Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Tencreek Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Looe > Tencreek Holiday Park Reviews

Tencreek Holiday Park
Polperro Road
Looe
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL13 2JR
Tel: 01503 262447
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 249
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 81 Reviews
                7/10 from 81 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dawnsunny 11 reviews from this member

This review is our opinion only but felt we needed to leave it.

Booked and paid for a weeks holiday in April this year, even paying an extra £15 for a sea view pitch, and was very excited to be going as we love Looe and as our two girls are getting older they need things to do on site, and this seemed to have ticked all our boxes.

We booked in and was given a tag to put on the caravan that showed dates booked. Right across this was stamped 'NO REFUNDS'. We didn't think much of this as we didn't intend asking for one. The site was neat and had about three tiers to the touring area.

The top half was fairly full and round the edges were loads of seasonal hobbies, some very shabby and dirty. We drove to the second tier and as we turned in we where met with what can only be discribed as looking down at a recently arrived traveller site. Vans in no order, really tatty and unkempt.

This being our view for the next week we turned round and drive off, stopping at the on site pub to use the wifi so we could look up another site. The pub smelt so much it was on my clothes for the rest if the journey 😞. Realising why there was the no refunds declared on ticket we were left wondering if this happened a lot?!.

Lost money but glad we had only paid and lost just the one weeks fee. Sorry but will not be returning.

It looks like the site is used mainly for seasonals just unfortunate these pics where not on the website.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Missarahmlee@hotmai 21 reviews from this member

To get straight to the point there is nothing wrong with this site and we were very happy with our stay and particularly for the price we paid. As with most sites its a matter of taste and preference as to whether they are for you.

Access- site was easy to find but is a short way down a single track road with passing places.

Location - about a mile and a half from Looe - walk able apparantly! - but nothing next to the site.

Check in - very efficient and speedy but we were the only arrival. Reception area and staff very smart and welcoming.

Pitching - no assistance offered. Were given an informative brochure with a map and verbal directions to pre-allocated pitch.

The pitches - Mainly grass but a few hard standing. There is a very slight slope to the site but pretty level. Drainage not an issue and we had some good rain. Pitches are wide but not deep and I felt a bit hemmed in. Electric hook up on a tower with 4 marked plugs.

Showers / Toilets - 2 new blocks sited close to all pitches. More than enough toilets and showers and no queueing even on bank holiday week. Underfloor heating kept floors nice and dry. All cubicles very spacious. 3 family rooms and a disabled facility in each block. Push button showers a bit dribbly. No private basins and I agree with previous reviewer that need hooks or a shelf by the basins for your towel.

Pool- small but pleasant and lifeguard present. Says balls not allowed but people had balls and body boards.

Shop - long opening hours, managed to get what I needed and prices ok.

Laundry - didn't use machines but charge is £3 change is avaiable at reception.

Castaways bar/takeaway. Bit dark and dingy inside during the day. Didn't experience the entertainment but had a cooked breakfast one day which was a good plateful and very reasonably priced. Free wifi in here too.

So in general no horrors. Shame about the dribbly showers and the push button drinking water taps. The laundry floor needed a good sweep - went in there to use the tap as fed up with push button ones - and looked like an explosion in a loom band factory. Didn't like the mix of tents and caravans on the touring pitches. There is not enough room between pitches and I felt my space was being invaded and I was invading space when walking to showers. I didn't feel comfy sitting outside as people were so close. The showers and toilets were acceptably clean but you are always up against people who never clean up after themselves, don't flush and allow their kids to run wild. No rowdiness really and bar turns out fairly early.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PaulD and Family 2 reviews from this member

Certainly not the best site we have visited. Views were fantastic. Pitch was not so good and no alternative offered. Toilet block was left in a disgusting state one morning.

The site didn't feel like a touring holiday site mainly because of the seasonal tourers were not exactly in the best condition. It was noisy during the day with a groundsman using a strimmer for what seemed like hours on end.

The play area was good for the children, Shop was small but reasonably stocked and reasonably priced. Don't think we would visit again, which is a shame as we love the area of Looe.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carl281076 5 reviews from this member

We stayed on site for 1 week, sadly we arrived and left on the back of a recovery vehicle and had no car for the full week.

The site is perfectly located for Polperro and Looe if you don't mind a good walk across the cliffs which was brilliant. Facilities were all good and reasonably priced including the shop and bar and all staff were helpful and pleasant.

The local buses and taxi's were very reasonable should you not want the walk.

Would we stay again? YES most definitely.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Michellendek 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a fantastic time at Trencreek and can't wait it book for next year

The site is located in a perfect spot for Newquay town, it is beautifully presented and the staff (Paul) are very friendly. Facilities are sufficient - laundrette, showers/toilets ( all clean), shop ( well stocked and reasonably priced) bar, pool and play area.

Excellent price for a perfect holiday.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kenmof 9 reviews from this member

Spent 4 nights here with kids, good location and service upon arrival was welcoming, lots of narrow roads around so take care if towing, access to park was okay, the access road is only a caravan width for about 5-600yds with all of it having overgrown bushes - hedges - weeds etc along the length of it, very difficult when people walking on road and you are driving towards them as no where really to go, lots of seasonal tourers parked up with overgrown grass surrounding a lot of them, had hardstanding pitch with services which was good.

Shop was small, but well priced and had all basic requirements and essentials.

Toilet block was modern and cleaned regular, could do with clothes hooks beside sinks for when getting washed though!

Entertainment was poor quality but they were doing there best to get people involved, food in bar was good and prices reasonable, site has free wifi but only within entertainment complex which worked well.

Swimming pool was okay but beware, they are showing pictures on website and advertising's of people in pool appearing to have a good time etc with beach ball, in reality though you are not allowed balls in pool and are not allowed splashing?? not sure what their views of a pool and a good time are, kids were disappointed obviously especially as pool wasn't even busy.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

Iím really not a fan of holiday parks, they tend to be far too big, regimented lines of caravans and holiday homes and of course there is all the entertainment in the bar etc, etc, and while Iíd not normally choose to stay here, it was more necessity as we were walking the coast path, it wasnít too bad.

We camped in the touring pitched at the bottom of the site that were fortunately a long way from the statics and bar etc, a little bit of a walk to the toilet block, but it was out of the main season so was quiet and there was a fantastic view out to sea, so it really didnít feel too much like a large holiday park.

The toilet facilities were perfectly adequate, plenty of them and kept largely clean, there were just a few points when they were a bit dirty. Well stocked shop with friendly staff, unfortunately the staff in reception were nowhere near as friendly.

I did poke my head in the bar as it was the start of the world cup, but choice of beers were more Wetherspoons than country pub and the swimming pool was a fine size for the amount of people in it when I used it, but god knows what itíd be like in the middle of August with a packed site.

The site is within walking distance of Looe if you are used to walking, if not then it would need to be a taxi, but care needs to be taken on which firm you choose as the prices varied widely. By the time we reached Looe we had nearly walked all the way around Cornwall, and Looe is OK, has some nice aspects to it but failed to really love it like many other parts of Cornwall. As far as the coast path is concerned, the section between Polruan and Looe is probably the best section since North Cornwall, tough, but rugged and attractive.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Btgce 2 reviews from this member

Large site, clean toilet and shower blocks and easily accessible. Could maybe do with a few more lights near the bottom field. Lovely pool and bar. Kids loved the activities in the evening, perhaps a few more younger kids games would be good in the games room, otherwise great site and good value for money.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Llbngb 2 reviews from this member

Facilities excellent warm, modern, well equipped

Location brilliant, a short drive from Looe, with fantastic views pitches large. We had a hardstanding when we were there but there is little space between pitches. There seems to be a lot of Seasonal pitches on this site but this doesn't bother us

Love this site will definitely return again soon

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Custom 8 reviews from this member

Arrived in the rain, checked in & went looking for our 'medium' pitch, took a wrong turn, one 3 point turn (with caravan)amongst the statics at the bottom of the site & we found our pitch-which was huge! EHU pitches are numbered on the sides of the hook-up box (easy once you know!)non-ehu pitches are marked on the side of the roads. Fully serviced large pitches (on gravel) are at the top of the site, seasonal pitches are in the centre/sides of the touring field-most pitches slope. Especially the lower non-ehu field-But great views of Looe island/bay!

Drainage on our pitch wasn't great-after putting up our awning the groundsheet stayed wet all week-weather was good for our stay!Other pitches looked to drain better so maybe we were just unlucky there!

Other reviewers have covered the shortage of washing up areas (true) & food (good-we thought). Showers/washing/loos-very clean!

Didn't try the pool, shop-a little basic, but ok really. Yellow coats were excellent-great with the kids & worked hard-but please give them proper blazers & not what looks like home made fancy dress outfits! Didn't try the play area but our 10 yr old daughter gave it the thumbs-up.

Dog walking area is too small-there is an area at the bottom of the site to use but its really an overflow camping area (so could be a problem when the site's very busy-like bank holidays)

The major plus with this site is location. 1 1/2 miles from looe, 2ish from polperro-both are must see locations (more than once) TIP:park in the big carpark by the bridge for looe & walk-don't bother with the harbour one unless you're really early!Same with polperro-there's a little 'bus' if you don't fancy the walk to the harbour (20 min walk)

Try a 2hr mackerel fishing trip for a really fresh bbq experience (£12)from looe (mystique 2 is a large stable fast fisher you can book at the harbour-great skipper!)keep all you catch!

Thurs night in west looe-Jolly Sailor pub. Great atmosphere & sea shanties too!

Do be careful on smaller/narrower roads (like tencreeks entrance road)-some lunatic locals think they can drive fast because they know all the bends. Trouble is-they don't know that theyre loaded with tourists too!

Surrounding area:Newquay- about an hour away, bodmin jail-good rainy day visit. Beaches:looe, seaton & kingsand / cawsand for kayaking (a little rocky but views to plymouth sound)

This site is THE best for looe-some other sites don't have great access (tencreek is a few hundred yards from the main road (A387)

Statics looked okay with neatly cut grass, busy cleaning staff & tidy look to the whole site-give tencreek a try. You wont be disappointed

Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Looe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans Ė plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2391 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019