Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Malmesbury > Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd Reviews

Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd
Arches Lane
Malmesbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN16 0EH
Tel: 01666 826880
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: April/easter To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 72 Reviews
                8/10 from 72 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suenami 4 reviews from this member

We stayed 4 nights here at the beginning of August. When we arrived the owners were not around but they had left a note showing where we were to pitch. As we were in a tent and didn't require electric we were put in the side field, this is on top of a hill and there was no protection from the wind so pitching was a little tricky.

The toilet block was nice and clean but the water wasn't particularly hot. There is 3 washing up sinks situated on the outside wall of the toilet block which are undercover and also a launderette style washing machine costing £2 a wash.

In the information room there was loads of useful info and leaflets about the local area including menus and reviews of local pubs, restaurants and shops. There is also an honesty fridge freezer in there, donations for use. Sadly someone helped themselves to the milkshakes my kids had put in there for the next day.

The owners were really helpful and I noticed that when anyone arrived they took time to show them around and tell them about the local area & how to get into the village through the field rather than having to take the car.

Overall it is a lovely quiet site, ideal for visiting the local area. The only thing I would say is that it isn't really ideal if you have children. I felt bad about my boys making any noise as there were no other kids around.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Freud 3 reviews from this member

Arrived and welcomed on site by the owner and shown to our pitch which was pretty level Plenty of room and hook up available. Good hot showers but few of them. Site was busy but did not seem to be a problem as we never had to queue. Fabulous walk along the river into this lovely town. Great pubs and I would particularly recommend the smoking dog for a meal roughly a tenner per person.The site is a great base to tour Avebury stone circles and Laycock village.I would recommend it highly and will visit again

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PinkLizzy73 4 reviews from this member

We visited this site in July with friends, in fact 11 of us in total with 5 tents.

We was welcomed by a man & we took it he was the owner, he was very nice & friendly he showed us around the shower blocks ect.

The toilets were very clean & was like that for the whole weekend we was there.

But as I'm disabled I used the disabled toilet & shower, I felt a down side of things, was you wasnít able to take the shower hose down off the wall to shower probably, which I'm sure other disabled users would agree with me isnít very good?

Also one other down side of things, (but the owner did tell us about it) when many of people were showering at the same time the water pressure went very low & sometimes stopped.

Apart that everything was all good about the camp site.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SwindonWhite 1 review from this member

This was our first ever camping trip to a proper site. We found the owners both friendly, and very sympathetic to our novice skills (we took 3 1/2 hours to pack up, and were late leaving pitch). A tour of the impressive facilities, was very welcome.

Our pitch with EHU, was very flat and even and we thought costs were reasonable. The toilet block was spotless every time we used it. A quiet peaceful site, with a lovely 5-10 min river-side walk to Malmesbury.

We recommend the 'Smoking Dog' pub for a lovely meal and quiet drink. We felt very welcome, even with 2 dogs. Will definitely return after fantastic first trip.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thunderboltflyer 3 reviews from this member

The site is accessed by a short but narrow access road so if you are towing its better to get your partner to walk in first and check no traffic is leaving but this is the only very minor negative point.

The site is lovely and very quiet with only 30 pitches. Some tents without hook up can go in the top of the neighbouring field overlooking the river.The toilets are very clean and although only 3 toilets/2 showers per side there was never a queue. 3 washing up sinks were adequate and always had hot water. Very peaceful and quiet, lovely 10 minute walks into pretty town or by the river. Friendly and helpful owners. Definitely worth a visit if peace and quiet is your thing but not much for children to do unless they are happy to explore or can amuse themselves.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smiley10 2 reviews from this member

We used this site as a base for visiting Longleat. It is a very small site and the owners do not make it child friendly. There were lists of rules everywhere and although we appreciate you couldn't play games with hard balls even using soft balls was banned. It felt the tent field had been left with very long grass so no one could play and this also affected the members of our party who had hayfever.

It was a very expensive site for the few facilities they had and be warned they charge extra for evrything!

The toilet and shower block were kept very clean and it was very quiet at night apart from the motorbikes roaring around on the nearby road. It is handy for exploring the area I just wouldn't recommend it for families.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Choccypud 1 review from this member

We have just come back from a night on this campsite and were very happy with the facilities.

The facilities were better than any others we have come across in our limited camping lives - absolutely spotless and very well maintained. There was a good, modern and clean, large wetroom for family showering, as well as other showers in the single sex loos. Good washing up facilities and helpful owner.

We have never been on such a quiet site - no noise at all after 11pm, though it was quite empty as it was term time.

Lovely walk past good children's play area into Malmesbury.

The children were disappointed as there were not many children around, but I think that was a reflection of the time of year (mid Sept) rather than the campsite itself.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pingram 1 review from this member

Nice campsite, very well run and well kept. Nice facilities, clean toilets and they even have a mother and toddler shower room (but no baby changing table) which was handy.

Quite busy the weekend we were there, apparently if you book further ahead they can get you in the field to the side of the main one which has a pretty view over the river and Malmsbury, which is only a 10 minute walk away.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mozza30 5 reviews from this member

We recently stayed at this site for 3 nights to attend our friends wedding in the area. It was absolutely perfect for what we wanted. The site is very well maintained, quiet and well situated. As others have mentioned, it is a short pleasant walk away from the pretty town of Malmesbury where there are plenty of nice shops and watering holes. The owner of the site is very helpful and even lent us his personal iron to press our wedding clothes. The toilet & shower block is kept spotlessly clean and is adequate for a site of this size. It is not particularly a good site for kids but there is a little park for them to play on in a field just off the site. I would recommend this site to anyone for a short break.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ldavis023 2 reviews from this member

We visited the site from Sunday to Wednesday and were made to feel really welcome. Lovely quiet site with excellent facilities, very clean.

Great walks for the dogs and only a short walk into the town. Bit hilly though.

Beautiful surroundings and the pub just down road towards M4 (Radnor Arms) did great sunday lunch, all fresh vegetables!

Definitely worth another visit without the kids, they found it a bit boring but ok if you've got things to amuse them.

Thanks for a nice stay!

Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Malmesbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5302 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019