Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Point Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > By Dalbeattie > Castle Point Caravan Site > Reviews

Castle Point Caravan Site
Rockcliffe
By Dalbeattie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG5 4QL
Tel: 01556 630248
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 99 Reviews
                9/10 from 99 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  99 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David Glew 5 reviews from this member

 A beautiful location with lovely walks from the site. The camping field is well equipped with plenty of toilets, showers, washing up etc. And has loads of EHU points.

Site fees usually include EHU as standard and there are no additional charges for showers, hot water etc. The site is well maintained and noise rules (no music and quiet time between 10pm & 7am) make for a really quiet and peaceful setting.

Of interest locally are the coastal path walks to Rockcliffe and Kippford (which has 2 good pubs).

The local Londis shop is well stocked but is a car ride away.

Much has been said in previous reviews about badger activity - Bobby the Badger is alive and well and will snaffle anything remotely edible at night - black bin bags and open tent doors are no obstacle so be warned, hide it well! 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Catdeluxe 7 reviews from this member

 Great peaceful site. Our teenage boys loved playing football with the other kids each evening. It was an 8 minute walk to castle Point beach and we paddle boarded and BBQ’d there.

It was a lovely peaceful and beautiful beach.

Site was clean and well kept, great views. Approx 20 mins walk to Rockcliffe which was beautiful. Our dogs loved it - could walk from the campsite either way down the coastal path.

Wifi worked well if a little slow but no moaning from the boys so much have been acceptable! TV reception was fine.

Only thing that would have made the holiday even better would have been if Rockcliffe had a pub / bar to have a drink and watch the world go by!

No issues with the campsite though! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Catarinabod 74 reviews from this member

 Bloomin' fabulous site. Gorgeous views from all pitches. There is also a separate area for tents on the higher ground, also used by campervans with ehu.

Previous reviewer mentioned potholes on access road - these are fixed, tarmaced with speed ramps now. Able to choose pitch on arrival - we were lucky enough to get a front row at the bottom of the main site.

Still not far to the facilities. Full set of recycling bins. Ladies toilets perhaps a little dated but clean, functional and private.

Modern unisex free unlimited showers in separate building - lots of space and no awkwardness. Hot water in washing up sinks and adjoining laundry. Helpful staff and Charles the warden keeps an amazing site.

Fantastic walks from the site - castle Point one direction and Rockcliffe/Kippford the other. The only shop nearby is the Londis Colvend on the main road on the way in about 1. 5 miles away.

There is a local bus that runs every 2 hours and if you're quick you can spend 15 mins in the shop and catch the bus on its return journey.

We also walked along the coast path to Sandyhills, had an icecream and caught the same local bus back to Barcloy Road and walked the half mile back to the site.

There is a garden tea room in Rockcliffe but it wasn't open while we were there.

There are 2 pubs and a tea room in Kippford - we used the Anchor pub once and received a friendly welcome. The other pub, the Mariner seemed a little short of staff and wasn't ready to receive customers when we called in just before noon.

This is one site I can't really fault - well done Charles and staff. 


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bradfordg 3 reviews from this member

 This site is a gem!

The views from it are superb.

The toilet block has just been refurbished and is excellent and kept very clean and tidy.

The owners are exceptionally friendly, nothing was a problem for them.

We were on 2 pitches, the first one near the office, TV reception at this point was OK. We moved to another pitch as we only planned to stay for 2 days, but extended our stay on this pretty and quiet site. TV reception was not so good at this location so we used the Fire Stick.

One previous reviewer stated the access road was potholed. It looks like these have been removed as there is a section where the road has been resurfaced

Rockcliffe is close by and is a very pretty village. Kippford is a little further away with a couple of pubs and a tea shop.

A Londis store is around a mile or so away at Colvend where you can buy essentials and Calor gas should you need it. Dalbeattie is a larger town around 10 mile away.

I am sure we will be re visiting the site again in the future. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kirstsw 56 reviews from this member

 Great location over looking the Bay.

Facilities are immaculate. Showers are hot and are individual rooms so plenty of room.

Good walks from the site and pitches have plenty of space 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ireneg 1 review from this member

 Absolutely brilliant scenery

Site was immaculate

Friendly and well run

Toilet facility’s were kept very clean

Well done to all will be back. Thank you. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chrisj 8 reviews from this member

 A wonderful discovery. Our first time in the area on a friendly & well equipped site.

Facilities were well designed with plenty of toilets/sinks and showers; cleaned at least 2x per day.

The location is to die for, wonderful views, <5 mins to the coastal path and numerous well signposted walks.

Minor downsides: 1. 5 miles to nearest corner shop (Londis). Although the showers were great, they quickly got mucky underfoot; we resorted to showering in flip-flops! Perhaps a no shoes policy or platform/matting would help?

Many pitches were on a slope. Quite a walk from the lower campsite field to the chemical waste disposal. No recycling, even for glass, cans or paper.

Overall, however, a great site and one which we will certainly return to. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Intrepid explorer 5 reviews from this member

 Stunning location, Wardens very friendly and helpful, amenities very clean and efficient. Showers were fantastic. However, felt as though we were put in a "camping field" a very uneven camping field at that. Watching people trying to get their units level was a fun pastime.

Not sure this was just because everywhere is so busy this season, but when we pre book well in advance a "touring pitch", that was what we expected. When we turned up the office is right next to the touring field, which looked great and central to everything we could need. Once we paid our money, we were then directed up the hill ( a rather large hill) to find a spot ourselves.

Emptying our chemical toilet took a long walk down the hill and back up again, so much so we nicknamed ourselves "Jack and Jill". If you drove out during the day, you returned to find someone had taken your spot.

Website claims 3 sandy beaches within a short walk, (a short walk if you are Forrest Gump) only managed to find one beach, (30 minutes walk away). If we knew all these facts before booking, we wouldn't have, would we stay here again. Sorry NO, despite the wardens being lovely, the campsite was not as we expected by the websites description.

If we had been on a level pitch with touring facilities easily reached (and a lot of people thought this) and been right by the beach (within a short distance) as described then we would have rated this site Highly. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elddis1234 7 reviews from this member

 This is a great wee site in a great location. The access road is tight and a bit rough but no real issue.

You can walk to Rockcliffe (15 mins) which is a quant wee place but no facilities albeit you can walk to Rough Island when the tide is out. You can venture further to Kippford (another 15 mins) where there are two hotels. We ate in both and they were fine, good pub grub. Lovely view from both out into the Urr estuary.

Toilets etc on site are exceptionally good, the site grounds are well maintained by the friendly couple who run the site.

Dalbeattie is a short drive, castle Douglas has a decent Tesco and Kirkcudbright is worth a visit. Lots of options if you are beach people.

The only only down side of the site is a very poor phone signal, site wi-fi is also very poor and forget about a TV signal - so if these things are important you it might be an issue.

It was a bit remote for us but if you want away to somewhere get away from it all it is worth a visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carlshowie 1 review from this member

 This is an awesome location.

Simple site, but everything is right.

Very clean toilet & shower block.

Everyone seems to respect everyone else as there is an air of tranquility here …. Perfect

Lovely hosts ! 
via mobile


Previous     99 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Castle Point Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Point Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Castle Point Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near By Dalbeattie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


51844 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement