Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Croyde > Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Croyde Bay
Croyde
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX33 1PN
Tel: 01271 890501
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 200
Open: Easter - Mid October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angelahorn 3 reviews from this member

 I've stayed here twice, and both times toured round and looked at various other campsites before deciding on this one - very glad I did. The second time I fancied a change, but having seen the competition I was very glad to get back to Bay View!

The trouble with Croyde is that the cheap campsites all seem to be on slopes, and the non-sloping ones are either something like a holiday park, or cram you together on tiny plots. Bay View is neither. It's not cheap, but the plots are reasonable, the fields spacious, and it looks nice - beautiful views, wildlife, and you are still surrounded by nature. It's all lovely and grassy, but it looks like the fields have been levelled in the past and surplus soil pushed up to create grassy banks around the edge of the fields, which are bordered by hedges. This creates a good windbreak and a nice wildlife habitat.

There is a really great kids' playground at the top of the campsite. It's quite an uphill walk, but it's away from any roads or even on-site traffic, so you can send the kids off to amuse themselves safely while you pitch the tent, knowing that they'll have had a decent workout by the time they get up to the playground!

There are plenty of clean, spacious loos and showers, the site is kept very clean, and the on-site chippy is good in the evenings - pricey but so is everything in Croyde. As you come out of the front gate, you can go straight over for a footpath to the beach (10 mins-ish through lovely sand dunes and passing wild rabbits that seem very brave), turn right for the village (only 5 mins but hard with small kids because the pavement disappears, and roads are narrow and busy), or turn left and walk 5 mins to get to a holiday park which has a reasonable shop (grocery shopping is a problem in Croyde.) - it's much easier to walk to the holiday park with kids to shop because there's a decent pavement.

I see that others have been charged for visitors - we didn't have this problem, although it was 2008. My sisters and their friends were camped on a cheaper 'backpackers' site and came to visit us daily. The staff just told them to leave their car outside and to leave by 10pm. Their showers are so nice, though, I can imagine that they might have introduced charges to stop people taking advantage of them. For instance, the cheaper campsite where my sisters stayed is a steeply sloping field, one dribbly shower in a draughty old shed, and usually a queue of people lining up to use it - that's what you get for #8 a night in Croyde. On the other hand you could probably smuggle visitors in easily enough - the site is reasonably large and I don't see how they could police it without stopping everybody who's coming and going.

If we go to Croyde again, I'll certainly go straight to Bay View - I wouldn't bother shopping around again, when this site does everything well. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bobbymoore06 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a bank holiday 2 day stay. We have stayed here before but not for 2/3 years. We Arrived early (9am) and we were given a pitch at top of D field. Slightly sloping but not too much. A nice size pitch plenty of room for our 9 person tent. Fantastic views across Croyde to the coast. We enjoyed fantastic sunsets both nights. This meant a little hike to the facilities but the views and quiet more than made up for that.

The site has a family and couples only policy and has what seemed to be a fairly strict but informal 'lights out' policy at 11pm. This was no problem for us and in our view adds to the peace that you enjoy on this site.

The site is clean tidy and the toilet/shower block was always immaculate, fresh smelling, and water hot!

Didn't try the fish and chips or pizza but plenty of other campers did.

Site handily placed for the village which has a couple of pubs / restaurants / convenience shops etc. The beach is about 15 minute walk.

Paid £25.00 per night for two minimum stay 2 nights. (Cash/chq only) We will definitely return hopefully this year subject to weather!

The only negative was the outrageous price for visitors £17.50 for 3 adults and a child. I know we could have said no and arranged to meet our friends on the beach but. I guess they have problems with visitors turning into guests!

Overall a great weekend. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oxfordian1 1 review from this member

 We got back recently and would recommend this site to any families with young kids. (We have boys, 6 & 2). It is not cheap but if you want hassle free friendly camping in a nice location its worth the extra.

We were given a well marked out pitch, in a well drained and flat field, full of other families with kids. Couples with no kids were in another field so we didn't need to feel too guilty about ours waking up bright and early and making noise.

Its a friendly and clean site. Even the toilet & shower block is clean at all times.

A few nice touches as well, like the chance to buy warm croissants in the morning, and fish and chips in the evening. (Although portions of chips were a bit small, if we are splitting hairs!)

Staff were normally really friendly and helpful. The location is great - 100 yards to the pubs, cafes and shops, 1/2 mile down a track to the beach.

And this was on a (predictably) miserable week in August. A lot of the other campers seem to come back here year after year. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Towny 1 review from this member

 I visited this site with my 13 year old daughter. This was our first camping trip alone. We were put in a family field which had a very secure and friendly feel.

The facilities were great. Lots of hot water and we never needed to queue for the showers.

All the staff were very friendly and welcoming and regularly inspected the site to make sure everyone was ok.

The fish and chip shop served lovely fresh fish and chips. The fresh, warm croissants made a lovely breakfast.

We spent a lovely 5 nights there. Even though it was raining for some of the time, there was plenty to do. Body boarding in the sea which was just 10 mins away; wander around the village; swimming at Cascades which was about 15 mins walk away and a couple of drives into Ilfracombe when the rain was heavy.

In the evenings, my daughter was able to play in a safe play area at the top of the field and made lots of friends her own age.

All in all it was a great place to stay and we will definitely go back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sunshine-showers 7 reviews from this member

 This is a very good, well maintained campsite.

The toilet and shower facilities are excellent, everything seems to have been considered to make your stay as comfortable as possible. There is also a pot-wash room, laundry room, childrens play facilities and on-site takeaway (chips were lovely).

The site is also in a great location, being a short walk from both the village and the beaches (your not far at all from the Pub).

The campsite holds an elevated position, so has some nice views (although we were on the side near to the road, so got abit of traffic noise at times which I do like to escape from). The ducks that waddle around the site were nice to see.

The only negatives for me personally was the cost (£22 p/night for two adults and a campervan not requiring electric hook-up)and the campsite size. The campsite is really large, having a number of different fields. We were given a pitch in a field prety much on our own. Personally I prefer smaller more friendly sites, this site felt quite cold and uniform to me.

If this was the only campsite in Croyde Bay, then yes I would stay again - since I had no complaints about it. However, now knowing Croye Bay better and having seen the other campsites in the area, I think I personally, would give somewhere else a go. This is only because i've seen other campsites which I think are more in tune to me personally, I wouldn't put anyone off from staying at this campsite. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paula68 5 reviews from this member

 This is a really well situated site, with lovely views of the surrounding area, and a short walk from the village pubs, stores etc.

I was really impressed with the toilet and shower block, which was unfailingly clean, warm, and really well done out with nice touches such as flip-down seats behind the shower doors and lots of hooks etc to hang your stuff. The laundry facilities were also good (the dryers were particularly welcome as the weather was pretty wet.).

On the downside, the ground was on a slight slope which made it hard to know which way round to pitch. Our airbed kept sliding downwards in the night and given the amount of rain we had, we'd wake up with our feet pressed against the edge of the tent and wet sleeping bags.

The pubs in Croyde are lively and all do a good choice of food, though they get pretty busy. The beach was great and the surf hire facilities and surf school were really good. The only downside to this was that the sea was really crowded with boarders and surfers and this was a cold week in May, so I dread to think what it would be like in August!

Overall would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Thegamwellsmythes 3 reviews from this member

 We first came here for one night on the way back from Cornwall in August 2007 and were really impressed with the site, location and village of Croyde in general.

We liked it so much we didn't bother with Cornwall in 2007 and went here for a week instead as it saves us at least an hours drive.

The site is well maintained and the staff were very helpful to us. We did stay in early September after the schools went back so the site was fairly quiet but they made us feel very welcome.

Some of the criticisms in earlier reviews about rude staff don't sound at all familiar to me but they seem to be from 2005/6 so maybe some staff have changed?

The loo block was always very clean and the cleaning closure didn't pose a problem to us as they leave the disabled loo unlocked if you get caught short.

It is a very short walk to the village and a good 10 minute walk to the beach. Make sure you wear footwear as the path is a bit rough for bare feet.

The village is lovely with a very chilled out feel. The pasties are as usual splendid.

The beach is really nice and the surf is fabulous.

I don't recognise any of the negative comments from our experience although we have no kids so couldn't comment on the play area's.

We liked it so much we'll be going again in September 2008. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jimmy1039 1 review from this member

 Am very surprised at some of the negative reviews submitted. Last review clearly describes bay view somewhere else and clearly not the one in Croyde.
 
I stayed here for a week with my wife and daughter and was so delighted with the site we stayed an extra 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend.
 
Yes there are rules which are politely enforced but surely these are for the benefit of all the campers and help maintain a family site without rowdy groups partying until the early hours as with many other sites in the area.
 
I found the staff to be polite friendly and helpful, with always a friendly wave as we trundled down to the beach with our trolley of surfboards and body boards.
 
The shower facilities were immaculate and the available on site food was great. We had a good view of sea and the evening sunsets, and the site was clean well maintained with a good atmosphere with the only noise being families and children having fun. These standards were maintained even through the busy bank holiday when the site filled to near maximum capacity.
 
So to all those reviewers who didn't like the site - Great more room for me when I return again! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Iscaexile 17 reviews from this member

 (Karla65 comments do not seem to be in right place. This is not at Looe Bay and road access is good)

We have stayed in Croyde previously but not camped and thus knew that this site was in a decent location. We had a really good fortnight here. The weather for the first week of stay was not great - bitingly cold, unseasonal winds and a couple of nights of typhoon conditions - the sun then came out. No negative comments about the staff who were all friendly and helpful. The numerous rules were followed by visitors with no need for 'enforcement'. Five or so fields, some serviced, some for caravans. We were in a family field where the kids all mixed well (up at the 'park'). The site was generally quiet by 2230 and there weren't too many very early risers. A couple of pointers for those planning a stay. The pre-booking conditions on the website were adhered to and for those calling on 'spec' it was first come, first served with a minimum stay applied - worth checking prior to arrival as whilst we were there it varied from 3 to 5 nights. The site is on a gentle slope and towards the top it was quite breezy, the bottom end being reasonably well sheltered. The shower/toilet block seemed small but there was never any queueing. Showers not available 1300-1500 daily (cleaning). The area around the shower block could have been better lit at night. Finally no partitions between sinks in the female washing area. Overall would recommend and we will almost certainly visit again - interesting to note that many on the site were returning for second/third/umpteenth visit.

PS try Squires Fish & Chip restaurant in Braunton for high quality British 'nosh' 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Absquatulation 1 review from this member

 The views from the campsite are stunning, and with the sun setting over Lundy a glass of wine goes down very well.  The campsite is aimed at families, rather than groups of all boys or all girls, and as a result there can be a little friction when groups do turn up. The gates are shut at 10:30 – it’s only fair when you think that otherwise you could drive past a child sleeping in a tent. For the children there is a large open area in front of the toilets and in view of all the caravans which is ideal for children to play on. It wouldn’t be big enough for an adult football match, but ideal for children to play frisbee or catch or French cricket.  The toilet block is fantastic, we were last there in the height of the summer and didn’t have to wait for a shower, this is so rare considering other campsites that it is worth mentioning. The temperature is preset, and it is on the warmer side, although I would prefer that than to have a cold shower! The block is cleaned thoroughly every day, and it is cleaner than nearly any other site I’ve been to. The block is cleaned between 1pm and 3pm which is the quiet time for the site, although the disabled toilet is always left open if you get caught short.   The chickens and geese do patrol the campsite every day, and are fun to watch, along with the owners who drive up and down the site just checking everything is OK.  I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending this campsite to families with young children, with its close location to the beach, not having to drive is always a bonus when on holiday 


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Bay View Farm Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Croyde      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1345 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement