Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Point Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > By Dalbeattie > Castle Point Caravan Site Reviews

Castle Point Caravan Site
Rockcliffe
By Dalbeattie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG5 4QL
Tel: 01556 630248
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 86 Reviews
                9/10 from 86 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  86 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lizzie 1 review from this member

 Our new favourite site. I cannot express how much of a gem this site is. Booking was straightforward, checking in was straightforward and pitching easy.

Facilities were spotless and covid regulations and rules adhered to.

Beautiful environment to be surrounded by with views of the coast and beyond. Lots of dog walks from site. Ice cream van down in the beach area of Rockliffe.

We paid £22 per night plus £1 per night for the dog. Don't like paying for dog but normally can understand the charge if there is a special dog area on site and bins provided which sadly this site didn't have.

Still, very well priced for time of year. Everything bar a few little niggles was perfect for a quiet get away.

1st niggle, couldn't find any bins for dog toilet disposable on site.

2nd, slightly wider hard standing pitches would be preferable as getting in and out of van onto grass means having to clean trailed in grass up, I don't go on holiday to clean.

3rd and final niggle, unsupervised children running around vans. Young boys letting off steam, fine but it did mean we couldn't sit out in the evening sunshine as they were unsettling the dog. When there is a playing field available, which there is at castle Point, children should be encouraged to use that. They should also be respectful of people around them and be taught about other people's personal space.

This site gets full marks from me because the positives well out weigh any little negatives. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bridge 1 review from this member

 Scott and Lorraine gave us a friendly welcome when we arrived and were quick to give us some information leaflets.

Our front line pitch gave us a lovely view. Later in the week after heavy rain the ground around us became very boggy, but that's Scotland for you!

The toilets and showers were very clean with ample soft toilet paper, soap and hand sanitizer.

Our only criticism is the approach road to the site has many deep potholes which gives you a very bumpy ride. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JAM60 2 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic site Scott & Lorraine (Site Wardens) were very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay.

The amenities were top class and very clean and the views were to die for.

There are some excellent walks which we appreciated as We took our two scottie dogs who thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

We most certainly will return. 


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hpj536 1 review from this member

 We spent 5 lovely days here on a pitch with a great sea view.

The facilities were spotless, everyone was very friendly and the location of the site is great for walking.

We would really recommend it!

The only little thing that was lacking were recycling facilities. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Westwo 1 review from this member

 Had a fab time at castle Point campsite.

Owners so lovely and helpful and the facilities are spotless and cleaned regularly throughout the day.

Showers better than ours at home.

All areas of the site have amazing views and very peaceful and relaxing.

Highly recommend. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kirstsw 40 reviews from this member

 Absolutely loved this site and wanted to stay longer but it was booked up. The wardens were welcoming and very helpful.

Lots of walks in the area and the beach nearby. Saw lots of wildlife, badgers, foxes, deer, red squirrels.

We will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Waterwomble 5 reviews from this member

 This site is amazing! Lorraine, Scott and the team work tirelessly to keep this site immaculate at all times. Set in a stunning location, having to book, ensures the site isnt cramped. There is a large freezer and fridge available to campers.

The facilities building is modern and the bins area is kept secure, unlike my bread that the badger came into the tent for, lesson learnt, keep food off the tent floor!

This is a wonderful site in one of the most stunning locations southern Scotland has to offer, but be sure to book in plenty of time, its a very popular site. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Borogirl 1 review from this member

 This was a first time visit to Dumfries and Galloway and we really enjoyed our stay. The campsite is a little bit off the beaten track but was worth it,

The welcome was a little brief maybe could have been given more written info instead of verbal which I found hard to take in all at once,

The site itself was very clean and well kept and the showers were the best Iíve ever come across well done.

All in all a good well run clean site

Will definitely stay again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lorna Neilson 2 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely peaceful few days here last week. As always, the views are to die for whatever the weather.

Walks along the shore and coastal path with the dog are blissful, and we were very appreciative of the work by National Trust and local community volunteers to cut back the undergrowth to keep the paths clear.

On site the new wardens here are certainly making their mark, with improvements to showers and keeping the site looking at its best. They are very welcoming and work hard to keep the facilities sparkling and safe in the current pandemic.

This has always been a favourite site for us for a few days break close to home and we'll certainly be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: PBarmby 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. Simple, very well maintained, and clean. We hired a static caravan for 4 of us and despite a very mixed bag weather wise, we had a great week.

The caravan was immaculate, the view was fabulous, itís a simple, largely unspoiled area with things to do in both good and bad weather.

There was plenty of room for all of us and places for the kids to hang out with others.

Highly recommended 
via mobile


Previous     86 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castle Point Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Point Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Castle Point Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near By Dalbeattie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4804 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement