Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Hassocks > Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park
Southdown Farm
Lodge Lane
Keymer
Hassocks
West Sussex   (Browse area)
BN6 8LX
Tel: 01273 841877
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sharon.foster-king@ 1 review from this member

 We were at this site over Pride weekend when everywhere within 10 miles of Brighton is packed. The site was clean, decent facilities and the toilets and showers were good. The lack of an on site shop might both some but there is an excellent Marks and Spencer garage at the Hassocks exit from the A23 and the Greyhound pub (half a mile away) does a fabulous vegetarian Sunday roast dinner! There is also a pretty decent chinese takeaway and beautiful walks looking over the downs at the Jack and Jill windmills. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Calcamper 15 reviews from this member

 We arrived in glorious sunshine for 1 night before going to a VW event in Brighton. We received a warm welcome, there was only a handful of tents and a few motorhomes there.

The field was spacious with great views. The busy road didn't bother us as was quiet at night.

Shower facilities clean and tidy with plenty of hot water. At night they are on a key code to stop unwanted passers by using them( this seemed strange as its in the middle of nowhere!)

The local village has great amenities and was a 10 minute stroll, takeaways, supermarkets and pubs.

We will definitely return-excellent value at 12. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris180cc 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here and had a great time. Facilities were good, food in the local pub was excellent. A bonus was it's proximity to Brighton. The people in the next tent on our first night were going to a show in Brighton and with transport costs added it was still cheaper for them to stay there than in a hotel in Brighton. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TinyB 1 review from this member

 We stayed for our first ever camping trip with our two children of 1 and three last weekend. There are no facilities for children but the great open field led to no end of possibilities for them, although the cricket being played right next to our pitch with a real cricket ball made an interesting morning!

The facilities were extremely good with 6 toilets and six showers piping hot water evening and am, with good pressure!, the washing up area was clean as all parties at the site seemed to respect others.

The thing that I cannot believe nobody has previously mentioned is the noise at Keymer, the road that runs parallel to the site is a two mile country road that is obviously used as some kind of race track, it has no let up in noise all night.

The views from the site are breathtaking and the Greyhound pub up the road was fantastic food and beer really good value, will be visiting the pub again from another campsite! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aaron666 5 reviews from this member

 This was a very good site and well priced.

We phoned on the day before going and was given the impression it was very difficult to fit us in as fully booked, but on arrival found only a few tents pitched and only a couple more arrivals durring our stay.

Facilities were very good in the showers. Toilets and wash area. The shop/office was realy just for booking in but they had a very good area to get info on the area and it's attractions.

The camping field offered very generous pitches some with decent views of the surrounding hills, but our pitch was facing the old farm next door that is currently fenced off and being demolished so very dissapointing.

The village of Hassocks and Keymer are excelent with a good selection of shops and places to eat out we can especialy recommend the Greyhound which is a short walk where you will recieve a superb welcome from Hassan and his staff, Hassan cooks all his own food and is very fussy about the quality he offers, the locals are very welcomming too especialy John who we had a great time drinking with.

The site is perfectly sittuated for exploring and Brighton is 10 mins away by train from Hassocks 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dimapps 5 reviews from this member

 A great site - plenty of space on the camping field for the children to play (but no playground), fantastic views of the downs, clearly marked, large pitches.
Office/ shop was very small, only absolute essentials for sale but a very pleasant walk (part of the way without pavement) or cycle into village of Keymer/Hassock (there seems to confusion as to where one village ends and the other starts!) which has a wide variety of shops (takeaways, general store, etc) as well as a Budgens which is open til 9pm for general food supplies.
The train to Brighton runs 3 times an hour and it only takes 10 minutes, don't try and park at the station though, we walked (about a mile).Early in our stay the staff were very helpful when we asked about cycle routes (drive to Jack and Jill windmills and you're on the South Downs way)

Unfortunately we seem to have had a bad experience with the toilet block (I've read other reviews and everyone else has raved about them). Every time I went in, which was only twice a day usually, they were filthy! Yes, there was lots of loo roll but most of it was on the floor, there was no mop available to clean the showers out after you had used them so the floors were very muddy and soapy. Somehow the soap seemed to escape the drains and flow all over the floor!
The whole block was only cleaned once a day (shut between 11.30 and 12.30)which may have been enough if mops had been provided. The sinks and hand driers were clean, with liquid soap provided. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AlandSuzy 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night whilst walking the South Downs Way.
This is a lovely site with fantastic views looking up onto the downs. The location is almost perfect although we were told by the owners that as the tent end of the site is on clay they can have some minor drainage problems after very heavy rain.
The facilities are excellent with a great shower block (the showers are free and there are plenty of them).
It is close to the villages of Hassocks & Keymer which contain a number of pubs, restaurants and shops. We ate and drank in The Greyhound (less than 10 minutes walk from the site) which we thoroughly enjoyed.
The only minor drawback was not with the site itself, but with contacting the owners. It took several e-mails and unanswered phone calls before we managed to confirm the booking. It took several more e-mails before we managed to agree a payment method after leaving as the site was unmanned for our entire stay.
However I would highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: R.gregory 1 review from this member

 Probably the most picturesque site I have visited. English countryside at its best. Facilities excellent & only a 20 min amble to Hassocks then only a 15 min train ride into Brighton. Good pubs in Hassocks & Keymer. Don't miss a trip up to Jack & Jill windmills, the view from the car park is stunning. One small niggle. Went for a shower on Saturday morning & there was no hot water but hope this was a blip as I will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: FLY2ME 1 review from this member

 Just arrived home from 2 nights at this site. Booked late for Easter weekend and not a problem to camp owners. I found the site easily from directions. Nice sweep-in entrance to a hard standing camp site with two large camping field further on. Nicely staked out with pitch numbers so you know where you are supposed to be even if you arrive like I did after site staff had left. Did not use site shop/office as staff were not on site for Easter weekend and was pleasantly surprised when I booked to be told that I could pay by card or just pop a cheque in the letter box.

Well what can I say about the toilet block? wow best one I,ve seen in a long time. Very clean, water very hot, loo roll aplenty, great showers and the hand dryers not so much as dry your hands as blow the water off with uber force. Nicely sized pitches were on hand with power hook ups to some. Not many children about which was a plus for me but there was enough room to let little monsters roam and play ball games and the like in the middle of the fields without annoying anyone else (just bring plenty of toys with you) Barbecues are allowed but need to be off the floor, no breeze blocks provided for this so I had to improvise and balance one on my car jack as I didn't want to be the only rogue to burn the grass. The fields are a little rutted so when the air bed developed a terminal puncture, the game was to find a groove to place your butt in! (will be looking for camp bed purchase in the summer)great views over the south downs and Jack and Jill windmills. I had 2 teenage sons with me so Brighton itself was a big pull for them and was just down the road in the car. Would go back. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davidandjunemuir 24 reviews from this member

 Agree with much of what has been written on this site. Facilities good, but take a bag into the showers as your clothes etc. rasily get wet in there!
In early September when we were there, there were only a few others on site, so plenty of room. Some road noise, but not too bad. No facility for freezing ice blocks, which was a disadvantage.
When we were there, there were very few staff about, and the office was not even open the hours it said it would be.
Easy access from the site onto the South Downs, as you can walk directly up onto the South Downs Way without moving the car off site. It is worth walking into Hassocks for provisions etc. As there is a good selection of shops there, including a good delicatessen; about 10 minutes walk. Can also go into Brighton by train from there. 


Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Southdown Way Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hassocks      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4708 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement