Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Point Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > By Dalbeattie > Castle Point Caravan Site Reviews

Castle Point Caravan Site
Rockcliffe
By Dalbeattie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG5 4QL
Tel: 01556 630248
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 80 Reviews
                9/10 from 80 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mikro 22 reviews from this member

 Lovely position, no hard standing but grass close cut and firm slight slope so needed ramps. We were in lower field good views.

Very good shower and clean facilities. Good laundry and wash up room, useful info room with books and guides.

Quiet at night when we were there. Walks on coast path from site, but no pub or shop in walking distance. Good walks at Sweetheart Abbey. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sofargoner 1 review from this member

 Found this via this website. Looking for somewhere with beautiful views and that did not disappoint.

Weather was dry from start to finish which probably affects this review. There's nowhere quite a beautiful as Scotland when it's sunny (or even when its not!)

We pitched on a level site on the upper hill. Electric hookups are dotted around though on the hilly part of the site it's not terribly clear where the pitches are meaning that people locate themselves all over the field.

Our car was blocked in at one point. Another time someone pitched right in front of us taking up the view but hey ho that's camping …. If pitches aren't clearly marked then all's fair. We gleaned from one of the staff that tents are meant to be 3m away from each other for fire regulations. My recommendation is to pitch with your door facing the fence in the lower half of the field for an uninterrupted view (over the dreaded statics, mind you)

There's a laundry and games room/information room mainly occupied by wifi deprived teenagers with scowling faces - there is wifi on site but like others say, don't rely on it. Come here to get away from it all! There are two areas with football goals - a great idea, and there seemed to be a lot of children playing there. No play area for wee ones, if you are looking for that.

Dalbeattie is only 10 mins drive away for milk/bread etc - there's nothing available on site nor any shops in the nearby hamlet of Rockcliffe. Heartily recommend walking across the bay/tidal causeway at low tide to Rough Island - fabulous views down the Solway Firth.

My main constructive criticism is towards the toilet facilities. It was made to clear to us by the person on duty that the toilets etc in the upper field are for the campers. The showers are large, spacious and modern with great water pressure. One has a shower seat in it for disabled persons.

I think there were 2 or 3 showers. However - loos. There are TWO unisex loos plus a male set of toilets - I think there are urinals plus cubicles in the male loos. Therefore there are only two loos that women can use and most of the time I was waiting to go, men came out, as they are the first two you come across as you enter the toilet block. The sinks are in here. So it follows that there are only two sinks and two toilets ALL the women in the campsite can use. Both nights I waited 15 mins just to go to the loo.

Add to that, every time I went in, there was urine all over the seat (sorry guys but it's true), meaning it has really put me off this campsite and I wouldn't return. Specially when I saw the loos for the touring caravans a wee walk down the hill (which you aren't going to do in the pitch dark) had a womens block with 5 or 6 toilets and sinks separately. There's nothing worse than feeling you are second class as a camper!

So to the owners - please could you even put a sign on the Unisex toilets making them female only? (cheap and easy) Could you even put a couple of sinks outside for hand washing/teeth cleaning? or even better, build even just one or two more toilets? 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pcas 2 reviews from this member

 Great coastal location with a short walk to the beach. The facilities are basic but clean and well kept. The owner is friendly and helpful but bring cash as there are no card facilities.

The pitches are not hard standing but are pretty level and well drained. There is not a motorhome service point but we tend to fill from an aquaroll and use an external tank so that is not a problem.

The site is very relaxing with superb views and lovely walks. Lovely site for a relaxing few days 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Parkypig 4 reviews from this member

 Loved it.

Arrived on the 28th July to a stunning view and a very warm welcome (always a good start…)

We were directed to the top part of the site, with a promise of stunning views, and my god did we!. Full view all the way to Rockcliffe over looking Rough Island.

It was nice being so high up, as you could watch the rain come in, and it did, but we we’re on holiday so the BBQ was lit regardless.

Only very slight remark I would say is the placement of the electric hook ups, they seemed a little few and far between, and if the site was fuller than it was when we where there, you would need a fairly long cable to hook up. But that’s it, the only very minor issue, and it is minor.

Grounds are kept lovely, grass kept well, visitor room with a well stocked supply of flyers and site information, toilets and washing area spot on.

The rain thankfully moved on after about 30mins to produce a beautiful early evening sky, and having a dog with us, decided it was probably best to go explore! Just before the entrance to the site Is what looks like a private road, this leads down straight to the shore line. Absolutely stunning.

Follow this and it brings you to Rockcliffe and the Beach. Wow. Our little dog absolutely loved it, exploring the rock pools and the various marine life the tide left behind. But you just cant get enough of the smell. It’s a lovely fresh sea air smell with a hint of salty seaweed.

Two nights, spent on a lovely peaceful site with stunning views, would certainly visit again… Good work Castle Point. :) 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 432dale 1 review from this member

 From booking to leaving the site the whole experience was absolutely brilliant.

The wardens are amazing, friendly and so helpful.

The site is spotless, well kept and has a beautiful view.

Showers and all other related washing facilities were perfect, clean and well situated. The showers also have a good bit of power.

Castle point view is set in the picturesque area of Dumfries and Galloway and very close to the food town of Castle Douglas and the artists town of Kirkcudbright.

Well worth a visit, we can't wait to return. In fact it might be next week !

Site location - as above plenty to see and do in area, and if not wishing to travel the scenery and nearby beach is stunning.

Site facilities - as above, perfect

Value for money - exceptional

Customer service - out of this world

Child friendliness - my 1 year old tried to steal the wardens and ice cream and got a smile and laugh !

Overall rating - not a thought in this 10/10 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smc33 6 reviews from this member

 A great site, situated on a stunning coast! The site is spotless and very well looked after, the toilet/shower facilities are immaculate and have everything you would need, the disabled facilities are user friendly and provide adequate space.

The site offers stunning sea views and only a short walk from the beach which was great for the kids as the only downside is no kids play area, however the wifi allowed them to play games on the iPad at night.

The staff were friendly and we would recommend this site to anyone! 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 184 reviews from this member

 What's not to like? Fantastic views of one of the prettiest parts of Galloway, glorious sunsets, dark skies, totally quiet (apart from owls, and the geese flying overhead at night). Friendly & helpful manager.

Refurbished toilet block, smelling of fresh paint, always clean, with a free hair dryer but only one (albeit free, powerful & hot) shower in the Ladies - one less toilet and one more shower might be preferable; however, there's a shower in the huge disabled (or family) room and one undesignated shower outside the Gents that can presumably be used if the Ladies one is occupied. Free Wi-Fi in the Information room.

Secure bike storage. All grass pitches. The statics are widely spaced and don't intrude. Track then path down to the rocky pebbly shore, where you join the Coastal Path along the Firth - turn right to go back back to Rockcliffe then on to Kippford, turn left to walk to the fort and on Portling and the glorious beach at Sandyhills.

Can't recommend swimming - the Solway tides are like those at Morecambe Bay, very very fast indeed and some sands are risky; but if you have the tide table, you can walk out to Rough Island from the Kippford path on a causeway.

A very minor niggle, that won't stop us returning - no MH grey water dump. Access road is single track and a bit rutted. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paulludford 5 reviews from this member

 This site has stunning views over the Galloway coast - we had three glorious days of sunshine, the sunrises/sets were magnificent from our camper

The pitches are fairly level with a bit of tweaking, the showers toilets and pot wash facs, immaculate with the wardens friendly and helpful

Great for walks and dogs the beach and coastline path is two mins away - we got the bus from Rockliffe (10 mins walk) to Sandyhills and walked the coastal path back to the site - beautiful

There's a local Spar which stocks all you need about 10 mins cycle away

All in all a great site worth a visit 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kaydeescoolcamping 3 reviews from this member

 Friendly warden, thankfully we got a sea view although this seemed a lot more windier than some of the others, be aware. Thought we'de made a huge mistake coming here - as we were pitching the tent the young family beside us seemed hyper and were shouting and screaming, expecting a very noisy night it came as a pleasant surprise to find

the whole site was very quite by 9pm even though it was very busy. There are 2 ladies toilets in the toilet block in the tent area and one of these is also the disabled, these toilets are signposted for gents or ladies although gents have their own toilets too,

children and some men too lazy to walk a few feet to the gents were using these which meant there always seemed a queue for the ladies especially last thing at night.

Apparently there are plans to upgrade theses facilities. Tennis table in one of the barns was good. Nice, will be back especially if toilets upgrade 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Btsmith 3 reviews from this member

 I can not fault this wonderful site, we were in the tent field with ehu, the views are great, the sunsets and sunrise's were a joy.

Such a friendly site, prices are very reasonable, toilets & showers were always spotless.

A secure undercover lock up for pushbikes was very usfull.

The coastal path is lovely to get to the beach although being on the estury it is a little silty but swimming at castle point is great. Dalbeattie forest is accessed easily from the café at colvend very usfull for mountain bikers.

Will definitely return to this gem of a site. 


Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castle Point Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Point Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Castle Point Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near By Dalbeattie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6951 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement