Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Dolgamedd Camping And Caravan Park Snowdonia

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Dolgellau > Dolgamedd Camping And Caravan Park Snowdonia Reviews

Dolgamedd Camping And Caravan Park Snowdonia
Bontnewydd, Coed Y Brenin
Brithdir
Snowdonia
Dolgellau
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL40 2DG
Tel: 01341 450221  or  01341450356
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65+32 Statics
Open: 31stmarch- To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 84 Reviews
                9/10 from 84 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  84 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Reviewer: Mbpearce76 5 reviews from this member

July 2005
We had great weather that weekend (8-9-10/07/2005) which makes everything seem better, sitting next to the camp fire at night bringing back memories of camping years gone by.
The new toilet block with showers is fantastic and was spotless at all times, the showers were nice and warm and everything worked.
Mrs Evans must be one of the nicest hardworking people I have ever met, she was cleaning the toilets out at 23.30 at night and again at 6.30 the following morning, she was just about to leave when I asked to buy some logs from her, I told her not to bother as she had somewhere to go but nothing seems to much trouble for her and I can understand why people return there.
The river is a great place to keep the drinks cool and its quite good for a dip to, the water is crystal clear and looks good enough to drink but you donít have to because you are never far from a tap for drinking water.
My friends who we went with have returned since and are camping in the same spot, they tell me everything is still spotless and just the way it was, they did not want to leave, I donít blame them.

Reviewer: Jude90900 1 review from this member

July 2005
This is the most fantastic place I have ever visited. We camped right next to the river, kept ourselves warm at night by the campfire and indulged ourselves paddling in the stoney river. With 4 children one only aged 2 i was a bit worried about the water but no problems whatsoever and there was other small children to play with. Lovely and peaceful and absolutley spotless. Will definatley book for next year but will stop for longer.

Reviewer: Nilo 2 reviews from this member

July 2005
We spent a wonderful weekend at Dolgamedd last weekend. Plenty of pitches for tents when we arrived Friday evening - no need to book. Decided against the pitches by the river where you can have campfires as we have two young children. A new amenities area opened in the last month - wonderfully clean toilets and showers (showers free too) that you never had to queue for. There is also a family/disabled shower room, campers kitchen, laundry and freezer room and telephone should you need it. Lovely walks down by the river and owner extremely friendly and helpful. Plenty to do in the surrounding areas too. A site we will definitely return to.

Reviewer: Hunny 2 reviews from this member

July 2005
Just come back from a weekend camp at Dolgamedd. My boyfriend and I primarily went to fish but alas...no fish!! lol Although I do have to say the stream was beautiful, clear and shallow enough for children (and big kids cough cough) to play in. Also if you are visiting make sure to take a walk out the gate from the caravan field along the river, its a bit rocky and the sides are steep but its peaceful and scenic and there is a lovely waterfall down by the bridge.

The site was clean, level and the public facilities were excellent. There were freezers for your food, kitchenette, washing up sinks (huuuugggeee!!!), laundry facilities, lovely clean hot showers but take your own toilet roll (unless you like the feel of tracing paper!!)

Some of the other reviews talk of the traffic noise from the road (which can be heard from the riverbank where we stayed) but if you have good company, a good campfire and of course...good wine ;) then its hardly noticeable and definitely wont disturb your sleep.

All in all we were really pleased with the site and will definitely go back again, a perfect break!!!

Reviewer: Mrs. Coyote 11 reviews from this member

June 2005
We thought this was a beautiful site. As others have said, you can have camp fires by the river. Some of the pitches are in amongst the trees and there are lovely walks through the woods. The toilet/amenity block, which includes a camp kitchen with cooking facilities and a camp-style table and benches, is new this year - but there is still Izal type toilet paper!! There are no hardstandings and it was quite muddy in some places but apparently this is in hand! We would definitely go back again.

Reviewer: Debsy 110 reviews from this member

July 2004
One night here in July - the weekend before the really hot one!!! This Friday it threw it down all night but never mind this site is great - the campfires are the obvious draw - we weren't by the river but just above.

The toilets are old but work so no reason to complain - also very clean. I would use this site again as it is safe for the kids to bike right round and seems pretty relaxed.

Deb

Reviewer: LilMoMarmite 6 reviews from this member

31st July 2004
The site is just as beautiful as others have said, but if you want a pitch by the river (to have a campfire) you do need to be there early. This is definitely the site's biggest attraction for the majority of people there, and as we got closer to the site we knew we were heading the right way because of the number of smoke plumes rising above the trees!

When we arrived (admittedly quite late on the Friday at about 8.30pm) there were no pitches by the river left, and those down there were squashed in very tight.

The rest of the field was pretty well spaced (infact the back field was just about empty) and despite how busy it was we never had to queue for the toilets or showers. As mentioned in other reviews the toilet block is very old, but was spotlessly clean. There is no running hot water in the sinks though, although there are free showers. Despite their age the showers are actually very good - really powerful and hot.

Only downside is that there can be some road noise, but only noticeable during the day, not at night.

Will definitely return, but probably out of season when it's a little quieter.

Reviewer: Peter42 4 reviews from this member

End of July 2004
With the best weekend's weather of the Summer, the site was always going to be busy. The site is in a beautiful location, and is superbly situated for exploring parts of Mid Wales. The area next to the river was extremely full and there were numerous campfires, but we were on the hay field to use the hook-ups. It was much quieter and also away from the road, which was occasionally noisy, as motorbikes roared past. We enjoyed a very level pitch, with lots of room. The facilities were very basic and small, but this should be changed for next year as there is a large new block being built.
Mrs. Evans, the owner was very friendly, and let us pay for half a day so we did not have to leave until late on Sunday.
Take your own toilet roll, as the paper in the toilet was the old waxed "Izal" type - not too pleasant!!!
Also, we experienced young children riding a motorbike around the park which was very noisy,and the children's parents clearly had no consideration for others on a Saturday evening. The owner should have been there to deal with the situation, but was not around.
Overall, about 7 and a half out of 10.

Reviewer: Mrs R 7 reviews from this member

May Bank Holiday
This was our first camping holiday as a family although I only knew camping holidays with my parents many years ago as a child.

We have 2 children, one aged almost 13yrs and one aged almost 3 yrs. The welcome was very warm from the owner. We were told to pitch up where we liked. We explained that we found the site on this website and she agreed that she had some good reviews and also that the toilets and showers were in need of modernisation but this was in hand and would be taking place.

The site is set in the most beautiful scenery and as previously mentioned, noise will not be tolerated. The showers were hot and the toilets adequate. Hook ups are available however they're not close to the river and the camp fires.

We met with a group of lovely people from Merseyside whilst we were there and enjoyed sitting around their camp fire of a night. We kept our beers cool in a net in the river and enjoyed watching the bats skim across the river and past our heads around dusk. We didn't encounter any problems with midgies and were not bitten at all.

My husband had reservations about security as he'd never camped before but the site is incredibly safe. The site is also extremely well kept, very clean and the owners provide plenty of firewood for the camp fires free of charge.

We will definitly be returning again, probably at the next bank holiday in August. Hopefully the facilities will have undergone their modernisation by then.

Reviewer: linz&rhi 1 review from this member

August 2003
We too went on the busy Bank Holiday weekend. Couldnt find the space we really wanted right next to the river with access to a campfire but wasnt too far away. Didnt need to worry though as the campers next us built such a big campfire every night I think it kept the whole campsite warm!!!!!!!
Toilets and showers were adequate and always supplied with soap and toliet paper but have to agree with previous review, could do with some modernisation.
Despite being very busy, which could only be expected, there was not much noise to complain and as I understood by the owner noisy campers would not be tolerated anyway. A lovely part of Wales to explore. If you can cope with basic but substantial amenities I would definitely reccomend this site and would certainly visit there again myself, maybe not on a Bank Holiday though.

Previous     84 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Dolgellau      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans Ė plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4661 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019