Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Croyde > Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Croyde Bay
Croyde
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX33 1PN
Tel: 01271 890501
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 200
Open: Easter - Mid October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Marcoe 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Bayview over the Bank Holiday, and as per usual, it was lovely. The weather was not very good, but nevertheless, the welcome was very warm.

We feel that although it is not the cheapest place to stay, the tranquillity, cleanliness and location make it worth every penny.

I would recommend this site to anyone looking for a peaceful, holiday. Although we do not have children, the site is very child friendly, with safety a big factor that they take seriously.

See you all next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Super7 2 reviews from this member

 Spent a week at Bay View Farm at the end of July with my sister and two other families - 11 children and 7 adults.

Camping is on three fields, with separate family and couples fields (and a big sign saying no groups). Other areas were for camper vans and caravans. Mix of serviced and non-serviced pitches (we never bother) and plenty of water taps (though the nearest was a bit slow). Pitches are clearly marked and just about big enough (we had four pitches in a row so didn't really matter if we encroached on each other's pitches).

Main toilet block was great - we never had to queue for anything (toilets / showers / washing up) and the hot water was always plentiful (although sometimes a little hot for the children). Mostly kept pretty clean, but only closed for a proper clean once a day. Also a laundry room.

There is a lovely children's play area at the top of the site which is well worth the walk up the hill - slides, climbing frames, obstacle course and a tunnel for the little ones to clamber through. And a fab zip wire! Another set of toilets up there are well hidden but again kept clean. Plenty of open areas and empty pitches for them to play games.

We found all the staff extremely friendly, and they regularly patrol the site to make sure everything is as it should be. They are very strict on visitors, which on balance is a good thing - we felt very secure in letting the children wander around.

Campsite Reception sells lots of beach stuff and they were the cheapest in Croyde. Also bread, eggs and camping spares etc. Also a fish and chip shop (expensive, but convenient, and those that tried it said the chips were good!) and a pizzeria (we didn't try it, but did have freshly baked croissants from there one morning which were lovely).

Chickens and a fab cockerel roaming around the site were nice to see - never did find where they lay though!

Beach is about 10 minute walk (signage says 5!), and once you cross the main road outside the campsite the route is safe for children. Beach, dunes and surf fabulous.

Croyde has three pubs - The Thatch and Billy Budds are really one big pub with a shared beer garden, and the Thatch having a bigger menu. We ate at Billy Budds and it was good (and fast) pub grub. You must UST try the Thatchers Gold cider in the The Thatch with the slushy top - perfect after a day on the beach! Didn't try the other pub, as it was a bit further on. Road is very narrow and has no footpath in places - keep a tight hold of the little one's arms.

Croyde also has two ice cream shops (both good), couple of surf shops (including Saltrock), Post Office and a general store (great pasties), a bistro and a Skoda dealer! Braunton (about 5 miles) has a Tesco and a Saltrock outlet which had some good deals on body boards and wet suits.

It is not a cheap campsite, but we thought it was a fabulous place which was perfect for children. Can you tell we liked it? We'll be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Woodcamper 7 reviews from this member

 Super little campsite with great views and in a good location. My bug with this one is firstly trying to book, by mail only if you want to be prepared, they only start answering the phone in April on a Thursday morning.

They are lovely but not flexible at all on arrival date (Saturdays only), we asked for a serviced pitch on arrival we found it only to be electric hook up and water drainage hole, there was a push down tap shared with next caravan so no chance of hooking up.

Overall this is highly priced but I guess they can get away with it for the location and views.

Plenty of showers, never having to queue but push button last about 10 seconds which is very irritating, sometimes hot and fast sometimes not.

Love Croyde but think they need to improve their services. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Baileywan 1 review from this member

 A big thank you for making my first camping experience one of which I would love to repeat. We stayed in the couples field which had a perfect view of Lundy Island and the sea.

The toilet blocks were clean & the little touches like breeze blocks for bbq's & tanks to wash wet suits were awesome!

We had fish & chips from the place on site & the little shop had everything we needed Including freezing our ice packs which the 60p this cost went to a local charity!

We hope to go back soon & reckon this is a wicked place to spend a week with or without the weather! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Marcoe 4 reviews from this member

 My husband and I visit Bayview Farm regularly and have always received a very warm welcome.

The site is well maintained, spotless and very well run. There are a few rules which we feel are very fair as we like to feel safe and secure, which we always do, and these ensure that our stay will be peaceful.

The shower and toilet block are cleaned on a regular basis and are always clean.

The owners of the site should feel very proud as they provide a lovely place to stay. Excellent.

We will definitely be returning for many years to come. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonathanfisher 1 review from this member

 I would want to improve this site in many areas. I was disappointed that we had designated pitches because ours was right next to the road and I felt that we should of had a pitch with an actual bay view.

The playground was excellent but a far walk from where we were pitched. Not a particularly warm welcome.

Good toilets but luke warm showers. The fish and chip shop was a good idea and nice chips.

I thought the price was a high for the pitch we had although for the extra tent it was what we expected.

Generally a average site. Good pubs around. Could be greatly improved by not having as many strict rules.

We did enjoy our time on the lovely beach. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kenglos 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed at bayview for 2 nights in june because ruda was full found site to be nice although very basic just a field with basic but adequate toilet and bathing facilities.

You can not book this site its first come first served.

No bar no pool but is near to village pubs we ate in the thatch but it was very expensive 18 for a steak ouch! was nice though.

10 minute walk to beach.

Staff very friendly and willing to help.

Nice views of the bay and sunset spose the sites name is a bit of a give away on this one.

My only concern with this site is that for some reason they do not put their tarif on the web page,I wanted to stay here again end of july and taking two extra people found the price to be basically double for the extra two people this is most unusual as it is normally 3 to 6 an extra person,phoned again a couple of days later to querie the price and was quoted dearer still

Basically 148 for four people for two nights and an electric hookup shocking.

Needless to say we are staying on another site in the area with a pool a bar a restaurant golf and many other facilities and all for 74 for the same terms.

Probably would stay here again but only if it was just the two of us price for extra bods very prohibitive. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Paulpot 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site for two nights at the beginning of October 2009. Good location in village, handy for pubs, shops etc. Site facilities were clean and modern.

Although only 5 other campers on site, we were shown to the lower field nearest the road. This field has no or very limited sea views.

Found the site expensive at 54 for two people, two nights (small van with awning, no electric), especially in October. Details of pricing is non existent on website. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sunshine Camper 1 review from this member

 Just returned after staying at this site for a week. Excellent in every way. Has all the facilities you need and everything was scrupulously clean. Toilets, sinks etc were checked very regularly and the staff were always around. Easy walk to the beach where there are incredible waves for surfing and body boarding.

It is a traditional site catering for couples and families only, and as such, is very quiet at night - superb views to Lundy and of lighthouses.

The staff members are exceptionally helpful - it's family run - and they expect others to abide by the common sense campsite rules. We experienced one person being told to pack up and leave due to bad language and verbal abuse - this was excellent because the site - nor we - want this kind of person around.

So: full marks to the staff for making our stay so relaxing and enjoyable - 100% and fully recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gdpress 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived on a rainy day, and was permitted to pitch up early. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Pitches were large which were ideal for our 9 man tent and we never felt cramped. The views were fantastic, surrounded by hills with cows and horses. The view straight in front of us was of Croyde Bay, which on a clear evening you could view a beautiful sunset.

The children's play area was a hit with both of our children (5 & 3) and it was set at the top of the field so away from camp traffic and can be viewed from the tent area. Washing up facilities were clean with ample hot water. The showers were spacious ideal for having to take young children in with you, and hot water was plentiful. The on site shop had all the daily requirements (bread and milk) and there is the facility to buy hot croissants or baguettes each morning.

The fish and chip shop we found expensive.

The beach was a short walk (no more than 10 minutes), it is a lovely sandy beach, the sea can become crowded with surfers and body boarders, however this is our first time away in school holidays.

The village was a short walk away were you can buy lovely pasties, and the surrounding area has really lovely walks in the hills.

The only downside for me was toilets were only cleaned once a day between 1pm and 3pm, so after everyone had used showers/toilets after a day at the beach, they remained a little grubby until the next day.

We had a truly great week so much so we wished we had booked a second, if going back to Croyde we would not look at any other campsites. 


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Croyde      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1221 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement