Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Malmesbury > Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd Reviews

Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd
Arches Lane
Malmesbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN16 0EH
Tel: 01666 826880
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: April/easter To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 72 Reviews
                8/10 from 72 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Peteincambridge 1 review from this member

This site was a bit of a find.

I think their website and some of the older comments on here don't really do the place full justice.

The location is superb with the pretty town of Malmesbury only a few hundred yards away and walk along the River Avon to get there. I chatted to a very enthusiastic owner and was helped more than once by a very friendly lady manager.

The place is immaculate with the two main fields kept in tip top condition with well manicured shrubs and trees with very short grass. The dog walk from the town edge of the site is as good as I've seen anywhere. Toilet block is well organised and kept spotless.

There are a few workers (from the nearby roadworks) but they are kept separate from the 'holiday' users and they made no difference to the ambience of the place.

Dog owners who like to be close to a pretty town and like good facilities ought to try it out. I loved it.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: C and A 1 review from this member

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here on level grass pitch in field surrounded by hedge. Shower block always clean. In next field, down slight incline, runs the river + footpath skirting Malmesbury village.

The Abbey and Abbey Gardens are worth a visit. Buses into Chippenham etc stop near the site. Our stay here was enhanced by the ever cheerful and helpful manager, Lyn.

Wouldn't hesitate to visit again if ever in the area.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rayngeo 5 reviews from this member

If you are looking for an all singing all dancing camp site then don't look here because you will only find things to complain about, but if you are a realistic camper in need of a friendly welcome, a lovely setting, a very short walk from the town of one of the prettiest town centres in this part of England, you can not help but like it.

There is even a Waitrose a short walk away. Coincidentally my brother discovered it on the way back from the afternoon ferry from Ireland. He thought it was the ideal place to stop with tired kids before taking on the last stretch into London

He loved it and we've had nothing to complain about in the past ten years during which we have stayed long weekends twice a year nearly every year and we are going again with friends this year -twice.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gailw86 5 reviews from this member

We used this site for four days on our why back home after spending 10 days in Devon.

We were greeted by Alison who showed us to our pitch and explained the site and the local amenites.

Showers and toilets clean as was the campsite.

Just a 10 minute walk into town and would recommend the museum, which was very interesting, followed by a afternoon exploring the Abbey gardens which are a must.

We also went to Westonbirt Arberitum which we really enjoyed.

In all a great little campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Trident94 1 review from this member

I've read the previous reviews and felt a feeling of negativity. Well I think this site is a little gem! I stay on the sloping tent field that looks over the river and across the meadow - cows grazing - the roof tops of Malmesbury in the distance, creating a relaxing Wiltshire scene.

The site is a 10 minute walk from Malmesbury, boasting a beautiful Abbey with gardens, a country town that is understated, with its charming cottages, and an enthusiastic community that makes efforts to put on shows and events for residents and visitors. Nice pubs and a few little shops, surrounded by countryside walks. All this, a few minutes riverside walk from the campsite.

The site is tidy and well kept. Facilities are clean and uptogether, and I found them to be perfectly adequate. You're camping. How much time do you spend in the loo -lets put things in perspective here. Other campers were all friendly and there seemed a nice relaxed feel to the place.

The ladies that run the site are lovely - friendly and helpful. I will be a regular visitor to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Uk traveller9 11 reviews from this member

We were greeted and shown to our pitch by a very friendly lady and shown where all the facilities were. The area where we camped was very flat and well maintained. The next field, used mainly by tents not requiring electricity was sloped and led down to the river.

The site was within a 10 minute walk of Malmesbury town centre. We were given options of which way to go.

The site had 3 outside covered dish washing facilities. We didn't feel that the water was hot enough for washing dishes.

The shower block, which was always clean, contained 3 toilets, 3 wash hand basins, 2 showers and 1 privacy cubicle. The showers were on a timed push button and these cut out every 15 secs! Although as mentioned they were clean, we felt the number was woefully inadequate for the sheer size of site.

There were enumerable caravans and tents containing a large number of contractors and accessing the mens showers after 5. 30pm was a nigh on impossibility. The noise created by them between 6am and 7am was unacceptable.

We felt 19. 50 per night for a caravan/tent with electricity for 2 adults was quite expensive considering there were no facilities. Awnings were charged at 3 per night extra as were children.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pollen 1 review from this member

Stayed at Burton Hill over BAnk Holiday weekend. Late arriving (5pm) so received a phone call from Warren at 4. 30pm. Not sure what the purpose of this call was?? We had given our ETA as 2pm.

Upon arrival received a friendly welcome from Audrey and a personal tour of grounds/facilities.

Family room was useful although there was no baby changer and insufficient hooks for clothes/washbags etc. There were lots of old cobwebs and the room could have done with a thorough clean. It's a wet room so it was tricky trying to keep all clothes/shoes dry.

The male and female shower blocks were reasonably clean although there were also many cobwebs everywhere as well as dead spiders. Push-button style water control on showers/sinks rather irritating and the hot water wasn't as hot as I like it to be.

Washing up area is outside but sheltered. Three sinks available. No facilities for children on site and no site shop so be sure to come with the basic staples!

Pricewise, we found Burton Hill to be quite pricey for the limited amenities on offer.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CV69 3 reviews from this member

When we stayed at this campsite it was quiet and a nice short riverside-walk from Malmesbury. The owners are friendly and showed us the facilities.

Nice to have a fridge available and some information about what's-going-on in the area. There are only 2 showers for each sex, which seems, to me, is not enough if site is full.

Malmesbury is a very nice old town with some shops and pubs and take-aways.

The grass in the field was very good; even though it rained much.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ruggerman 21 reviews from this member

We found the site well laid out if a little cramped when full. The owners were helpful showing you around the facilities which were always clean and the showers lovely & hot.

The site is well located to visit the town either via the short path or the longer but very pleasant riverside walk. The Abbey and the gardens are well worth a visit if they are you thing.

Can recommend the Smoking Dog if you like Real Ale Unfortunately the weather wasn't the best but would return for another visit. Close by is Tetbury which is also worth a visit especially on market day

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Danboyfat 6 reviews from this member

We stopped here for two nights. Location is ideal and the site is nice and level. We arrived early evening to be greeted by the site owner who we found to be very polite and she immediately showed us where all the facilities were and gave us an information booklet on the town.

The pitch we had was located in the corner with a bench table for use which was nice.

The facilities are basic and we found them always to be kept clean. Two showers in the male side which gave a good flow of water and nice and warm.

In the site there is a stile that leads down to the river which has a designated 2 mile river walk which is shown in the booklet we were given. We took our two kids on the walk which they enjoyed.

It's about a 5-10 min walk into town along the main path with plenty of shops and restaurants. We ate at the smoking dog pub which allows dogs but only in the beer garden. Luckily it was a nice day.

The abbey is an amazing building to visit for free but we didn't venture into the abbey gardens which there is an entry fee as we had our dog so we gave it a miss.

There is a good kids play area and zip wire just located over the river close to the campsite

Overall a lovely little site with good basic facilities in an ideal location. Would definitely return in a few years.

Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Malmesbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3563 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019