Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dolgamedd Camping And Caravan Park Snowdonia

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Dolgellau > Dolgamedd Camping And Caravan Park Snowdonia Reviews

Dolgamedd Camping And Caravan Park Snowdonia
Bontnewydd, Coed Y Brenin
Brithdir
Snowdonia
Dolgellau
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL40 2DG
Tel: 01341 450221  or  01341450356
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65+32 Statics
Open: 31stmarch- To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 83 Reviews
                9/10 from 83 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JEAN287 1 review from this member

Went to Dolgamedd.Went by reviews and was not disappointed. Owner Mrs Evans, was very helpful when booking, as we were 2 adults and 1 dog so she put us on a hookup pitch away from the middle of tent site, as it was the main children's holidays and was still a great spacious pitch, still near the river, so we could have a campfire every night, and a bit away from the river where most of the children played. No play area for kids, just rope swings, but they still enjoyed it.

It is 3miles from Dollgellau where the nearest Somerfield is. If you go into the town there is a few other shops,as well as a few pubs to stop at.

Toilet block were always clean and good showers, even though busy if you waited till later in morning there was no queue.Small freezer for icepacks.Plenty of hot water for dishes. You need a car to get to attractions, Barmouth & Bala 10 miles either way. We will go again but try and go out of school hols. Would recommend this site to everybody.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bugster 4 reviews from this member

This was the first time we had been camping in this country for a few years with a big tent - Vango Tigris 800. There were no problems with pitching a large tent, and a small tent next to it. Staff were always courteous and helpful, even when we had to swap tents half way through the week as our first one leaked, so they didn't recognise a new tent popping up on site. Our only 'problem' was that when booking we had said there would be 2 adults and 3 children but we were just given a price for the 2 adults. So cost should have been considerably more, however the staff kindly honoured the 2 adult price.

At times the site had quite a lot of road noise, and the recycling truck seemed to turn up at about 7am in the morning - which as we were camped near the site entrance was always an unwelcome wakeup call.

The kitchen facilities were useful, with indoor washing up. We never had to queue.

The toilets were always clean, whatever time we visited. I had no problems with the toilet roll, although apparently in the mens it varied between soft and tracing paper. The showers were hot when we used them. But slightly frustrating as the push button only turned them on for about 20secs at a time.

Overall we enjoyed ourselves and would stay at the site again if we returned to the area, especially when the boys are a little older so not so worried around the water and open campfires.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: She22 1 review from this member

I had a lovely stay at this campsite. We pitched our tent by the river and had a lovely open fire.

The facilities were great, toilets, showers and kitchen were soooo clean. We went out in the car but I don't think there is anything within walking distance. Price was a bit steep but then again it does include all the facilities. I would recommend to take your own toilet roll!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bigmunkynutz 1 review from this member

The best Campsite Ever!

We visited this campsite as there we 3 couples of us, although we were quite young they were very welcoming to us. They allowed us to pitch together near the river and we were allowed to build our own camp fires. This was safe as we were less than 10m from the river/stream.

We found the toilets and shower facilities excellent, they were very clean. There were services for freezer packs and mobile phone charging, I think the girls had sockets in the bathrooms so that they could use hairdryers.

There was a small on site shop and the ability to buy wood as well as the option to forrest for 'dead' wood.

There was plenty do within say a half hour drive. Lake Bala, Snowdon and Barmouth to name but a few.

So pleased with our stay there that me and my missus are going to go back in three weeks for a long weekend.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skirts 2 reviews from this member

Just come back from this lovely campsite. Very helpful owner, good clean facilities - take note on the other toilet paper comments though! Lovely walks in the woods and by the river. No children's play area but not needed in my opinion. Good access to loads of things to do, places to see etc. The weather was very mixed when we were there and we resorted to extra layers at night but had no problem finding stuff to do.
Could be a bit too noisy for my mum in the late evening but I found it acceptable family / kids noise. It wasn't yobs or lots of loud music. We camped in the middle field which I think is better than by the river. You have to like the sound of rushing water to camp down there! We'll be going back.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Djgrumpy 3 reviews from this member

Not a bad site have stayed here twice now. Showers hot but busy at times.

Location very scenic and there are good walks from site.

Our last visit was however severely disrupted by a group of youngsters who turned up and proceeded to become drunk and loud very quickly and sustained this throughout the night. They were evicted the next day, however the fact that the owners did not appear to live on the site did not help matters

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kendal Kampers 1 review from this member

I`ve been going here for just under 10 years now and not once have we been disappointed.

The first time we went, it was 2.50 pppn and the shower blocks were an old shed and hot water hadn't been discovered in that part of Wales. However, it is was one of the few places where you could have a fire, dogs off the lead (but under control) and Mrs Evans would bring a trailer load of logs for the fire if you asked her nicely. Since then, a huge new toilet block has been built with hot showers, driers, wash facilities, laundry rooms and everything else needed over a camping trip.

The prices have gone up and she does sometimes charge for wood, but Mrs Evans is one of the nicest owners I have met in a long time, and when 20 of us ring to book to go mountain biking, she always remembers us and has a pile of wood waiting our arrival.

Turn up and pitch, she be round at some point to take 8 pppn, huge tents are never an issue.

Barmouth is 14 miles away where there are some great beaches, Coed y Brenin is 15 mins up the road (or a 6 miles ride over llanfacreth), Mountain biker are more than welcome.

Highly recommended site for bikers,families, those wanting a peaceful secluded site.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Travellinglight 6 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this campsite, and it was even better than the first time. The office is manned most of the time. There was no one is available when we arrived but the owner had marked the pitch for me. There is plenty of room between pitches.
The shower/toilet block is excellent and spotlessly clean and the kitchen (for the use of campers) was brilliant. The site is situated near a river and the camp fires looked brilliant after dark! Ideal for children.
The price is OK, but the added extras, such as 3.00 for hook-up and 1.00 for dogs made it a little pricey. The bins were overflowing when we arrived on the Friday and were still the same when we left on the Monday, they could do with extra bins.
The owners were very friendly and were very approachable. The surrounding area is spectacular, with the sea but a few miles away to the west, and the mountains to the east and south. Llyn Tegid (Bala Lake) is also only a few miles away. There are plenty of shops in the market town of Dolgellau, about 3 miles down the road.Would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: StuandHelen 6 reviews from this member

Just got back from the bank holiday weekend, (Vango 600). Best weather ever, sunbathing during the day but freezing at night!
Had a pitch down by the river; views from tent entrance were superb, river flowing gently by, wagtails on the stones in the water, birds of prey flying above, campfire at night. Nights were amazing with the glow from the fires along the river bank and the people creating a lovely, chilled atmosphere.
Days out were Bala Lake 15mins, lovely walk and plenty to do. Barmouth, on the beach and great buildings to right as you look from the beach.
Nice pubs for al fresco afternoon drink. Back at the tent it was short walk to the woods to collect wood for the fire. Site sold logs at 3 a big bag, worked well once little stuff got going! Along the bank the kids age 9, enjoyed the rope swings and stone stepping in the river, all good fun.

Showers were fine and warm but lacked a little power at times. Facilities were good, kitchen block great, able to wash up inside or outside.

Staff were very helpful! Would we go back? Definitely!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisaloo17 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here during what I believe to be the wettest August week on record but we had a fantastic time! We camped by the riverside and enjoyed a campfire in the evenings. This was the highlight of our stay and the main reason we chose this site. The river was also a big attraction for us but we weren't able to take advantage of it as much as we'd have liked due to the heavy rain increasing the level and the flow - during dry periods the river would be suitable for paddling and has plenty of 'stepping stones'.
The site facilities were excellent though we didn't use the camper's kitchen. Given that we were 'living' in wellies due to the mud on the site the floors were kept very clean (can't say the same for our ground sheets though which we had to wash off in the river when we packed as we were relocating the same day)Despite the weather we had all (me, OH, 3 boys) fallen in love with the site and were very sad to leave.

Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Dolgellau      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7049 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019