Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dolgamedd Camping And Caravan Park Snowdonia

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Dolgellau > Dolgamedd Camping And Caravan Park Snowdonia Reviews

Dolgamedd Camping And Caravan Park Snowdonia
Bontnewydd, Coed Y Brenin
Brithdir
Snowdonia
Dolgellau
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL40 2DG
Tel: 01341 450221  or  01341450356/ 450230
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65+32 Statics
Open: 31st March- To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 84 Reviews
                9/10 from 84 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  84 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Greyed 1 review from this member

 For the life of me I do not want to appear a jobsworth or a killjoy but this site is portrayed as a haven of peace and tranquillity with signs everywhere saying no loud music or playing football with a hard ball.

There has to be some consistency with managing this type of thing. On Saturday night over the August Bank Holiday we noted a marquee type in the permanent touring field, at about 8pm a PA system started up and there was bingo etc.

It went off at 9pm so no real hardship, however on the Sunday night this went on until 10. 30pm, Mr and Mrs, Bingo, Quiz etc loads of cheering and raucous laughing.

Fine but we had our 4 yr old granddaughter with us right behind this thing. I complained to Mrs Evans who agreed to come out, another member of staff also attended and asked us if the noise was unacceptable.

Other people did complain also. After they switched it off some other individual started to play loud music.

To be fair Mrs Evans did confront one of this party the day afterwards. But. Never again. This marquee had signs of permanence so it must be a regular thing ? 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wiggy010 8 reviews from this member

 Have to agree with all that has been said before. The river really makes this site and seeing the children play all day is good to see.

Fire pits and bar-b-qs going most evenings. Helpful owner.

Would be a site I could return to. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saliboti 24 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a fantastic two night break at Dolgam campsite. The campsite is situated is a lovely location surrounded by mountains and within easy distance of lots of attractions such as Zipworld. The campsite itself was large and very flat so there was plenty of space to pitch up wherever you wanted.

The washing block was very good. There was a separate area outside for washing pots and pans. The inside of the washblock was split into four sections. The first section had five separate cubicles each with a sink and mirror.

The second section had three showers which had plenty of hot water. There was an additional fourth shower in the first section too. Each shower room was kitted out with a mirror, non-slip floor mat, clothes pegs, and a very useful toiletry shelving unit which was handy for putting your clothes and shampoo etc on while you showered. The third and fourth sections of the washblocks were separate male and female toilets.

In the female toilet section there were four cubicles. In the male toilet section there were two urinals and three cubicles. The owners had clearly thought of everything! The washblock was kept very clean and despite it being a busy weekend, there was never a queue to use the facilities.

We would definitely return to Dolgam again in the near future. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rodavies 1 review from this member

 We booked previous appx 3 days before. Turned up, paid our dues, allocated site with our dog and two young children.

No fires in the area we were in. Nice lady let us take a site bbq and have a fire, we roasted marshmallows and had bbq sausages bless her and thank you, hope I don't get you into trouble!

Good memories, booked again for a summer holiday weekend, awesome place, you won't be disappointed! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Doggy121 1 review from this member

 I phoned the week before going and we were delightfully told they can fit us in but only on the field with the tourers, on arrival reception was closed so we set off down the tourers field to find some space,

we were gutted as it looked rammed and then on driving to the bottom there was a huge corner area with a little notice stuck in the ground with our names on, I tell you I jumped out of the van with glee and did a little happy dance as the pitch was nice and secluded and like our own little campsite !

we were lucky with the weather and had 5 full days of hot sun, the campsite is one of the best we have stayed on for cleanliness, the toilets and shower room are super and everyone abided by the rules (it was bizzare not having our greyhound get mobbed by every dog we passed ),

lots of lovely little walks in all directions from the site, the river is lush yet towered over by a huge stone wall.

The village i

s only a 5 min drive away and bala and barmouth within a 20min drive, will return to this site year on year ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul freeman 4 reviews from this member

 We went as a large group and camped here we were made most welcome, facilities were spot on, showers were free and hot great as it was wet, they allowed camp fires cannot fault it and only 10 a head. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Campbel919 2 reviews from this member

 Great campsite close to main road with riverside camping with campfires allowed. Modern shower block with free showers and indoor kitchen area with cookers and microwaves. Great for access to local walks and Cader Idris. 8 miles to Coed y brenin mountain bike centre. Barmouth is about 12 miles away if you want to visit the seaside. Electric hook ups are plentiful and most pitches are flat. We have visited many times in recent years and the owners Maer always gives us a friendly welcome 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Laings5 7 reviews from this member

 We were invited by friends who have camped here on a number of occasions, so we came for the weekend. A bit pricey 39 a night for a tourer with 2 adults, 3 children (5-12) and a toddler plus electric. But on the whole a lovely site - immaculate ablution blocks with free hot showers. The owner was very pleasant and helpful. She provided us with a free fishing permit for our eldest son and explained where her fishing rights ended. He never did catch anything as the river was quite low. The river is beautiful and the forest walk up towards the disused railway bridge is very picturesque. The children had fun splashing about in the river - although there was a rock throwing incident and we landed up taking our youngest son to the local hospital in Dolgellau to have a laceration glued. Campsite is well maintained and quiet. BBQs allowed as long as they are off the ground. Co-op in both Dolgellau and Barmouth for your shopping. We would recommend the bakery in Dolgellau, who make the nicest honey buns ever! Beach at Barmouth was fabulous and with beautiful weather it was packed. The only downside to the weekend was the midges - who ate us alive and were resilient to our midge repellent. On the whole it was a lovely site and we would camp there again! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roberts Family 1 review from this member

 Okay so first let me say that we are a couple, with 2 children aged 16 and 18 and that we have never camped before! We have though, been buying our camping gear over the last year and so felt as ready as ever to give it a go. Our son was working and our daughter decided that we could give it ago ~ minus her! So we brought our Springer Spaniel along instead.

Here goes.

We are lovers of Wales and particularly Barmouth, however we were not that bothered about being near the coast as we chose this trip firstly: to try out camping and secondly: to relax. We booked this site solely on the reviews and to begin I will say that the reviews are spot on. This site is absolutely beautiful.

On arrival: the sun was baking down on us and the lady told us where we would be (middle field). We had requested not to be by the river, but they were also lovely spots. I took Sasha off on a walk ~ within a couple of minutes you are in a lovely small wooded area, with streams and a waterfall. Picturesque! Now although you can let your dogs off the lead when you go through the gate, we kept ours on until we headed away from the river. This was partly due to the river having quite a high drop and we were worried that Sasha may fall over the edge.

Our Pitch: was just lovely (we had ECU). We put up our tent and then had two windbreakers that we also put up. This gave us a little 'tent garden' and allowed Sasha a little bit of freedom. Now if you are in the middle field the ground is harder and so you probably should invest in some rock pegs as I think it would have been difficult without them. Also the cable to our EHU was just a little too short. We were able to hire one from the site (30. 00 deposit), but it's definitely something that you need to be aware of. We are going to purchase an extension lead, ready for our next visit.

Facilities: were fantastic! Spotlessly clean. Lovely warm showers ~ FREE! Toilets were immaculate and sinks and mirrors. There was a hairdryer available at a charge if needed. There were freezers available in the campers kitchen and a tv. There were two huge sinks to wash up in outside and at least two water taps. There was also a small laundry area with washing machines/tumble dryers.

BBQ: they permit these as long as they are off the ground and not on the picnic tables. This site is so well maintained and clean that you hope that everyone sticks to this rule. We had a little firepit/BBQ and bought a bag of wood from them to burn (slightly disastrous for us). We smoked! Loads of smoke, loads and loads of smoke lol, but others had huge fires going, so we think our firepit was probably a little bit too small.

Surrounding area: is beautiful. Most people seemed to go out for the day/part of the day and then return later on. We only ventured to the shops (about 4 miles away). The little town there is small, but well equipped. We used both the Spar and Co-op for little bits during our stay.

People: wonderful! From the owners of the site whom are lovely, friendly and helpful to the visitors of the site to the town. A lovely place to be. The site seems to attract 'decent and friendly' people and everyone we chatted to was lovely.

Although we have nothing to compare this site to and the weather was kind to us, I feel that the warm welcome you get on this site really made our experience a good one. A word of warning though. This site is full of families and children. For us it wasn't a problem as they were only playing and having fun and to see children on bikes and scooters and generally having a ton of fun without computers and mobile phones was just lovely. However if you want piece and quiet then maybe avoid the school summer holiday times. Also most dogs are welcome here, but must be kept on a lead which is expected and is sensible.

We are hoping to go back in October half term (with THERMALS), as it really was such a beautiful site to visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 3sonsmum 1 review from this member

 The site is clean, on 3 flat levels and the grass kept short. The toilet and shower block is quite new, plenty of free hot water in the showers. We never had to queue as there are more caravans than tents and they use their own facilities. There is a launderette with 2 washers and 2 driers. We camped near the river which was beautiful with lots of trees for shade and in this field you can have campfires. The owners sell bags of logs for 3. 50 per bag. The smoke kept away the Mosquitos, though the wasps were a nuisance when we ate. The owners provide picnic tables (1 per pitch) in this field too. Mostly families with children, some in large extended groups, and a few couples. All very quiet, though lots of children brought bikes to ride around the site on the Tarmac roads. In our field the road noise was a problem early in the morning and we were woken by lorries a lot. The road is just the other side of the river - you can't see it as there is a wall and trees and I don't think it was a problem further up the site. The owners are friendly and helpful, though there are no set opening hours for the office and no shop. Nearest shop 10 mins drive away in Dolgamedd town. Dogs are allowed on leads and owners seemed to follow this. The river was between 6 inches and 2 feet deep when we were there, though we heard that last summer it flooded in the rains. We had a lovely time, though the road noise would put us off staying again. 


Previous     84 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dolgamedd Camping And Caravan Park Snowdonia child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dolgamedd Camping And Caravan Park Snowdonia?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Dolgamedd Camping And Caravan Park Snowdonia dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dolgellau      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1335 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement