Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Tencreek Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Looe > Tencreek Holiday Park Reviews

Tencreek Holiday Park
Polperro Road
Looe
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL13 2JR
Tel: 01503 262447
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 249
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 81 Reviews
                7/10 from 81 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Big-dan1973 7 reviews from this member

This site is the best we have visited in years this is our 4th year now and we still love it there

Reception and staff are very friendly and helpful too

Touring pitches are excellent size and toilets and showers are spotless and very modern

Swimming pool is very nice and ideal for a rainy day for the kids

Out door park and all weather sports pitch for the kids were very good too

Club house was very good with really good entertainment and bingo, take away are bar service were very good

Dog friendly site and good dog walking areas too

This site is situated just outside Looe and suited us perfectly

The views out to the countryside and coast were breath taking

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Butterflies 60 reviews from this member

After some of the sites we’d stayed at during our holiday, arriving here in the quiet season in June was a bit of a treat. Miles of clean toilets, showers, warm toilet block, WIFI, an indoor swimming pool, a take away, a shop – all very civilised after roughing it at farm sites. Now, I wouldn’t want to stay here at peak season, much too large and busy, but in the quiet season this site ticked all our boxes, and for £17. 00 with hook up was good value against the others we stayed at. The pitches are large and there are some with a fabulous sea views – we stayed on a terrace looking out across Looe Bay.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jacqhale 10 reviews from this member

We stayed at Tencreek in the June halfterm. I chose the park as it was close to the Devon border and we didn't want to travel to far. It was about £20 a night which was inline with others in the area but it had the bonus of a swimming pool for our 2 kids (who are 5 and 1).

I have to say this is the worst family holiday park we have stayed in by far. When arrived the clubhouse and surrounding buildings looked fairly run down. The staff told us where the pitch was and we went to hook up. My husband had to clear away dog mess as he was plugging in the electricity. The electricity supply kept tripping out and we were told that was normal as there is a sub station next door to the camp. We couldn't use our kettle for the whole 4 nights we were there!

The toilet block is new and clean with plenty of hot water. However the swimming pool was filthy. We went in the afternoon and the changing room floor was awash with filthy stagnant water and rubbish that hadn't been swept or cleared all day (and they close for an hour over lunchtime so goodness knows what the staff do with that time). The footbath was murky and swimming with filth. Our kids had fun in the swimming pool and there is a toddler area. However when it came to get out, the showers were a poor trickle of cold water. We were told by the lifeguard to use the showers in the toilet block. This required walking across in our towels and costumes with all our bags and freezing cold baby in the cold and rain - not a pleasant experience at all.

There is a kids club during the day and night time entertainment which our children really enjoyed - the usual games, dancing, singing, prizes etc and large stuffed characters. The guys in charge of the kids entertainment were fantastic and could not be faulted for their enthusiasm and rapport with the kids.

The prices in the bar are very expensive as is to be expected.

We had breakfast in the clubhouse one morning which was better than expected and kids eat free. The waiting staff were very good.

We used the outdoor playpark once as this had dog mess on it as well. As we walked around the site there was a lot of cigarette packets and general rubbish lying around, especially around the launderette in the alleyways - broken glass etc.

The launderette is very run down and the machines are £3 for a wash and £1 for the dryer.

We were very disappointed with our stay and told the staff about this. They asked us to write down our thoughts, which we did. However as of yet I still have not even had an acknowledgement.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dinky63 4 reviews from this member

Stayed last year and myself, wife and daughter plus her friend for a week. We all loved it. The location and park are exactly what we want. Good entertainment in the evenings, bar well stocked.

Staff were very helpful. Loved it so much back there on saturday for whitsun week.

Obviously in the UK so damp days happen but with the swimming pool indoors still entertaining.

The disposal points are good and the toilet/shower bloke second to none.

So looking forward to our return.

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Electric spark 10 reviews from this member

We chose Tencreek as it was fairly local and we wanted to check the van was still working after the winter lay-up!

It was expensive (£19. 50/night for two adults and a dog in February), but it was a good base for walks.

We arrived on a Saturday and first impressions were that it was rundown.

We asked for a quiet spot with hard standing. We got our hard standing, but it was not very level – we have a pair of Milenco Quattro levels which did not begin to go high enough to level us despite being the highest levels you can get!

After ‘levelling’ we put the heating on and went to boil the kettle for a cuppa. The trip went. It seems that even for £19. 50 out of season, you only get a 10A supply.

That evening, at about six PM some loud music started which continued until four the next morning! The next day we complained and were told that it was a charity concert and would not happen again. The next two nights (Sunday and Monday) were quiet. However, we were woken at about 7:30 on Tuesday morning by builders lorries, diggers etc which continued to make lots of noise for several hours.

During our time at the site we tried to buy bread from the ‘well stocked’ site shop on several occasions but were out of luck so we walked to Looe and bought some.

You can only empty your chemical loo during daylight hours as there are no lights in the chemical disposal area!

The whole site was a disappointment, the only plus point being that our van worked ok and we are ready for the season. We will not visit Tencreek again.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jelly8 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at Tencreek for the fist time in the October half term. The booking process was really easy and the lady on the phone was lovely.

We had a hard standing pitch and it was flat and large.

The toilet block was excellent, it was always clean and dry even though it never stopped raining.

I have to say the staff on this site were always pleasant and everyone we spoke to was really helpful.

The FREE indoor swimming pool was brilliant for our 9 year old and he really enjoyed it. The only thing that let it down was the showers and a lot of people went to the shower block wrapped in towels from the swimming pool area rather than using the showers there.

The entertainment for the children in the evening was good and the entertainers really tried hard. It was a bit young for our son but he liked the arcade so there was something for him to do.

The food was good, we had the roast chicken and to say it was really bar food we thought it was lovely. We also had a family pizza deal one night to take away and that was really good value and as good a pizza as I've had anywhere.

The campsite is in a really good location for Looe and Polperro and the large car parks at both places makes it really easy to get around.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sue@home 10 reviews from this member

Just got home from an impulse weekend at this site. Given the last minute rush of warm weather, I telephoned the site Friday am and the very friendly, helpful lady informed me I could just turn up, if reception was closed we could register at the bar.

So straight after work we set off (we only live 30 minutes away but have never visited this site before). We arrived just after 6 and the bar manager booked us in and gave us our choice of pitch. This is one of the best sites we've been on in over 10 years of camping.

The toilet/shower blocks were the best we've ever come across, free, warm, clean, well stocked and best of all, the showers were always hot - 10/10 for that alone!

The outdoor pool was closed but the indoor looked clean and inviting - we didn't actually get around to using it.

The meal was a bit hit and miss from the grill but ok. The entertainment was fun but the serious stuff - ie: the main event didn't start until after 9, the earlier part being all for the children except for half an hour of bingo in the middle.

Fair play to the Maplins style Yellow Coats though, very entertaining. The only very slight niggle we had as smokers (although this applies to non-smokers too) the only space outside the club for smokers is right outside the entrance and you can't take your glass outside. People have to walk through the crowd outside smoking to get in.

Bar prices: some people have said here they are expensive but as a local to the area I have to say they are average for Cornwall at any time of the year.

There is a small play area for the children, a games room in the club and dogs are welcome on site with an area to walk them.

Our medium pitch with electric was flat, big enough for our 6 man tent and estate car with room to sit out.

The shop was well stocked - a bit pricey but no more than the average campsite shop.

All in all great VFM. This is a lovely, clean, spacious site with great views. The staff were without exception friendly, professional & helpful. Be warned Tencreek, we will be back!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NCLC 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 4 nights in Aug. On arrival it is a very calm site, reception were very nice. On arriving at our pitch the road is a little tight between your neighbours opposite so we had to take the caravan off and push it in, but the pitchers were quite wide. We were opposite the new toilet/shower block which was very nice and modern. The views around the site were lovely, the statics had the sea view but this was due to the slope I think. The club house was fine, with kids entertainment followed by adults, bar prices a little more than average but nothing unusual. The take away food counter was fine. During the morning there were allocated time slots for adults only swim and aqua aerobics, we didn't go though. There was kids entertainment during the mornings. There was not a lot of noise after dark. The nearest beach can be walked to but down a very steep slope named locally as cardic hill, we managed it but those with buggies etc would not be able to do it. Once down at the beach there is a cafe/bar. We walked into Looe through the lane and took approx 25 mins but no good for families as a little unsafe with no pavement. Overall not a bad site.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rushy 2 reviews from this member

I booked this site because we could only get the first week of our two week holiday at our preferred site in north Cornwall, so we decided on a change of scenery in the south of the county.

We arrived very early in the morning (8am) and weren't supposed to be on our pitch until 11am but the staff were more than helpful and let us set our touring caravan & awning up straight away on an available pitch. I'd booked the medium size pitch and I was impressed with the ample space afforded, easily the most generous size pitches I'd been on for a long time (especially in Cornwall) and there was plenty of room for the 'van/awning and seating with room at the front of the pitch for the car.

The toilet block was modern, large and well lit with free showers, no annoying 20p coins to find as is the case in some sites. I visited these facilities at various times of the day/night and they were invariably clean and well stocked with the necessary requirements : toilet rolls/soap etc

The clubhouse/bar was also large and modern though the cabaret was more aimed at keeping the youngsters entertained. The bingo seemed popular and with a £500 prize it wasn't surprising. The food was a bit hit & miss, we ordered a burger meal to eat in and it was disappointing to say the least. The portions seem larger if bought as a takeaway. The bar prices were a wee bit pricey, £3. 20 for a pint of Tribute local bitter.

Overall, the site was well run and easy going, with children well catered for. It was within easy reach of Looe, either by car or by foot. The facilities were excellent and the staff friendly and helpful.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brommo 12 reviews from this member

Went touring Cornwall on my motorbike with a two man tent & stopped at Looe.

This is the closest site to Looe so thought it would be ideal.

Its expensive - £21 a night for just me !

Having said that its is a very `corporate` site. Think of it as a Butlins or a Pontins and you get the gist. It would be superb to bring my daughter to.

Didn`t use the pool although it looked good. Popped into the large cabaret room and bar which was huge and they even had staff wearing yellow coats and people dressed up as animals ! Very much aimed at the kids market. Beer prices were expensive although they had a good selection.

The shop was fairly well stocked but was (you`ve guessed it!) very expensive.

The toilets and shower block was superb. Loads of room and the cubicles were plenty. Very very nice.

Within easy reach of Looe and good views although its exposed so can get very windy. A taxi costs less than a fiver to Looe which was good as this is really a family site and if you haven`t got kids with you its a bit manic !

In summary a very nice site but expensive, but there again if you have your kids in tow it would probably be reasonable value for money

Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Looe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3009 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019