Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cwm Cadnant Valley

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Cwm Cadnant Valley Reviews

Cwm Cadnant Valley
Llanberis Road
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 2DF
Tel: 01286 673196
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 69
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 102 Reviews
                8/10 from 102 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cyclekitty 13 reviews from this member

 Fantastic campsite within easy walking distance to town. We were cycling the Route 8 cycle route and stayed here for a night, I liked that they had pitches for 'backpackers', it was a nice little area for people who didn't have a car or big tents.

The owners were really really friendly and helpful, they had a secure lockup for our bikes and even let us dry our wet shoes in reception.

We had a nice stroll into town and ate at a pub recommended by the owners.

The toilet block was clean and plenty of room, they also had family shower rooms I thought was a good idea if you had kids.

It was also cheap, and good value for money, we would definitely stay here again! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gloria C. 3 reviews from this member

 We really liked this campsite.

It is very close to the city centre, and it is well maintained. The toilet block was clean. We were only there for one night but it was enough to see that it was a nice place to stay.

They had laundry facilities too. The owners were friendly and helpful even if we arrived quite late (8pm).

Internet WI-FI is available for a small fee I believe. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chope0805 4 reviews from this member

 Our favourite site so far. We received a really warm welcome from the owners, who were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The pitch sizes seemed to vary though ours was really big, and ideally located right next to a lovely little stream the kids spent many happy hours paddling in. There's also a little play area for the kids. Due to the layout of the campsite (different layers, separated by trees and bushes) it gave a feeling of privacy and protected from the wind.

The facilities were fine, clean and enough showers, toilets etc. It was a real plus for us that there was a family bathroom which there wasn't a charge for (as with most other sites we've visited), and little touches like hairdryers provided, plenty of room to put your stuff down, and shaver points (for my ladyshave!) in the family rooms made such a big difference.

A lovely little site, great access to this area of Wales and plenty of local facilities nearby.

A definite thumbs up for this one. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pagar 6 reviews from this member

 A nice little site which is set in a small Valley next to the river Cadnant. The site is quiet yet located very close to the centre of Caernarfon.

On initial arrival we were not impressed at all as the site is right next to the Law Courts in a residential area, however as you drive down into the site from the main road you quickly loose sight of the urbanisation and enter a pleasant wooded site with the sound of the river as a backdrop.

The facilities are fine, loads of hot water and nice showers and the site has a small play area for children. Caernarfon centre is walking distance (I would estimate 15 mins but we didn't actually walk it). 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lesley/Ian 31 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a four day break and really liked it. Toilet blocks were fine and used the launderette for drying towels. It is only a 10-15 minute walk to Caernarfon itself, which is great, park the car and leave it!. There is a Spar shop and really good chip shop, 5 min. Walk.

We had a pitch right at the bottom by the stream, which was very nice. Our son enjoyed the play area and we bought him a fishing net to play in the stream.

My father in law is an artist and he came with us and spent a lot of his time sat outside the van painting the immediate surroundings, that's how nice it is.

We visited Portmerion and Llandudno and Caernarfon itself during our stay, all easy driving distances.

All in all the site is great and we would definitely use it again if we were in the area, you would not expect it to be so lovely when it is practically town centre! My only warning is, it does have a very steep drive in and out, be warned non 4x4 owners! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leaky-tent 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for a week

Nice site, right in the middle of a housing estate, but you wouldn't know it.

Chippy just outside but be prepared to wait if you are English, they serve the locals first !

Spar next to the chippy who do great breakfast rolls every morning.

Ample and clean toilets & shower blocks and if you have young kids there is a play area

15 min walk into the town where you have everything you need

Tesco's nearby also 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bernard426 2 reviews from this member

 Managed to get in here the week before the bank holiday. A nice quiet site even though more or less in the middle of Caernarfon so its handy for the shops with two good supermarkets only five minutes away in the car.

The facilities were in good order with clean powerful showers with plenty of free hot water. There was only two showers in the male toilets so you may have to queue if the site is busy!

The weather was appalling when we were there and the ground was very soft with lots of car wheels spinning although the owners have a 4*4 and were only too willing to help out. We had a pitch next to a stream which sounded lovely in the tent but our pitch was very water logged / muddy which made it a little uncomfortable but you can't blame the weather on the owners!

All in all not a bad site. It would've been great if the weather was sunnier / drier! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kirstypearce 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in late June for a couple of nights when travelling the UK, was nice site, owners very friendly and welcoming. The facilities were very good and very clean, even though it rained all of the time we were there.

A couple of things to note, which would not be a problem if you are prepared for them beforehand, we were at the top, which was handy for the launderette, but the showers and toilets were down a very steep, slippery slope, so good grips on your shoes are a must!
Quite difficult to fill and empty water tanks on the motorhome as to access the taps / drain, you had to park on a steep slope, so long hoses are required.
10 mins to walk to Caernarfon for Town / Castle and Harbour, lovely! 10 mins drive to catch the mountain railway up mount Snowdon, fantastic views a very enjoyable place. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sparkster71 1 review from this member

 We visited this site with two small children and my In Laws with a view to using it as a base for exploring North Wales. The location is perfect for that with lots to see and do in easy reach.

There is a great children's play area where my son and daughter spent most of their time.

The site itself is nestled in the middle of a housing estate, but by the time you get set up in the wooded area, you wouldn't know. The nearby fire station was not that active during our stay so no sleepless nights due to sirens.

The shower block is tired and dirty and needs updating. When washing the crockery after a meal one night, the lady owner told us off for using too much water, stating 'we are on a meter you know!' - we didn'd find the owners too friendly, and some of the campers who were opposite my Mother and Father in law were rude and offensive, playing music, swearing and generally being obnoxious until the early hours. My 70 year old mother in law asked them to please quieten down and she was faced with a torrent of foul mouthed abuse.

This was raised with the owners who said 'Oh, they're not normally like that' and did nothing. We packed up and left a couple of days early as a result of our holiday being ruined.

Would I go back again? Certainly not. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Owainm 4 reviews from this member

 We were lucky to get a pitch here on a busy May half term. Unfortunately, the pitch we got was squashed near a T junction. They really like to cram the caravans in here! Also, there was a caravan next to us which had 3 cars so it felt even more claustrophobic. As the roads were so close to the pitches.

The location is great - we took the bikes and were only 5 mins from Caernarfon town centre - the dock area and harbour and along the front towards the golf club. We actually went to the beach at Dinas Dinlle for the whole 3 days - which is only 10 mins away.

The toilet block and shower area have been modernised and are nice and clean. There are also 2 family rooms which is useful. Electric hookup - the electric went off a few times but was quickly restored on both occasions.

There is a good play area for the kids, and there is a small stream that runs through the campsite.

A fine site but wouldn't recommend at peak periods. 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cwm Cadnant Valley child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cwm Cadnant Valley?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cwm Cadnant Valley dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Caernarfon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3792 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement