Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Croyde > Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Croyde Bay
Croyde
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX33 1PN
Tel: 01271 890501
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 200
Open: Easter - Mid October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fodhead 2 reviews from this member

 This site is well worth a visit, its laid out well, facilities are great and the staff very helpful. There is plenty of room and a large children's play area in the woods.

Plenty of toilets, showers and washing up facilities on site plus a little laundry They do a lovely fish and chips as well as pizza on site. Croyde itself is a beautiful little village with two great pubs and a number of shops and cafe.

The beach is a 10min walk from the site, it is very clean and the surf is great.

Croyde is handy as a base to tour the area. We managed to visit numerous places from Minehead down to Bude. You have to get out early and come back late as there is at bottle neck at Braunton as the road from Croyde is a little narrow at some points, would not let this put you off towing a van down it though.

We would certainly go back there. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Nickwisp 1 review from this member

 Absolutely the best camp site in Croyde.

I have been coming for over 10 years to Croyde and I have stayed in all of the Camp sites around the area.

The Family who own the site are very friendly and always very helpful.

Very clean and well kept site, toilets and showers thoroughly cleaned daily - spotless.

Superb view of Croyde Bay from the site, watch the sun set into the Sea with a superb Red Sky,

Croyde Village is a few minutes walk down the road, you can also walk to the beach in about 10 minutes.

10/10 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Missdaisybug 1 review from this member

 First stay at this site, chosen because we love Croyde beach!

A warm welcome on arrival and the staff were friendly throughout our stay. Nice sized pitch close to the amenities which were superb. Warm toilet and shower area with hot, free showers. Good dish washing facilities

Useful wet suit cleaning facilities and laundry area also.

The best part of the site is the close proximity to the village and the beach. 2 minutes walk to the village, 10 minutes walk to the beach, we hardly drove anywhere all week.

Croyde pubs are all lovely although eating out expensive but to be expected.

An absolutely fabulous week, would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steeevb 1 review from this member

 What a lovely campsite. Fabulous views over the ocean. However the drawback to this is that the breeze comes straight at the campsite. With hindsight, I would have pitched sideways on, but upon arriving for the first time who would resist pitching maximise the view. Having an open awning probably didn't help either. Lesson learned fore next time.

Couldn't fault the facilities. Never, ever had to wait or queue for a hot shower or the toilets. Very friendly staff only too willing to help.

Only a short walk into town, or the beach. The walk up the hill behind the site is also highly recommended. The only gripe, and it is a small one, is that the paid for wifi (two teenagers) was a bit rubbish, and could cater for streaming. Not good value for an extra £25. 00.

All in all, a good holiday and will definitely come again. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Damaca 44 reviews from this member

 Turned up without a reservation on a sunny May Bank Holiday weekend and we got a pitch. Actually changed it a couple of times over the next days a) for a more level one then b) to be a little further away from the recycling bins. All done courteously by the reception staff.

The site became reasonably full but we never had to queue for a shower or for the laundry (which is, however, expensive) or dishwashing. A short walk into the pretty village with its several pubs, cafés, surf shops etc then counter-intuitively in the opposite direction a slightly longer (but still shortish) walk to the fine beach.

We walked twice to the lovely Putsborough Sands, and also twice around the nice Baggy Point.

This site, while very nice and friendly, will need some serious investment in due course; the facilities block looks rather ramshackle and the functions inside are getting tired, and there is a need to re tarmac the roadway outside this block and the adjacent recycling point. The site is quite expensive, too, no doubt trading on its convenient location in the village. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flogster 1 review from this member

 We've stayed at Bay View five times now - camping pods twice and tents the other three times and our most recent stay was in August for a two week camping holiday. That we keep returning says enough but the site and the family running it deserve credit for providing the best camp site in Croyde.

The pods are compact and I think are best used for a weekend if you have a family. A couple could get away with a longer stay before you feel that it's a bit small for a prolonged visit.

But it's camping that I really want to base our review on.

The site is for families first and foremost and offers pretty much everything you'd need for a good break. There are ample shower facilities which are clean and are cleaned daily. No hidden charges here to use them either. Good showers with constant running hot water.

The kitchen wash area is open all day and is a good size as well so no queueing for a slot to clean your stuff.

In the morning an on-site shop sells croissants etc as well as fantastic bacon baguettes. In the evening this shop sells chips & pizzas (I think pizzas. May be wrong).

The park reception also sells basics such as bread, milk, butter, gas and so on. Pretty much most things you'll need to tied you over until you can get to a big store.

There's no load music after 2300 and as this is a family site this makes sense and is pretty much adhered to by everyone.

The site is big, so depending where your pitch is you may be on a slight slope or on a level spot but I don't think the slope is of a size big enough to have any negative impact.

The pitches are a generous size (we have an 8 berth Studland) and didn't feel we were either too close to the others or them too close to us. For kids, there is a decent dedicated play area at the back of the site, well away from any temptation to leave the park.

There are plenty of pitches with hook ups if you need electricity as well as plenty of normal pitches.

The staff have been as good as you could wish, every time we have stayed it's always been a visit where they've been friendly, welcoming and helpful. Can't fault them at all.

Our kids are 12 & 10 and were not bored at any stage. They found other kids to play with or made the most of the play area while the rain held off.

Croyde itself is beautiful, 2 great pubs less than 10mins to the right of the site offering good food as well as entertainment and there is also a good 10min walk to the left of the site taking you down to the beach.

During the summer the village hall puts on a Deckchair Cinema which is really worth a visit if you have a family.

We can't recommend Bay View enough, our last stay was 14nights and even though the weather was hit and miss (can't blame the owners for that!) we had a great stay, probably our best one yet.

We know full well that we will be returning in 2018.

For info -

9/10 for location as it'd be great if there was a zebra crossing at the entrance.

9/10 for facilities as although paid for WiFi is available, it's not the strongest of signals. Both these points are pretty much beyond the family's control I'd guess. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Amydelacy 1 review from this member

 We spent a week with our camper, awning and 2 children (under 5).

Arrival

We broke down literally at the gate when we arrived. The staff were brilliant they tried everything to help get us going from jump starting through to eventually towing us to our camp spot where we got recovered from to a garage a few days later (bank holiday weekend). The actual checking in process was quick and simple and they gave a map with everything we needed labelled on it clearly.

Site position

Our spot on the site was on a slight slop so used levelling blocks on the camper but the awning was fine and it didn't affect us. The plot was about the proportions possibly even a bit bigger but there was then space next to us between the road that leads round the park and our spot to park and sit on our chairs and the kids to play. All in all extremely happy with the spot!

Facilities

There were a good number of showers, toilets, sinks and never had any issue going straight in without waiting and always in good clean condition. There were even 'family cubicles' with the shower, toilet and sink in one cubicle which made things considerably easier when showering 2 children. Other facilities included a large washing up area (big enough that we never waited for space when we took our washing up down) and a wetsuit wash area. The bins were emptied really regularly so no issues from space in them or smells etc. There is also a small shop selling bread, milk, eggs and the emergency BBQ supplies when you've realised you've forgotten the coal (fail!).

Things to do

Onsite as previously mentioned there is space for the children to play next to the spot. There is also a really good children's playarea that is away from the road and has enough to keep most little monsters occupied with slides, seesaw, monkey bars and a zip line thing.

Staff

As mentioned before the staff we absolutely amazing with helping with our breakdown going above and beyond what I could of expected. Throughout our stay they were always helpful and kind, and when they did they drive round to check everything's ok they always say hello and wave to the kids.

Overall

I would definitely recommend this site as we had a brilliant stay even with having a breakdown and having to get it all sorted, which says a lot! We were able to walk to the beach, (with enough things to start a beach shop) and down into the shops and pubs easily, and have a lovely time while on the site. Definitely rebooking here! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tibbetts 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, v friendly and helpful staff.

Good size level pitches. Great facilities, everything you need.

Great access to beach and village along safe paths and roads.

Would highly recommend and will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frog 7 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 7 day stay at this site and am glad to be able to report a very positive experience. The site is on a slight slope with nice views over the bay and although the pitches are a bit tight and close together if you have a large tent, you still feel you have your own space. The shower block is clean and tidy with numerous showers which are both powerful and hot.

It's a 10-15min safe walk down to the sandy beach which is flanked on both sides with rocks. Croyde village itself is a bit tight so be careful when walking down to the number of pubs, we ate in The Thatches a couple of times and although not cheep, the meals were tasty and well presented.

Being on the coast path there are various walks if you fancy a change from the beach.

Overall a nice site with a family feel to it, I would like to return again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richard19000 2 reviews from this member

 We spent two weeks on this campsite in August 2016. We were with our children aged 8 & 10. The play area kept the kids busy a lot and they loved all of it, spending a lot of time there.

The camp site was always clean and all the facilities were kept to a very high standard of cleanliness. Showers were always hot and readily available despite it being the height of the season.

The beach is a 10-15 minute walk, the beach is FABULOUS. The bay is very large and excellent for surfing and water sports. The kids enjoyed the beach a lot.

The camp site is on the side of the hill so most of the pitches have a slight slope, but nothing to worry too much about, just had to level the cooker a little to make it easier to cook.

The only complaint I have is that there is no protection from the wind, and when you are on the side of a hill in a bay the wind was becoming a lot of an issue. There is a lack of trees and the hedges are too low to offer any protection. The flip side of this is that the view across the bay is fantastic.

Best Bit: Location to the beach

Worst Bit: Lack of protection from the wind 


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Croyde      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6995 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement