Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Hassocks > Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park
Southdown Farm
Lodge Lane
Keymer
Hassocks
West Sussex   (Browse area)
BN6 8LX
Tel: 01273 841877
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 121 Reviews
                9/10 from 121 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 109 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for three nights in a tent. The site is very well maintained and the wash rooms are very clean and tidy. I was told that in the Autumn a large part of the central field becomes wet and boggy. I was shown to a pitch along the field edge, backing onto the Hassocks Road. This wasn't too wet and the hedge provided some shelter.

There is a good information centre by the entrance and the staff were all very polite and friendly. The water runs hot in the showers, although the pushing the button every 15 seconds is a bit tiresome. There are lovely views across to the South Downs and Jack & Jill windmills on the skyline. Excellent walking from the campsite along the South Downs Way in both directions.

It's a 10 minutes walk into Hassocks where there are a couple of pubs, The Thatch and the Greyhound. There is also a butcher, a Budgens and a mini Sainsbury's.

All perfect, except for a couple of things:

The road noise. Lodge Road into Hassocks is very busy and since my pitch was the other side of the hedge it wasn't the most peaceful camping experience I'd ever had. In hindsight I should have carried my tent across to the far side of the field, away from the roads. The traffic does calm down a bit at night, but don't expect a lie in. The road in front of the site from Ditchling to Clayton is also a noisy racetrack!

The only other issue was a couple of families arriving late in the evening with young kids given the adjoining pitches. Badly behaved, whining kids giving the road noise a good run for its money!

So a lovely little site, I would stay again, but would definitely request a quieter pitch. Just wasn't worth the upheaval of moving for a couple of nights. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Milly4 11 reviews from this member

 We were very lucky with great weather for our two night stay. On the whole, it's a nice site if a little on the pricey side. The staff were super friendly and helpful and the toilet/ shower block were perfectly clean.

We used it as a base to spend the day in Brighton - the local train station is an easy 20/25 min walk away.

The road noise was quite loud unfortunately, especially the motorbikes who seem to think there was a road race. The scenery around the camp is beautiful so does distract.

We would return as another option to not contend with Brighton traffic and hotel prices, however, at 35 a night for a trailer tent and two cars, it's one of the most expensive sites we've visited. We opted against using our awning as that would have pushed it to 39 a night. 


Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyphil 9 reviews from this member

 Visited mainly to test out bits on the caravan that we purchased. Had a fully serviced pitch. The site was mainly empty but was spotless and the toilets and the showers were the best I have had since I have been camping in 18 years. Nice site would visit again and also lovely walks on the South Downs. Site management were really helpful. Great find 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: My little sanctuary 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with wonderful views of the downs.

Excellent showers & facilities.

Very friendly & helpful staff.

Only 8 miles drive to Brighton.

Short drive to local shops.

A quiet tranquil relaxing holiday.

Will definitely go back next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sdjom123 2 reviews from this member

 We loved this campsite. Big open fields and as we were in a non-electric tent, we could choose where we wanted to pitch. All pitches have fantastic views of the South Downs, and the showers and toilets were very clean. The site is walking distance to the shops and train station of Hassocks, so we didn't need to use the car for the 4 days we were there. Apparently it gets very very busy over Bank Holidays, so we were pleased to leave on the Friday before the August BH weekend with good memories of a peaceful sunny week 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saltrock 2 reviews from this member

 We have just arrived home after a fabulous stay at this lovely site. Members of staff were always on hand, very friendly and helpful. Toilets and shower block was very well maintained and cleaned every day though on some days the cleaning was done at different times than stated. The pitches were huge, plenty of room for tent and car, was great idea to pitch around edge of fields so there is space in the middle to play games. Little hut with information leaflets also had games and books to borrow during your stay a great idea. Lovely spot with glorious views over the south downs, within walking distance to Hassocks village and train station. Would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sparklybabe 1 review from this member

 I stayed here with my sister and our 3 children aged 7, 13 & 17 over bank holiday weekend.

We have never tried this site before so were a bit apprehensive when we booked. I will start with the great bits!

On arrival we were greeted by 2 lovely members of staff who made us feel very welcome. We had requested a fire pit and that was there waiting for us too. We had pitch 35 and thankfully this pitch is not on the field with the play area as that field was v v crowded and noisy. Pitch 35 was a lovely sized pitch with great views of the south downs. The site is pretty small but has everything you could need, plenty of toilets and showers, laundry room, fridge, freezer, microwave, chemical toilet disposal, washing up area, drinking water tap and friendly staff. The water in the showers was hot and all facilities were clean. Tip though shower between 2pm and 5pm as they are spotless then!

Now for the not so great. Some of the people staying there had little respect for the few rules on site. All quiet by 11pm? Doesn't mean get drunk and sing karaoke and chat loudly until 2am! I am by no means a boring person and I too love a drink and a sing and have probably been too noisy on campsites myself in the past but I always respect the curfew. The same people who stay up until 2am being noisy seem to have the children that get up @6am shouting thus waking other campers up! Those parents must have hangovers from hell lol

As I said before the field with the play area was full of families and definitely too noisy for us. We like to relax at camping and not contend with teenagers running through our pitch or toddlers toddling off and being sworn at by their parents!

One more moan before I stop! The amount of cars parked on the field was crazy. It was like a car park in places which spoils the views.

I do think though that my above moans arent really the campsites fault but more the calibre of people there this weekend. I haven't ever been to such a noisy site before so perhaps I have been spoilt before?

All that aside we will return as the pitch we had was great :) and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Surely we wont get the same noisy campers next time lol

Oh and be warned the room with the fridge and freezer in was locked by about 9pm! Get your wine out before its locked away lol 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simplypeachy 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for just one night and was met by personable and professional staff. The site is organised and with well-kept facilities. Showers were lovely and hot and powerful - fabulous! Ground was level and soft, no need for my mallet for the tent pegs. Fairly quiet location with outstanding views of the South Downs. Definitely going back! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bettyfamily 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely sight! Highly recommend!

Greeted by very friendly staff who showed us to our pitch and set us up with a fire pit and a free bit of kindling and fire starters to begin with.

Pitches are flat and very spacious. Perfect.

The kids play area could do with updating, but it's a charity run sight, so I'm assuming funding is low. The kids enjoyed it anyway and it's clear to see that funding is spent maintaining the sight. It's clean, tidy and the shower/toilet block are at a great standard!

Only gripe is the noise from the road.

Will be returning towards the end end of the six weeks.

Fantastic place. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roen79 2 reviews from this member

 First Time at this campsite for me, my husband and our two sons (10 & 11).

Very welcoming at reception, slightly dis-organised but as we found out later this was their first day on the job!

Choice of three fields, one of which had electric hook up. All the fields was nicely mowed and had a lovely feel to them.

Toilet/shower block - always clean with lovely hot water. The hot water did run out once during our stay but it was bank holiday weekend, everyone was trying to have their evening shower, (there was a queue of 6! women) and also a queue for the washing up facilities so it was to be expected.

Washing up facilities were three sinks with hot and cold water under cover. Perfect!

Milk, bacon, sausages and a few other essentials available to purchase at reception. There are also laundry facilities but I did not check them out.

All staff were very approachable and friendly.

We definitely want to return again. 


Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hassocks      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3790 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement