Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dolgamedd Camping And Caravan Park Snowdonia

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Dolgellau > Dolgamedd Camping And Caravan Park Snowdonia Reviews

Dolgamedd Camping And Caravan Park Snowdonia
Bontnewydd, Coed Y Brenin
Brithdir
Snowdonia
Dolgellau
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL40 2DG
Tel: 01341 450221  or  01341450356
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65+32 Statics
Open: 31stmarch- To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 83 Reviews
                9/10 from 83 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Springerholic 5 reviews from this member

Just back from 5 nights here. Lovely level pitch just above river with fire circle and able to buy logs on site. Free hot showers. Always free shower even in school summer holidays. River great for children to play in except 1 day when we had a lot of rain but back down again by next day. Site drained brilliantly despite the rain. Location good for Southern Snowdonia. Snowdon just over hour away. You do need a car. There are no shops in walking distance but to be fair its probably not a location you would go to without and I liked fact there was no shop for the children to nag me to go in and spend money in. No play area but river kept them occupied. I would stay again if returning to area

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Standef 4 reviews from this member

This a fantastic site. The owners/ staff are friendly and welcoming, the facilities block is clean nd well equipped with never ending hot water. We camped on a riverside pitch was really spacious with a picnic table, bench, BBQ stand and campfire pit together with EHU. (Be careful how you position your tent on these pitches as all children want to access the river and if you are not careful your pitch can become a shortcut to one of the many access points with through footfall till all hours). That said the river is stunning and safe ( in dry weather) for children to play in. My six year old was in it for hours and said it was much better than a boring swimming pool. He did take a tumble off one of the numerous rope swings so you'll need to make your own judgement about if they are suitable for your kids. We had a couple of days of rain during our eight night stay and the water level and speed went up quickly at these times.

The site is a fantastic base for all snowdonia has to offer and we will definitely be revisiting.

Jut one tiny negative. There is no phone or 3G signal on the site; I wasn't that bothered but one evening wanted to research some outings so paid £3. 50 for one day access to the site's wifi. Despite having a good signal displaying on my iPad I could not access any websites or send email. I did manage to post a two word status update to Facebook but any more than that it timed out. No one in the office seemed able to help out so I just wrote the £3. 50 off. Next time I ill jut accept that I'm offline on site and enjoy the peace!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SA2009 3 reviews from this member

We chose this camp site after reading the fab reviews on here. We weren't disappointed, lovely site and great area. We went with another couple and were pitched together as requested.

There were quite a few groups with lovely set ups all together, one thing to note though even though there were a few groups, everyone respected the rules and there was virtually no noise after 10. 30pm.

We were lucky that the sun shone for some of our trip and we could appreciate the views and setting. Facilities were great, hot showers whatever the time of day and they were clean. The owners were as suggested on other reviews, lovely.

Lots to do in the area, we went on the steam train down the lake at Bala which the kids loved (and so did the adults!). We also visited Barmouth which is a little coastal town not far from the site.

Lovely beach (although it rained while we were there didn't stop us going on it, bet it's lovely when the sun shines), very good fish and chips and a few rides and amusements for the kids.

The Bistro and Cafe at the side of the car park in Dolgellau are also good for food, very reasonably priced. The spa in Dolgellau is more than adequate for supplies.

One thing to note we pitched in the field directly in front of reception and the ground was hard, bring rock pegs! Overall, a lovely trip and we will be back!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lynne38 1 review from this member

Only one way to describe this campsite- fantastic. Setting is beautiful. We had a pitch down by the stream with electric hook up. Each pitch has its own campfire.

The shower block was clean and the showers were warm. There are only 3 showers but never had to wait to use them. The camp is situated in an ideal position to explore the surrounding area as there is a lot to do. You do need to use your car though.

No shop on site but there is a good spar a short drive away.

The lady who runs the site is lovely. Comes round to check that you are ok which is rare these days to get such a personal touch. Cant wait to go back.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smiledmb 5 reviews from this member

I don't think I should really write this as I don't want to spoil or share what I feel is a gem of a site. We went the Royal Wedding week for a special birthday.

The weather was amazinginly fab! We pitched by the river, had open camp fires every night in the stone circles, baked potatoes in the embers and melted mash mallows on sticks.

There were 4 families, all with children aged 2-9. The Children had a ball. Throwing pebbles into the river (which was only a stream due tot he dry weather) for hours on end.

There are rope swings over the river in places that we played with. We even went further down river paddling, the 4 year olds were in the middle of the river with the water up to their tummy /chests.

There's a camp kitchen with microwave and cooker and a TV and a few benches around a big table. The site had bags of fire logs to buy.

Booked again for this year. There's a shop (spar?) about 10 mins down the road. We also visited an amazing bike / walking area about 20 mins away the name escapes me (coed y brenin I think) its a forestry type thing.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fitz_original 1 review from this member

I'm childishly excited about returning to Dolgamedd this bank holiday!

This is a simple well run site, tucked away almost out of sight. There’s no pretence and a superb feel to it. I guarantee that just phoning the lady who owns the site (I’m told I’m not allowed to identify this lovely lady in my review, so I won’t) to book your pitch will leave you with a smile on your face. She has a manner about her that just oozes a quiet pride in her site and a genuine pleasure that you are going to be good enough to come and visit (a rare attitude these days!)..And the smile that phone call always puts on my face is mainly because I know that's exactly the attitude I will be greeted with when I arrive.

I first visited Dolgamedd with my wife and kids well over ten years ago. Since which time, the site has grown and improved, but never lost any of its peaceful character. Despite the huge amount of work that the expanded site must create and how busy she must have become, the proprietor has remained the same pleasant friendly woman with (So it would appear) time to talk to everyone. You're never cut short on the phone or in person, your interest in the site and the surroundings shared and reflected. It's just. Nice. Peaceful. Heartwarming stuff.

The recently constructed shower and toilet block is excellently maintained with the usual washing up facilities. In addition, access to a fridge freezer you can drop your cooler packs into, washing machine and cooking facilities and a room with a TV (It's a nice idea for the odd rubbishy day and it does get used, but I can’t imagine myself being bored enough to use that part of the building).

I should mention here that as a child, living in the Midlands, I took many of my holidays in this area, but I hadn’t really been back since I moved to Hampshire. I found Dolgamedd ten years ago by random chance when passing through, had a wonderful few days there. Then lost the details and spent years saying “Do you remember that site near Dolgoch?” with my kids. Finally found it again 4 years ago and I keep going back. I'm returning for the 4th time, having sent friends and family to the site too and everyone has returned home with a positive experience. It’s a four and a half hour drive for me. Last year I did a weekend at Dolgamedd. A 9 hour round trip. It was SO worth the drive.

Nearby Dolgellau: (Please try to get the pronunciation right folks! If you can’t manage the “ch” sound at the back of your throat, then “Dol-Geth-Lee” will do, but please don’t embarrass yourself by calling it “Dol-gel-aw” or “Dol-gee-loo”). An excellent small town. Good pubs serving good food; An excellent friendly local butcher; Hardware shops; cake shops; surprisingly clothes shops too. Just a great place to browse and take back your excellent food finds to the campsite for some nice fresh meals. There is also a large, well stocked supermarket on the way into Dolgellau AND a building and farm equipment facility nearby, that sell logs quite cheaply if you have been lucky enough to grab yourself a pitch at Dolgamedd that includes stone circle for your camp fire.

Of course, there’s Dolgoch falls just a little distance away, with its excellent homely tea shop (A bit unfair to call it a tea shop, since they do some lovely hot food there too) at the foot of the falls and the railway station half way up the falls, giving you access to the Tally-Lynn (“Tal-ith-lin” if you’re stuck!) narrow gauge railway. Personally, I like to drive out to the railway terminus at Towyn, take the train to Dolgoch – up the falls to the top (My secret swimming pool near the top falls. I’m not telling everyone where THAT is though, but if you get there before me. I left my specs there last time!). Back down again, food and drink at the bottom, little climb up to the train station, back to Towyn to pick up the car.

You will also pass the Tally-Lynn lake on the way. Take a note of where it is if I was you, then you have another nice place to go for a meal and a wander. Once again, there are a couple of nice pubs on the banks of the lake and a nice walk around the lake too (It’s never crowded, how do they do that?!).

I could bang on for pages yet, but my “Review” of this lovely site is becoming a bit of a tourist guide to the local area and frankly, the office on site has loads of flyers you can pick up anyway, so I’ll leave you to explore and find out what else is around for yourself.

In closing then; If you like a nicely run, unassuming camp site where annoying noisy groups are politely asked to be quiet or leave and everyone seems to be having a great, relaxed time, then my advice is go to Dolgamedd.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donna+ Mark 1 review from this member

Nearly missed the turning for this particular site when travelling from Bala as the sign was obscured.

We were one of the last campers this season and had a lovely weekend break away. The cost was £36 for the 2 nights for 2 adults and 2 dogs with no hook up. For our family to go peak season we checked the prices and it would cost around £50 per night.

We have 4 children all together and of course our dogs would have to come with us. A little expensive maybe as most sites charge per pitch rather than per person per night. Apart from rope swings, there didn't seem a lot for the children to keep them entertained, but we normally provide our own family fun as we like to spend quality time together as a family.

All in all it is a lovely site, the facilities were clean, really good showers,the owner was very friendly,the bonus part as far as we are concerned was that we could have a 'proper camp fire' which kept us warm and kept my partner happy as he could cook fabulous steaks on 'his fire'. Very entertaining to watch! We had a fabulous time!

There are some lovely walks around the area and plenty of places to visit.

The Eurospar kept us stocked up on essentials which was a 3mile drive from the camp site.

We will definitely be spending time there again.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ant71 1 review from this member

Just come back from a long weekend camping. Well what can I say what a beautiful little site. The river, campfires, and rain but it didn't bother us one bit about the rain because that's what camping is all about.

I would definitely use this site again and in danger of not using another. Although there is not much on the site it's a Great base site to branch out all over.

Dolgellau is about 2 miles up the road not much in the way of shops just a lovely little town. There is a Eurospar before you get into the town for your essentials & yes it is quiet well stocked. I would recommend this little gem of a site to anyone.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sharky92 5 reviews from this member

What a fantastic wee hidden gem. Tucked away beside the main A494 Bala to Dolgellau road at the turn-off to the village of Brithdir. I've been past this site so many times and never even noticed it until one day, I turned off the main road for a shortcut to bypass the roadworks on my way to Aberystwyth.

Mrs Evans was fantastic, and obviously very proud of her site, and quite rightly so. It's split into 5 sections. 4 distinct flat and level tourer terraces (for want of a better term) and a separate static section beyond the centrally positioned reception/amenity block. One seemed to be a seasonal tourer section though. Each 'terrace' is separated from each other by either walls, fences, banks or trees.

The lowest and largest level is on the river bank, and this is the only area where fires are permitted. Pitches aren't marked out, but Mrs Evans keeps track of all bookings and available pitches and will put reserved notices on your pitch a few days before arrival, so you're guaranteed to get your spot hassle free.

There are loads of stone circle fire-pits dotted along the bank, and bags of wood are sold at reception. There are only a handful of EHU points along the riverbank, so make sure you ask for it when booking if required.

Surprisingly, the main road is only 50 feet away from the river bank pitches, but you hardly hear anything. The road is a good 30 feet higher, and the opposite bank is shrouded in trees and bushes, so with the gurgling of the river, most noise gets filtered out.

The new amenity block is great. Everything's in one spot. Ladies and gents toilets, chemical disposal, laundry, camper's room, reception and 2 outside covered washing-up sinks with hot and cold water. The gents were kept clean and tidy, with 4 toilets, 4 showers and a wash cubicle, and the loo rolls were kept regularly topped up, so no complaints there.

The nearest shop is in Dolgellau, and it's a cracker, a new Euro Spar. It's quite large and very well stocked with everything you could need. Turn right off the main road about 2 miles from site at the sign for Dolgellau town, and it's on the left over the brow of the hill as you come into the outskirts. Blink and you'll miss the entrance to the car park though.

There isn't a distinct kids play area on site, but there are a couple of stand-alone play items dotted about. What with the woods, the river and the odd surviving rope swing, they're bound to keep themselves amused. The river is guaranteed to attract attention, it's fairly shallow, very rocky and teeming with wildlife. The week before Bank Holiday weekend, the water level was very low, and there were loads of kids and adults alike rock-hopping and splashing around in it.

All in all this is a fantastic, well looked after site, centrally located for Barmouth and the beaches, Snowdonia, or Machynlleth and beyond. It is definitely one I'd recommend to anyone, and I will be going back again, that's for sure.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rottsrule 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from Easter break at this lovely site.

Facilities excellent: ladies has 3 showers (no extra cost) although can run a bit too hot at times, and the facilities were always spotless. I think the gents have 4 showers and hubby commented on them running too hot at times too.

There is a camp-kitchen complete with hob, microwave and dining area for campers - great idea. There is an outdoor (covered) dishwashing area and a laundry.

Only down-side is there were no re-cycling bins other than one for cans. We did feel guilty putting glass bottles & cardboard in the general waste.

Campfires are allowed at various points along the riverside. And the river is lovely.

There is a great area of the woods for dog-walking and everyone seemed responsible and poopy scooped - we didn't see any mess left in the woods. A few of the static owners didn't seem to think the same rules applied to their dogs, letting them wander off lead (or on long extending leads) but generally speaking most owners kept their dogs under control and on lead. I don't understand why big dogs are charged at twice the price of small dogs on this site.

We would definitely recommend this site if you want a quiet away-from-it-all site.

We hope that next time we will be pitched in a nicer spot rather than at the end of the static vans right by the gate to the woods.

Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Dolgellau      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4932 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019