Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cwm Cadnant Valley

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Cwm Cadnant Valley Reviews

Cwm Cadnant Valley
Llanberis Road
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 2DF
Tel: 01286 673196
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 69
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 102 Reviews
                8/10 from 102 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Wobbly-Rod 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a single night stay and I'd have no issues in returning.

Reception was friendly, quick and easy. I was given a paper map showing the layout of the site which is laid out in a terraced configuration (x4 I think) and a mix of hard-standing a grass, with or without elec hook-up. The top level being easy access and set aside for back-packing travellers. The other levels were accessed via a very steep tarmacked slope where the less able may struggle a bit. The camp area utilises a one way system but the route shares the steep sloped entry and if a heavy or touring unit or towing a caravan I personally would not relish the thought of a hill start (neither would my clutch! BUT. No problems were encountered.

There is a small play area in the base of the valley and a good space to stretch your legs (only ourselves and 3 other visitors were in residence) There are picnic benches dotted about too. TOILETS: Consisted of two blocks. One having 2x disabled / baby changing facilities (I did not access these) the other one was a ladies and gents containing the usual facilities which were adequate and in the gents at least. The blocks themselves although clean and tidy could use some TLC as numerous trim pieces had come adrift which I was a little surprised about being this is the beginning of the season and would have thought during the quiet preceding weeks all maintenance would have been done? Outside there is a washing up facility with two positions with hot water aplenty. However again some attention to a clean up of spider webs etc. Having said that though it is perfectly usable. All in all a little gem of a site sitting in a very quiet wooded valley. The bonus of the site is its proximity to he town. Perhaps a 15 minute walk to the castle / town centre and only 5 mins to a chippy and shops.

Happy with the site and if we find ourselves back in Caernarfon would have no issues with returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jen+Fred 8 reviews from this member

 Clean well-maintained site situated on the side of a wooded valley towards the edge of Caernarfon, on the Llanberis side of town. The site is sheltered by surrounding trees and consists of a few large terraced areas, to give level pitches, with quite a steep incline between the terraces. Only 10-15 minutes walk from centre of town and only 5 minutes walk to a Spar shop and fish and chip shop, a bit further out of town on the Llanberis Road.

Mobile phones can be left at reception for recharging batteries, at a small cost, useful for those not using an electric pick-up.

Handy for Caernarfon Bus Station, so a good base for visiting the area without using a car. The bus service is good, but timetables are not published, so not easy to find. Suggest printing any timetables you are likely to use before you go. These can be found at https://www. Gwynedd. Gov. Uk/en/Residents/Parking-roads-and-travel/Bus-timetables/Bus-timetables. Aspx 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flamair 1 review from this member

 Firstly, I don't camp. At least, I do but more because my 10 year old enjoys it, or if caught out whilst motorcycle touring. I haven't stayed on a camp site for about 6 years, so was a little curious as to the experience.

We have a little 2 man tent and I was quite surprised to find it was the same cost as a huge hulking thing, but at 34 for a couple of nights in August thought it'd be fine. The owners were polite, though not particularly friendly and did seem to patrol the place rather too much. The site is very pretty, with trees and lots of grass, and a river flowing through it. Our allocated pitch (3) was fine, reasonably roomy for our particular tent though sloping slightly more than would be ideal. The facilities were acceptable, but for me, the showers and loos could do with a serious clean - we didn't use the showers as I felt it would be more hygienic not to!

The children's play area was excellent and my son played with several other children, all of whom seemed to be enjoying themselves. It's a quiet and relaxed site, with no noise late on. I got talking to a lovely couple from Warrington that had their tourer based there for the season, and they were great and very enthusiastic! In fact, I'm now considering buying a small caravan myself!

I would stay here again, but not for more than a couple of nights, unless they sort the toilet/shower block or unless we get that caravan! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scott family camper 1 review from this member

 Just returned after cutting our 3 days short. The campsite is clean and tidy with plenty of space and hot water. The children's park was great however there were a few negatives which made us come home a day early. The pitch we had was on such a slope that you were constantly sliding down the bed, there was also a smell of urine coming from the bushes behind our tent. The showers could also do with a deep clean and the mouldy shower curtains replaced. The owners seem to patrol the site and it can be a bit intimidating as we never got a hello or a smile as they walked by. On the plus side the permanent caravanners were lovely and the proximity to shops etc is ideal 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rickngayle 5 reviews from this member

 Arrived here mainly to use as a base to explore the area and climb Snowdon. We found the owners very helpful and friendly. The toilet block was ideal and couldn't have been cleaner and we enjoyed our stay. If anything our 10 and 13 year old boys yearned for an entertainment room of sorts on an evening. Wouldn't stop us coming back though. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Scud4984 6 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site. It is very easy to get to and the entrance and the camp is well sign posted. It is surprising when you enter as it is off an estate but as soon as we entered the grounds it is very picturesque. Reception is as you enter but don't go right as there is no where to turn round. Also note that there is quite a steep hill down to the pitches. However the owners are very welcoming and helpful (they even used their vehicle to put caravans in place on pitches if people found it difficult)and they are also very dog friendly.

We have a folding camper which does take up quite a large space when the awning is up but the owners found us a perfect pitch at the end of a row.

The recent weather did mean that the ground was slightly boggy but when the sun came out it did dry up a bit. There is a lovely stream running through the middle of the camp and if you are not used to running water it can seem a bit noisy but it didn't bother us. The site was clean and well kept and

Even though it was quite busy it was fairly quiet and we had nice neighbours. The showers and other facilities were always clean and tidy and the showers were great. One morning there was a power issue in the facilities but within a few hours it was all sorted out and working again before nine am.

We asked for the code for the free WIFI and were given a card with the details on but it only worked on one of our phones so perhaps if you need more wifi for other phones speak to the owners. The Spar shop is just up the road next to a chippy and is only a couple minutes to walk there (we didn't use either).

We spent a few days at the castle and walking around this lovely walled town and we loved it. We had a thoroughly lovely weekend and if we go to Caernarfon again we would stay here without any concerns.

So for us its onto Conwy and Beaumaris to see the other castles! (We live in North Wales too) :) 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cymraes1dog 5 reviews from this member

 This is the first site we ever used and have been returning several times a year since. We walk into town and the bus drops us off outside with the shopping. We enjoy walking the dog along the coastal path behind Morrisons and love the country park in Llanberis just 5 miles away. Another favourite is a trip to Porthmadoc and the retail outlet in Llanfair P G in Anglesey. The site is clean and peaceful with wonderful showers. The site seems to attract very friendly campers. Free wi fi. The owners are now thought of as friends. Gorgeous hot pasties and other hot foods in Spar nearby. Only thing I would like to see is a waste water facility fot motorhomes. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Windy Witch 3 reviews from this member

 This site is brilliant we stayed here for a week during hot weather and you could find shade if wanted. Toilet and shower blocks very clean catered for Disabled in showers, and family showers if you have small children, there is also a play area on site for children. Very convenient for town centre and shops, chip shop near site also. The owners are a lovely couple who check every morning and night that everything is fine, would highly recommend this site and will use again. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Briantheposter 1 review from this member

 Just spent three restful days on this site. The owners were very nice and helpful. The site was kept very clean and tidy throughout our stay. Toilet's were always very clean. Will definitely stay again in the near future. Very handy for the town centre, good boat rides from the quayside and only six pounds, shops in town centre only ten minutes walk away, chippy just outside the camp gates. When you consider the camp is in the middle of a estate the lacking of noise is remarkable.  


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SandraScot1 35 reviews from this member

 Just spent 2 nights here en route round Wales and into the Lake District. This is a nice site. Good walking distance into town (about 10 minutes) where there's a selection of shops, pubs and restaurants. Best value was the little boat trip[ (6 for adults and kids and dogs go free) which takes you out of the harbour past the impressive castle and up the estuary.

The Site: Not much traffic noise considering you are near the main road which is good. We paid 17 per night which for July I consider good value for money. Toilets are very spacious, very clean but slightly dated. However best showers we've experienced throughout June/July in France and UK! it's just nice to be able to have space for your clothing/toiletries and know they are not going to be soaked in the process! Laundry facilities available but unsure about Motorhome waste water. We were here during 2 very hot days so had loads of shade off the trees which was just fantastic as it kept the 'van nice and cool.

So - good site, accessible to town, friendly owners and smooth check in. Good facilities. I would recommend this site. 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cwm Cadnant Valley child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cwm Cadnant Valley?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cwm Cadnant Valley dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Caernarfon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3601 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement