Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Malmesbury > Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd Reviews

Burton Hill Caravan & Camping Park Ltd
Arches Lane
Malmesbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN16 0EH
Tel: 01666 826880
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: April/easter To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 72 Reviews
                8/10 from 72 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Dawn Loring 1 review from this member

Just a short 3 night stay whilst daughter had 4 days in a row off. First outing in the tent for the dog! We all loved it including the dog. Exceptionally clean, well kept campsite.

Facilities in shower/toilet block hot water freely available, toilets spotless. Pitch areas kept spotless and nicely mown, hedges all well kept.

Karen and Steve the wardens very friendly and accommodating. This was our first visit to site but won't be our last.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: ANDY GILLETT 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site on outskirts of Malmesbury only a short walk in to town and dog walk along side the river Avon.

Very good facilities and immaculate toilet and shower block. Friendly staff and will have no hesitation in returning.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stuee 7 reviews from this member

Been here several times over the years and this time was a particularly lovely experience. We were placed as requested, on the meadow field (they tend to keep this for adults, which is nice) and our friends were pitched nextdoor. The mown pitches in the main site are nearer the facilities and more popular with families.

The campsite is well signposted from the main road just near the roundabout and Check-in was a breeze.

We were lucky with the vernal weather and the tranquility of the spot only broken by the dawn chorus of birds then the distant squeals of children in the main site behind.

Amenity block was always clean and plenty of hot water for showers and dishwashing. A communal Fridge freezer was especially useful for us without EHU and there's a washing machine for those staying longer.

The staff are always jolly & helpful.

I do hope this site is protected from development and remains this idyllic. They've pollarded the tall trees and relayed some tarmac since our last visit which was a visual improvement.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LucySky 13 reviews from this member

The campsite is situated near a small river and forest, creating a nice athmosphere.

As we were touring by bikes we arrived without previously booking, which was no problem. The toilets were clean, but rather few for the many campers staying at the site. All in all we had a good night's stay.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 49 reviews from this member

Just five miles from the junction with the M4. Essentially just a level well-mown field, shared with some semi permanent caravans. There is no hardstanding. Tents are in a separate sloping field. Another area has storage facilities.

Delightful peaceful site within a few minutes walking distance of town. The only drawback is the long, narrow access lane - no passing places - not somewhere to meet anyone coming in the other direction! Clean sanitary facilities.

The owner recommended we eat at the Whole Hog in town which we did. Slightly lackadaisical service but good food at reasonable prices.

From the stop just outside the site you can catch a bus to Chippenham (50 minutes). From there you can travel on to any number of towns in the area.

Very helpful and friendly owner. We enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Raysto 2 reviews from this member

Overnight stay due to traffic delays. We have stayed at this site before and it has become a little built-up around the entrance area with a small prefab housing estate and a few seemingly still being built/finished.

Statics/motorhomes in the first field. As this is already close by a town it does feel a bit 'towny' rather than rural although the adjoining camping field is unchanged - it's large, safe and has a view of trees and distant fields with a well-trodden central path to Malmesbury High St.

Good facilities - spotless and well-stocked.

We arrived without booking so we appreciated being offered a pitch and the price was ok for two adults and a car/tent rocking up suddenly whilst the world cup semi final was on (!)

The Smoking Dog - nearby pub just 5 mins walk from site - is decent with nice staff, friendly locals and a large plain grassed beer garden at the rear. Seemed to be owned and controlled by Butcombe brewery which kind of takes some of the character away.

Decent site for a short stay to explore the area (or for a stopover either side of Womad festival)

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Foggett 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely fabulous. Friendly and helpful staff. Facilities were clean but could do with a de cobweb!

The field is spacious with wide pitches. A beautiful town with some lovely walks nearby.

Dog friendly. Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Susiejane 21 reviews from this member

Easter 2018. The site staff could not have been more helpful all through the five days we were there. The relentless rain did make the grass muddy but that was the only thing that we could complain about, and the site could hardly do anything about that!

We did see one motor home being towed out by a tractor which had been standing by in case anyone got stuck. It is obviously a well drained site as puddles that did appear disappeared fairly soon after the rain stopped.

The toilets were clean and if anything the showers were a bit hot!

We walked into Malmesbury several times, the river was very high. We can recommend the Smoking Dog, where we had lunch one day and also The Whole Hog where we had Sunday lunch, both reasonably priced. The free Athelstan Museum is also worth a visit.

We were five caravans, all family and in spite of the weather we had a great time.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Countrycruisers 12 reviews from this member

We have just returned from 3 nights Easter weekend break on this site. The recent relentless rain has had a bit of an impact on the site. As this is a totally grass site the entrance was a bit churned up, but the entrance area does have the crate system built into the turf, so no risk of slipping within this area.

The site was almost full for the weekend, the facilities were very clean and tidy. Gents had 3 toilets and WHB, 2 showers. My wife said ladies was the same with one WHB in a secluded cubicle. We had no problem driving on the grass, we didn't see any other campers or caravans getting stuck.

The very friendly owner was on hand if there was any problems. The site is well drained, we made the short pleasant 10 min walk into town. The only downside was washing up water could have been a bit hotter, showers were just right.

We will come back

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rayngeo 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from another four day visit. Stayed with two other couples in the outside field where we barbecued and made merry in a quiet sought of a way.

All enjoyed it immensely especially one couple who had not been here before and we will be coming again before the seasons out. Thanks Alison

Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3263 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019