Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tencreek Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Looe > Tencreek Holiday Park Reviews

Tencreek Holiday Park
Polperro Road
Looe
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL13 2JR
Tel: 01503 262447
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 249
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 89 Reviews
                7/10 from 89 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  89 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Elton3 15 reviews from this member

 Lots of facilities, including clubhouse and bar. It is basically a butlins for campers.

Not quite to my taste and the park has seen better days.

25 minutes walk to Looe so not too bad but it is very steep hill on the way back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davidwk 3 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay here, but I think reading the mixed reviews that we were lucky, probably because it was nearing the end of season and the site was not very busy for part of our time.

We arrived on a Thursday and the site was busy but not crowded. By Sunday most people seem to have left and there were huge non-occupied areas. So much the better!

The location of the site for good walks along the SW coast path to both Looe and Polperro is excellent.

The EHU tent pitch we were allocated was ideal for us - towards the edge of the site, but still handy for the toilet block.

The toilet block itself was good for a UK campsite, and was regularly cleaned - the only problem was some campers who left their empty shampoo bottles and strewed paper about.

There were plenty of good showers and toilets for the early-September occupancy, but I would not want to be here during the high summer as there were only 2 washing up cubicles in each block, and queueing to use them was a bit of a problemn even then.

We visited the clubhouse, or whatever it is designated, twice, once before the weekend, and once afterwadts and it was like chalk and cheese.

Before the families with children had left it was crowded, noisy and not that pleasant. After the weekend clear out it was much nicer, as 'out of season' places tend to be. The staff there that we interacted with were lovely.

Incidentally this site is now part of the ACSI (look it up if you don't know ACSI) and so our EHU tent week was at a rate almost £100 less than that given on the website for that time of year! More money left over for the excellent sea food avaiable in Looe and Polperro!

There is no way to book a pitch online at ACSI rates, but a phone call to book and mention ACSI was dealt with very efficiently by a very pleasant person. My rating for value for money was based on the good ACSI price: had I to pay the full fee it would have been 4 out of 10.

Overall, then, we had a very good week which was most enjoyable with some very nice temporary near-neighbours and some good walking.

I can't comment on child friendliness, but could not leave a review without selecting something, so have chosen 5. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Cherylcleverley 1 review from this member

 Fantastic Sea Views. Lovely coastal walks.

Located near to Looe and Polperro. Both worth a visit.

Bar, restaurant and swimming pool.

Canít wait to go back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kell_25 1 review from this member

 Was really happy with this site, and would definitely return.

The kids loved the outside entertainment that they put on the green and adults enjoyed the quizzes they put on in the bar, with great Covid measures in place. The app was really easy to use, to order drinks and food you could even order food to your tent. Their was a booking system to go swimming which we really liked and think itís something they should keep doing, when everything is back to normal.

Shower and toilet block was a good size never had to wait. Was always clean. I did notice the doors would slam shut so was glad I wasnít right by the block, I think this would get on your nerves in the morning and of night when the site was quite.

Thereís a shop on site with all your basics but there is a little coop in Looe and a big Morrisonís about 15 min drive.

We had very mixed weather a day of non stop rain to lovely sunny beach days, so went to Newquay zoo one of the days only took 50 minute drive. ( if you donít mind driving on holiday) and went on some lovely walks from the camp site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sharon 1 review from this member

 The site was great and mostly friendly staff. You could tell they had gone out of their way to make it special during these difficult times.

Especially enjoyed the outdoor entertainment as it helped keep the cost down for young family having a couple of drinks of your own.

Swimming pool was great and shower block always clean and so large didnít have trouble getting into showers or toilets.

Only issues was bins overflowing and we had a family at the back of our tent who were making noise and causing trouble smashing glasses etc and when some other people complained the staff told the owners who had complained and wouldnít do anything about it.

Other thing was trouble getting into the camp was difficult country lanes. But expected in Cornwall and local supermarket was quite far away 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Hannah 1 review from this member

 The site in general is really lovely, clean and tidy.

The only faults found was that the road system around the park could do with being one way and there could be a closer toilet/shower block for the campers in the meadow.

During the covid pandemic, we found the site to be fully compliant with the government guidelines.

We will be back for a longer stay next time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Debra6 2 reviews from this member

 Caravan was fabulous, so well equipped and spotlessly clean. Mattresses were new and offered a comfortable nightís sleep.

Well equipped kitchen and comfortable seating area.

The site is quiet and great for couples or families. Club house on site and pool (didnít use) were available.

Short walk through rear field down to Talland beach.

All in all, excellent:) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Debra6 2 reviews from this member

 Caravan was fabulous, so well equipped and spotlessly clean. Mattresses were new and offered a comfortable nightís sleep. Well equipped kitchen and comfortable seating area.

The site is quiet and great for couples or families. Club house on site and pool (didnít use) were available.

Short walk through rear field down to Talland beach. All in all, excellent:) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Coffeegirl_forever 14 reviews from this member

 As this was the first time camping here I had no idea what to expect. We usually stick to sites that don't have set pitches and are a bit more basic.

There were many positives as well as negatives to Tencreek.

Pitches are tiny so we asked to go in the meadow, not realising that is was so sloped that most of the field was uncampable and that dog owners let their dogs roam free pooing in the meadow. Even after mentioning this at reception it still kept happening.

I was surprised after what happened there previously. Some dog owners also seemed to think having a dog was an excuse to walk near to people's tents and stare at the occupants or let dogs run up to strangers. Not being a dog lover myself I found it quite annoying.

Other rules were blatantly ignored such as not having fires and under 18s on the two gambling machines that had a sign on saying no under 18s, but it's not surprising as I did not see any patrols like on other campsites.

The wash facilities were kept clean apart from when people did not flush the toilets properly but to be fair there were no signs explaining that a proper flush meant holding the button in. The showers were annoyingly inconsistent as they had push buttons but not all were regularly timed. Plus the angle of water was not helpful. On the positive side, the temperature was always adjustable to my liking and there were big family cubicles for those with children. Every hour of the day there were people cleaning and caring for the facilities.

The toilets in the restaurant area had a broken lock all week and one toilet seat was off one day.

During the day the pool is open at various times but was overcrowded, saying that though most users were aware of others and moved out of the way. Not sure the staff were following any rules, for example there was a child who kept screeching like a whistle of a lifeguard and the staff did nothing, another child was splashing people and again they did nothing. In the morning there were adult only sessions for swimming lengths which was quieter. The nearest beach was covered in thick seaweed so not very good for swimming.

Food was okay, once I'd had my meal changed for one that wasn't burned (on a day when it was almost empty) and on several other days it was fine. As expected the bar prices are higher than some of the pubs in the area. In the shop there were a lot of bits and pieces such as cereal, milk, camping accessories and so on. There was always a wait for pizza but mostly the staff told people who were ordering how long it would be.

Almost all of the staff were pleasant to interact with although those driving the vehicles didn't seem to slow down near pedestrians especially at night. I feel that a lot of them were overworked as it was the same staff on the bar, doing the evening entertainment, looking after the children and so on at one point I felt like volunteering because the bar got incredibly busy.

Its location is great if you are fit and able-bodied as the walk to Looe or the beach is very long and steep which is not mentioned in the brochure (I'm not fit and struggled with both walks). Neither is a good description of where the paths begin, we ended up in a back field that was literally a rubbish dump. Some of the brochure is interesting such as giving details about local places but I would have preferred a digital version option to help with not printing too much. It definitely needs editing.

Recycling is mentioned but we could not find any recycling bins other than a small one by reception.

There was a small multi-use sports pitch that was used by many children throughout the time we were there. Kids club activities seemed to be enjoyed by some children and the staff were great with those that joined in.

Evening entertainment was what you would expect from a camp site of this sort. Bingo was popular. Daytime entertainment varied but there was a film on every afternoon. The games room had lots of machines that gave tickets although the number of tickets required for most of the prizes was excessive compared to arcades. Whenever there was a problem with the machines such as running out of tickets, the staff were very helpful.

The view from the meadow is stunning as is the view from several parts of the site so sitting outside is lovely.

Overall I think it's a family orientated site that has got a lot of potential. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ruadhtagg 1 review from this member

 Washing facilities and pool great for family visits. Plenty of machines and driers. Set pitches on terraces a little small and crowded so we opted for the field which meant a walk up to site but much more peaceful.

Icepacks freezing facility in shop was handy but some went missing however were replaced so not concerned. Didnt use clubhouse or play areas really. Wifi a little pricey and not great at the bottom of the field where we hid but overall a pleasant stay.

Talland bay nearby is the most magical little snorkelling cove complete with ships boiler on the rocks and was even nice on a rainy day at low tide for rockpooling. Cheap kayak rental there and a cave in the rocks to be seen if you paddle out.

Well situated for portwrinkle whick offers good rockpooling, and whitsand bay which is a nice sandy beach. Will be back to the area this year but trying a smaller conservation site this time. 
via mobile


Previous     89 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tencreek Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Tencreek Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tencreek Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tencreek Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Looe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camp & Glamp Show, Hertfordshire 08/10 to 16/10
Join the Camp 'n' Glamp 2022 Tent Preview ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3463 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement