

 August 2005
I have stayed here for 4 years now, and well that must say something. The place is great quiet with beautiful surroundings, All the animals except one missing this year Angus the cow. I was told by Clair the owner that he was chilling out for the summer - in the freezer - was most upset had seen him grow from a calf oh well country life hey, well that is exactly what you get and if you miss those exotic holidays they have 2 parrots just to make you feel at home. Claire the owner couldnt be more helpful with extra electric leads etc etc more than happy to help nothing to much trouble, showers and toilets are cleaner than some higher rated sites i have been on and the little shop is full of goodies and local info, occasionally claire even has a bar b q on the go where you might get yourself a bite to eat. Well done claire and the gang you are superb and look foward to staying with you again, yep thats right you havnt got rid of me yet..... well recommended 


Reviewer: Cagsie 1 review from this member

 July 2005
Very friendly people at the site, relaxed and welcoming. Good to have a no noise policy between 11pm - 6am but beware of farm machinery starting up early - well, it is a farm!! Pitch well away from the buildings or the tractors will scare you awake in the mornings. Kettle and microwave available in washing up room. Clean showers and toliets, chicken & duck eggs from their own birds on sale, really nice place to stay. Nice 10 minute walk to Hassocks, great deli and nice cafe, useful local shops. Recommended place to stay! 


Reviewer: Carolines 29 reviews from this member

 July 2005
Just popped in for a look on the second weekend in July.
A spectacular spot on a beautiful summer evening. Nestling at the foot of the downs ..2 large grassy fields ..obviously well cared for .some thoughtful touches ..wooden picnic tables around the site. No set pitches. A line of hookups against one side. Two showers each for men and women,, and 3 loos for the ladies ..2 for the men. Showers cost 50p.
A couple of undercover sinks ..with an electric kettle for hot water, a microwave and a toaster ..
Shop advertises eggs, apple juice ..and there may be other things available.
This site would have cost us 12.00 in total (frame tent about 11ft square)
They are strict on noise ...and you are asked to vacate by 12 midday, unless you have made a prior arrangement. The site is bordered by 2 minor roads ..which you can`t see because they are well screened by trees.
Little windmill up on the downs ... looked very pretty and the centre of some wonderful walks ..or easy to get to brighton worthing etc etc.
 


Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hassocks      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4810 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement