Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Malmesbury > Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd Reviews

Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd
Arches Lane
Malmesbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN16 0EH
Tel: 01666 826880
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: April/easter To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 74 Reviews
                8/10 from 74 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  74 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sian jones 63 2 reviews from this member

 Plenty of space, flat pitches, short walk into town and warm helpful welcome.

Very clean facilities, good knowledge on social distancing for Covid19.

Overall highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mailp154340aiu 1 review from this member

 Self and wife using the site as a base for a walking holiday. Lovely walks to be had in this part of the country. (We were covering the latter stages of the "Palladian Way" walk, which goes from Buckingham to Bath, and Malmesbury was a perfect base for the last forty miles. )

We liked everything and disliked nothing. This is what all campsites should be like. Beautifully maintained facilities with good thought given to "socially distanced" use of facilities. Karen was super friendly and super helpful, and both our fellow campers and the local people were all lovely.

The campsite is in a wonderful situation, as quiet as you could wish for, with a supermarket only a few minutes walk away. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Dawn Loring 1 review from this member

 Just a short 3 night stay whilst daughter had 4 days in a row off. First outing in the tent for the dog! We all loved it including the dog. Exceptionally clean, well kept campsite.

Facilities in shower/toilet block hot water freely available, toilets spotless. Pitch areas kept spotless and nicely mown, hedges all well kept.

Karen and Steve the wardens very friendly and accommodating. This was our first visit to site but won't be our last. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: ANDY GILLETT 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site on outskirts of Malmesbury only a short walk in to town and dog walk along side the river Avon.

Very good facilities and immaculate toilet and shower block. Friendly staff and will have no hesitation in returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stuee 9 reviews from this member

 Been here several times over the years and this time was a particularly lovely experience. We were placed as requested, on the meadow field (they tend to keep this for adults, which is nice) and our friends were pitched nextdoor. The mown pitches in the main site are nearer the facilities and more popular with families.

The campsite is well signposted from the main road just near the roundabout and Check-in was a breeze.

We were lucky with the vernal weather and the tranquility of the spot only broken by the dawn chorus of birds then the distant squeals of children in the main site behind.

Amenity block was always clean and plenty of hot water for showers and dishwashing. A communal Fridge freezer was especially useful for us without EHU and there's a washing machine for those staying longer.

The staff are always jolly & helpful.

I do hope this site is protected from development and remains this idyllic. They've pollarded the tall trees and relayed some tarmac since our last visit which was a visual improvement. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LucySky 13 reviews from this member

 The campsite is situated near a small river and forest, creating a nice athmosphere.

As we were touring by bikes we arrived without previously booking, which was no problem. The toilets were clean, but rather few for the many campers staying at the site. All in all we had a good night's stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 60 reviews from this member

 Just five miles from the junction with the M4. Essentially just a level well-mown field, shared with some semi permanent caravans. There is no hardstanding. Tents are in a separate sloping field. Another area has storage facilities.

Delightful peaceful site within a few minutes walking distance of town. The only drawback is the long, narrow access lane - no passing places - not somewhere to meet anyone coming in the other direction! Clean sanitary facilities.

The owner recommended we eat at the Whole Hog in town which we did. Slightly lackadaisical service but good food at reasonable prices.

From the stop just outside the site you can catch a bus to Chippenham (50 minutes). From there you can travel on to any number of towns in the area.

Very helpful and friendly owner. We enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Raysto 2 reviews from this member

 Overnight stay due to traffic delays. We have stayed at this site before and it has become a little built-up around the entrance area with a small prefab housing estate and a few seemingly still being built/finished.

Statics/motorhomes in the first field. As this is already close by a town it does feel a bit 'towny' rather than rural although the adjoining camping field is unchanged - it's large, safe and has a view of trees and distant fields with a well-trodden central path to Malmesbury High St.

Good facilities - spotless and well-stocked.

We arrived without booking so we appreciated being offered a pitch and the price was ok for two adults and a car/tent rocking up suddenly whilst the world cup semi final was on (!)

The Smoking Dog - nearby pub just 5 mins walk from site - is decent with nice staff, friendly locals and a large plain grassed beer garden at the rear. Seemed to be owned and controlled by Butcombe brewery which kind of takes some of the character away.

Decent site for a short stay to explore the area (or for a stopover either side of Womad festival) 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Foggett 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fabulous. Friendly and helpful staff. Facilities were clean but could do with a de cobweb!

The field is spacious with wide pitches. A beautiful town with some lovely walks nearby.

Dog friendly. Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Susiejane 22 reviews from this member

 Easter 2018. The site staff could not have been more helpful all through the five days we were there. The relentless rain did make the grass muddy but that was the only thing that we could complain about, and the site could hardly do anything about that!

We did see one motor home being towed out by a tractor which had been standing by in case anyone got stuck. It is obviously a well drained site as puddles that did appear disappeared fairly soon after the rain stopped.

The toilets were clean and if anything the showers were a bit hot!

We walked into Malmesbury several times, the river was very high. We can recommend the Smoking Dog, where we had lunch one day and also The Whole Hog where we had Sunday lunch, both reasonably priced. The free Athelstan Museum is also worth a visit.

We were five caravans, all family and in spite of the weather we had a great time. 


Previous     74 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Malmesbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5987 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement