Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dolgamedd Camping And Caravan Park Snowdonia

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Dolgellau > Dolgamedd Camping And Caravan Park Snowdonia Reviews

Dolgamedd Camping And Caravan Park Snowdonia
Bontnewydd, Coed Y Brenin
Brithdir
Snowdonia
Dolgellau
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL40 2DG
Tel: 01341 450221  or  01341450356
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65+32 Statics
Open: 31stmarch- To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 83 Reviews
                9/10 from 83 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Forbzie22 1 review from this member

Excellent campsite, great showers, friendly staff and spacious.

Local town with pubs, curry house, supermarket and Mountain Bike shop close by.

A group of 10 of us have visited this site twice so far for mountain biking in coed Y Brenin which is about 10 miles away, every time has been good laugh even when the weather was bad. Will def be visiting again.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Huwbob 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site for a couple of nights, which I think must have been the wettest two nights of the year so far! The welcome was excellent, and we were given a choice of a couple of pitches, both of which were ideal.

The facilities are excellent, the toilet block was as clean as could be expected given the fact that the site was quite muddy. The showers were good, and free. The campers kitchen was great as it gave our kids somewhere to go and keep dry whilst my wife and I took the tent down.

Would recommend it, and would certainly stay there again.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happycampers123 4 reviews from this member

Very pleased with site and facilities. Would just like to add to other reviews that the pot washing area is covered and there are also 2 other sinks indoor where you can also use a microwave, electric hob and watch tv (if you really want to!-terestrial channels only).
This was our first, but wont be our last, visit to this part of Wales and it is very nice. Great for walking and mountain biking, guide books available at reception. You can also hire bikes in Dolgellau and cycle to Barmouth on the Mawddach trail which is level all the way and passes through some lovely countryside via a riverside pub. The nearest shops are in Dolgellau which is about 3 miles away and 5 minutes in a car but there is no roadside footpath if you fancy the walk.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: April04 1 review from this member

As this was our first time camping, we first saw this campsite on the net after browsing the area we wanted to stay and after reading positive feedback we turned up on a busy bank holiday weekend without booking in advance.

We had no problem in getting a pitch and they were happy to try and get you where you preferred to set up. However as the electric hook-ups were taken we were happy to cope for 3 nights by torch light.

The toilet and shower block were nicely done out but could do with more showers in the womens as there could be a wait to get a cubicle in the mornings, found it was better if you went a little later. Also washing facilities were available.

Our son and his friend (age's 11), found the river great fun and spent a lot of time wet and muddy!

The owner was really helpful, as we had car trouble before we left and helped get us going.

We felt really comfortable there and will go back again.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JulesE 2 reviews from this member

I rate this campsite highly. We were there during peak holiday period and you didn't get the feeling at all that the campsite was crowded even though the site was full. Each of the plots whilst not strictly defined are very spacious. It struck me that the most popular spot for camping was down by the river although we favoured a pitch slightly higher up and felt that this was a good decision - the plots lower down on the particular weekend we were there seemed to be fairly noisy until very late at night. This didn't disturb us where we were camped but I might not have been too pleased to have been down amongst it.
They also have a field across the road for camping - which whilst a little bit further away from facilities would afford you a little bit more peace and quiet - particularly off peak I would imagine.

The pitches were clean and well kept and quite well sheltered as there are walls and trees to camp amongst. There is a requirement for all dogs to be kept on leads - another plus for me!

Facilities were a good standard. Toilets and showers clean and from what I could see regularly inspected. There are lots of comments posted about the toilet roll- which is the very scratchy type - reminiscent of school in the 70's/80's but I believe this is to facilitate faster breakdown in the sewerage system - so might be worth bearing with them on that one. Might also be a good idea if they put some signage up as it might encourage more customers to bear with it rather than using their own 'Andrex'. Just think of it as an experience.

Showers were lovely and warm and I saw little evidence of queues despite the site being full. There is a campers kitchen , I guess in case the weather is poor - this seemed to get little use whilst we were there as the weather was OK.

The campsite allows fires but this is only on the pitches by the river. You can have fires higher up if you have a BBQ or container to keep the fire off the ground. The owners supply wood at 2.50 per bag which is a reasonable size - we had 2 fires and didn't even finish one bag.

I would definitely have no hesitation in returning to this site if we wanted to be in the area again!-

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katiec1012 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely campsite with nice facilities. It is in a quiet area but only 15 minutes drive from the beach and supermarket and small village shops.

The toilet/shower block is well kept and clean, and there are clothes washing facilities also which are close to the tent pitching area.

We pitched right alongside the river, we had our own picnic table and fire plot which were provided by the site.

The owners are very friendly and welcoming and greeted us the morning after we arrived (we only arrived about 9.00pm). There was a lovely walk through the woods just across the road where you could bring back lots of wood for the fire.

Overall a brilliant campsite which we are going back to in a few weeks!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vangoghs ear 3 reviews from this member

Great site with drinking water stands and plenty of wooden benches and tables all spaced well so no overcrowding. The showers and toilets are very clean and warm, with hairdryers and well lit up in the evenings. Outside are big sinks with hot water to wash dishes. The campers kitchen is brilliant, it has a big wooden table, chairs, payphone and if the weather is awful even a microwave.
The owner is a lovely, friendly lady and you can buy decent bags of logs and you can use her wheelbarrow to cart them back to your pitch!
The river is lovely, quite fast running at some parts and maybe a little noisy for some though it didnt bother us. About 3 miles away there is a supermarket and gorgeous little town with everything you would want.We hardly moved off the site though as we enjoyed the surroundings so much.
Every evening around 9.30pm I enjoyed watching dozens of bats using the same flight path over the river while we cooked and kept warm (and mesmerised) from our log fire, the fire being the highlight of our evenings. We can't wait to return.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mike + Tracy 1 review from this member

Went back in may after visit last year. A great location with excellent toilet, shower and washing facilities. Pitched down by the river which was safe for the kids to play in, more like a stream! hook up and camp fire is the best. Good walking and only 2 miles from the local village for shops, pubs and chippies.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil+friends 18 reviews from this member

What can I say,this campsite is the best. Our party of family campers stayed here, for our 3rd visit, over the may bank holiday weekend. The facilities are excellent and the showers are always hot. There's a short nature trail along the river, which our kids and my dog love. Its also great to have a quiet beer with good friends around a campfire at night, which adds to the whole camping idea.
All in all this site is a good base for exploring the area with dolgellau and bala a short drive away for shops,pubs,etc: mair and her husband the owners are friendly and very helpful,and maintain the site very well. Highly recommended and well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dazwilliams 9 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the first time on recommendation from friends. What a gem of a site. Nestled along the river, pitches offered shade if needed with the many trees. A lovely shallow river runs past the site and fires are allowed at the river side.

The toilet block was nice and clean with plenty of facilities, toilets, sinks, showers, family shower room, campers kitchen, outside wash up area, laundry etc.

We did suffer one night of noisy teenagers breaking glass, kicking things over etc. But the reassuring thing was the owner checked the cctv the following day and had them removed from the site. This happened on our first night so it was a little concerning but great work by the site owner.

If you could find the ideal spot for a picnic, next to a river, this would be it so to sleep there too was a bonus.

Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Dolgellau      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4252 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019