Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cwm Cadnant Valley

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Cwm Cadnant Valley Reviews

Cwm Cadnant Valley
Llanberis Road
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 2DF
Tel: 01286 673196
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 69
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 102 Reviews
                8/10 from 102 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nollymoss 3 reviews from this member

 Myself and my old man went here for a long weekend at whit weekend. On arrival we had a slight panic as the entrance to the site is right next to a spar shop which was frequented by teenagers from the opposite council estate. But do not be disheartened by that as when you turn into the drive and drive down into the site you enter another world.

You are in a beautiful valley and a fantastic campsite. There is no bar, club or arcade here which is just perfect for us, even when we have the kids with us. The owners are very pleasant and very helpful, they walk around the camp every morning and evening.

The facilities are fantastic and this site has the best showers I have ever been in! Power showers which are lovely and hot! All the facilities are very clean. Very quiet, you would never know you were so close to the town, and there was no noise from the local housing.

We had a fantastic day out at Mount Snowdon, climbed to the top and walked back down, fantastic views. Lot's of lovely places to visit! Had a brilliant time and will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campathon 2 reviews from this member

 Booked just a week in advance for a couple of nights during the summer school holidays, Joan checked the make and model of our tent so that she could make sure there was a suitable sized pitch available. All details carefully taken at the time of booking and confirmed by email, a minor point, but reassuring.

We had read the previous reviews about the location of this site, although it is on the outskirts of Caernarfon, once you pass reception and drop down the hill into the site, you really wouldn't know you were just a 15 minute walk from the town centre!

Our pitch was in a small area of just 6 others which was also close to the play area and toilets. Pitches are pegged and numbered, although we were less than 6m from the adjacent tents, it meant we actually talked to our neighbours!

The ground was soft due to lots of rain (but not boggy or waterlogged), with a stone layer maybe 4-5 inches below so had a bit of fun getting some of the pegs in, bit the tent wasn't going anywhere once we'd finished!

The location is really sheltered from the wind, due to it being in a small valley and surrounded by mature trees, although we've got to wash the tree sap off the tent now.

The toilets and showers are ideal, clean and tidy with plenty of hot water. The washing area is outside, but undercover, although this wasn't a problem. There were plenty of drinking water points.

The play area is timber adventure 'assault course' style, so no swings or slides, but it kept our 6 year old son happy, along with the stream which runs through the site.

Being close to the town centre, there was a small amount of noise at night, but nothing to really spoil our visit. We weren't affected by the fire station nearby, obviously no fires during our visit!

We saw the owners quite often, from checking in, to ensuring we'd set up okay and we happy with the pitch, checking the toilets and generally having a wander around chatting to campers.

Happy to go back in the future! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ttalps2000 3 reviews from this member

 Just spent 2 nights at the site. Its a great little site and nice facilities to go with it.

The toilets and showers are clean and well maintained. The showers are nice and hot and powerful and in their own little cubicle with seats too!

We have only used it as a stop break whilst travelling, but would be happy to spend longer here.

There is also a great park for the kids to play in too and wifi available at a sensible price! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helenfeld 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for four nights, from a Wednesday to the Sunday. When we arrived,we had to inform the owners that we had an awning, as we hadn't told them on the phone. This meant that they had to find us a larger pitch, but they did this no problem at all. The owners were friendly enough and the site is peaceful during the day.

You must be warned that the site is by houses and next to the fire station so you will probably at some point, like we did, here the alarm going off at one o' clock in the morning waking the firemen up. Saying that,it didn't wake the kids up and they were in the awning. We also had some idiot zooming around the streets on a quad bike in the early hours,but it was a saturday night

Apart from this,the site was lovely and quiet with the sound of the stream running through it and birds singing. You wouldn't think you were so close to housing. The ladies toilet block had several toilets and a couple of showers. They were clean enough. As for the mens I can't say. The site is pretty unlevel in places, but as long as you've got your chocks it shouldn't be a problem. It also has a children's play area and paths decent enough for your kids to cycle round. Also,we had to buy bottled water for the first two days as you couldn't get a decent cuppa with the water from the site!

The tent field is lower down by the kids play area and this looked pretty even. There are recycling facilities. The only other gripe was that our electric was playing up and you had to wiggle the cable where it plugged in. Annoying when you're boiling the kettle for a cuppa and it only boils for about 20 seconds before you have to go out and wiggle it again. It only did this for one day though.

The site is very near to Caernarfon which you can walk to,and has great access for Snowdonia Country Park. While you are there,visit Bedgelert. It is a lovely place,with a large cafe who do a reasonable breakfast and do the biggest array of ice-creams I've ever seen,Ferrero Rocha flavour. Yum yum! You can walk along the river and it has great views of Snowdonia. For you bird lovers, we saw a breeding pair of pied flycatchers nesting in the hollow of a tree. There are also lots of pied wagtails and Caernarfon was full of house martins. I don't know if I would stay at the site again, as I would prefer to stay further into Snowdonia, but it's not a bad site and if you want to be close to Caernarfon this is quite a nice site. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anitathorp 4 reviews from this member

 Camp site was fantastic. Very friendly and clean. It was very close to town and walkable. The castle was breath taking. There were shops and pubs and as well as english eating places also chinese, thai, indian and cantonise. As well as the sea and a little beach and a harbour.

The campsite itself was clean and the staff and the campers were very friendly. There was a little play area for kids to play. The toilet / shower block was clean and the showers were to die for. Better than mine at home. There was also a place to do the washing up and veg preparation as well as a laundry room.

There were electric hook ups everywhere and access to water too. They even had bins to recycle and we didn't have to book. Just turned up. But as it gets closer to kids summer hols would be advisable.

There were special toilet/showers for families and disabled too.

I would recommend this site to anyone and we will most definitely be going back again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mandy+alan 1 review from this member

 A nice quiet camp site with surrounding trees and wildlife. Excellent showers best ones I have ever had. Owners very friendly and helpful.

Canarfen town only ten minute walk with lots of pubs shops and takeouts. Not good if you want night time entertainment with kids but luckily we had no kids with us so we used pubs in canarfen town. Castle and harbour with boat ride and welsh train station where we went on train to bedgellert.

Plenty of space for our 24ft van and 4x4 car and electric never tripped once well we were there.(1st camp ever )!Small play area for kids, barbecues allowed and good gate system closes at 11pm so you know your safe.

Would recommend this site but you do need to travel to places apart from canarfen town and make your own entertainment at night if you take kids. Never saw any clubs for families. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The red one 7 reviews from this member

 Visited with 4 adults and 4 kids.Between 6 and 11.On aproach we thought oh no, as the entrance is at the side of a juvenile court. You come down the hill to enter the site and automatically forget it is there,it becomes very peaceful and secluded.

We were greeted by the owners who shown us to our pitch which was next to the play area for the kids as we were told beforehand that is were we would be.

The toilets were ok,clean and well maintained with decent showers,including a family shower which was great. The cutlery washing facilities were outside under a canopy containing 2 sinks, which was enough for where we pitched as we could see when they were not being used and go over when ready.

Only a small playground but kids loved it and only came to us when requiring food,ha ha.But we could watch them at all times from our pitch.

At the top of the hill near entrance to site is a little chippy that opened for tea but we never tried it so cant comment,and a little spar 5 mins walk for anything you required.10 mins to walk totown centre and castle. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JanzC 12 reviews from this member

 Perfect little site for tent or tourer, it feels like you're camping in the woods, very peaceful. Clean facilities (they were spotless each time we used them) and lots of litter points and recycling bins.

Wasn't great for us with motorhome as the woods were the only place to walk our dogs, a bit small, and teens gathered drinking and smashing bottles near the start of the woods at night. About 20 mins walk to Caernarfon. Would have been nice with tent/car, to use as a base. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bsrcool 1 review from this member

 What a find. 10 minute walk from Caernarfon you are in the middle of town, bit worried when turning in to site but what a surprise. Tiered levels we went no hook up as only 3 nights, pitched far side of stream felt like we were in woodland, bluebells right outside our door, birds everywhere you looked, butterflies etc even heard owls at night. Even though in town could hardly hear traffic.

Clean toilet block best showers I've ever found at any site so far. Wish we could have stayed longer the most peaceful break I've ever had, site very quiet although it was not a bank holiday weekend so may get busier other times but only a small site. Good value for money didn't charge extra for our dog, no dog walk area and needed to stay on lead. Staff really helpful and friendly. Caravans may struggle a little as entrance is a little steep. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RM MACC 5 reviews from this member

 The site is in a valley and the pitches are on different levels so does not feel over crowded.

The grass was short but the hedge rows where left more natural to attract wild life.

The shower and toilet blocks are a little tired but are clean and there are doors on the showers so your clothes are kept nice and dry, dish washing is undercover.

Children's play area also picnic tables with seating near the tenting pitches.

Friendly and pleasant owners.

Caernarfon castle is in walking distance with good pubs and shops and other attractions within a few miles i. E. Bangor Pier, Llandudno, Snowdonia National Park to name a few. 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cwm Cadnant Valley child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cwm Cadnant Valley?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cwm Cadnant Valley dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Caernarfon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3694 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement