Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Malmesbury > Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd Reviews

Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd
Arches Lane
Malmesbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN16 0EH
Tel: 01666 826880
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: April/easter To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 72 Reviews
                8/10 from 72 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Drjbc 51 reviews from this member

The site's ideally located to visit Malmesbury, a pleasant and historical town, almost surrounded by two branches of the Avon.

The camping area is a rectangle of level grass without hard-standing, so rather prone to being carved up in wet weather. There was a problem with that before we arrived, so the first thing my wife was asked was 'Is your husband an experienced driver?' (yes, 40+ years, actually).

Some aspects seemed unnecessarily inconvenient, eg toilets closed for cleaning at 8:45am, and a trailer parked to block the grey water disposal.

The 18.50 for two people with a small motorhome was above average, so there seemed little to recommend the site other than its good location and there being few alternatives in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maistro 6 reviews from this member

We visited this site on the 8/9th of July, the owners are very friendly and took us around the site showing us toilets, showers, wash up etc and telling us about the area, the site is nice and flat and pegs go in easy.

We walked into town both ways you can walk down to the river and up the main street or go in the other direction and walk along the river which takes you to the top of town, nice is a nice walk if you visit the Abbey House gardens, we did and it's well worth it, a lovely spot.

We may return.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HarryBear 14 reviews from this member

We're just back from two nights at this campsite - normally we are a family of 5 but the children were away with their grandparents so we seized the opportunity of camping with just the two of us.

Location wise, it is fantastic. It takes just 10 minutes to walk into Malmesbury town which is very pretty with useful shops and an Abbey. We were recommended the Abbey gardens by another camper, but didn't have time to visit this time. We did have a look round Cirencester which was lovely.

The facilities were spotless; ladies have 3 toilet cubicles, 2 showers and a private sink cubicle. The showers were push button operated but delivered a decent amount of hot water.

The site owners have put thought into the green credentials of the site and installed light tubes in the ceiling of the washrooms and motion sensor lighting which switches off if no movement is seen after 15 minutes. The only problem with the motion sensors is that they illuminate the site when you pop to the toilet at 1am - no chance of sneaking in discretely!

The washing up area is covered and well thought out with plenty of space. There is a washing machine and fridge/freezer but we didn't need to try either on this visit.

We would consider returning with the family next year; although there is no playground there is plenty of space for playing (there is a very sensible rule of no hard ball games during high season) and plenty of places to visit in the area. I thought it was fairly good value for just the two of us with EHU and the pitches are very generous, but the price increases sharply for larger tents (6+ berth) or more occupants which might make us consider alternatives in the area.

In summary, a peaceful site in a beautiful setting with plenty to do in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fruitymiss 16 reviews from this member

Stayed for May half term week. Quiet site during the week despite it being school hols but full up at the weekend.

Grass kept very short, hedges really tidy but lack of planting to detract that you are really just in a well kept field. Would've liked more.

The 2 showers were adequate during the week but were queued for at the weekend but that's to be expected. However when the washing up sinks were being used the showers were almost dry.

Although there is a washing machine housed under the washing up area there is no laundry room and therefore no dryer or washing line which I did miss as when staying for a week with the kids I find it helpful to get a wash load done to reduce the amount I have to do when I get home.

Doesn't take long to walk into the town but it is steep so might not be suitable for everyone.

Nice chinese takeaway from Rendezvous (odd name!).

Went to Cotswold Water Park for watersports - about 45 mins away. Drove through Tetbury en route home and wished we'd gone there as it is a very pretty town with some interesting, albeit expensive-looking, shops - would've liked to have spent a morning browsing.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Geebees 10 reviews from this member

Just back from a 2 night stay. Probably one of the quietest campsites we have been on which ensured perfect slumber day and night!

Owner very helpful and friendly - came out of the house to greet us when we arrived and told us everything we needed to know.

Basic facilities but adequate and we use our own onboard facilities anyway. Not up to Caravan Club standards (ie Soap dispenser empty on both days)but fine for a small site.

Short walk into town along river for shopping and eating. Just outside entrance is a medical centre with a Boots the Chemist.

Ate out both nights and both times meals were good - Smoking Dog first night and The Kings Arms second night. Would recommend and would return.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jensyfer68 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from an overnight stay at Burton Hill.

We have been camping for about a year now and this was the first site we visited in 2010 and we've visited several times since.

Even though we only live in Swindon this is such a lovely, peaceful site you do still feel as though you are 'miles from home'! We cannot fault this site - great facilities, very helpful owners in a lovely location.

Nearby Malmesbury has lots of convenient shops including a Co-op, take-aways, pubs, banks, bakery etc.

Malmesbury is surrounded by plenty of places to visit - there are many leaflets on-site of places to visit and there is a tourist information centre in the town hall with more info also.

To conclude, a gem of a site that is worth a visit.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lamaja 7 reviews from this member

We had a warm welcome and were shown the facilities and where we could pitch up. The site was flat and well cared for, with recently cut grass and we had plenty of room to pitch up.

The toilet facilities and dish washing area were clean, with plenty of hot water. A washing machine and fridge/freezer were available on site.

We were taken to a stile on site and the short (5 minute) stroll to Malmesbury along the river was pointed out to us.

We enjoyed the walk to Malmesbury and visited the Abbey. We will return when we have more time to enjoy The Abbey Gardens.

The site had a lovely calm atmosphere to it. All in all a good site to stay for a quiet break within easy access of pubs, and restaurants.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Propellerhed 18 reviews from this member

We stayed at Burton Hill whilst visiting friends over Easter.

On the run up to the site I was a bit worried as it appears to be in the middle of a housing estate - but when you get there it's actually quite secluded whilst still being close to the town of Malmesbury.

The owners weren't there when we arrived but they had left directions for us. The site is roughly split into four sections - touring vans and motorhomes, tents, long term pitches and a caravan storage area. Our pitch was adjacent to the latter - which actually meant we had quite a peaceful time as most of the caravans around us were unoccupied.

The site is grassy and pretty flat with a nice view of the church and abbey in the distance.

Facilities wise, we had no problems with the shower temperature - although as there were few tenters on the site when we stayed the toilet block was usually empty. They were clean and fresh, although they could do with having an automatic closer on the door in as it got rather draughty in the shower when someone left the door to the block open! One minor annoyance when showering at night - the motion sensing lights in the toilet block are on a timer and may turn off whilst you're in the shower - and there's no way to turn them back on until you get out!

Overall we enjoyed our stay, a pleasant site for a few days. There's not a great deal for the kids to do other than run about on the grassy areas, a small play area would perhaps be a good addition for the future.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Idleone 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights in August. This was our first camping trip so didn't know quite what to expect. However we were so glad we stayed here as its a lovely site.

Met at the gates and shown round the site. We were told that the showers can lose pressure at busy times, but we never found this to be the case. We were told we were going to be in the overflow field, which didn't sound great, but when we were shown our pitch it was!. The overflow field is an open field with fantastic views over the countryside.

The nearby town of Malmesbury is very nice. Some great local shops and lovely pubs. We were disapointed that we had brought a pack of sausages from home (for our planned BBQ) as the local butchers specialised in making thier own which looked great. Its a short walk to the town through a field from the campsite to get to. (with one steep hill to walk up)

We got a map of the river walk from the information office in the town and spent an enjoyable afternoon following the river around the town. The pathway goes right past the campsite.

The site is very clean, the toilets and showers cleaned every day. The Staff are friendly and its nice and peaceful.

Would I stay here again? Simple answer, yes.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cooperd5 6 reviews from this member

We stayed for one night here after turning up without booking, as it was Thursday, plenty of room though the owner said he would be full Friday onwards as it was a bank holiday. We were without the kids (hooray!) and only in our small 3-man tent, pitch cost 15 which we thought expensive.

Site is well-kept, grass nicely cut and plenty of room. Showers & WCs are in a single block and after owner's warnings about water pressure in the morning I found water was just about warm enough at 7pm when I tried them despite messages posted about boiler issues.

Site has a lovely (and quick) walk down to the river Avon and into town, we visited the Smoking Dog, great beer & wine, and then ate at the Indian in town - again, lovely.

Overall, site is OK, don't think we'll be back with the kids & big tent though

Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Malmesbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3752 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019