Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Hassocks > Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park
Southdown Farm
Lodge Lane
Keymer
Hassocks
West Sussex   (Browse area)
BN6 8LX
Tel: 01273 841877
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Teresa 1 review from this member

 We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Southdowns caravan camping park

The staff were all very helpful and friendly

we were a party of 8 ages ranging from 4 to 66

The park is beautifully situated and well maintained

Showers and toilets were clean and plenty of them

We would definitely go again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Denise 1 review from this member

 We found pitches were ample, grass freshly cut, showers toilets warm and clean, helpful at desk and aimed to please.

The site was peaceful but wasn’t fully occupied so we may have been lucky only thing was for me particularly was the sound of the main road running around the site I think, very very noisy.

So next time I will be looking for a more peaceful site away from sounds of heavy traffic as there was no mention of it on site. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: CB-Camper 11 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site multiple times over the last few years at varying times of year as it is a convenient base for visiting friends in the local area.

Generally the site is well kept and maintained with clean facilities and helpful wardens.

We have 2 gripes about this site, firstly the only toilet/shower block closed for around 1 1/2 hours per day for cleaning which can be difficult to plan around when travelling with young children, I appreciate that they have to be cleaned, however other sites we have stayed at with a single toilet block the cleaners tackle one cubicle at a time, leaving the facilities accessible throughout.

The 2nd gripe is the pricing structure, depending on the size of your tent the price can vary quite wildly, add on to that children from 3 years of age and it can quickly become an expensive site to stay at (£31 per night for a weekend in November without electric hook up for a 6 man tent, travelling as a family - 2 adults and 2 children over 3).

This is despite being pitched on an unmarked field where you can choose where to pitch and no questions asked around tent size!

We found it to be a pleasant site, although there is some noise from the road adjacent to the site, with lovely views and convenient location (20 minutes walk to mainline railway station with direct trains to London and Brighton).

However we found it expensive for the facilities on offer. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 5787robinb 7 reviews from this member

 Great site near to Brighton and Lewes (Lewes is nicer). Well run, good showers etc, beautiful area. Had a problem checking in and they wouldn't accept an e-receipt sent to me by south downs campsite for full payment I had paid, It was eventually sorted but not accepting a receipt of payment is pretty odd!. No apology was given.

Great site though and would stay again, Brighton is a bit hectic, for a quieter time town go to Lewes not to far and a few good pubs. Ditchling village is under 1 mile away and has 2 good pubs, the bull is upmarket with food, the white horse is a boozer. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 107 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for three nights in a tent. The site is very well maintained and the wash rooms are very clean and tidy. I was told that in the Autumn a large part of the central field becomes wet and boggy. I was shown to a pitch along the field edge, backing onto the Hassocks Road. This wasn't too wet and the hedge provided some shelter.

There is a good information centre by the entrance and the staff were all very polite and friendly. The water runs hot in the showers, although the pushing the button every 15 seconds is a bit tiresome. There are lovely views across to the South Downs and Jack & Jill windmills on the skyline. Excellent walking from the campsite along the South Downs Way in both directions.

It's a 10 minutes walk into Hassocks where there are a couple of pubs, The Thatch and the Greyhound. There is also a butcher, a Budgens and a mini Sainsbury's.

All perfect, except for a couple of things:

The road noise. Lodge Road into Hassocks is very busy and since my pitch was the other side of the hedge it wasn't the most peaceful camping experience I'd ever had. In hindsight I should have carried my tent across to the far side of the field, away from the roads. The traffic does calm down a bit at night, but don't expect a lie in. The road in front of the site from Ditchling to Clayton is also a noisy racetrack!

The only other issue was a couple of families arriving late in the evening with young kids given the adjoining pitches. Badly behaved, whining kids giving the road noise a good run for its money!

So a lovely little site, I would stay again, but would definitely request a quieter pitch. Just wasn't worth the upheaval of moving for a couple of nights. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Milly4 11 reviews from this member

 We were very lucky with great weather for our two night stay. On the whole, it's a nice site if a little on the pricey side. The staff were super friendly and helpful and the toilet/ shower block were perfectly clean.

We used it as a base to spend the day in Brighton - the local train station is an easy 20/25 min walk away.

The road noise was quite loud unfortunately, especially the motorbikes who seem to think there was a road race. The scenery around the camp is beautiful so does distract.

We would return as another option to not contend with Brighton traffic and hotel prices, however, at £35 a night for a trailer tent and two cars, it's one of the most expensive sites we've visited. We opted against using our awning as that would have pushed it to £39 a night. 


Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyphil 9 reviews from this member

 Visited mainly to test out bits on the caravan that we purchased. Had a fully serviced pitch. The site was mainly empty but was spotless and the toilets and the showers were the best I have had since I have been camping in 18 years. Nice site would visit again and also lovely walks on the South Downs. Site management were really helpful. Great find 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: My little sanctuary 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with wonderful views of the downs.

Excellent showers & facilities.

Very friendly & helpful staff.

Only 8 miles drive to Brighton.

Short drive to local shops.

A quiet tranquil relaxing holiday.

Will definitely go back next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sdjom123 2 reviews from this member

 We loved this campsite. Big open fields and as we were in a non-electric tent, we could choose where we wanted to pitch. All pitches have fantastic views of the South Downs, and the showers and toilets were very clean. The site is walking distance to the shops and train station of Hassocks, so we didn't need to use the car for the 4 days we were there. Apparently it gets very very busy over Bank Holidays, so we were pleased to leave on the Friday before the August BH weekend with good memories of a peaceful sunny week 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saltrock 2 reviews from this member

 We have just arrived home after a fabulous stay at this lovely site. Members of staff were always on hand, very friendly and helpful. Toilets and shower block was very well maintained and cleaned every day though on some days the cleaning was done at different times than stated. The pitches were huge, plenty of room for tent and car, was great idea to pitch around edge of fields so there is space in the middle to play games. Little hut with information leaflets also had games and books to borrow during your stay a great idea. Lovely spot with glorious views over the south downs, within walking distance to Hassocks village and train station. Would recommend this site. 


Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hassocks      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4601 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement