Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Tencreek Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Looe > Tencreek Holiday Park Reviews

Tencreek Holiday Park
Polperro Road
Looe
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL13 2JR
Tel: 01503 262447
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 249
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 81 Reviews
                7/10 from 81 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Milkshake 5 reviews from this member

We stayed in a small bottom budget static which in my opinion was extremely good value. It cost us 320 for Spring Bank Holiday week where as you're looking at 500-600 at other sites. As far as I could tell this is an independent site. We booked through Hoseasons but isn't run by them.

The evening entertainment is quite basic but we weren't looking for anything fancy. The kids entertainment ran from 7.30-8.30 which we liked as it meant we could 'escape' by 8.30 rather than hanging about. (Other sites like this often have bingo first at the kids stuff don't start til 8.30). It did often have further kids stuff from 9.30pm but our children are young enough not to care once we'd said we were leaving after Deano the Dolphin leaves.

There was a children's play area on site which was fine and within the statics so not within view of the touring field. I'd say the play area and entertainment is really aimed at under 10s and certainly not teens. I think that's why the place was so quiet.

Most children were very young as opposed to loud teenagers. The site was virtually empty during the day - even the swimming pool. Speaking of which it would be good if the life guards made sure the holiday makers kept to the rules. There was a big poster on the wall with pool rules - no jumping, no pushing, no bombing, no running. One particular family were doing all of the above and launching themselves at full speed into the pool with no regard for whoever (child or adult) who they crashed into when hitting the water. Neither of the two life guards muttered a word.

After myself and my 5yr old had been knocked several times by one or other of this family we decided it was safer to get out.

There is also a paddling pool for under 8s which, again was full of over 8s. The main pool was so deep my 7 yr old (who is just learning to swim)couldn't reach the floor and so she had to go in the paddling pool as we never take arm bands for her as she is learning to swim. What with the depth and the unsavoury family, we never re-visited the pool again.

As I said, we stayed in a static was was fantastic with fab views. However, we checked out the touring field and we're pretty sure we wouldn't stay here. EHUs were really cramped together and I think the grass pitches would be too if there were two large tents next to each other. There also seemed to be lots of seasonal pitches with grass growing to great lengths around these caravans and even moss growing over some of them. Think they've been there for years.

All in all, the touring field appeared to be very grotty and not very well looked after.

Having said that, there was a brand new toilet/shower block which we also checked out. This was immaculate with loads of toilets and showers including family ones which had a shower, toilet and baby change table with harness all in one room.

It was a shame the actual pitches were as shabby as they were as I would have definitely camped here otherwise.

The location is perfect (in our opinion). There is a lovely walk down to Talland Bay (which our 5 and 7 yr olds managed perfectly). It was a trek getting back up to the campsite but our two were fine with it. Talland Bay is gorgeous with a little cafe and toilets.

The view from the hillside at Talland Bay was also something you mustn't miss out on. Especially in the evening. The sunsets are to die for.

Would we go back? Yes definitely in a static - not in a tent/tourer unless they made the pitches bigger and spruced the place up a bit (ie asked the seasonal people to clean up their vans and just generally kept the place a bit nicer).

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Campervan1 1 review from this member

Visited in March 10 as it was pretty much only place open--not expecting much

Pleasantly surprised - shop, club and indoor pool all open

Loads of building work nearly completed but didn't disturb us too much as kids not with us --new toilet blocks being built look impressive

Probably revisit again during Easter with rest of family as some family now moved to area

Date of Visit: January 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dikips 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 1 night and it was awful!Toilets are a disgrace, had to hunt for a clean cubicle. It was in the quiet season so why don't they close off some of the toilets instead of not being bothered to clean them?

The shower floors were filthy. They also charge full price but at a cut price service.

Charged 17. We don't pay this in cornwall during the summer.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cath+Ian 2 reviews from this member

On arriving we were impressed by the friendly staff, but that's where it stopped the site is awful, dirty, not suitable for a nice relaxing evening. We paid 29.50 drove round the site and off to the Caravan Club Site in Looe. We couldn't actually find the sea view we had paid for, and we were told to park in an area that looked like an old tip they had filled in!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rfarry 4 reviews from this member

All I can say is don't go to Tencreek.

Having just left Dornafield to meet some friends here was a shock to the system.

The toilet block looks like and probably is a concrete prefab with all the council style chrome sinks and showers etc.

We were at the top of the field surrounded by seasonal vans which weren't well looked after and looked very scruffy.

Our friends were in a tent at the bottom, at least they had a nice view, once the fog lifted!

Even our children, 9 and 4 disliked this site!

The exit road is unbelievably narrow, we don't have a large van but both sides were touching the hedgerow.

This site is also very expensive, I expected a lot better for 30 per night, their website is very deceptive. The shop is expensive as is the clubhouse.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Towner7679 7 reviews from this member

We booked 2 medium sized hookup pitches about 8 weeks beforehand. Our party consisted of 4 adults, 3 kids (ages 5 years and 2 years) and a baby. Upon arrival the site seemed lovely, the reception staff helpful and friendly.

The toilet and shower blocks were cleaned regularly, but they were in need of updating. The showers were minute, a struggle on your own, with a child a nightmare! And out of the 7 day holiday we only had 1 hot shower!

They have both an indoor pool and outdoor pool with a slide. The outdoor pool was open about 3 days of our holiday, and the day we went to use the indoor pool the heating system wasn't working.

They have a lovely kiddies play park, loads of space for them to run around etc.

The club house is a good size, but we found it very hot. The day time kids club was okay, the staff seemed a bit forced. The evening was horrendous. The mascot Deano the Dolphin made an appearance 2 times, and stayed long enough for pics. They seemed to be short on entertainment staff, who weren't too enthused about their jobs.

The games room was small, which can be a good or bad point depending on how much money you want the kids to spend.

The take-away was expensive and the site shop was seriously overpriced!.To be expected.

Our pitches were next to each other, which gave the kids space to play, on their own they might have have been squishy.

We had problems with the hookup from day 1. It was always tripping out. We had our coolbox on constantly and alternately used the kettle, heater or fan.

Overall we had a good holiday, but that was thanks to the beautiful area, not the site.

Looe is a lovely walk down a steep road, loads to do in the town. Another great walk is to Talland Bay and along the coastal path to Polperro. But I don't recommend if you have young children or need a buggy. It is a steep uphill over 75% of the way, narrow walkways with no railings and an extremly steep drop!

I would definitely go back to the area, but would give Tencreek a wide berth.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Aflint 1 review from this member

We have just come back from Tencreek and were pleasantly surprised. The site itself is lovely and clean with plenty of space between caravans. Our caravan was a Suncrest. It was a new caravan, very spacious, lots of storage and very clean with great views directly towards the sea. Brilliant! Couldn't fault it.
The outdoor pool was great for our 7 year old boy and the slide was supervised very safely. Only used the evening kids entertainment twice as it was only on for about 40 minutes and it was a bit naff. The kids got a bit bored during some of the games.
The site is about 1 mile away from Looe, which in itself is a lovely fishing village, nice beach, lovely shops and they have some great fishing / boat trips which are reasonably priced. Parking is a bit of a nightmare. Apart from Looe there is not much around, most of the children's attractions are on the other coast, near Newquay so be prepared to drive a fair bit.
You will not be disappointed if you stay at Tencreek but I would pay a little extra for the bigger caravan. A great holiday-shame the weather was not so great!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Jo toe 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the pool and its location, we usually camp in quieter sites, but got a cheap short break here which was good value for money.

Well laid out site in the static area was clean and mown, good playground facilities,excellent sized swimming pool with adult only sessions which meant I could swim lengths without dodging children etc!

Lovely walks from the site to Looe, Polperro and Talland Bay.

The staff were friendly, though their knowledge of local information varied dramatically.

The caravan was basic, not brilliantly clean, and smelt a bit musty, I also managed to set the smoke alarm off every time I cooked anything on the hob.

The entertainment was very loud and could be heard from our caravan, even though there were only about 20 people in there when we put our heads round the door.

As an out of season cheap break it was fine, but I wouldn't go there in high season.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Tommy1 1 review from this member

We arrived on Sep 13 2008 and was impressed by the friendly welcome we received from the staff, so helpful and polite.
While driving to our caravan we were surprised at how clean and tidy the park was, not a scrap of litter. Park was well laid out and we were surprised to see that what ever caravan you were in you had a lovely sea view.

Caravans were clean and comfortable, parking for 2 cars next to your caravan, overall a lovely surprise and we had only been there for 10 minutes.

Only went to the clubhouse once as we are not drinkers and preferred to go out for a meal but the clubhouse was quite an enjoyable experience.

Camp shop was I agree a little expensive but then they all are if you want that sort of convenience, staff in shop were excellent, friendly, courteous and very helpful.

I have read some pretty awful comments about the shower block but even though we had these facilities in our caravan my son and I went to the shower block every day and found them pretty good, they may be a little dated but they were clean and warm, what more can you ask for, if people want luxury showers then they should give up caravan sites and book into a hotel.

Overall we found this site brilliant for our needs and will go there again, in fact we have already booked to go back next May and September,.

Friendly and helpful staff, clean park, well laid out, sea view from any caravan, on site parking, and great location between Looe and Polperro. If you enjoy walking there are plenty of paths and coastal walks, who wants to go abroad when you have this right on your own doorstep.

Date of Visit: December 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Teppinlostsoul 9 reviews from this member

I booked this site for a winter weekend break in a static caravan. I must admit had I read the reviews on this site first I wouldn't of booked, however I had booked it so went through with it. I booked it on price, I needed to stay in that area and found there off season rate to be very reasonable, I booked it through hoeseasons. So we were bracing ourselves for the worst.

When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. The reception was open and the member of staff was friendly and helpful. Our van was clean and the condition was fine for the money. It was an old van that had been updated in places. It was well equipped and had a sea view, so we were able to watch the sun rise.Also the maid had put the gas fire on before our arrival, very welcome on a frosty day.

The site itself was almost deserted, but it was December, so we didn't sample all of the facilities, but we didn't want too. The shop was well stocked and admittedly wasn't cheep but it was on a par with other camp site shops and it was handy/open- so I can't complain! I did have a look a the infamous toilet/shower block and they are seriously dated, I wouldn't want to camp there. But seeing as our van had a bathroom, we didn't use them.

I'm going again this weekend and again in four weeks time. You can't argue with their prices!

Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Looe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3347 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019