Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby > Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping Reviews

Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping
Lydstep Beach
Tenby
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA70 7RY
Tel: 01834 871569
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 250
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 105 Reviews
                6/10 from 105 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  105 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Docndebz 1 review from this member

 Very quiet site, only about 1/4 full this weekend. Disappointed that only 1 ladies shower in use in 2 blocks, (one block was locked despite a notice on the out of use shower saying use that second block) This seemed to be due to site not wanting to clean more showers than needed. Having stayed in several very busy sites during the summer and never having waited for a shower, was rather upset at this, as this was really the only facility we used for the 31 per night. But it does seem to be expensive in this area - paid far less for far more in the Dordogne. Owners seemed friendly enough, but would look for somewhere cheaper next time, if possible, when it's just for a base and shower. Nice pub up the road, Lydstep Tavern. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PeachesMcLean 2 reviews from this member

 This is a large site with two big fields for tents. Bank holiday weekend, so I suppose we had to expect it to be busy. Not quite full though, and a reasonable space between the tents pitched around the edge of the fields. For some reason, the tents lined up in the centre seemed much more squashed together.

Quite a slope, as others have said. We managed to get a spot out by the hedge (slightly more sheltered in the wind).

Fairly noisy campsite, but again, that might be because it was the bank holiday weekend. There were two large groups in our field. Both loud until after 11pm but asked to quieten down by security.

Security come round quite regularly to check that all is well. Fires in firepits aren't allowed. Someone had left their dog alone in the tent whilst they went out, and having listened to the dog bark and whine for well over an hour, I mentioned it to the staff who quickly phoned the owners to come back, so they do sort problems quickly.

Showers and hot water for washing up both struggle at peak times, little more than a dribble of luke warm water. Showers and washing up areas as clean as you'd expect in busy periods (ie, not very, but that's often down to other people not clearing up after themselves).

Can't comment on the bar, didn't go in, but full of people happily listening to karaoke and enjoying themselves. Games room looked like an amusement arcade.

There's a bus into Tenby from just outside the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JerimiahC 1 review from this member

 The perfect place to stay for a family holiday!

Highly recommend! 10/10!

I stayed here for two weeks in the summer with my wife and 2 children.

I chose to stay at Whitewell because the location of this park is delightful, a quiet scenic spot near Tenby town with a bus that stops at the front gate. The beach is walking distance and from there you can access Pembrokeshire Coastal path. One day we walked all the way from the Park to Tenby town via the Costal path, which was absolutely beautiful. The area of Tenby itself I would highly recommend to all- there is plenty of things to do in the town. The nightlife is also very good.

The children loved this park. There is a play area and games room, which they enjoyed. They also had plenty of company as the majority of our fellow campers were also families with children. As a parent I felt the park was a happy safe environment for children. For this reason we are very keen to stay here again

The tent pitch was good. A spacious plot and agreeable neighbours. Showers and toilets, Washing up area all modern clean and tidy. There was also an on site launderette but never used it so can't comment. Overall facilities were good and made our stay very comfortable.

Shop was small but handy for daily groceries and camping spares.

The Bar was great. A very warm atmosphere and family friendly entertainment. Reasonable priced food and drink.

The site is also family run, and so customer service was excellent. Overall, warm and welcoming with a relaxed family feel. Highly recommend to all! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Martin3520 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over Whit with the wife and two kids aged 8 and 5 and the dog. Location very good only a few miles from Tenby. Access to the site was very good and you can walk to the beach (pebble and no dogs) through the haven site opposite. The staff were helpful and friendly. The reception has a shop which looked a bit understocked. Pitches are fairly level with hardstanding for the awning which I struggled with bending several pegs. The electric tripped a few times but no problem as the switch is on the box. My wifes high standards were met by 2 shower blocks that were clean and spacious with free hot showers and an excellent pot washing facility. There is laundry facilities on site as well as a club (did not use) and small park suitable only for toddlers and also an arcade type games room. Overall a good site, bit pricey but location very good there is a few local small shops nearby a sainsburys in Tenby and Tesco in Pembroke. I would recommend Freshwater east dog friendly beach and Stackpole. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil L 1 review from this member

 Stayed here in the summer for 10 nights. We enjoyed it very much. The site is clean and well organised. Some of the staff are youngsters, as other reviewers have said, but so what? I got the impression it's run by one extended family, but could be wrong. Regardless, they were all very helpful.

Good points.

Toilets and showers, and pot washing facilities are all good, clean and well designed.

Camping field is huge with lots of space for kids to run around.

Nice and quiet in the evenings.

Bar is good enough.

Bad bits.

Camping field is a little slopey in places.

Electric hookups are quite spread out so our 10m cable didn't reach. That said, we were in a corner so the configuration may have been unique to that plot. And the site gave us a longer cable at no charge for the duration, so I can't complain.

Improvements.

The play area is rather limited and could do with being expanded.

The location is good, but don't be fooled by the proximity to the coast as there didn't seem to be beach access within walking distance. Close to everything, and on a bus route going into Tenby.

It was the first place I've camped for 15 years so I have no frame of reference, but I'd be happy to go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vicbodger 1 review from this member

 Just returned following a 4 night break in this lovely park.

It is family run and they were very welcoming and helpful.

There is a large field for camping with ample electric hookups, next field has tourers, and a large area for static caravans. The residents in the statics were very friendly too.

The grounds are well maintained.

There is a very nice club house, which also does takeaway food, a games room and a park.

There are football posts in the camping pitch, which were a big hit.

The toilets and shower blocks are very clean and lovely warm (free) showers.

The bus to tenby stops right at the park entrance and runs regularly.

Also it is a 10 minute walk to Lydstep Beach, which is lovely.

Overall, a lovely site for families, I highly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tykeflo 1 review from this member

 Just returned from Whitewell, staff were very helpful when we arrived, and even reverse parked my caravan for me (1st time I've had to reverse onto a pitch). The site has a club house which apparently is only open on weekends!, games room was only open for part of the day (kids spend most of their money here), this would probably explain why the campsite was virtually empty during the week (and it was school holiday time). Facilities were clean, site was also kept clean, grass cut regularly etc.

Big down side:

Staff seemed laid back, and always didn't come across as helpful

Not very knowledgeable about the local area, or events. As the Wales Marathon was on we asked about which roads where closed, and they didn't have a clue.

Clubhouse was only open at weekends, a lot of people use sites for the clubhouse, and this probably affects business during the week days.

Never seemed to be enough staff to look after the site, or be available to ask questions of.

A site plan wouldn't go amiss, as we had to find things for ourselves (water, showers, toilets etc)

Finding the second set of showers was a bit difficult, as the ones near us were closed. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GazJ 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent a few days camping at Whitewell.

I was very happy with showers and toilets very very clean and well looked after. Sinks for washing the dishes with a draining board.

I found are field very uneven and bumpy would have been better if nice and flat.

Shop was a little under stocked and is very expensive.

Did not use the clubhouse, but when walking passed it was filled to the brim with happy people, so must be good.

Kids parks is very small.

Only seen the staff on the day of of booking in.

Over all would I come back ? Yes ! It would not be my first choice as a bit far from the town Centre but I would be happy to use the site again.  


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Raxter 2 reviews from this member

 We chose this site to be close to friends staying on the Lydstep Haven static site and it was literally 5 minutes walk up the road, so perfect location, although the picture on the website is deceptive as you have to walk through the Haven site to get to the beach, you can't access it over the field in the picture. On arrival the owners were friendly, but that's all we saw of them. When we stayed we had terrible weather, we booked for 3 nights, but had to pack up and leave after just one night due to gales and the tent being damaged (as was the case with all the other campers with tents). The tent field is literally just a field with no paths or roadway and it hadn't been mowed, so was quite overgrown when we visited. I'm sure this is not a problem in warm, dry weather, but in the rain, it became very water logged and you got soaked and muddy when you needed to go to the loo.

The toilet block was on the next caravan field, which is quite a walk from the tent field (especially in the wind and rain), but they were clean, the showers were hot and fantastic water pressure! However, despite staying in the school holidays and paying peak prices, the site was very quiet and the bar and games room were closed. My 12 and 15 year old sons were too old for the play area and with the games room and bar closed and the weather being too bad to be out, they were bored. We did spend some time on the Haven site though in their bar for shelter. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PRES 4 reviews from this member

 We used a caravan with electrics which was 25 per night. Most pitches were a very generous plot.

Unfortunately, we didn't feel very welcomed and there were lots of signs stating 'don't do this or that or you will be dealt with by the management'.

There were only a couple of taps for filling up water containers and the toilets/showers weren't very clean. There was mop for cleaning up the shower after use but the water was dirty.

The shop wasn't well stocked and on photos, literature etc the beach looks like it is accessed across a field opposite the site. This wasn't the case though and you have to walk through another site to get there.

The site is well placed for Tenby and there are some beautiful beaches within a short drive. 


Previous     105 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tenby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3238 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement