Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wood Lake Campsite & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Hull > Wood Lake Campsite & Caravan Park Reviews

Wood Lake Campsite & Caravan Park
Mappleton Road
Great Hatfield
Hornsea
Hull
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU11 4UP
Tel: 01964 536869  or  07857637827
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 82 Reviews
                10/10 from 82 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Eddieoggy 1 review from this member

 Very nicely situated near beautiful beaches such as Faisthorpe, Hornsea and Mappleton sands ( The latter is just a short cycle ride away )

Greeted by the lovely Sheryl, a great conversationalist and a mine of local information.

The site has its own lake teeming with wildlife and you can even pitch a tent up there if you want

Quite a few hardstanding pitches with electricity, though water taps are not in abundance so motorhomes need to fill up beforehand.

The three toilets are well maintained though no gents urinals, just the unisex cubicles ( One includes a shower ) plus there is an independent shower cubicle all with lovely and hot running water not those horrible press button types thankfully.

Adults only site which is a distinct plus for yours truly although dogs are allowed ( Oh well one can't have everything )

Also an entomologist's paradise with a plethora of insect life, I have never seen so many crane flies ! and once in a toilet cubicle, I spotted a a huge hairy spider that resembled a small Tarantula!

All in all though, , a very peaceful site and very reasonably priced - I will certainly be returning and can recommend it 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jim196 1 review from this member

 Excellent site very friendly and have great local knowledge.

Facilities were spotless. Complete with snooker table croquette and French bools.

There is a pub close that serves food and dog friendly. I would definitely recommend this site and will be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dompetrus 2 reviews from this member

 This is a really lovely campsite for adults only. It is a site that we would like to return.

All the facilities needed are on site showers, separate toilets and washing-up faciities.

Hornsea is about 4 miles away and we found a free parking facility. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kennyemmett 4 reviews from this member

 First time on site but more to follow.

Great site nice and quiet, site was a credit to owners, well thought out and well set out pitches, our little dog loved the secure enclosure she could run around in.

Nice little touches, like maps showing safest route to village/pub and the sea 45mins walk away with the Old Post Office cafe for a welcome drink, also if you required free use of fridge freezer, kettle, toaster etc, toilets/showers were spotless.

Thanks for a very pleasant stay.  


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mallyandmags 1 review from this member

 Wow what a very nice camp site

As I only live in hull we just wanted a weekend away, we come across this site and we were met by Roy and Cheryl the owners, they ask us where we wanted to pitch up and we pick the pitch we wanted not far from the showers and Toilets and they are the best ones in yorkshire on a camp site. as we been to lots of camp sites in yorks but never seen any like this, so clean and tidy

There is a full working kitchen, tv if you missed the news and a hairdryer socket to change your phones

Nice wood to walk around pond. lots of wild life

Hornsea only 3 miles away

So if you really want a camp site kids free, best go here. they make you so welcome. we have book to go back in the next 2 weeks

Well done Roy and Cheryl on making us welcome 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Henryhallam 1 review from this member

 I am just back from a 7 night stay at wood lake, what a beautiful site with great facilities all kept in fantastic order by the lovley couple who own the site, nothing is too much trouble and they make your stay so comfortable and make you so welcome.

I stayed in a tent with electric hook up but if you do not have electric there is a fridge freezer, kettle, toaster, iron and ironing board, water filter, phone charging points, hairdryer and even tea and coffee provided for campers ( honesty box for tea / coffee ).

I unfortunately broke down while there and had appalling service from my breakdown service, lucky for me Roy came to the rescue and very kindly fixed my car, nothing is too much trouble.

I will definitely return, I do not have a negative comment to say.

Thank you Shelley and Roy for a lovley holiday and allowing us to share your beautiful home / campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Cookw1 1 review from this member

 Everything was excellent, from the views, to the facilities to the welcome, it was just exceptional.

There was lots of facilities all clean and in working order.

You could choose where to pitch to suit you and your tent. It was really dog friendly, even a safe enclosure for dogs to run off lead.

Would highly reccomend, we will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Schoey55 7 reviews from this member

 Great pitch next to Lake, toilets showers were spotless. Site was a credit to owners, well thought out and well set out pitches,

Nice little touches, like map showing safest route to village, and free use of fridge freezer, kettle, toaster etc made for a very pleasant couple of days camping. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Aspden 1 review from this member

 Absolutely loved our time at Wood Lake Campsite! Owners were amazing and helpful.

Close to everything we needed and had a wonderful view of the lake where our pitch was.

A quiet place that has amazing scenery and affordable prices.

Will definitely try to return if we get the chance. Katie and Tom 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Oddjobles 1 review from this member

 The site was very quiet and peaceful. There are special facilities for dogs, we had brought 1 active dog, he could run in the exercise area and we walked around the wood and lake area, lovely.

The showers and loos are modern, clean and serviced regularly.

Sheryl who runs the place is super, nothing is too much trouble, the site is a credit to her and her partner.

We didnít have electric hook up but it was hardly necessary, there is a lovely area where you can microwave meals, make drinks and toast. Fridge/freezer available with plenty of sockets to charge your phone etc.

Lovely walks nearby and local pub is great. 
via mobile


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wood Lake Campsite & Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wood Lake Campsite & Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Wood Lake Campsite & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hull      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2383 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement