Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Hassocks > Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park
Southdown Farm
Lodge Lane
Keymer
Hassocks
West Sussex   (Browse area)
BN6 8LX
Tel: 01273 841877
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kerry+John 2 reviews from this member

 Had a nice break here. Massive area, sectioned off, which was quite good for us 'cos all the small kids were quite far away! Ladies shower block-6 showers, 6 loos, and 7 sinks(one in the toilet cubicle!)all immaculate. Pay as you go hair dryer, lasted for ages. Hubby said blokes showers were good too. Tidy pot washing area, dont know if the laundry was working, never went in. No electric hook up for tents at this point, but they are still developing the site. Nearest pub in walking distance-The Greyhound-out of the camp site, turn left, keep walking up the road until you see a car showroom, turn right, pub about 2 mins down road. Bring a torch for the way home, there isn't a path all the way along, but it's worth it, the landlord is so friendly, you'd think we'd been regulars for years! Food and drink very reasonably priced. Indian restaurant in next village along,(turn left instead of right at car show room) very nice, gets very busy though, so book, or go early. Would recommend car to get to Indian, or walking shoes! Handy site for Brighton(10 mins away), Dover Castle(1.5 hrs away)and Leeds Castle (hour and 15 mins away). Also went to Portsmouth Maritime museum-really interesting, & if you get the chance, take a water taxi to the Submarine museum, I thought this was really good as you get to go in one! Arundle Castle even closer than all of these, but didnt know about it until day we were coming home! If we go back to see it we'd definitely stay at Hassocks camp site agan. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KellyKettle 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 5 night stay at this new campsite situated at the foot of the South Downs, near the villages of Hassocks and Ditchling. The campsite is new and still being developed with landscaping work going on unobtrusively.

The toilet block is very clean with 6 toilets, sinks and loos for each sex plus 3 washing up sinks, laundry facilities and a disabled loo/shower unit. Water was always hot although the power of the shower was a bit weak.

The view from the campsite up the South Downs is amazing, and we watched the sun set over the fields every night. Our 2 children loved just playing in the field right outside our tent, and made friends with other kids - football, cricket and bikes were well used. Athough there is no 'play ground' I found I liked just having the kids on the big expanse of grass outside the tent and not having them wander off where I couldn't see them. Only disadvantage is that we went with friends who were in a caravan and there was no short cut through from the 'tent' field to the caravan area so they always had to go the long way round - it wouldn't be possible to pitch a tent right next to a caravan.

The Corner Cafe in Hassocks does a great fry-up for breakfast for £3.50 and there are local fish & chip shops only 15 minute walk away. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AstraC 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a lovely weekend at Southdown farm. The surroundings really are wonderful and it is a fantastic location for visiting Brighton, as only about 30 mins from campsite to city centre.
Facilities are ok, plenty of hot water but could do with more space to put your clothes and things so they dont get wet and on Sunday we were all left without toilet roll so best take your own just in case. A great basic site. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J Reid 1 review from this member

 Just come back from a 2 night stay at this site. The new toilet block was lovely and clean with spacious shower cubicles & plenty of hot water. Operated on a push button, but ran for a decent amount of time.
Site is quiet and nicely maintained with an on-site warden and all staff are very friendly. The pitches are well spaced and we were informed that additional work / landscaping is planned. We stayed as a couple and although there were a few children staying with their parents there were no play facilities for them.
The locals in the White Hart in nearby Ditchling (approx 1 mile away) made us very welcome & the food there was, in our opinion, good value for money. Also lovely pies, pasties & cakes available from the tea-room / pantry shop in the same village. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GrigsonA 3 reviews from this member

 The 'newest' campsite we've ever been on! There has been a huge investment into this site (never visited before the new amenities - so can't comment in relation to how it used to be).

Showers are brilliant, lots of room in the cubicles (be warned though no shower curtains when we went so take a bag to keep your clothes dry) hot water and although they work on a push button it wasn't a 2 second dribble and then press again, we are talking perfect power shower!

Lovely lovely site. Owners very helpful, they advised us of a pub that was child friendly and it was perfect - The Greyhound Inn - well worth a visit.

Issues we found were - nothing to keep the kids busy - there is a field but it wasn't really suitable to play ball in.

The other issue which noticed is the pitches are of very good size but getting your unit into a pitch could be a little tricky due to the lay out of the hardstanding.

Will return when site is established as I think it's the sort of site that needs a second visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: StockyJ 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from the campsite following a three night stay. Despite the bank holiday weekend the site was relatively quiet and the pitches not too close together.
No electric hook up yet for tents although this is planned and is already in on some pitches. Currently this was only on the hardstanding side where the motorhomes and caravans were.
The new toilet block is great and the ladies area comprises of six showers and six toilets. It is cleaned daily. Hairdryers are 10p but don't last too long and the showers are the push button type. They are very roomy and the water is hot. There is also a new laundry room which was almost finished and will be a great asset.
You can purchase bottled water / coke at reception but the camp is very close to Keymer village where you can find most things you may need. We loved the village of Ditchling just a mile up the road where there is a great shop which sells up market produce and fresh pies, cakes etc.
The camp is beautifully sited and rural with views of the Jack and Jill Windmills. We did not visit any of the pubs in the area so cannot comment. The reception area currently does not have information about the surrounding area and it's attractions but the staff are very friendly and helpful and were very approachable. The site has new hedging planted which will make good screening once it gets established.
There is some building work being carried out at the top end of the field but not sure if was connected to the site. It was not intrusive in any way. The area round the new toilet block has yet to be landscaped but once finished I'm sure will be fine.
Very Basic site with not much to amuse the children but as only 10 minutes drive into Brighton and surrounding areas is an ideal base to explore the South Downs. I would definitely use the site again if in the area in the future. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Car-Free Camper 1 review from this member

 Just to confirm that the new facilities block is now complete; the new toilets are very nice, well lit and had been freshly cleaned when we arrived, though toilet paper was running out by the next morning so make sure you bring some!
This site is in a really lovely location and has very friendly and accommodating staff, so anyone who's been put off by poor facilities in the past should definitely give it a try now! 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: JoeG 9 reviews from this member

 Further to my previous review in July 2007, I can confirm that the site is currently undergoing a major redevelopment. A great new amenities block is nearing completion towards the southern end of the site, and it looks like the camping fields are being redesigned. Once finished, I suspect the site will be well worth a visit.

I'll check again in a few weeks as no doubt they're aiming to be ready to relaunch a vastly improved experience for the spring season. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chykie 8 reviews from this member

 We've been using this site for a few years now for Brighton pride weekend and since the change over in ownership in February I have to say this will probably have been the last one.  A VERY disappointing visit. 
 
The site itself is a fair size, two large fields worth of space. Room for whatever sized tent you care to take along and its perfectly placed for Brighton (just a ten minute train ride away)  They take groups of how ever many you fancy dragging along with ya (in our case about 25 of us) Theres a Tesco 10 minutes car ride away (and it was a god send this year for reasons other than picking up the stuff we forgot!
 
The ladies toilets were horrendous . They stank to high heaven . Hadn't seen a bog brush in god knows how long . Two of the 3 ladies loo's was leaking from the back of the bowl so as you imagine on the busiest weekend of the year we were swimming in pee . Not good at all . The toilet rolls ran out after about 4 hours of us arriving . This is where Tesco came in useful . Not just to buy to loo roll but to use their toilets . The showers weren't much better one only ran cold, the other ran constantly unfortunately this meant the 1  non-leaking toilets wouldn't flush properly.  The gents toilets were equally as unpleasant (because we were going to use them if they were any better but no such luck!) Apparently the toilets were closed from 10.30 til 11.30 for cleaning . But I'm not sure what the chap was doing in there for an hour because it certainly wasn't cleaning . How long does it take to leave one toilet roll?
 
Sundays were worse . No staff on a Sunday so you can imagine how bad things got!
 
I like the new 'no noise after 11 ' policy .
 
I hear the place has been bought by a charity, this site could be a nice little earner for them  because campsites in the area are so hard to come by and it has so much potential but no one in their right mind would camp there in the state it is at the moment . I DO HOPE it improves and they sort out the cleaning/plumbing because this site COULD be a gem!
 
I really am disappointed.  I hope the charity want to keep the site and I'd be gutted to think they were gonna just give up on the camping part of the farm but it really does need sorting out! 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JoeG 9 reviews from this member

 Given the previous reviews I went to check out the site for myself rather than book up and regret it.  I'm glad I did.
 
I was advised that the new-ish owners have plans to install hedging, more hookups and a dedicated block of new amenities on the far (south) side of the field (nearer the main road) for caravans, which should address some of the very real issues identified by previous reviewers.
 
No point beating about the bush - the privies, showers, basins and washing up facilities were downright grotty / unpleasant.  With time, the owners will no doubt bring the amenities they inherited up to scratch and the whole place will become a much nicer prospect.  In the meantime, they really just need to bite the bullet and spend a few hundred quid of their customers fees to refurbish, clean and fix what they've already got - all basic stuff and 90% could be sorted within a week or three given a bit of effort.  This would then tide them over until the new amenities have been built, and would make the site a viable choice for 2007.
 
Given the current poor standard of amenities and cleanliness, I would not contemplate taking my kids to this site and could not recommend it for adults either.  Alas, there appear to be no other choices for caravan users within about 7 miles at the current time.
 
On the very positive side:
There appears to be an on-site warden.
There is an on-site shop offering basic supplies.
Caravan access appears very good.
The site is very well located to Keymer and Hassocks, which are nice villages and are well served by local shops, pubs and takeaways, etc.  Historic Ditchling is quite close by too.
For the dedicated shopaholic, Brighton is only 10 minutes south by car, or two stops by train.
The South Downs Way, the London to Brighton Mainline (Hassocks station), the A23 and the A27 are also just a few minutes away (by car).
 
Once the new amenities are ready, I feel that this site has a very bright future and is sure to be in demand in the absence of any local competition.  Until then, I suggest that you consider looking elsewhere.
 
Worth checking the reviews again in Spring 2008. 


Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hassocks      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4654 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement