Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wood Lake Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Wood Lake Campsite
Mappleton Road
Great Hatfield
Hornsea
Hull
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU11 4UP
Tel: 01964 536869
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 45 Reviews
                10/10 from 45 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stevens04 1 review from this member

Absolutely fantastic. Idyllic setting, lovely owners could not be more helpful.

Amenity block first class with lots of little extras that while not on our must have list, undoubtedly made our stay so much more pleasant. Wildlife walks on site stunning too.

We now feel spoilt and other sites are going to struggle to compare!
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: BM Outdoor Pursuits 1 review from this member

Well. What can I say, I stayed for 2 nights to do some astrophotography. The site did not let me down. The owners Roy and Cheryl are amazing people and so helpful. Roy even let me have the use of hie fire pit as I would be up most of the night as well as a trailer full of logs for me to burn. Cheryl even offered me potatoes to cook on the fire pit.

The site is so well organised and clinically clean, they thought if everything, even down to a squeegee for the mirror in the shower block.

This is my first visit but won't be my last as I can wholeheartedly say, this is without a doubt the best site I have ever stayed on. They even gave me permission to film my visit for my YouTube channel. 10/10 on every aspect. There simply isn't a superlative good enough for this site and the owners.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shazwil 1 review from this member

First time at this campsite and what a site

Friendly owners

Peaceful and quiet

So dog friendly, great dog run

Great pub round the corner

Great good

All being well will be returning in October
via mobile

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JohnandJoan 1 review from this member

Liked everything about the site. Facilities were immaculate. Lovely walks around the lake or in the woods.

Sheryl and Ron are the perfect hosts and have put a lot of work into the site and it shows.

We are looking forward to visiting again.
via mobile

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jinxyb 3 reviews from this member

A brilliant site with a brilliant host. The facilities were excellent and a lot of thought has gone into how a site should be.

The barn which contained showers and toilets also included plenty of information about getting about and whats in the area.

Easy walks to the coast, 10 mins walk to the dog friendly pub in the village.

A site we shall be visiting again.
via mobile

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Monkeypops 6 reviews from this member

Such a lovely site and Cheryl a genuine enthusiastic lovely host. Silent on a night ( no road noise ).

Only a few min drive to the cliff top sea view area at mappleton. 10min ( max ) to hornsea. There's a tesco on your way into hornsea so no need to stock up on supplies before you go. Easy beach access at mappleton and hornsea.

I always rate a site as to whether I'd return or not. I booked an extended easter stay while still at wood lake.

This site and Cheryl are as good as you can get. 10/10.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dulcie1 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely, quiet site to visit with virtually every small detail paid attention to. From sunflowers in a vase by the washing up area to umbrellas to borrow.

There is a lovely fenced in area for dogs to play in, a wooded walk and a walk around a beautiful small lake for them to enjoy too. The owners are delightful, friendly, accommodating and hard working.

Have stayed about 3 times in as many months. Looking forward to my next stay.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: G Mortimer 1 review from this member

Well what can I say that has not already been said, this is one of the best camp sites that we have stayed on. We had a non electric pitch which are all very generous including the hook up ones. It's very peaceful, our entertainment was watching the dogs play in the run so great for dog owners also total bliss as it's adults only.

The facilities are good, showers and toilets are very clean and a nice touch with the kettle, tea, coffee, microwave and fridge available to use in the barn area, if you use the tea and coffee though there is an honesty box which is a great idea.

The site has only been open a couple of years and is a great success. On first arriving everything was pointed out and explained to us e. G. Pub, shop, beach and much more.

The owners are lovely, I wish them all the best for the future, we certainly will be back.

Thank you.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Roger Stoakley 2 reviews from this member

We chose this site as a result of reading reviews on this site. And we werenít disappointed. The booking was easy. On arrival, the welcome was very friendly. The site facilities are modern and very clean.

Overall, an extremely friendly and well equipped site.

Iíve only given a one for the child friendliness as itís an adult only site!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: RosieLR 7 reviews from this member

This is a lovely, peaceful small site. Excellent clean facilities in a refurbished barn.

There were three unisex toilet cubicles, two with sinks, one with a sink and shower and also a separate shower cubicle. When we were there the site was full, and there was a bit of a queue one morning, but apart from that I cannot find any fault at all.

Everything seemed to have been thought of, even down to a hair dryer and good sized mirror in the barn. There was a fridge, freezer, kettle, toaster and microwave provided as well! Good recycling facilities, which some sites don't bother to provide.

Pot wash sink with washing up liquid. Fantastic large dog exercise enclosure where all the dogs could play together, and a lovely walk around the woods and lake.

Local pub about 12 mins walk through the village did good food and was dog friendly. Very helpful, friendly owners. Go - you won't be disappointed!

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3079 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019