Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castle Point Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > By Dalbeattie > Castle Point Caravan Site Reviews

Castle Point Caravan Site
Rockcliffe
By Dalbeattie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG5 4QL
Tel: 01556 630248
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 55
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 77 Reviews
                9/10 from 77 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  77 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Static Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: PBarmby 1 review from this member

Lovely site. Simple, very well maintained, and clean. We hired a static caravan for 4 of us and despite a very mixed bag weather wise, we had a great week.

The caravan was immaculate, the view was fabulous, itís a simple, largely unspoiled area with things to do in both good and bad weather.

There was plenty of room for all of us and places for the kids to hang out with others.

Highly recommended
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camp chaos 25 reviews from this member

A lovely campsite in a beautifully quiet part of South West Scotland.

We were in the area signposted 'tents' but were mainly surrounded by other camper vans. The view from our prime position at the top of the field was amazing, especially when we saw the rainbow over the estuary below us.

The toilets and showers were ample and clean although a little more power and temperature consistency wouldn't go amiss.

Rockcliffe itself was handy for a few walks either along the cliffs to Sandyhills (you can walk or bus it back) or through the forest to Dalbeattie (again, walk back or catch the bus).

A return trip is definitely on the cards.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jon.mcguinness 12 reviews from this member

This was our second outing with our new caravan and we were very impressed with the site.

The location overlooking the sea is stunning as are the sunsets.

The site is accessed by a narrow Lane which being new to caravanning, I found rather daunting as there is little room for passing other vehicles especially as you approach the site.

The site is very well laid out and reasonably flat. There is ample space for each pitch and room for the towing vehicle too.

The site staff were friendly and keep the place immaculate. The toilets and showers were spotless for the duration of our stay.

The village of Rockcliffe is accessed by a footpath from the site and is a very pleasant 15min walk. The views from the coastal footpath going away from the village are spectacular.

There are plenty of activities to do locally including mountain bike trails at nearby Dalbeatie forest, the deer sanctuary and sailing.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would return in future. We fully recommend this site if you like a quiet break away from the hustle and bustle.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lavjan 10 reviews from this member

Have visited Castle Point for a few years and have always received a warm welcome from the Wardens. This site is very well cared for and is a pleasure to stay on. Smashing showers.

Always have had a great pitch and weather permitting, sitting outside a real pleasure, listening to the sea and birds ( no traffic noise)

Views from around the site, wonderful.

Great walks from the site, my Dog even had his favourite (from Rockcliffe to Kipford, ) followed by pub lunch and ask hubby to pick us up at the pub!

Great area to investigate, the trees and hedgerows in Dumfries and Galloway are spectacular.

This site allows you to relax, read a book, do nothing in peace and quiet, perfect.

Thank you.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KRICHARDS1974 1 review from this member

Beautifully maintained site. Jackie and Dave are incredibly friendly and helpful. The site is in a beautiful location and covers all units (tents to statics). The toilet/shower block is impeccably clean.

Ive now been twice and keep going back for more. Jackie and Dave also provide storage options making it even more helpful to keep going back for more. Love it!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smc33 6 reviews from this member

A last minute decision but decided to pop down for one night with the caravan, the site is still spotless and the facilities are clean and very well presented.

The beautiful weather was just the ticket.

Highly recommend this site!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ddlkc 22 reviews from this member

Great site. Very easy check in.

Absolutely fabulous views in the tent area on the top field but please be very thoughtful when considering where to pitch as we were caught out by the fab views meaning we pitched our tent right at the top field for the view

as on arrival weather was fab but it didn't take long for this to change and by this it did with the wind, so we ended up on edge because of the force it was coming which led us not being able to venture very far and being prepared for a quick pack up

but this has no affect whatsoever on the sites excellent facilities and service.

There is plenty in the area to get out and about to see and the nearby town has a few pubs takeaways and convenient stores.

We would definitely return to the site but sacrifice the view and pitch lower down the field.

At least we no our tent can withstand gale force wind

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikro 21 reviews from this member

Lovely position, no hard standing but grass close cut and firm slight slope so needed ramps. We were in lower field good views.

Very good shower and clean facilities. Good laundry and wash up room, useful info room with books and guides.

Quiet at night when we were there. Walks on coast path from site, but no pub or shop in walking distance. Good walks at Sweetheart Abbey.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sofargoner 1 review from this member

Found this via this website. Looking for somewhere with beautiful views and that did not disappoint.

Weather was dry from start to finish which probably affects this review. There's nowhere quite a beautiful as Scotland when it's sunny (or even when its not!)

We pitched on a level site on the upper hill. Electric hookups are dotted around though on the hilly part of the site it's not terribly clear where the pitches are meaning that people locate themselves all over the field.

Our car was blocked in at one point. Another time someone pitched right in front of us taking up the view but hey ho that's camping Ö. If pitches aren't clearly marked then all's fair. We gleaned from one of the staff that tents are meant to be 3m away from each other for fire regulations. My recommendation is to pitch with your door facing the fence in the lower half of the field for an uninterrupted view (over the dreaded statics, mind you)

There's a laundry and games room/information room mainly occupied by wifi deprived teenagers with scowling faces - there is wifi on site but like others say, don't rely on it. Come here to get away from it all! There are two areas with football goals - a great idea, and there seemed to be a lot of children playing there. No play area for wee ones, if you are looking for that.

Dalbeattie is only 10 mins drive away for milk/bread etc - there's nothing available on site nor any shops in the nearby hamlet of Rockcliffe. Heartily recommend walking across the bay/tidal causeway at low tide to Rough Island - fabulous views down the Solway Firth.

My main constructive criticism is towards the toilet facilities. It was made to clear to us by the person on duty that the toilets etc in the upper field are for the campers. The showers are large, spacious and modern with great water pressure. One has a shower seat in it for disabled persons.

I think there were 2 or 3 showers. However - loos. There are TWO unisex loos plus a male set of toilets - I think there are urinals plus cubicles in the male loos. Therefore there are only two loos that women can use and most of the time I was waiting to go, men came out, as they are the first two you come across as you enter the toilet block. The sinks are in here. So it follows that there are only two sinks and two toilets ALL the women in the campsite can use. Both nights I waited 15 mins just to go to the loo.

Add to that, every time I went in, there was urine all over the seat (sorry guys but it's true), meaning it has really put me off this campsite and I wouldn't return. Specially when I saw the loos for the touring caravans a wee walk down the hill (which you aren't going to do in the pitch dark) had a womens block with 5 or 6 toilets and sinks separately. There's nothing worse than feeling you are second class as a camper!

So to the owners - please could you even put a sign on the Unisex toilets making them female only? (cheap and easy) Could you even put a couple of sinks outside for hand washing/teeth cleaning? or even better, build even just one or two more toilets?

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pcas 2 reviews from this member

Great coastal location with a short walk to the beach. The facilities are basic but clean and well kept. The owner is friendly and helpful but bring cash as there are no card facilities.

The pitches are not hard standing but are pretty level and well drained. There is not a motorhome service point but we tend to fill from an aquaroll and use an external tank so that is not a problem.

The site is very relaxing with superb views and lovely walks. Lovely site for a relaxing few days

Previous     77 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near By Dalbeattie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6693 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019