Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Point Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > By Dalbeattie > Castle Point Caravan Site Reviews

Castle Point Caravan Site
Rockcliffe
By Dalbeattie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG5 4QL
Tel: 01556 630248
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 80 Reviews
                9/10 from 80 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JoetheToad 5 reviews from this member

 Just back home after having spent a perfect 5 days at this site with my daughter.

Others have said that the wardens couldn't be more helpful or friendly, and it's true. I bent a tent pole on the first day putting up the tent. We've an odd tent which uses a single steel curved pole as the main support. The wardens offered gaffer tape and there was the further offer of the use of their workshop if the repair didn't hold. No charge. And welcome to Castle Point!

We camped in the top field. We had stunning views of the sea and Rough Island (not rough at all, but very pretty). A completely level pitch which was well drained, as was the entire field. Other reviews speak of there only being three toilets and showers in the top field, but these are spacious, and this campsite isn't crowded (and there are more 2 minutes walk away which we never had to use!) and we never had to queue despite it being high season.

You could fit ten people in the shower room, and you don't have to fiddle with coins or risk the shower stopping with you covered in suds as you grope for more loose change (I hate showers with coin meters). The showers here are free, spotless, and there is plentiful hot water. My daughter commented that she wished the shower at home was as powerful. As someone who has fibromyalgia and creaks after a day on the beach, these showers were a godsend.

The site is pristine. An information room looks out over the sea, with a long workbench style desk with plenty of power sockets and office style seating. The wifi here (albeit not accessible everywhere on the site) had a strong signal, good enough for our tablets, and to boost my blackberry's signal to make calls. I like remote campsites, but I also like to be able to contact the world when I want to (if only to post pics on Facebook).

Castle Point doesn't have a shop, but I find campsite shops are normally poorly stocked with expensive bacon and plastic, expensive tat. It doesn't have a bar, but you don't get people weaving and shouting at last orders. It doesn't have a cafe, but you avoid calls for soggy chips and stale sausage rolls at restaurant prices (there's a shop close by with 'normal' prices).

A final point. If you are a big tent owner, there were plenty pitched on site. None of this 'your tent must be less that X metre nonsense'.

Castle Point is a relaxed nirvana with the most stunning views we've seen (I live in Cumbria and am used to some pretty awesome scenery). If you want to chill out, if you have mellow children, if you are friendly and relaxed, it is the perfect site. If you want karaoke and to dance with camp mascots, you'll be disappointed.

Would we come again? Absolutely. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wells21 8 reviews from this member

 E-mailed a week before and wardens were very helpful and managed to squeeze us in for 3 nights on our way up to the Highlands. We were allocated a pitch in the centre with views across the bay, lovely setting and easy access to the rocky water front and coastal footpaths. Take the walk from Rockcliffe to Kippford and lunch in the Anchor, great fayre and good portions, only let down was the measly ice-cream tub from the 'Ark' on the way back but the Galloway ice-cream itself was lovely. Site is tidy, white washed facilities are clean and well kept, reminiscent of good old camping, plenty of hot water and wi-fi connection to boot. Very dof friendly which is a huge plus. Only complaint and it is very minor is that all of the good pitches are taken by permanent sited caravans. Definitely would recommend and come again, 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: P+SShaw 5 reviews from this member

 Arrived for a 7 night stay at Castle Point campsite. The staff were lovely and helpful. We could pick wherever we wanted to pitch our tent in the tent field. When our airbed pump broke the staff did everything they could to help out.

The showers are very spacious with constant hot water and spotlessly clean. The loos are a very good standard and very clean, but there are only 3 toilets on the tent field (1 for gents and 2 shared loos). I prefer male/female loos to be separate, but that's just me! There are dishwashing facilities on the tent field also, and they are excellent. The laundry room has all you could need plus there is a freezer for anyone to use (ideal for iceblocks).

I cannot put into words the views from this site, and our chosen pitch had the view of the whole campsite plus the bay at Rockcliffe. We watched the tide coming and going and people walking across the bay on the wet sand. There is a short walk to the beach along a coastal walk with views that stop you in your tracks! There is a shop about 5 mins drive away or Dalbeattie with loads of shops about 15 mins drive away. Loads of walks around this area too. We ate our evening meal every night watching the sun set over the bay and the tide slowly coming in, it is one of the most beautiful views you will see. We will definitely be visiting this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: And dog makes five 4 reviews from this member

 Well located site, mainly seasonal pitches so what at first appeared to be a packed out site was actually really quiet.

We do like sites with big pitches and a good degree of privacy, so this may not be our cup of tea on a busy weekend but was great when we were there. Also on site are static / cabins which I think are privately owned. Nice looking camping field above touring area with great views of Rockcliffe Bay. Also a small playing field area.

Toilets and showers immaculately kept and though only one shower per sex plus disabled / baby change room with shower people were good at accommodating this and there was never a queue.

Lovely walk down to beaches along track, perfect for kids and dog. Lots to do in nearby area. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy75 45 reviews from this member

 Turned up here quite late for an overnight stay recently, staff were very accommodating indeed.

Static, tourers and camping areas were set well apart and fairly large, I also liked the option of a separate toilet/shower block in each of the areas. Views were outstanding although quite exposed being on higher ground.

Village is a short walk away, although the nearby hotel is currently shut with no outcome on re opening. Kippford is 40 minute (approx) walk and has two places to eat, nice coastal walking.

A few bad points:

It was quite still on our stay, the toilet doors were being slammed through most of the night, simple rubber strips would prevent this. There was a lack of hair driers or plug point from a woman's perspective, no separate lady's toilets on the camping ground, unisex, disabled and baby changing room.

Also the bin area was close by to the camping; why do people insist on using steel dustbins when plastic keeps noise down! The toilet block was also surrounded by gravel, which also came across loud when walked on & pitched nearby.

Despite the trivial issues I would return here sometime, lovely place. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mleonard 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite in a fantastic location for beaches, walking and amazing views. (Coastal walk has some amazing views and little coves to explore)

Large flat and grass field where you are told by the friendly owner to pitch where you want. (we had electric hook up)

We sat the fist afternoon watching baby deer running in the field opposite. Working farm so has cows in the adjoining fields. Very peaceful.

Was very quiet when we arrived mid week but got quite busy over the weekend (due to the lovely hot weather) with some large groups of people making it a bit nosier into the early hours.

Showers and toilets very clean and good (free) showers in what looked like a newly built bock in the camping field. Can get busy at peak hours but no hassle to work around this.

No shops or anything in walking distance but small shop/cafe down the road and not far from Dalbeatie which has shops, banks etc.

All in all a lovely site which we would visit again. Made even better by the heat wave! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aunty Anne 1 review from this member

 We have been going to this camp site for 5 years and the site is clean, well equipped and the welcome is excellent. Free wi-fi too. Lots of lovely walks in the area, leaving from the site, so no need to use the car. It has all been said before, and I cannot add to this - except to recommend this year's find. The Granite Kitchen Cafe in Dalbeattie. Well worth a visit. Home-made cakes and good meals too. Go there! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lavjan 10 reviews from this member

 My husband, I and our Bernese Mountain Dog have just returned from spending 18 nights at Castle point, great site all round.

Run very well by the Wardens, maintained to a very high standard and very clean. Thank you

Great walks from the site, dog loved them, me too!

Plenty of fly fishing for trout, Buittle Res, near Dalbeattie, perfect and the fish were some of the best we have eaten. Day tickets from McGowens in Dalbeattie and Castle Douglas.

Steamer Inn about 7 miles away, great pub with good food and views over the Solway Firth, dogs welcome.

Anchor Inn at Kippord is an enjoyable walk from the campsite and then lunch at the Anchor. Slow walk back!

We loved the site and will return 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ayrtonmint 3 reviews from this member

 This Site is in a stunning location,

Toilets and Showers were spotless, with plenty of

Hot water.

The views were out of this world.

Sadly our car broke down, and the shops are quit a way out.

However the wardens were so fantastic, They could not have done more to help us.

They did everything possible to help us.

Will definitely be returning here.

When rating this site I am only allowed to rate it ten out of ten for customer service, I cannot rate the service we received highly enough. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rusl 12 reviews from this member

 I turned up at this site without a reservation and got a space without any problem. I had to ask which pitch I should use - I wasn't given the choice that others were - but I suppose that's what I get for arriving on spec at tea-time!

The site is in a lovely location, with good walks along the coast in either direction, and out on the causeway to Rough Island bird reserve (but DO check the tide times if you are going there, or you may have a long wait before you can get back!).

The facilities are limited, as some other reviewers have said, but there are additional - and more modern - facilities in the upper tent field. All of the toilets and showers are kept very clean.

There are a couple of areas set aside for ball games, etc, and plenty of space for children to run about in. I'd imagine this could get quite noisy in good weather and school holidays, so perhaps it would be best to stay clear if you want peace and quiet!

There is an information room with lots of leaflets and books about things to see and do in the area. The wardens will also lend OS maps of the area, which is great if you want to do some exploring.

Internet Wi-Fi access is available and included in the pitch price; the signal is adequate - and better than I have had at some other sites!

There are no shops in the immediate area. There is an antique/art shop in Rockliffe, about 10 minutes walk away, and there is a gift shop in Kippford (30-40 minutes walk) which also sells ice-cream, drinks, cakes, and sandwiches.

The hotel in Rockliffe (Baron's Craig) seems to be closed until Easter 2014. There are two hotels in Kippford with public bars/lounges which also sell bar meals - the Mariner and the Anchor. 


Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castle Point Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Point Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Castle Point Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near By Dalbeattie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1150 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement