Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Malmesbury > Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd Reviews

Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd
Arches Lane
Malmesbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN16 0EH
Tel: 01666 826880
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: April/easter To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 72 Reviews
                8/10 from 72 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MacLeods 8 reviews from this member

Booked 2 nights mid week. Arrived when owners not in & they had been kind enough to leave clear instructions as to which was our electric hook up pitch. Lovely clean push button free 'power' showers. Small quiet site with pretty, beautifully cut grass pitches. No play area if you have kids, but as we were away without ours this time, it was fine for us. From the site there was a really pleasant short walk through the field & along the river to the town (approx 10mins) where there are pubs, tea rooms, small shops etc. We took advantage of the Burton Hills 'information' room which had lists of places of interest, local take aways, restaurants etc. First night we ate at the Horse & Groom in Charlton, fantastic, best food/service etc we have had in a while, ate in the restaurant, but a bit expensive if just want a snack/quick meal/standard pub food, but well worth it! Also ate at the Smoking Dog in the town, Beer garden at the back, had standard pub food & fine. Would visit Burton Hill again if in the area.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevinmcd396 4 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site - we are planning to return.  As 2 couples we stayed for 2 nights over Easter 2007. On our arrival the owner walked us around the site and introduced us to the abundant and spotless facilities (including recycling, designed BBQ bins, information office with shared fridge freezer etc etc).
 
The tent pitches overlooked the panoramic view of Malmesbury and surrounding fields. The site was quiet with easy access into the town with really great pubs within 5 minutes walk.  The town's facilities are excellent and very quaint - cycle routes are good too - very easy to get off main roads and visit local places (eg Westonbirt Arboretum).
 
In the morning the owner came over and said hello and asked if we were enjoying our stay and recommended a number of local points of interest and also was interested to see if we enjoyed our days out the next day.  This is a small site so I guess they can afford to meet all their guests and this personal touch really sets this site apart from many others.
 
Any bad points?  Well the shower was hot but pressure wise was a bit limp - then again if you wait until 11am in a campsite that should be expected.
 
4.5 out of 5.  Great stuff.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jon odgers 1 review from this member

This site was very pleasant and had lovely views of the river Avon. The town is only a five minute walk away and is very picturesque. The shower blocks were immaculate and were always being cleaned. The Staff were helpful and the pitches had ample space. We would definitely use this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ptingay 1 review from this member

We used this site as an overnight stop. Arriving in the evening there was nobody at reception, but our pitch numbers were left on a board for us.
The site is fairly small with about 30 pitches. Our pitches were slightly sloping, but not rough. The toilet and shower facilities were fairly new, not massive, but adequate for the site and clean. The site was quiet even with it being nearly full. Situated on the edge of a Malmsbury, a very old village, which is well worth a visit and less than 10 minutes walk, good for waking off dinner. We would definitely recommend this site and will visit again for a longer period.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lyn687 1 review from this member

What a lovely site. Went last weekend for 3 nights, welcomed by Audrey who took the time to walk us around the facilities before showing us to our pitch. The site was fully booked but we had plenty of space for our caravan, awning and car and still room to sit out and relax.

The toilet block was small, ladies and gents (so I am told by other half) had two showers, two wc's and one handbasin cubicle. Spotlessly clean, mainly because someone was constantly there with spray, mop and bucket. As I said before, site was fully booked but neither of us ever queued for the shower which was always hot.

The site is a short walk along the river into Malmesbury, a lovely town with very friendly people, local shops, public houses and restaurants. The Abbey and Abbey Gardens are well worth a visit and there are plenty of walks along the rivers and through the town.
Just forget your car, or if you want to venture further afield, there are numerous places within an hours drive and plenty of literature on site to help you decide.

Thank you for a lovely weekend, we will definitely be back to Burton Hill in the near future.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: G3rmo 18 reviews from this member

This is an ideal campsite for exploring the many places of interest in Wiltshire and surrounding areas. Of particular interest are Avebury, Bath, Devizes' 29 canal locks, Castle Combe and Lacock. We arrived on a busy weekend and found we had a large pitch and we were not cramed in or encroached upon. The owners kept themselves to themselves and the site very clean. There were only 2 showers which got very crowed during the weekend but the rest of the week was fine. We were disappointed with the water pressure when the site was busy.

The site is safe for children as there is a strict 5mph speed limit.

The riverside walk is short but beautiful and Malmesbury is stunning. Be aware there is a stile which you can easily pass a pram over if there are 2 of you. The Smoking Dog pub allows children and has a raised beer garden.

The site was overrun with wasps and the owner has invented a device for catching them which he hangs near the refuse area. We tried to incorporate this around our tent but it did not work. The wasps still got in despite having the doors closed.

A point worth mentioning is that there is a low lying bridge on the road to Chippenham that regularly attracts high lorries. Apparently the road is closed quite often because of collisions. This occurred one night we were there and no diversion signs were put in place so we were sent on a wild goose chase.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oraya 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at Burton hill for four nights. The toilets and showers were very clean, in fact whilst we were there they were cleaned at least five or six times a day. The owner even went in late at night around 12-12.30 pm and cleaned them thoroughly ready for morning. I was very impressed with how clean the site was. And having recently stayed at a site in the same area that was not kept so clean, I wish we had returned here instead. The only down side for us was that we were given a pitch close to the bins and the car park/entrance. So sadly in the morning we were plagued by wasps, and late at night whilst we were trying to sleep, we were woken often very late at night (12pm - 1pm) by people either arriving back from a night out, or late arriving campers who then preceded to unload there cars etc and set up. But I would still use this site again, as it has been the cleanest site I have yet found. But next time I would request a pitch further to the other side.

We were kept awake one night where the people in the next tent became a little drunk and rowdy, but at 11pm the owner of the site went over and asked them to keep the noise down, so that was great to know. And they did come the next morning and apologise for the noise!

The town is a short walk away, 10 mins at most. With lots of shops, and some great walks along the river. We found the site very easy to find, and the owners were very friendly and helpful.

They have recently had a new shower / Toilet block built. The showers are lovely and large, one on either side of the entrance. They are the push button type, though I personaly didn't find this a problem. There is an area in the shower cubicle with a chair for you to place your clothes etc.

There are half a dozen sinks, plus a private sink cubicle at the end. The shower/toilets also has an electric point for hair dryer etc.

The over flow field is a little on the sloping side but as we were pitched in the main area, I can't fault this, the ground was very smooth and level, and grass was cut regularly.

They also had signs every where on drive up to state children at play, which imediately made us feel our children were welcome.

All in all a great site!

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bigmoney2 16 reviews from this member

We stayed at Burton Hill for its proximity to Badminton Horse trials. Quite a small site and the main hook-up field was full on our visit. We where at the far end which was quite snug, with units round the edge and in the middle. It appeared a bit more spaceous nearer the toilet block, as there were  just units around the edge. Very neat and tidy site, all grass pitches and friendly owners. Small clean toilet blocks with showers (which we didn't try). The overflow field is very sloping and just had one tent unit in there on our visit, you can walk through it to the river and a nice walk into Malmesbury which is a very old historic town and worth seeing.
Don't be put off by the entrance between two rows of statics, the field is very pretty and quiet. We would certainly use it again.

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Annie456uk 7 reviews from this member

I absolutely loved this site! The owners were very friendly and helpful. It is so very easy to get to, just a couple of miles from the M4. There are great walks in the area, the site is situated adjacent to a stream. Very close to a pleasant village, with great historical interest. The site itself is dog-friendly, but, best of all, so are the local pubs! I will definitely be visiting this site again and again!

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Duffnut 30 reviews from this member

We stayed here for August bank holiday weekend and it is a great little site. we stayed in the overflow feild which has no EHU but that was fine for a couple of days. the owners are nice people and tried to help when they could. The new toilet block is clean but a little small only 2 showers and 2 loos in each.

Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Malmesbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7358 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019