Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Point Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > By Dalbeattie > Castle Point Caravan Site Reviews

Castle Point Caravan Site
Rockcliffe
By Dalbeattie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG5 4QL
Tel: 01556 630248
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 80 Reviews
                9/10 from 80 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nobs 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site with amazing views and sunsets. Several walks which start from the campsite of varying lengths. Lovely short walk to Castle Hill Point with amazing views over the Solway Firth to the Lake District beyond, and to Kipworth in the opposite direction.

The walk to Sandyhills is well worth it for the scenery with refreshments and ice cream when you get there. Either re-trace your route back (9 mls in total) or get a bus back. All the walks are well signposted so no need for a map. Dalbeattie is the nearest town about 5 mls away. Dumfries is much larger and about 20 miles away.

The site has a laundrette and washing up room, and a large information room with power points and free Wi-Fi. They even loan you a computer if necessary.

The toilets and shower block were always immaculately clean, although the site was fairly quite so this may differ when busy. The showers were free and plenty of hot water - no timer on them. There is a large disabled toilet and shower room. There was what looked to be a toilet block under construction in the tent field.

The tent field sloped quite a bit in places (although there were level parts) and this may present problems when busy. There is no children's play area.

Rockcliffe and Kipford are both very small villages and I did not see any shops in either. However there is a well stocked general store selling newspapers and virtually anything a short car ride away - turn right onto the A 710 and it's on the left on the first bend off set from the road with parking spaces. There is also a restaurant there but we did not try it.

A really lovely area and a site we would definitely return to if re-visiting the area 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: K+KCampers 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in a great location, Really nice welcome and a very friendly owner. The facilities are basic but very clean and plenty of hot water at any time.There are some beautiful views from all angles of the site and enjoyable walks. The site is close to good amenities, a small town with shops and take aways. Not far into Dumfries either. We had lots of fun fishing and walking around the site, up on top of the hill. Would highly recommend this site to others. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Novice1 2 reviews from this member

 The facilities for tents were at the top of the campsite with wonderful views across the water to Rough Island. Everyone seemed very friendly and our 3 children (aged 11 - 13) had a great time. At the moment there are 2 large unisex toilets provided for those in tents as well as a small room with 2 sinks and plenty of hot water for dishes (You can also use the showers / toilets / wash-up facilities further down the site near the caravans). There is a laundry and also a freezer for re-freezing ice packs etc. I was told by the warden that 2 showers will be installed by next year for those in tents which will only add to the site.
Our children got together with some others on the site and seemed to find a large space in one of the fields near the caravans where they could play rounders etc. This site had a lovely friendly atmosphere and I would definitely go back again. There are lots of great walks nearby and it is a perfect base for visiting the many lovely sights/attractions in the local area and beyond. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Arlene m 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed here two nights on our way to the lake district. Not my kind of site I'm afraid. Tourers just sitting in a field with no privacy at all and no shelter. Its well kept, scenic enough and there are a few walks but a bit in the middle of no where as far as restaurants and somewhere to do a food shop is concerned. Probably for those who really want to get away from it all 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jehpesto 13 reviews from this member

 A lovely little site in a really attractive part of Scotland that, to my shame as a Scot, I knew almost nothing about.

The weather was great which helped but the views would be good anyway.

We were in the separate camping field which though quite 'undulating' has plenty of OK flattish places for tents and most pitches with great views. There are no marked pitches but seemed to be hookup available at various points in the field.
There was what seemed to be a brand new toilet block with 2 separate unisex loos / basins - both big enough for a wheelchair but one of them slightly bigger and marked as a disabled loo, and another room with 2 washing up sinks.
There is a water tap outside. Great loos - just a little bit surprised that they didn't also put a shower or two in the block as well cos there only seemed to be 2 ladies showers (in the main area nearer the caravans) - and one of them was also the disabled and family shower.

In the main area there was also a room with 3 washing up sinks, 3 washing machines and tumble driers and a free freezer!

We didn't see any evidence of a space for ball games - but the site was not packed like sardines either. The lower area was all caravans and there are loads of nicely spaced statics on well kept landscaped areas between the tent field and the tourers field. Wardens seemed very friendly and helpful and it was certainly good value at 35 for 2 nights for a family of four in a tent.

Nice walk down a track to the actual castle point (no castle) and we did manage the wheelchair down but only cos my son can stand up and so at the 2 kissing gates we got him out his chair and lifted the wheelchair over!

The day we left we had lunch in the little tearoom 'The Garden Room' which is the only refreshments available in Rockcliffe itself. It is 10 - 5 daily except Mon and Tues and is highly recommended! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AlisonGr 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site with superb walks along the Solway Coast to Rockliffe and Kipford. We stayed at the Easter Weekend just past. The wardens were extremely friendly and helpful.
There was a lovely atmosphere at the site with visitors who obviously come regularly. The wardens had arranged a special event for the kids on Easter Sunday. There were older as well as younger kids there, so suitable for all ages. There is no play area (ie swings etc) but there is an area reserved for ball games. The kids didn't really need a play park as there was so much else to keep them occupied in the area.
The toilet/shower facilities are quite basic but very clean. There is only one shower but I never had a problem with having to wait, so that seemed sufficient.
There is no onsite shop, so be prepared to bring your reserves. The nearest shop is a couple of miles away and it stocks most stuff but as usual with these shops everything is more expensive than in the supermarkets.
We will definitely return to this site and would highly recommend it to others. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ShedWoman 8 reviews from this member

 Oh I wish we'd booked!What a gem this site is. The lady warden is a delight and so friendly. She managed to fit us in from Wednesday to Saturday lunch, but with it being Bank Holiday, and a very sought-after site, we couldn't stay longer, which we would have loved to do. There are washers and driers, a freezer for your ice packs, a little room full of tourist info, lovely clean showers (that run hot hot hot and super fast), beautifully clean toilets, and the site, the lady tells me, seems to only attract nice quiet families - which is why after 10.00 at night it fell beautifully silent.

The wildlife is astounding. Deer, red kites, goshawks and a short walk will take you to a bird's-eye-view of nesting cormorants. The scenery is astounding and there is enough by way of walking for the most hardened hiker.

One thing is that anybody expecting a 'beach' may be disappointed. The area around Castle Point does not offer golden sands. However, the estuary silt that constitutes most of the beach offers a wealth of wading birds the perfect habitat, and if your bent runs to rock-pool exploration, you're in for a real treat.

As soon as January arrives, I will be on the phone booking for Spring Bank, with my fingers firmly crossed! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mark Keir 4 reviews from this member

 A very pleasant site with glorious views across the bay and out to Solway firth, plenty of space for children to play, shop close by, lovely Rockliffe beach on your door step and just so much to keep all types happy in the fascinating area around. A slight feeling of tent users being less thought of than other campers - New toilet block still being built will go some way to alleviate this but would surely have been better to include a shower too. Otherwise, despite short trot facilities were quite adequate and well kept and clean. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thehortons 1 review from this member

 When we turned up, we drove to the reception and the owner was lovely! She told us to drive up to the tent pitch, and pick somewhere near to the electric hookup. We went on a sunday, so plenty of people were leaving that day and we picked a lovely view over looking the best sunsets we have ever seen, over solway firth. What a view!

Anyway, back to the site. The toilet / shower block was the cleanest one I have ever stayed at, and I have stayed at a lot!

They even have books that you can borrow (if that s what your into!)and all in all it was a very peaceful site.

The lawnmowers are out constant during the day,but its not that bad, and you switch off after a while.

There's plenty to do if the weathers bad, plenty of museums/play centres. Try and go to kipling for a stroll to see a garden that has loads of interesting things for children to look at - all the gardens are on cliffs, and the owners have made lots of random sculptures. Really beautiful.

We walked over to the 'island' over the firth. You could only walk so far on it. But it was a lovely walk. Loads of crabs and oysters. Very hot water, we felt like we were in Spain!the tide comes in very quick like, by the time we got back to the site, yachts were sailing on the firth!

There was a shop/cafe about 2 miles from site, that stocks alot, but shuts at 6pm - which is quite naff if you need bbq e.T.C I sent him out for fire lighters and he had to drive to Dalbeatie! but the prices are reasonable,and everythings very fresh!

The nearest village was 'Dalbeatie' about 7 miles, it had a 'SPAR' , 'CO-OP', and plenty of local shops (butchers e.T.C)the butcher even give me a free sample of the haggis(which was very nice indeed.!)

The nearest town was 'Dunbar' about 12 miles away - that had excellent parking by the river, and every shop you can think of, pound land - next peacocks. Greggs. Heart foundation!

Anyway, if you want some peace and quiet , to get away from it all, come here. The owners are great, very laid back.Yet a very quiet site (the latest the noise was 11pm!) cows are in the back field, very quiet too! Enjoy!

I will be back - oh by the way, I booked this site very last minute and it was only 16 quid per night with hook up ! Bargain!

Very Clean A+++++++++++++++++++++++++ Perfect for small kids! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jilly short legs 1 review from this member

 A happy few days spent at this site. Staff were most helpful and friendly, going out of their way to fit us in for an extra night's stay. Facilities always clean, light and bright. Disabled shower room especially useful for children as plenty of space!
Views impressive and walks handy. Can recommend local farm tea room just beyond Colvend. A most enjoyable holiday! 


Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castle Point Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Point Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Castle Point Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near By Dalbeattie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6042 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement