Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Point Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > By Dalbeattie > Castle Point Caravan Site Reviews

Castle Point Caravan Site
Rockcliffe
By Dalbeattie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG5 4QL
Tel: 01556 630248
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 80 Reviews
                9/10 from 80 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richiepill 1 review from this member

 We spent 3 nights on this charming site. The site is effectively split in 2 with a separate area for tents from the static and caravans. Friendly welcome, we were told to take our choice of tent pitches. The camping fields seem well drained, with half on a slight slope with beautiful views over the sea, the other half level, but without the views. The camping fields have their own showers, toilets and washing facilities which were of a very high standard and spotless. Not a lot of them, but we never had to queue. There was wi-fi available just outside the washing facilities too, though the signal did not carry far. A couple of areas were set aside for kids with football goals and there were lovely walks along the coastal paths. We will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lmk1 1 review from this member

 Great site wardens cheerful and really helpful. Toilets and showers always immaculate great base for walking and cycling. Nice bay in rockcliffe and good beach closeby in sandhill. The prices were reasonable and close to dalbeatie for shops/provisions where the culinary delight was pizza from the chippy. Will definitely return. Play facilities for kids could bemore comprehensive however this not a consideration for many. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Adiekate 14 reviews from this member

 Have just spent 2 days on this little gem of a site. Pitched in tent field with EHU, sadly sea views had already been taken but hey ho. Was worried at 1st that site might be noisy with a few people having music playing, but it stopped after they'd pitched up. As it turned out our initial misgivings about noise were unnecessary, it was a lovely quiet site. We were also lucky that, with clear nights the sunsets are fantastic. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mac3536 2 reviews from this member

 Visited over a Sat. And Sun. Nights with my 3 grandsons

Pros

Excellent toilet blocks, hot showers and wash up area.

Well drained tent field with electric hook up if req.

Plenty of room to pitch tent.

Fantastic views over Solway to the hills.

Very friendly warden and staff.

Free wifi in certain areas of campsite. Very useful if you want to keep in touch.

Good information room.

Fishing and beach nearby but be careful as the Solway has fast tides and soft mudbanks. Keep eye on children.

Fantastic for walking, cycling and DOING NOTHING.

Some cons.

A lot of statics used mainly, it seems, at weekend so can be noisy with people enjoying themselves and lots of dogs barking.

Don't bank on an early night

An altercation on the Saturday night but SWIFTLY taken care of by staff and offenders put off site so very pleased.

No playground but there is a football field.

No shop on site and transport required to nearest shop at Colvend. To be fair it isn't too far and has a decent variety and fair prices. So take essentials.

CONCLUSION

A decent site that should please most campers but don't expect it to be peaceful especially at weekend 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Zena_100 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here on an unplanned visit and were surprised by what a gem of a site. For someone who is usually put off by the sight of statics, there is little I can fault in this site. It was immaculate.

We turned up without booking and were greeted by a friendly and warm welcome by the lady on reception. We had the choice of the lower field which was larger mobile homes and tourers, or the tent field. As we have a small campervan we stayed on the tent field which as further up the hill has stunning views.

The tent field was actually two fields and we were told to pitch anywhere, price 18 including hook up and there were picnic tables and benches on site to use.

There were clean hot showers with unlimited water, toilets and washing facilities in the tent field and we never had to queue. There was also a laundry room, and an information room with magazines and leaflets offering tourist info.

As the site is right by the coast there are some gorgeous walks along the coast, specifically up to Castle Point which was lovely.

I would definitely recommend this site and the surrounding area 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hymiejones 8 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site, where we found all the reviews to be very accurate. We are new to using a motorhome & have used the ukcampsite to judge where to stay. I must say we haven't been disappointed in any of the sites used.

Castle Point site is well laid out with fantastic views across that bay, toilets & washing facilities are very good, only criticism is there is no waste water disposal for motorhomes, not a big problem when you're moving between sites.

Excellent dog walking down along the shore, Rockcliffe is a quaint little place though no shops or pub, the hotel is still closed & looks to be for a while. Nearest shop is in Colvend, can't comment on this as we had stocked up before arriving.

We will be returning in July/August, after the Scottish bowls finals in Ayr. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Srilanka 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived at the site and were told to camp anywhere in the tent area with electric hookup. The ground is very well drained. There is a slight slop so you do have to pick your spot. The grass is well cut. Toilet facilities are very good. Extremely clean. No size restriction on tents, or extensions or awnings. No shops on site, you have to walk or drive a couple of miles to the nearest town which is Dalbeattie. Overall we found the site very quiet. The location is great for mountain bike trails. We would recommend this site as one to go to in this part of Scotland. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jumpy07 2 reviews from this member

 This was the destination for our first trip in our T5 Camper.

Castle Point site is well laid out with fantastic views across that bay, toilets & washing facilities are very good.

Excellent dog walking along the shore, with some very picturesque villages nearby.

Views from Campsite over Solway Firth are breath taking.

Single track road down to site from main road may be a bit tight for some larger campervans.

Excellent site and one we would recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Seamusally 1 review from this member

 Just returned from this great little site. Good field for tourers and despite recent heavy rain, it was fine for our motorhome. Cleanest loo block I have ever used and never shut (like most CC sites!). Lovely location with views across the water and lovely walks in both directions (Castle Point on Rockliffe / Kippford). Peaceful at all times and a really lovely spot to stay. Recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Benjackie 4 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site!

Just returned after five nights at Castlepoint and just wish it was nearer to home. The site (I think) is brilliant and well maintained. The facilities are spotlessly clean, bright and airy - fantastic powerful showers with plenty of hot water (and included in the price). We stayed on the touring caravan field and there ample ladies loos with one shower, the mens I am told were the same, but there was a family / baby changing / disabled room with shower and WC, which I think is brilliant if you have small children all needing a wash at the same time - We never had to wait to use the showers. Great washing up / veg prep area and a washing machine / drying room (freezer for people to use). Information room with free wi-fi, but we were able to pick it up in our caravan which was great. We took a walk round the camping site which also looked fab, lovely loos, showers and washing up room and amazing views from up there. Really lovely helpful site wardens - always had a smile on their faces. But the setting.

Short walk takes you down to the coastal path where you can get onto the 'beach / rocks' or walk a little further to Rockcliffe beach itself. As the area is on the estuary you need to time it right if you want the sea in, but even if it isnt, it is brilliant to walk on, checking out the rock pools, or walking over to the island. Our dogs had a whale of a time (as did we). No pub / restaurant within walking distance (as Hotel in Rockcliffe currently undergoing refurbishment - which would ordinarily be a 15 min walk away) but a short drive into Kippford and you have two hotels with bars to choose from - lovely sat outside enjoying the views and good value for food.

For essentials there is a great little shop in Colvend or further afield there are the usual Co-op, Spar, Nisa etc in Dalbeattie. Good array of shops in Castle Douglas and Kirkudbright if you fancy a drive out. This for me is the only downside. Little shop within walking distance for eggs, milk, etc would make a difference.

However, we had a thoroughly great time and nearly everyone one we spoke to were regular visitors to the site. I think we may just join them. 


Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castle Point Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Point Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Castle Point Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near By Dalbeattie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1316 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement