Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cwm Cadnant Valley

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Cwm Cadnant Valley Reviews

Cwm Cadnant Valley
Llanberis Road
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 2DF
Tel: 01286 673196
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 69
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 102 Reviews
                8/10 from 102 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pjkxpjkx 2 reviews from this member

 This is a nice secluded site close to the centre of Caernarfon. Walk down Lon Ysgol Rad nearly opposite the site entrance, look for the underpass and you are in the town. Caernarfon is not very dog friendly but the Anglesey Arms Hotel will let the dog into the bar and also offer excellent views.

The site facilities are OK except that there is apparently no disposal point for the motorhome but this was not a problem. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julietr 2 reviews from this member

 First and foremost, a really lovely little site that we would go back to again. Stream through site, great for kids although fairly steep banked in places so toddlers would need supervising (and leeches in it too, so wellies needed). Nice 'assault course' style adventure playground. Spotless and spacious shower block, plenty of free very hot water, 20p hairdryers and plenty of showers, sinks, toilets for size of site, with room to hang / put washbags / towels / clothes down. It is a little haven indeed, lots of privacy with the site sectioned off into smaller lots by trees.

It basically sits in its own little wooded valley, with steep (almost vertical) hillsides all around. Be warned - 5am birdsong is loud (but lovely). No electric pitches near playground, but the site is so secure and small (ish), if you want an electric pitch you can pretty much hear the children from any point on the site so very safe.

Hosts were very friendly and frequently checking everything is ok. Location is good - you feel like you are in a rural idyll, when actually you are right in Caernarfon itself and it's only a 10 minute walk (downhill) into the town. Chippy just round the corner from the site, although it was closed when we went on the Sunday. There is, unfortunately, a downside to the location.

The site is practically in the middle of a housing estate which seems a bit rundown and if you look closely through the trees edging the site, you can see metal fencing with anti-intruder contraptions along the top. Not quite barbed wire, though! And its very high up. Nevertheless, on the Saturday night we were disturbed by house music coming from the estate and we could hear groups of teenagers who were pretty loud. No wind that night, so maybe the sound travelled more?

Anyway, it hasn't put us off and we will be going back with the kids and dog (very pet friendly too, by the way). It is perfect for a long weekend. Think we might be booking a midweek break there in future though, just to avoid the Saturday night raucous, which I guess happens anywhere if you are near or in a town. I have rated site location 7/10 purely because of the housing estate, but were it not for that, it would definitely be scoring a 10! 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Millsy2012 12 reviews from this member

 Just back from Cwm Cadnant campsite, been before going back soon. Weather great you out there that have never been you don't know what you are missing. The owners are very nice down to earth people. Site is a little oasis. Piping hot showers clean toilet block. Water stations all over the site. Recycling bins all over. Town 10 mins walk, plenty off shops and pubs. Highly recommended. Children play area small stream running through site 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Liverbuild 3 reviews from this member

 We were at this site during the Bank Holiday weekend. We left booking till the last minute and where desperate to find some where. As they had a space left for us we booked and paid over the phone which was pretty straight forward.

We were a bit concerned as we did not know much about the site and wondered about the quality because they were the only ones that had space.

We had no need to worry, the site was great. The owners were very friendly and the location couldn't be any better. It is a ten minute walk into town. There are lots of things to do in Caernarvon and being so close makes it a breeze to have a good stay. Lot's of pubs and restaurants to eat at and a Spar round the corner if you need to stock up.

The site is quiet and the campers who were staying there seemed very friendly and relaxed. Kids are made welcome and so are dogs.

The showers are the hottest I have ever used on a campsite and the pressure is very strong.

You can tell that the owners really care about their guests by the small touches that they have made in the toilet/shower blocks and around the site.

Plenty of fresh water taps means you don't have to walk far to fill up.

I would recommend this site to anyone and we are looking forward to going back when we get the chance. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: William-moe 11 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely week at Cwn Cadnant. I must admit I was a little apprehensive with it being situated so near the town and in what seemed like the middle of an estate. Do not let this put you off, you drive down and you are literally transported to another world. Its a beautiful little campsite with a real private and secluded feel to it.

The pitches were all good sizes and the toilets although fairly basic were clean enough. In fact my husband said it was the best shower he'd ever had. Very powerful and lots of hot water. There is also a separate room for those with children which was great - larger shower cubicle, potty, toilet and changing table. Very handy.

There is a park for the kids and a lovely little stream which my 8 yr old son thoroughly enjoyed.

The owners are very nice and can be found walking round the site regularly.

The area itself is a great base, we were very lucky with the weather -sunshine everyday and very warm and spend days at Caernarfon round the castle which is recommended, a day in Angelsey, Llanberis, Beddgelert and of course a walk up Snowdon.

I can't really think of any negatives except perhaps the time you had to be off the site was 11am, maybe this could be extended to 12, that's really us being picky though as we didn't seem to be waking up till gone half 9! Having said that the owners wern't there clock watching anyway so I would presume they would be fairly flexible.

I would definitely return here without question. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LostAgainAndAga 3 reviews from this member

 A warm welcome from owners and plenty of help getting to pitch.

Awning area seemed muddy, and on the first evening during an awful downpour found out why, had a small river running through. Spoke to owner next morning and he happily moved us to a higher pitch. Lucky he had a 4x4.

Other than that, site was perfect.

'Permanent' van owners very friendly.

Showers maintained well, no complaints.

Very nice site 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Melg217 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean spacious site, very friendly owners, checking everything is OK. Facilities were very clean.

Two separate fields one for tourers and one for tents, large tent field with hook ups available.

Dog walking area is just out the site about 200 yards on road next to fire station, lovely area for dogs to run around, they loved it.

Only five min drive to Caernarfon town or 15mins to walk plenty of shops and the beach is lovely and this is dog friendly they had the time of there lives on there.

Will we return. Definitely 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Norma22 1 review from this member

 Just returned this morning from this great site, had a brilliant week, weather helped a lot sunshine every day,

Lovely clean site well laid out on different levels,

Just behind Caernarfon town centre, walk it down hill in 10 min's, can return by bus if elderly, bus stop's just out side site,

We visited Beddgelert and LLanberis,

The owner's couldn't have been any more helpful and friendly.

Definitely going back. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nottsboybry 2 reviews from this member

 Stumbled upon this small camp site by accident looking for another site as we were touring around wales.

At first we were unhappy with the location as we were not near the toilet block and too close to the stream, however the stream was not a problem and the the toilet/shower block was not as far as we thought and the water was so hot we had to cool it down, (a first for a campsite shower). They were clean and well maintained. Only 2 cubicles but always free whenever I wanted a shower as the camp-site wasn't full, only 2 sinks for washing again no problem getting to them.

The site was well drained as we had a lot of rain, they also have a small play area for the kids. We were cold on a couple of nights, but don't know if it was the weather, being so close to the stream or both.

Very close to town centre and the castle, there is a shop and a chipshop very close. All in all we stayed another couple of nights well pleased with this campsite and the staff. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: K55lun 1 review from this member

 A very convenient green oasis on the edge of Caernarfon town.

My 17yr old daughter and I needed somewhere to camp during our walking break in Snowdonia. Due to the unsettled weather we wanted a place to stay where there was something to do when not fit for walking in the mountains and this site suited us very well.

Only 25 minutes drive from Ogwen & The Glyders but also handy for the tourist attractions. The site is in a tree screened basin sheltering it from commuter noise and making it very peaceful despite being only 10 minutes walk away from all the advantages of a small seaside town.

The toilet block was very clean and well maintained with plentiful free hot water. The owners have thought about all those little things that make a difference like hooks by the wash basins and shower cubicles, seats in the change area of the shower cubicle and materials to clean up ready for the next person.

The Lady on reception was very helpful from arrival to departure and we took full advantage of all the information they have about pubs, restaurants and the tourist attractions.

The tent pitches are a good size, were well drained (despite all the recent rain) and only a very gentle slope which we didn't even notice during our very long sleep. We'll be back. 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cwm Cadnant Valley child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cwm Cadnant Valley?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cwm Cadnant Valley dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Caernarfon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3332 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement