Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Point Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > By Dalbeattie > Castle Point Caravan Site Reviews

Castle Point Caravan Site
Rockcliffe
By Dalbeattie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG5 4QL
Tel: 01556 630248
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 80 Reviews
                9/10 from 80 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vicki-l 1 review from this member

 What a fabulous week! Weather was cold, but sunny. The site was so quiet, very clean and in a lovely location. Jacky, the site owner, was so helpful. The nearest pub is a 40 minute walk via a path (which is pretty difficult to find, but great once you know where it is). No local shops, but you just need to plan ahead. Rockliffe is a lovely hamlet and the views are great. I would recommend the walk around the coast. 7stanes at Dalbeattie well worth a visit for the cyclist.

If you want to get away from it all, then this is the place to go. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ellie Benson 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for five nights at the beginning of September, should have been four but we didn, t want to leave. This is the most relaxing site we have stayed on, the views are out of this world and the sunsets can be pretty amazing. All the facilities are good, shop a short drive away or small supermarkets in Dalbeattie. There were plenty of places to walk the dogs. We discovered Cream O Galloway ice cream on one of our excursions and it is heavenly, couldn't get enough in the caravan freezer ! All in all a brilliant site with very friendly wardens and very friendly caravanners on seasonal pitches. We will be going back as much as possible. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paramedic1 1 review from this member

 We recently stayed at this little gem of a site for three nights with our caravan and three dogs. The location and views are amazing and our dogs loved the walk along the coastal path to Kippford.

The site is small and friendly, very clean. Was slightly concerned when we first arrived as there was only one shower in each of the male and female blocks, but never had to queue once and the water was lovely and hot.

The only thing that may have improved the site would be a small on site shop for essentials as it was a car drive to the nearest shop. A beautiful place, didn't want to leave and will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevinkaren 1 review from this member

 What can I say best camping holiday we have had, arrived on the 1st august for 3 nights with my wife and two girls aged 8 and 4. Their are two tent fields we chose the bottom one. With all the cows right next to us. The wife is a stickler for clean toilets and shower she was over the moon with the standard, the pitching is go were you like and even when their was a few of us tents and vans we were not on top of each other, theirs also a space set aside for the children to play with is a great idea. The site is very quiet and everyone who was their respected the time of 11 for everyone to keep noise down not that it was noisy at anytime their are some beautiful walks right off the site and rockcliffe beach is fantastic just 5 minutes from the site. There is no shop on site but their is a costcutter ten minutes up the road by car and it sells everything also a cafe as well. We were raving that much on the phone to family and friends they ended up joining us for a further 3 nights. Will be going back soon 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vanditostaffie 5 reviews from this member

 Awesome, turned up on spec, friendly welcome and we were given options of lower or tent field, we chose tent field for our camper and it had hook up.

We had a whole field to ourselves for two amazing quiet restful nights, it was only spoilt by a family turning up on our last night who thought it was ok to let their kids run riot at 0730 ! Sorry but there is plenty to keep kids occupied until a sociable hour.

Amazing, views, walks, clean, shower rooms big and separate from loos and with sockets for your dryers etc.

Washing machines and dryers plenty full and friendly easy going staff.

I kind of didn't want to write a good review as this is a hidden gem. But it is unfair not to. We were directed by staff along the coast to a lovely pub accessed via mostly off road walking which is great for dogs. Not to mention a hidden cove where we chilled for hours we discovered one day.

Good value for money too, no additional costs for dogs or awnings.

The bullocks next to us we're entertaining every night, there is not a local pub but to be honest after long walks with a whole field to ourselves we were in heaven.

Kids may find lack of a play ground a bit dull, but with the coast so close then there is plenty to do.

Plus next to the washing room a load of books you can borrow. The washing up areas and bathrooms spotless.

Outstanding views from where ever you would be located.

We did not want to leave. There is a local spa about a mile and half walking distance with fresh croissants, pies and next to a coffee shop and the local town was friendly and had fresh, local produce. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Didleyhulz 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site - As people have said before, the views and sunsets are fantastic.

The toilet & shower facilities were kept very clean and tidy. There were good facilities for washing drying & ironing - although we did not need these.

The main caravan field is on a slight slope with the grass well kept.

There was good access to the beach at Rockcliffe and also to the Solway Coastal Path.

The nearest shop is in nearby Colvend, but there are a couple of small supermarkets in Dalbeattie approx 6 miles away. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Settergirl 1 review from this member

 Stayed only for one night but would go back and stay longer. Very well kept site, very clean toilets & other facilities. Shower in ladies is a power shower and a half!

We stayed with three dogs - no extra charges, no hassle, made very welcome.

Lovely views & a wealth of decent walks. Shop at Colvend well stocked and not far from site.

As the site was quiet we were allowed to pitch tent with the tourer caravans - much appreciated as we could have the van next to the tent.

Bit windy in the evening but it's on the coast so only to be expected.

A lovely welcoming, dog friendly site. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ally b 12 reviews from this member

 Just back from a week at Castle Point. We found it to be a really excellent site. Toilets and showers were spotless and the view from the pitches is lovely.

There is free WiFi access in certain parts of the site and we connected to the internet easily from our pitch. There is a room next to the laundrette which is a WiFi hotspot with two manager style chairs and a long bench to sit at.

A pleasant room looking out over the water. There are plenty of walks in Rockcliffe, you can walk over to Rough Island at low tide and also walk to Kippford along the Jubilee Path. If you climb the Moat of Mark there is a great view from the top.

The only downside in my opinion is that there are no hard standing pitches and no tarmac road along the front of the tourers so when it has been raining the grass becomes very muddy in parts.

Apart from that I couldn't find fault with this lovely little site and would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marie1868 1 review from this member

 This is an all grass pitch site, so when it rains heavy, the ground does get very soggy.

The shower blocks are a little disappointing with only one shower in the ladies and some unfinished work, there is a coin-free hairdryer. The gents has two showers.

The diswashing and laundry room is very clean and spacious, although there was no price list for washing machine and dryers.

There is no shop on site but there is a little shop in Colvend that sells a good variety.

The best nearest sandy beach is at Sandyhills. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marcamp 2 reviews from this member

 1st time to this site and 1st impressions were very good. Went there as group of four using couple of tents with electric hook up. The veiws here are simply outstanding. Booking in was met with a friendly and helpful gentleman.

Being in tents we had a choice of two fields, one overlooking the Solway Firth and the other looking north over fields and hills. We stayed in the later as the other only had spaces left on slopping ground. The stay here was very peaceful and were basicly just left to enjoy our stay.

The pitching areas were clean and tidy. But, we bent a lot of pegs trying to get them in the ground. The field has been prepared for drainage, only the gravel under the grass is a little shallow.

The toilet/wash block at the tent area looked newish. Problem here is not enough toilets and showers. With the site only around 1/2 full there was some waiting for use. No outside shelter too which maid waiting more unpleasant when the rain came. Floors in the block to were very slippy when wet.

Overall we had a nice time. Pity there was no shop etc on site. Would I come again? only if toilet/wash block situation had been addressed. 


Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castle Point Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Point Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Castle Point Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near By Dalbeattie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6931 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement