Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Wood Lake Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Hull > Wood Lake Campsite Reviews

Wood Lake Campsite
Mappleton Road
Great Hatfield
Hornsea
Hull
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU11 4UP
Tel: 01964 536869
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 53 Reviews
                10/10 from 53 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Walkerbell 1 review from this member

Lovely quite well kept site with great facilities for dogs and humans alike.

Good local pub and beach within walking distance 2. 5miles. Many local attractions within easy reach.

Had a great 3 day bank holiday here and will be returning.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Pick19 1 review from this member

We are new to caravan touring and had our first stay here over the Bank Holiday weekend - we’ll definitely be returning!

A tranquil spot, immaculately maintained and lovely owners. Our family joined us in a tent and say the camping facilities are the best they have seen.

Clean toilets and showers, washing up area and kitchen area for campers. You can walk/bike/run along the nearby rail trail to Hornsea about 3 miles or follow the road directly to Mappleton beach.

Nearby is Wrygarth Inn. So peaceful and friendly - a hidden gem!
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tedtheginger 1 review from this member

Can’t fault this site. Booked last min & full so offered back woodland walk. Just brilliant for dogs.

Shower block clean well stocked clean, good showers. Additional room with toaster hair dryer microwave etc.

Fabulous dog run enclosed area, bags on entry and bin. Not bothered at all by owners.

Will be back
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Grzyb 1 6 reviews from this member

What a fabulous site this is, we only live about 10 miles from here and we never knew it existed,

When you arrive you are made very welcome,

Pitches are superb, very spacious, and manicured,

Fabulous walks for our rough legged friends,

You could be anywhere and takes some beating,

We would highly recommend this site but don't tell everybody as it's so good.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lesnorman 21 reviews from this member

In over forty years of camping this is the loveliest campsite we have ever found, it is like camping in a garden and an arboretum with a lake. The owners are the friendliest of people and went to a lot of trouble to help me repair a broken pole.

You have sparkling clean individual wet rooms not communal showers and loos, and in the under cover barn here is a fridge, freezer, microwave, toaster, tea, coffee and a TV.

The site has a long dog walk and a fenced-in enclosure where dogs can run loose. To the left there is a really good pub with meals and a shop, to the right you get to Mappleton which has a superb tea-shop and a deserted, endless dog-friendly clean beach.

You can't ask for more than this, I don't think there is any more ! This could be our second home without further thought.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Annekim Whitley 2 reviews from this member

I absolutely love this campsite, I like the way it has fridges and a freezer, a place to dry your hair, make tea and coffee, sit at a table to eat.

Ideal for nice walks and bike rides, also the lady who owns it couldn't be more helpful
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karob 1 review from this member

We initially picked this site as a trial run for our newly acquired used motorhome because it is only 10 minute drive from home.

What a beautiful hidden gem of a site. We arrived straight from picking up our van, we were greeted by the owner who directed us to our pitch, showed us where the motorhome service area for dumping grey water and filling up fresh water was ( really easy access for both, well thought out),

Secure fenced and gated off-lead dog area with a poo bin and bag supply and a beautiful well signed on-lead walk all around the grounds through tree and shrub lined areas, around the well kept small lake and back to the spacious very tidy site.

The area designated for toilet and shower block is an open fronted barn store, which on first site I thought looked a bit odd, but on closer look had been very thoughtfully turned into a shower and toilet block with an area for the use of campers which included tea and coffee making facilities, microwave and fridge, pot washing and drying area.

All together a beautiful very well laid out and superbly kept site. The owners have worked exceptionally hard at creating a beautiful and peaceful haven for their guests.

Alec and Karen Roberts

Many thanks x
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dragon56 19 reviews from this member

This is a truly lovely adults only site. If you want peace and quiet in a stunning location this is well worth a visit. The site is immaculate and the facilities are fantastic and the owners are so welcoming.

The local village with its dog friendly pub is approx 15 minute walk on a quite lane. We only booked for a 2 night stop over on the way back from a week in Flamborough but wished we could have stayed longer.

Will be back as soon as we can and stay longer next time.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stevens04 1 review from this member

Absolutely fantastic. Idyllic setting, lovely owners could not be more helpful.

Amenity block first class with lots of little extras that while not on our must have list, undoubtedly made our stay so much more pleasant. Wildlife walks on site stunning too.

We now feel spoilt and other sites are going to struggle to compare!
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: BM Outdoor Pursuits 1 review from this member

Well. What can I say, I stayed for 2 nights to do some astrophotography. The site did not let me down. The owners Roy and Cheryl are amazing people and so helpful. Roy even let me have the use of hie fire pit as I would be up most of the night as well as a trailer full of logs for me to burn. Cheryl even offered me potatoes to cook on the fire pit.

The site is so well organised and clinically clean, they thought if everything, even down to a squeegee for the mirror in the shower block.

This is my first visit but won't be my last as I can wholeheartedly say, this is without a doubt the best site I have ever stayed on. They even gave me permission to film my visit for my YouTube channel. 10/10 on every aspect. There simply isn't a superlative good enough for this site and the owners.
via mobile

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Hull      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2643 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder