Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > Hassocks > Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park
Southdown Farm
Lodge Lane
Keymer
Hassocks
West Sussex   (Browse area)
BN6 8LX
Tel: 01273 841877
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: February 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davesharon 25 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, so handy for getting the train to Brighton or going on bike rides, Ditchling Beacon is just round the corner.

The staff are so friendly, there is a small shop in reception for essentials and also an information room.

Showers are very powerful and always hot, very clean site.

There is slight traffic noise but it did not worry us at all. 


Date of Visit: November 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Andykarenm 2 reviews from this member

 Great start as we were allowed to pitch up early. Weather forecast was not good so decided not to erect our awning as we were only staying for 2 nights.

My daughter and fiancé were joining us so we were told we had to pay £5 per night for the extra car. When I said that we hadn’t erected our awning so the £10 we paid for that could be set against the car parking, we were told that wasn’t possible as they were two separate things? 🤷🏻‍♂️

The owner wasn’t really interested in compromising which we thought was really unreasonable. Thought their attitude was poor and won’t be booking to stay there again. 🙁 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Judyro 1 review from this member

 We loved it here on this site.

So peaceful. Shower and toilets and small shop were good.

The walk up to the station (20mins) was well worth it. Plenty of shops and eating places on route. We travelled to Brighton in 10mins.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Definitley go back and stay there again.

Easy to find too off the main roads. 


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Marsde 2 reviews from this member

 This site is nicely located for quick access to the South Downs area. Access to the site is via wide main roads.

Kept tidy with fair sized plots but little in the way of landscaping; basically a large field. There is a children's play area with swings, slide and low-level "jungle" walk set in the middle of the first field. Just enough, perhaps?

A small reception with the basics, an information hut with reading books and a very tidy waste disposal area.

For the money, other sites offered more.

The (male) showers were clean with lots of powerful hot water (be careful) but the six cubicles needed some attention as 4 of them had broken clothing hooks and 2 had no shower caddys for your shampoo etc. A simple repair, please.

The push taps also need some attention as they shut off after about 3 seconds making it hard to rinse.

Sorry to go on but please get your cleaner to look up and clear the cobwebs, bugs and other creepies from the ceiling area.

Oh yes, we were initially sited at a plot where our 45 metre cable wouldn't reach the power supply so please make sure you check. We asked to move away from the surrounding road as the traffic noise for this lovely country location was very loud.

Hassocks Town with great facilities and a lovely short train ride into Brighton is about a 20 minute easy level walk or 5-10 minutes by cycle.

All said, we enjoyed our stay of 8 days and the staff were very friendly and unobtrusive. Thank you. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Julesmorris 33 reviews from this member

 Why are there no sites near Brighton? We chose this one for its frequent train service (12 coach train every 20 minutes - in the north we get four coaches every hour if we're lucky).

Facilities good and clean, showers included, paid for elec to charge the bikes. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Clarec 1 review from this member

 Wonderfully clean, friendly family site.

It's kept very neat and tidy. Wash block kept very clean.

Pitches are very spacious and there is also a large grassed area with a climbing frame in the middle of the site.

Ideal location for Brighton and the Sussex coast and countryside 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Katiec 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely, well maintained site.

Good facilities- especially hot showers. Great that all charitable.

We had a quiet spot on the main field with plenty of space and privacy.

Did have road traffic noise. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Helenswright 5 reviews from this member

 First time for us here. Initial impressions are of a well kept, clean and tidy campsite.

The pitches are large, flat and marked out by grass that has been allowed to grow making for a soft boundary which is much better than hedges or bushes which are around the perimeter of the field.

In the centre is a small wooden climbing frame, slide and a couple of swings for children. We went for a pitch with EHU but be warned, you will need an extra long extension cable to ensure that you can get plugged in as we thought the electric points were quite spaced out compared with other sites we've been to.

The toilet block and showers were always clean and the showers are hot and powerful. You will need 20p if you wish to access a hairdryer.

There are 3 washing up sinks to he rear of the toilet/shower block sheltered under a large porch.

The site itself is quiet but dependent on the wind, you can hear the traffic from the A273 but its not too intrusive. There are lovely views of the South Downs and you can clearly see the Jack and Jill windmill.

We stayed on probably the hottest weekend of the year so far and here is little shade on the site. We visited Hassocks which is a 5 minute drive to find there are 2 fish & chip shops and a large Budgens for grocery shopping.

We will definitely come again for another couple of nights! 


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Rorygnat 4 reviews from this member

 Great position at the foot of the Downs.

Lovely site with large pitches divided by unmown grass. Such a good idea.

Lots of birds around and nice meadow area.

Shower blocks were clean but no horizontal surface in a dry area. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Would definitely recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sparkr 1 review from this member

 Great site will be returning to visit again

Loved the log burners and great view of the South Downs ☀️

Well run by the loveliest people

Plenty of space for camping and getting back to nature 😎 
via mobile


Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hassocks      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


47583 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement