Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Wood Lake Campsite & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Great Hatfield > Wood Lake Campsite & Caravan Park Reviews

Wood Lake Campsite & Caravan Park
Mappleton Road
Great Hatfield
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU11 4UP
Tel: 01964 536869  or  07857637827
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 57 Reviews
                10/10 from 57 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karob 1 review from this member

 We initially picked this site as a trial run for our newly acquired used motorhome because it is only 10 minute drive from home.

What a beautiful hidden gem of a site. We arrived straight from picking up our van, we were greeted by the owner who directed us to our pitch, showed us where the motorhome service area for dumping grey water and filling up fresh water was ( really easy access for both, well thought out),

Secure fenced and gated off-lead dog area with a poo bin and bag supply and a beautiful well signed on-lead walk all around the grounds through tree and shrub lined areas, around the well kept small lake and back to the spacious very tidy site.

The area designated for toilet and shower block is an open fronted barn store, which on first site I thought looked a bit odd, but on closer look had been very thoughtfully turned into a shower and toilet block with an area for the use of campers which included tea and coffee making facilities, microwave and fridge, pot washing and drying area.

All together a beautiful very well laid out and superbly kept site. The owners have worked exceptionally hard at creating a beautiful and peaceful haven for their guests.

Alec and Karen Roberts

Many thanks x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dragon56 19 reviews from this member

 This is a truly lovely adults only site. If you want peace and quiet in a stunning location this is well worth a visit. The site is immaculate and the facilities are fantastic and the owners are so welcoming.

The local village with its dog friendly pub is approx 15 minute walk on a quite lane. We only booked for a 2 night stop over on the way back from a week in Flamborough but wished we could have stayed longer.

Will be back as soon as we can and stay longer next time. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stevens04 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic. Idyllic setting, lovely owners could not be more helpful.

Amenity block first class with lots of little extras that while not on our must have list, undoubtedly made our stay so much more pleasant. Wildlife walks on site stunning too.

We now feel spoilt and other sites are going to struggle to compare! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: BM Outdoor Pursuits 1 review from this member

 Well. What can I say, I stayed for 2 nights to do some astrophotography. The site did not let me down. The owners Roy and Cheryl are amazing people and so helpful. Roy even let me have the use of hie fire pit as I would be up most of the night as well as a trailer full of logs for me to burn. Cheryl even offered me potatoes to cook on the fire pit.

The site is so well organised and clinically clean, they thought if everything, even down to a squeegee for the mirror in the shower block.

This is my first visit but won't be my last as I can wholeheartedly say, this is without a doubt the best site I have ever stayed on. They even gave me permission to film my visit for my YouTube channel. 10/10 on every aspect. There simply isn't a superlative good enough for this site and the owners.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shazwil 1 review from this member

 First time at this campsite and what a site

Friendly owners

Peaceful and quiet

So dog friendly, great dog run

Great pub round the corner

Great good

All being well will be returning in October 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JohnandJoan 1 review from this member

 Liked everything about the site. Facilities were immaculate. Lovely walks around the lake or in the woods.

Sheryl and Ron are the perfect hosts and have put a lot of work into the site and it shows.

We are looking forward to visiting again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jinxyb 3 reviews from this member

 A brilliant site with a brilliant host. The facilities were excellent and a lot of thought has gone into how a site should be.

The barn which contained showers and toilets also included plenty of information about getting about and whats in the area.

Easy walks to the coast, 10 mins walk to the dog friendly pub in the village.

A site we shall be visiting again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Monkeypops 6 reviews from this member

 Such a lovely site and Cheryl a genuine enthusiastic lovely host. Silent on a night ( no road noise ).

Only a few min drive to the cliff top sea view area at mappleton. 10min ( max ) to hornsea. There's a tesco on your way into hornsea so no need to stock up on supplies before you go. Easy beach access at mappleton and hornsea.

I always rate a site as to whether I'd return or not. I booked an extended easter stay while still at wood lake.

This site and Cheryl are as good as you can get. 10/10. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dulcie1 2 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely, quiet site to visit with virtually every small detail paid attention to. From sunflowers in a vase by the washing up area to umbrellas to borrow.

There is a lovely fenced in area for dogs to play in, a wooded walk and a walk around a beautiful small lake for them to enjoy too. The owners are delightful, friendly, accommodating and hard working.

Have stayed about 3 times in as many months. Looking forward to my next stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: G Mortimer 1 review from this member

 Well what can I say that has not already been said, this is one of the best camp sites that we have stayed on. We had a non electric pitch which are all very generous including the hook up ones. It's very peaceful, our entertainment was watching the dogs play in the run so great for dog owners also total bliss as it's adults only.

The facilities are good, showers and toilets are very clean and a nice touch with the kettle, tea, coffee, microwave and fridge available to use in the barn area, if you use the tea and coffee though there is an honesty box which is a great idea.

The site has only been open a couple of years and is a great success. On first arriving everything was pointed out and explained to us e. G. Pub, shop, beach and much more.

The owners are lovely, I wish them all the best for the future, we certainly will be back.

Thank you. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wood Lake Campsite & Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wood Lake Campsite & Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Wood Lake Campsite & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Great Hatfield      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2422 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020