Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby > Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping Reviews

Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping
Lydstep Beach
Tenby
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA70 7RY
Tel: 01834 871569
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 250
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 105 Reviews
                6/10 from 105 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  105 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LEGS1980 2 reviews from this member

 Took me, my partner and 7yr old son camping for the first time here. Also my sister her husband and two children 12 and 15 came for the first time. We knew we love Tenby and Saundersfoot so we thought we go here (5 Min drive to Tenby and 15 to Saundersfoot)

The camp-site has 2 fields for tents, one with electric hook up and one without, we stayed in the one with no electric due to the fact we booked really late and had no choice. (20 pnpp)

The showers were always hot and kept clean but not immaculate, but we went when the weather was not that good. The club house was yards from camping fields but couldn't here any noise from the club or road which runs next to the camping fields. They also have a laundrette too and little shop if you forget essential camping gear.

The club house has bingo, artist, amusements, little outdoor park for kids which if developed be better for the kids. The bar offers snacks as in hot-dogs, pizza, chips etc. And the beer not badly priced considering the area.

Lydstep beach/Haven 10 Min walk up the road, we went there for something to eat.

So for my families first experience of camping what did they make of it? Defo want to go again and would stay in the same place. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hos4v6 3 reviews from this member

 The site may be popular for campers but as far as non seasonal caravans are concerned the reverse was true. We were placed on a pitch that was so steep that we had to put blocks under the jockey wheel and the legs.

The water and waste points were up a hill.

The shower block had two showers and the shower stayed on for six seconds! There was no curtain between the shower and our clothes which consequently were very wet.

The shop didn't have much in it. The bar meals were not nice.

The staff were very unhelpful and when asked if we could leave a few hours later on the day of our departure told us that we would have to pay an extra 10.00 for 4hrs.

The seasonal pitches behind us had some kind of a party which went on into the night with loud singing. With a six year old this was not conducive to sleep. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lowndes 3 reviews from this member

 The campsite was easy to find. The local bus run from outside the camp gates into Tenby and other surrounding areas. The beach was 20 mins walk down the sloping cliff face.

Prices were about average for 2 weeks with electric.

The tent pitches were a good size but were exposed to the elements and so faced the winds.

The toilet / shower block was cleaned regularly but the females did have some problems with blockages and damaged seats. Showers were included in the price.

A small enclosed playground for the under 5s. We did not use the evening entertainment.

The shop was equipped with the necessary food and camping bits with limited opening times.

The staff were friendly and accommodating. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sandmmiller 1 review from this member

 We visited this site in August for a weeks holiday. We were unsure of Wales as know it can be very rainy! We had some rain but still had a fantastic weeks camping.

The site is easy to locate. There is a lot of space in the camping fields for the children to play and it felt safe to leave them running wild. Our boys are 9 and 12.

We had an electric pitch right at the front of the site near to the main road. Some reviews mentioned road noise so when we were allocated that pitch we were a little worried, but unnecessarily so. There was some noise but nothing to prevent us from having a good night's sleep.

The site has some very good facilities. A small shop for camping essentials should you forget something and it also sold fresh milk and bread daily. The bar area was also quite nice and served reasonably priced drinks and basic bar meals. It also had evening entertainment if that's your thing. The play area was nice for smaller children.

The shower and toilet facilities were absolutely fine and there was always hot running water at whatever time of day we decided to shower. Also we didn't really have any problems with queuing though it was a busy time of the year. They were cleaned often too. The dishwashing area was also helpful.

The site is located a short walk to Lydstep beach which is very pebbly and a beautiful spot with some sandy areas also. It was a steep climb down but well worth it.

The site is run by a lovely family who are extremely helpful. As it is a family run business all staff clearly take pride in the site and want the families staying to have a lovely holiday. We thought the site was really good value for money and wouldn't hesitate recommending this to friends and we will hopefully be visiting again.

The only negative I would personally say is dogs are allowed and though owners are supposed to clear up after their dogs we witnessed this not happening on one occasion.

Pembrokeshire is a beautiful part of the Country with many many lovely beaches - a visit to Barafundle Bay is a must, again a steep climb but amazing. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CamRomer 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site in our touring caravan, with electric hook-up for a few nights. At 23 per night we thought it was rather expensive.

The caravan pitches are very close together, which made siting our caravan very difficult. When we've stayed on other sites you are given a layout for where your car/caravan/awning should go, but on this site it's a free for all. We had the misfortune of having a large caravan with an awning next to us and the owners had two cars, one of which was parked across the front of our caravan, whenever they were on site! They also had 2 dogs which were well behaved, but there were quite a few dogs in surrounding caravans that constantly barked.

We asked if we could move to another pitch but we were told that there weren't any pitches available. The pitch we asked to move to remained vacant whilst we were there.

It would appear that the majority of people staying on the site weren't there just for holidays, but seasonal pitches.

The toilet block was adequate, with 5 toilets in the ladies, one door didn't have a lock that worked. One shower was very good, plenty of hot water that stayed on for a while and the door locked. The other shower the water stayed on for seconds so you had to hold the knob down whilst trying to wash, which was quite difficult especially as the shower door didn't lock! I had to place my clothes over the door to try to keep it closed. The toilet block was cleaned several times during the day and always had plenty of toilet paper and soap.

The shop on site was very basic and overpriced. The son was very polite and helpful.

To get to the beach you have to walk across a field and then down some steep steps, which may be unsuitable for anyone who is elderly or for small children. It took about 15 minutes to walk back up to the campsite.

The campsite is in a good location for exploring the local area 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leaky airbed 3 reviews from this member

 We booked this site last thing and was the only site not fully booked in Tenby for elec hook up.

We were shown to pitch and there was no problem pitching our two family tents together (both tents are 5m x 6m each) the ehu pitches were great, levelish and plenty of space (the non ehu were all on a steep slope)could not fault the drainage it bucketed it down for two days with not so much as puddle.

The rules say no heaters of any type which we and fellow campers ignored but the elec will trip when heater is on and you try to boil kettle.

The site was pleasant but basic, the shower blocks were clean with plenty of hot water although the wife moaned the womens was not great.

The children's play area is good for toddlers but older kids would soon be bored but there is a football field with goals. The clubhouse looked quite appealing with quiz night and bingo although we did not use.

The beach is across a busy unpathed country road and then accessed down a cliff edge path(not dangerous for adults but not child friendly)nice beach but all Tenby beaches are among best in UK.

Close to Tenby, 10/15min drive which is quaint also close to Oakwood theme park & Heatherton two great days out.

In all clean and pleasant and enjoyed stay although would try somewhere else next time as nothing special. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sean-dan1 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 10 day holiday with 3 other families from Whitewell. After reading mixed reviews we decided to give it ago and make up our own minds.

Upon arriving at the site things didn't get off to a great start ! When we booked I asked for 4 pitches together which was guaranteed verbally over the phone, so I booked the Pitches having to leave hefty deposit of 90 per pitch.

On arrival at reception we were greeted by what appeared to be Man, wife and son, who stated no pitches were guaranteed to be together. When we informed them the booking was done back in January the wife said we had to see what was available in the field. We then followed them upto the field and it was virtually empty.

Facilities, Shower blocks where good and always kept clean with plenty of hot water, (showers are free). The on site shop was less than adequate, anything more than bread, milk or pop and you were out of luck and was over priced 1. 20 for milk. That was if you could catch it open.

The Club house was only open from 7pm and had a limited menu for bar snacks, though we did try to get a meal whilst on site we couldn't as the owner had ironically gone out for a meal and not left cover for his customers.

This site has so much potential, it is in a fantastic location 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janeybobs 1 review from this member

 We arrived on a rainy day - as it was this was set in for the week, boo!

Even though we had booked two pitches at the same time - one for me and my hubby, one for our parents, they were separated by another pitch! When asked if we could pitch together we were told 'no it will mess up the computer system' although later in the week a party of 3 pitches turned up and he had split them up too and if he had let us move one over they could have all been together too. My dads electric hook up was too far away from their pitch and to get an extension cable they had to leave a 20 deposit. Owner's response: Please note we do state that we cannot guarantee pitches to be together.

The toilets for the tent field were not very nice, - the showers are hot (and free) but you need to keep a hold of the button all the time.

The site is close to the beach but only via a very steep path.

The bar looked very nice, if expensive, although the food left a lot to be desired - and nothing for vegetarians. The games room smelt quite damp too. The shop is OK, if slightly overpriced and the owners son is very helpful.

The site got very busy on the next week and the tent field is quite nice and even with the heavy rain never got waterlogged.

The actual area is stunning, absolutely beautiful, safe, clean beaches. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beckypratt 5 reviews from this member

 Quite a small site, toilets lovely and clean with pictures on the walls and plants to jazz it up a bit, never saw the shop open while we were here so they must miss loads of trade as we had to go elsewhere.

Pitches were quite close together and we were just told to go anywhere with no other information given to us about check out times etc. We were just left to get on with it.

The bar looked recently decorated, overall the site was fine but nothing special and overpriced at 30 a night for a tent 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LAB1965 1 review from this member

 I haven't been to the site camping for at least two years but just spent a weekend there and am seriously impressed with the improvements. As the site was quiet, I got to put the tent up in a spot with it's own parking space. The whole site was clean and green.

The Showers/toilet block was spotlessly clean and have been updated quite a bit with lovely warm free showers. I had a wonderfully relaxing 2 night break and am looking to go back to work tomorrow to book some time off to spend a week there and visit several beaches recommended by the 'statics'. I went on my own and felt very safe there.

I do not have young children but there is a games room and play area. Pub and shop

And I will be recommending it to several friends and family as the site to take their broods to. Excellent value for money 


Previous     105 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tenby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4281 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement