Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby > Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping Reviews

Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping
Lydstep Beach
Tenby
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA70 7RY
Tel: 01834 871569
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 250
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 105 Reviews
                6/10 from 105 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  105 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gypsieclan 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for a week in May with a group and decided to return for a cheeky six night break.

The owners have improved the site loads since May, groundworks and additional showers, with further stuff planned. Weather was mixed and the bottom field was very boggy, we were in the top field and had no problems as the drainage there is fab. Tenby is a 10 min drive away absolutely beautiful beaches, harbour and a trip to Caldey island is a must, its lovely. Manorbier beach 5 mins drive in opposite direction has a lovely castle, church to visit and a tea shop that does the most amazing butties and brews.

Directly across the field opposite the site is Lydstep Beach, you have to follow the path down which can be quite tricky in places but worth it as it's fantastic for crabbing in the evening rock pools, if you can beat the seagulls to it. Site has small shop, arcade, small children's play area, and bar, toilets and showers are clean and free! Great site for base to discover surrounding areas. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Pazjoch 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 week stay at WhiteWell. The campsite was expensive for the facilities provided. The electrical hook-up was a measly 6amps and this was only discovered when your electric tripped and had to go to the hook up unit to resolve. The pitches were not level and very boggy.

The toilets were closed the majority of the time as are having a make-over - previous reviews state new showers being built - this is in fact the removal of 2 toilet cubicles and being replaced with showers. This should have been done either out of or at the start of the season nut during high season. The existing showers although hot and free need to be pushed every 10 seconds and have not seen any cleaning solution/bleach for a long time judging by the green algae build up. The photograph of the site does not match what we saw. Tried to take a shower one evening but the only light in the ladies was faulty and had to shower in the dark. We reported this some 20 minutes later to be told it had been fixed but not the case. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cara-Fan 7 reviews from this member

 On arrival, two things struck us, firstly, there was no sea view as it appears on their website as the photo is taken from an angle looking down on the site. The second thing was that the hard standing pitches were not level, making it quite difficult to level the van.

Next we went on the usual treck to check out the loo's and showers. The toilet block on the touring field was dirty and was not cleaned the whole time we were there (1 week) and looked as though they hadn't been cleaned for some time previously. The urinals had scum all around the rims and the floor had brown patches beneath them. There were no showers in the touring block as they were putting two shower cubicals in. I had one shower in the static field block, and that was enough for me, from then on I showered in the caravan. The cubical I went in was full of pubic hair - again not cleaned properly. The showers were very powerful, and the push button type. In the womens block all the toilet seats were loose.

The chemical disposal point currently consists of an old gents toilet block with two 'bog standard' (excuse the pun!) toilets in them and a tap - if you have a heavy toilet to empty, you might find it difficult to lift over the pan.

There was a play park in the static field.

A shop, which to be honest didn't have much stock in it, a games room and club which we didn't visit. There was also a launderette.

There are also two deep outside sinks for washing-up in the touring field next to the toilet block.

No electric heaters are allowed as they trip the electric hook up's. The hook-ups are 6 amp.

However, we stayed the week before peak season, so the site was very quiet and the neighbours very friendly There are lots of nice beaches to visit in Tenby, Barafundle is also another nice beach (a short drive and about a half mile walk from the National Trust car park). Cauldey Island is also a must see especially on a nice sunny day (leave a whole day for this and stay on the beach after visiting the village) - boats every 20 minutes from Tenby Harbour.

We had a very nice meal at 'The Lydstep Tavern' just a short distance down the road in the village.

The owners have been at this site for about a year and they say they are improving the site. It really needs it as it could be a really nice site one day. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rtargett 1 review from this member

 Stayed at whitewell for 9 nights in may, nice little site, could do with more showers but understand more are to be built soon.

Small bar there, open in the evenings, average prices. 15 min from lydstep beach, 10 min drive to tenby. Enjoyed our stay and would probably go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Guesty64 2 reviews from this member

 Our family of 6 have just returned from a week at Whitewell.

We was looking forward to it after reading the good reviews! I wont rely on reviews again. Whitewell is a massive camp site and the facilities are not up to standard. 1st of all, the cleaners used the same mop to clean out the ladies and gents without cleaning the mop in between! In the ladies main block there are only 3 toilets and 3 showers to service the whole camp site! Nowhere near enough. We all had to queue for a long time to use a shower. Further up into the other camp field there are no showers but 6 ladies toilets so it was a walk to use a shower.

The washing up facilities were just as bad, only 4 sinks and no hot water if you went later in the day.

Launderette. 1 machine, 1 dryer! a massive qeueu for that as well. One lady waited from 11am till 4. 30pm to get to wash her clothes. We were told by other women that most people go across the road to use Lydsteps Camp Site Launderette. People who have caravans on the camp site have mentioned to the owners about putting in extra and more up to date machines but the owners have threatened to put the park rates up if they install more! The washine machine was faulty and despite me reporting it, nothing was done. Not even a refund for the money that we lost twice!

Then there is the site shop! EMPTY SHOP SHOULD I SAY! Dont turn up to this site without your main provisions because you wont get anything from their shop.

The owners drove around well above the sites 10 mile per hour speed limit, at one stage a small child had a small stone flick up at her from the tyres.

Finally. Owners! Do you have to go around the site cutting grass during the afternoon with the grass collector up??? We had to go around our tent clearing off all the grass. Apart from us, you had a lot of unhappy campers during our stay.

We are not normally moaners. But I think in this instant, future campers need to know what to expect.

The actual owners are as miserable as anything, would be nice to be greeted with a good morning or a smile etc!

Apart from the above. The location was very nice. There is a short walk across the field in front of the site, that takes you down a steep hill to Lydstep beach (Not suitable for pushchairs). If you don't like pebbles and stones on your beach, don't waste your time trekking down to it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keren_franks 3 reviews from this member

 Whilst the tent pitch field was very ‘rough & ready’, the shower/toilet facilities were clean, but you have to keep pushing a button every few seconds to continue the shower water flow – annoying!

The on site pub was very popular and friendly with karaoke evenings for entertainment. No ice pack freezing facility offered. The beach, which is a ten-minute walk away, over the main road, was nothing to rave about.

Located a short car’s drive from Tenby and Saundersfoot. St David’s bay is only an hour away and definitely worth a day trip. Visit the Mulberry restaurant in Saundersfoot for a wonderful meal in a quaint atmosphere. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carmey33 9 reviews from this member

 Having tried a handful of sites this year already I can't say that I'm overly impressed with this site!

I would rate the campsite as being just ok, there are no new showers as of yet but they have put in new roads around the caravans. The pitches were pretty boggy, we laid a beach mat near the road leading up to our caravan to avoid the muck. The showers are very powerful although you do have to keep pressing the button in. There are chairs and hooks for clothes.

The washing up area could do with a good clean. Fellow campers didn't bother wiping up mess after themselves and there was moss around the tops of the sinks

We went into the clubhouse one night but didn't stick around for the entertainment as it was getting on for 10pm and no sign of Elvis yet lol.

Tenby itself is lovely has some gorgeous beaches and is definitely worth another visit although sorry to say I won't be staying at this site. It needs tidying up and they need to be a bit more careful who they let stay here! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JMR38 2 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed our stay again at Whitewell. We stayed in the dog field, but it is so big and sunny that you do not intrude in other peoples space or other dogs. The Pembrokeshire Coastal Path is just across the road and the walk into Tenby or Manorbier with the fantastic views of Caldy Island is great. There is a bus at the entrance of the site to go either into Tenby { 7 minutes] Pembroke and Haverfordwest.

There are very few sites in Tenby that are so close to the beach. The shop is small but does have essentials and they will order a newspaper for you. The club is great fun. There are only 3 showers for the ladies but the new owners say they are doubling this by next year. Looking forward to Easter here next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jodier22 1 review from this member

 Went on the Aug Bank Holiday weekend, owner was very helpful as Tenby was soooo busy, this site had great drainage so was one of the few campsites still open! The new owners did not expect so many people and handled the rush very well. Improvements are currently underway on the shower block. Location is beautiful and prices were very reasonable, would use again **** 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunnyhurst 5 reviews from this member

 Well done to the owners for coping with the terrible weather, it was awful over the bank holiday! but apart from a bit of mud the campsite ran smoothly. We were lucky to get a pitch on the static site, this meant at least we could keep the kids from trampling mud into the van. The site is located perfectly for so many attractions in the area.
A 5 minute walk with the kids and you are on Lydstep beach, lovely place. All facilities were acceptable but are to be revamped in the closed season.

We look forward to returning next year to see improvements including the woodland walk. 


Previous     105 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tenby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4262 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement