Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Point Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > By Dalbeattie > Castle Point Caravan Site Reviews

Castle Point Caravan Site
Rockcliffe
By Dalbeattie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG5 4QL
Tel: 01556 630248
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 80 Reviews
                9/10 from 80 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jojo439 5 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed our stay this weekend, we were there Friday and Saturday nights and were in a group of 30, needless to say there was a chance it would get loud, the warden did have to pay us a visit at 11pm to ask us to pipe down but that's completely understandable - I don't think any of us had realised the time!

Six of our party were in motorhomes/campervans so they were pitched in the bottom field near reception and the tents are up the hill behind but it's not a long walk by any means.

The facilities on the site were clean and obviously cared for, although the tent field only has two showers so including the 20 odd of us there was a bit of a wait between 8 and 10am, although that was to be expected - I set my alarm for 6. 30am to avoid disappointment!

The beach beside the site is rocky but we didn't mind that - however if you like a sandy beach they are well within walking distance and there's a super coastal path. The site is quiet and surrounded by livestock - although it's odd waking up to a cow eating a few feet from your head! Rockcliffe and Kippford are both lovely and the wee shop at Colvend has most things you should need.

I will most definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nutzaboutmutz 1 review from this member

 As first time campers we booked here solely because they allow dogs. We have four but booked for three, no qalms!

After a disappointment at the first night's site, we arrived here, pitched up and enjoyed every minute thereafter.

Fantastic views, facilities, pitch and atmosphere. All campers are catered for and mixed together well. Toilets / showers / dishwash - first class. As a first time campers we were expecting grubby, dirty & well worn. My were we wrong !

I can't believe that I live an hour away & have never been to this area and enjoyed all it has to offer. It was made all the better by the campsite. Dog friendly, people friendly and more than was ever expected

This is now among my top places to visit and we will definitely be back. Soon. Oh and if you have dogs, they'll be dragging you back here ! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NEIL MYLES 1 review from this member

 Castle point fantastic views to be seen here. Tents are pitched on the top field and have ehu available can probably take about 15 to 20 decent sized tents.

Facilities are very good for toilets/showers only a few so maybe a problem in high season.

Nearby shop at Colvend caters for most basic needs.

Wardens are on hand in the bottom field with the tourers and are very helpful.

There is a signal for dialup broadband here, if you bring your usb dongle with you.

Great coastal walk from Rockcliff to Kipford, which if you have a pooch is great.

Plenty of forest walks and trails nearby.

The sandy beach at sandyhills is great and only a short distance away.

We shall be back here again loved it well done to the wardens for doing a great job. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roadsterles 6 reviews from this member

 Views were fantastic from top of site, ground very stony, bent several pegs.

Tent area could be doing with more flat pitches, only 3 at back, so if someone pitched in front view was gone, beautiful area, take plenty supplies,

no shop in either rockcliffe or kipploch, good small shop at colvend at end of road, would go back.

Toilet block clean, elec showers so constant hot water also free, great walks all round.

My only criticism is the slope at the campsite, would have been perfect but for this. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jennie R 1 review from this member

 The owners offer a fantastic welcome and are very helpful.

The site itself is clean and well maintained with fantastic views and is only a 5 minute walk from a variety of beaches.

The facilities were spotless and well maintained, we found they had everything we needed for our stay.

There are two pubs about 25 minutes walk from the site and a shop about a mile down the road.

We had a fantastic stay and would definitely go back again if we were in the are. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Schnauzer Camper 10 reviews from this member

 Fantastic views to be seen here. Tents are pitched on the top field and have ehu available - not a large field, but can probably take about 15 decent sized tents. Facilities are very good for toilets/showers alike but possibly not enough if it is high season (kids hols). Nearby shop (Spar) at Colvend caters for most basic needs. Wardens are on hand in the bottom field with the tourers. There is a signal for dialup broadband here, if you bring your usb dongle with you. Some tv reception, but it is all digital.

Great coastal walk from Rockcliff to Kipford, which if you have a pooch is great - or not! Plenty of forest walks and trails nearby. Car parking tends to be free in this area, which is a bonus. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mgsh59 1 review from this member

 Brilliant site.Good access to beach in Rockliffe. Lovely walks. Spotless, well maintained beautiful views.Good laundry & dishwashing facilities.

Wardens Jackie & Dave could not be more helpful & made us feel really welcome. Nothing was a problem to them. Only down side was having to wait a long time to get showered when site was busy.

Excellent for families with as miles away from main road, good sized play area. Will be back here every chance we get. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poppy popsocks 2 reviews from this member

 It was very disappointed. The facilities at the tent area didn't seem to be cleaned on a regular basis, although further down at the toilets and showers near the caravans was much cleaner, so we used these most days.

We were there for four nights and most nights the noise at the tent area was terrible going on until well after 12 midnight.

Not a very enjoyable experience! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lindilou 14 reviews from this member

 Wonderful! Just back from a week here (19-26 June).

After getting onto Barcloy Rd go down to bottom of road and carry straight on slight uphill. No sign down here unfortunately so don't go left. We were met by Jackie and given choice of 2 pitches both were of decent size one larger than other and as we had an awning went for 2nd row back still got a good view.

On entering site toilets/showers (spotless) and elsan on left and rubbish. Launderette and washing up and info room on right, plenty hookups but only one water tap unless you go for a fully serviced pitch. For more general info just ask Jackie or Dave both are very helpful.

Walking from site is good, grass is kept short and clippings not left to trail into tent/caravan, ground was quite hard so make sure you have sturdy pegs.There is a play area for kids but no equipment. Short ride to Colvend where there is a cafe and well stocked shop.Weather was wonderful but we didn't have a problem with the dreaded midge, nice breeze off the inlet so I think that keeps them at bay.Nearest beach is at Sandyhills this is kept very clean.This is a beautiful area and we shall definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Feeblecat 42 reviews from this member

 I probably just has one of the most pleasant camping experiences of my life at this site. We were given the choice of being amongst the tourers or up with the tents.

Great views from both areas but the tent area was best and that's where we went - stunning! New shower/toilet block in the tent area kept clean enough, friendly owners and lovely walks from the site made our break ideal.

As others say there is no on site shop (nearest small store just over a mile away) and no pub in the immediate vicinity though the walk to the pub in Kipford is lovely and they do nice meals. Lovely tranquil site, perfect if you want to recharge your batteries.

I know this area well but only just discovered the site - I will definitely return. I am almost loathe to post this review as I want to keep it to myself! 


Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castle Point Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Point Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Castle Point Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near By Dalbeattie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6571 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement