Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Croyde > Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Croyde Bay
Croyde
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX33 1PN
Tel: 01271 890501
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 200
Open: Easter - Mid October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fa-Fa 13 reviews from this member

 Picked this site after numerous considerations locally and based on prior reviews. Wasn't disappointed at all, one of the best run sites we've been to.

The site is only a 3-5 minute walk into Croyde village which has 4-5 pub/restaurants, a couple of ice cream parlours and general stores. In peak season pop-up stalls appear (and by the beach) doing gourmet pizzas. Village is generally busy both day and night in August but not uncomfortably so.

Care is needed with young ones with a lack of pavement in places but that all adds to the character of the place. On Thursdays there is a weekly craft fair on the green and in the village hall selling locally produced jewellery/art/crafts. We ate in The Thatch and all was good.

10-15 minutes in the other direction is a safe walk to the beach. Croyde Bay is superb for sand, moderate/medium waves, rockpooling and has lifeguards on duty till 7pm in summer. Body boarding is popular, as is trad surfing which they keep in separate areas for safety. Equipment can be bought and hired from a number of locations. Water is easily warm enough in August for a shortie wetsuit. No dogs allowed in the summer months.

If you are there for the second weekend in Aug there is a beer festival 10 minutes walk from the site with live music and food stalls.

The site itself has a great layout seperating vans, tents and has an adult-only field if you are that intolerant of children. On the family field we were in there was a very friendly atmosphere with a minimal/nil exuberant noise after dark. You do get sea views and of course an onshore breeze. The only negative is somewhat sloping pitches although the steeper bits have been terraced.

Pitches are marked but we got our 8-man on no problem and parking is outside the marked area. Shower/toilet blocks are fantastically plentiful, well maintained and provide limitless hot water. There are wetsuit washing facilities.

The reception has a shop function, coolbox block freezing and is open long hours. There is a fish & chip shop and a pizza hut which also does freshly baked croissants in the morning (very good). We only had pizza here which was OK but expensive (9 for a 9' with 3 toppings), the fish & chips looked good and appeared better value.

The pop-ups in the village were selling freshly prepared gourmet pizzas for 8-10 which looked better value.

Saunton Sands is a mile round the headland and has parking, that beach is bigger than Croyde and generally quieter. From this site its easy access to Woolacombe, Ilfracombe and North Cornwall for variety / wet days although traffic can be a bit sticky in Aug.

The site owners and staff are friendly and do a great job.

Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dinger999 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a week's camping in Croyde. We used the Bay View Farm site after finding it on here.

We couldn't book the site as it was only just over 24hrs till we travelled but the nice people at the reception said they would keep us a pitch even though it was getting very busy and close to fully booked.

You have our thanks for that. We were very happy with the site, all the facilities you need all in very good upkeep and always working. Pitches were very spacious and very well priced too.

Time to Beach was as described at under 10 mins and it is a lovely Beach at that as is Croyde itself.

You wont be disappointed booking to stay here and we will definitely be going back 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Haz053 5 reviews from this member

 Very friendly welcome and clear instructions to site. Chippie on site open at weekends. Good launderette and wet suit facilities. Site 10 mins from beach walking and 2 mins from village.

Shower block old but clean however water pressure so low that having a shower was not a good experience made worse by the luke warm water. Shower experience so bad that we would not return here.

Maybe we were unlucky but also a field of school children camping right behind our van, screaming and shouting all evening making it impossible to enjoy sitting outside. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Just James 3 reviews from this member

 Having just left the worst site ever visited this was one of the best. Friendly greeting, clear instructions, spotless facilities, and everywhere clean and tidy.

Chip shop and pizzas on site, open at busy times and good quality food with the added bonus of baguettes, croissants and bacon butties available in the morning if you didn't fancy cooking breakfast.

The site is convenient for the beach (10 min walk) and the village (5 min walk). Good pubs in village and bus stop outside site for bus to Braunton and Barnstaple.

Hope to return. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: KARL6 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week over the bank holiday. We had a warm greeting from the owner, the pitch was a good size, but no segregation, ie, hedge etc from the other campers, this didn't really bother us.

The showers were a good size and always clean, never had to queue once. There is a separate wetsuit cleaning area. The walk to the beach takes about 10-15 minutes, and it is a lovely beach, great waves.

The campsite had a lovely friendly feel about it and there is a central play area for the kids to play.

Croyde itself is a lovely village and is a short walk down the road. It has 3 pubs all catering for food. Usual pub grub, bit pricey but expected in a tourist area.

All in all a great site, would we visit again? Most definitely 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Larbea22 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over Easter, on a fully serviced pitch.

Obviously it was their first weekend open, as not all the toilets and showers were open when we went up on our first night for a shower. The showers were free with hot water in full supply - for once they even had a good pressure!

There is a fish and chip shop and pizzeria on site - only the chippie was open and seemed to be popular the first night it opened. We didn't use it so can't comment.

Very short walk to the gorgeous beach. Although a longer walk back if you walk along the beach to the right and come back up through the village! Hubby and I thought we'd have an early morning stroll and it ended up being a trek :)

Can't really think of any bad points against this site - can imagine it gets very busy in the summer though given its great location :) 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lilacmount 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with friendly staff. Just a 5 min walk to the beach. Water bust for washing wet suits off after a surf. Nice and safe. Family area as well as a couples area. We were in the family area which has a good play area also.

A short walk into town for anything to do with surfing too. Excellent

Will be returning soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dmcc1234 10 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Bay View, having stayed here last year as well. The village centre is literally a couple of minutes walk away and whilst the beach is accessible on foot, it's a reasonable walk especially with beach gear and small children covered in sand, so it's worth investing in a wheeled cart or buggy, if you have kids and intend to make a lot of use of the beach.

Pitch sizes are reasonable and the toilet & shower block were always clean and well presented. The site is also very well equipped with it's own chippy, pizza place, laundry room, kids playground, surf hire, wet suit wash and beach showers. The reception also doubles as a small shop for those camping essentials that you may have ran out of, or left behind.

My only criticism is that there are no lights in either of the Elsan disposal points, so be sure to empty your 'chemi-Kahzi' during the daytime, or bring a head torch with you instead! Bay View certainly isn't cheap either and there are far better value for money sites in the area, if you're prepared to stay further out.

That said, if you want to stay in Croyde itself then, it's certainly better value and far more pleasant than the only alternative fully serviced site in Croyde (Parkdean - Ruda). 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pcollier 1 review from this member

 Fantastic campsite. All the staff are really friendly and happy to help. Can not fault the facilities, very clean and plenty of toilets / showers. Some showers with push button but others which are proper showers all with plenty of hot water.

Only 10minutes walk to the beach and 5mins max to the local Croyde village. However the site does supply some goods within the little hut, like hot croissants, coffee and beach toys, all reasonably priced. Launderette facilities and water buckets for wetsuit cleaning which have been well used by my daughter after her surf lessons at Croyde Surf Academy. Large play area for kids and also a pizza & fish & chip shop on site again not over priced.

If you are looking to stay on a clean family orientated camp site close to all local amenities I would highly recommend. We will definitely be returning next year.

Thanks for a fantastic holiday even though the weather was not the best. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marcusopp 34 reviews from this member

 We moved here having departed Stoke Barton farm early. The facilities are comparable to mainland europe with ample showers, wash basins and toilets, all immaculate. There was a father and child wash room with a large shower and toilet.

The playground was large and well designed at the top of the hill, so you could keep and eye on little ones!

Croyde is very close with two pubs, which both do food and an over-priced restaurant. There are some local shops, but Braunton offers the best choice (5 miles away). The views are very nice with sunsets over Lundy visible on a clear evening. We loved the site, but the area gets very crowded with rude tourists in a hurry on narrow roads. I recommend visiting out of season to get the best out of the area.


The staff were very nice on the whole, particularly Debbie, but there was one guy on a power trip who was quite rude and aggressive (didn't catch his name). 


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Croyde      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1153 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement