Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Wood Lake Campsite & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Great Hatfield > Wood Lake Campsite & Caravan Park Reviews

Wood Lake Campsite & Caravan Park
Mappleton Road
Great Hatfield
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU11 4UP
Tel: 01964 536869  or  07857637827
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 57 Reviews
                10/10 from 57 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 51 to 57                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alangmachon 1 review from this member

 Wood lake can only be described as a little piece of heaven, can't wait to return. Sheryl and Roy are the most attentive hosts nothing is too much trouble, they are constantly thinking of ways to improve, the toilet and showers are very clean.

If you don't want peace and quiet this is not the site for you, no children or road noise the only thing you hear is Ginger the horse chewing in his meadow.

Just a 2 minute drive and you are at the beach where there are miles of desolate beach great for letting the dog have a run, 6 miles and your in hornsea where there's shops and all the amenities that you would need, also a pub in walking distance which I believe has won awards for their food. I could really say lots more but don't want the site getting too busy as we won't be able to get on.

Will definitely be back to give Ginger his carrots and see Roy and Sheryl 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Richers2 15 reviews from this member

 This is one of the nicest sites we've been to for a long time. It is a new site, only opened this year, and the owners have done a lot of work to make the site beautiful. There is a nature walk on the site, through woodland and round a beautiful, natural lake.

Sheryl and Roy are easily the friendliest site owners we've met. We were allowed to choose our own pitch, and park whichever way round we chose. There are EHU's, and convenient water taps.

There are three toilet cubicles, two with washbasins, and one with washbasin and shower cubicle. The shower was spacious with plenty of shelves, and hanging rails, and no annoying push buttons that give 5 seconds of spray, you can have a proper hot shower.

The site is adults only, and very quiet, apart from the birdsong. It's a 15 minute stroll through the village to a lovely, friendly pub/restaurant, though we didn't try the food.

A couple of miles from the site is the beach at Mappleton, which is nice and quiet, with a car park (big enough to park our motorhome).

All in all, a first class site and we'll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jojo2507 1 review from this member

 This was my third visit to wood lake, and I will definitely be returning many more times in the future. The more I visit Wood Lake, the harder is it for me to leave.

This is a very peaceful site and what sold it for me is that the site is 'Adults Only'. A perfect tranquil retreat to get away from everyday life. There are a few walks in woodland which is part of the site, and also a beautiful lake to walk around where you see all sorts of wildlife, from kingfishers to owls. There's even the resident horse Ginger, who loves to be petted.

The site facilities are very good too. Very clean shower and toilets. A pot washing bay. There is also a dog run. A place where you can let your dog off the lead to have a run around without having to leave the site.

Nearby, there is a Tesco in Hornsea, for anything you may have forgotten. There's also a range of cafes and pubs in Hornsea, and quite a few Kebab shops. Our favourite is the Riviera, which I have used for 20 years or so and never had a bad meal once. There's also lots of shops in Hornsea and the beach, which is lovely. 2/3 miles away from the camp site there is Mappleton beach, which is gorgeous and a great place to let the dogs off.

Sheryl and Roy are the site owners and are lovely, they cannot do enough to ensure you enjoy your stay.

If you want peace and quiet then this is the place for you. I cant wait to visit again! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smasher 1 review from this member

 If you are still looking for that hard to find slice of tranquil camping heaven that you thought didn't exist anymore than you havent visited Wood Lake yet

There is simply nothing negative I can say about this beautiful site.

Being adults only this is one of those places you can truly unwind in that rare thing these days called peace and quiet, as other reviewers have said it offers everything in the way of facilities, a local pub five minutes walk away for pub grub, wonderful seaside town Hornsea three miles away and owners Roy and Sheryl will make you most welcome, they are both a credit to this magical place.

In summary this isnt a site for groups looking to party all night, there are plenty of sites for that, this little oasis is for those of you looking to find inner peace and enjoy living outdoors again, trust me its a very special place indeed 10/10 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BarnsleyBelle 12 reviews from this member

 I've got to be careful what I say about this gem of a site because I can see it becoming very popular and we won't be able to get booked on! If you want a totally relaxing, peaceful and friendly site in a lovely area with easy access to Hornsea and the lovely beach at Mappleton then this is for you.

Sheryl and Roy are great hosts and this is the first of hopefully many seasons for them, the facilities are good and the site comes with wooded walks and an unspoilt lake which I'm told is a haven for wildlife. There's a great pub roughly 10 mins walk through the village which serves gluten free food and beers and Hornsea is a 3 mile drive away with a large Tesco for all your supplies.

We loved this site so much we're planning a speedy return, thank you Sheryl and Roy for a lovely couple of nights. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DEBORAH BROOKS 3 reviews from this member

 Thank you to Sheryl and Roy, this should be voted the best site going. We travel a lot and it's not often you find such a beautiful site like this, surrounded in woodland with a walk through it and wildlife, we even saw a Heron and an Owl. One night we had a stroll to the pub just around the corner with great food. This site is Adults only which is perfect if you want a quiet stay, dogs are welcome but must be kept on a lead which is understandable as not to disturb the wildlife which clearly has been there for years to establish.

There is beautiful natural lake where we had a picnic. The facilities were spot on, very clean with 3 WCs pot wash area and a shower. It was a pleasure to relax in our caravan whilst watching the horse, a beautiful chestnut mare. We think the price should be more then 15 including electric for what you get as an experience. It was so peaceful, no road noise but easy access. Hull is about 35 minutes away and Mappleton beach was a joy, we had the whole beach to our selves and let our dog run free there. You don't get many sites like this for sure. I know it's a new site but my guess is you will need to book early when this beautiful site is more well known as it will be fully booked when folk get to know about it. It's a hidden gem. My husband loved his chat with the owner Roy who was into old vintage bikes and Sheryl is lovely too. We have booked our next visit already, we can't wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jenwadz 1 review from this member

 Very welcoming. Friendly. Couldn't do enough to help make your stay enjoyable. I had 3 small dogs with me and they loved it especially the wooded walk area will definitely be going again and very soon thank you again cheryl. Vanessa and jen x 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 57     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wood Lake Campsite & Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wood Lake Campsite & Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Wood Lake Campsite & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Great Hatfield      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1421 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020