Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby > Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping Reviews

Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping
Lydstep Beach
Tenby
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA70 7RY
Tel: 01834 871569
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 250
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 105 Reviews
                6/10 from 105 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  105 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Witteys 3 reviews from this member

 There were three fields for tourers and tents, with a good 300 on site whilst we were there. 6 mens and 9 ladies showers to accommodate everyone on site. There was plenty of black spot mold on the walls and ceiling.

There is 1 machine and 1 dryer in the laundry and the so called shop doesn't even sell papers and is sold out of milk by tues.

The area itself is beautiful. However Lystep Beach is only accessible down a very steep cliff edge coastal path. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 656345 1 review from this member

 We stayed at the park for 1 week had the best time ever kids really enjoyed it had full freedom . The facilities are really clean eg. Toilets and showers they are renovating the toilet block and putting showers in them and they look really good from what work has been done to them I would recommend this park to anybody who wishes to go camping. And will definitely be going back 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vangoholic 4 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a great week at Whitewell but then 5 consecutive days sunshine generally makes for a great holiday wherever you are. Staff were both friendly and helpful, although we only actually saw them whenever we went into the shop.

As with previous reviews, site and facilities could do with a little attention but were reasonably clean and have certainly seen much worse. Only real issue to us was that hot water for washing dishes was hit and miss. We were told on arrival that the new showers would be working by Friday but still looked a few days away from completion when we left on Sunday, but we only had to queue for a shower once all week so no complaints.

We pitched in the 'dog free' field and as it was relatively quiet were able to pitch on a relatively flat area near the top, but both fields are certainly sloping.

Shop is open from 10.00am to 5.00pm and stocks basic items, we were told by other campers that the shop in the Lydstep Beach holiday park opposite opens earlier and contains more items, which is only a short walk away. There's a Sainsburys in Tenby but we'd highly recommend the Village Shop in Jamestown, which is only a few minutes away by car. The staff were very helpful and the range of products on offer for a village shop was excellent and at similar prices to Sainsburys.

We did not use the on-site club as we have 3 young children but it certainly appeared to be very popular each night, with live entertainment on the Saturday evening.

Location of the park is ideal for exploring the area, we went to Tenby South, Manorbier, Freshwater East and Freshwater West beaches, all of which were great. Freshwater West is especially good for bodyboarding. Lydstep beach is OK, best accessed by walking through the holiday park opposite rather than the coastal path which is through high ferns and nettles but it's a pebbly beach and was covered with thousands of crab shells.

Would stay again due to it's location if we were holidaying in Tenby. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Krispayne 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for the last week in July and the first week in August. When we arrived we got told to pitch up our tent wherever we liked. As we had a dog we chose the dog field. We pitched next to the forest away from the road noise. Even though we had bad weather our first week the ground wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be. They cut the grass twice when we were there but they did not cut the grass in our field and the grass was extremely long. The facilities were ok.

I've been to loads of campsites and this campsite had the best shower facilities even though they were limited..

Lydestep beach is only a ten minute walk. You can either go down the cliff path or through the caravan park to reach it. If you have young kids I would probably go through the caravan park as the cliff path can be very slippy at times. The beach was ok but much better beaches in surrounding areas.
Manorbier beach is really good and the castle is good for a visit. Also Pembroke castle is fantastic and I would definitely recommend it. Tenby is a gorgeous town but you can't go on the beaches with dogs which is a downside. The beaches are absolutely fantastic however.

The pub and games room were also good. If you want to get a good seat in the pub get there early. The only problem is that when they say they are going to start something it always starts later than they say.

The shop on site very limited stock and opens late in the morning and shuts early afternoon. It's a guess when it opens and shuts as they have a time schedule but don't go by it.

They had an 11.30 curfew for silence but was not followed and the pub ran later than they said so it was quite noisy some nights. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: K.j.spencer 4 reviews from this member

 Visited here for our first taste of Tenby. Really felt sorry for the owners( Danny and Beverley) as, yes admittedly the site does need some work doing, but they are trying their best and it is getting done. We saw vast improvements during our 2 week stay.
We were pitched in the lower field, which was nice and peaceful for our old blind dog, but it was a bit boggy.

I agree with previous comments that dishwashing area could do with some cover from the elements, as not nice in the rain. The site shop didn't really stock a lot and could maybe do with stocking papers / magazines and ice creams, however we did purchase some beautiful pictures of the surrounding area that they have for sale. When both toilet blocks are refurbished they will be excellent.
Had takeaway a couple of times on site, lovely freshly cooked food and reasonable prices.

We found Danny and Beverley to be extremely friendly and helpful. We definitely feel that they deserve another chance next year as cant wait to see the improvements, so we will be booking again and would highly recommend this site

The surrounding area is beautiful and Tenby is lovely. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Penny92 12 reviews from this member

 We arrived to a friendly welcome at reception, and shown to our pitch, unfortunately we were put with the seasonals, and all of them must have stayed at home this week, so we had no neighbours to speak to.

The toilet block on the touring field left a lot to be desired, no showers as yet, and the whole block needed modernising although there was work in progress.Luckily we have our own shower, but the heater kept tripping till we found out the electric was only 6amp, so had to use gas.

The on site bar was friendly, and the shop sold most things, but everywhere looked like it needed some tlc. A shame really because its position is fantastic with a 10 min walk to the beach. If you have a dog walk through the Lydstep holiday village to the beach as they are only allowed on the far side. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mogsiemoo 4 reviews from this member

 Met with a fairly unfriendly reception and wrong information about bus times. A fairly large site with free choice of where to pitch. We were very unfortunate with the weather - heavy rain and wind for most of our 4 night stay which made the long trek to the toilet and shower block seem twice as far. New toilet block slightly nearer but seemed to have cigar smoking workmen taking up permanent residence in the ladies loo. Disappointed that new showers weren't being built, as only 3 for the whole site. Free choice of pitching meant we had to close our tent as it was full of BBQ smoke from the neighbours who pitched so close our guylines crossed - not very polite or safe! Games room and bar was OK but our children were disappointed that most of the amusements were out of order. Waited with anticipation for the karaoke to start at7pm(it had been raining for 2 days!) but got fed up of waiting when it hadn't started by 9pm. Shame about the nutter that drove past the site beeping as a wake up call at 7 am every morning. Good location - short walk to Lydstep beach (not suitable for pushchairs). Lovely walk to Tenby along the cliff top and beach - about an hour and a half-Tenby absolutely beautiful. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizb2009 1 review from this member

 We stayed as a large family group in July, and the site was very flexible about where we pitched our tents. We used the field near the back of the site, which has brand new electrical hookups. The site was friendly and we felt welcome. The family dog was also welcome.

It's obvious that they're making improvements - they started to install the promised extra showers in the toilet blocks while we were there, and they were also improving the roads on site.

There is still some way to go though. For example, the washing up area has no cover from the elements, which would be nice considering it rains a lot in Wales! Also, there was nowhere to bath our children. (The showers were far too hot and powerful for them.) There was never a shortage of hot water in the showers, which are free, but it is frustrating that you have to press the button every 10 seconds.

The site does have a laundry room, but the washer in there is old and could do with being replaced. A fellow camper commented that it didn't rinse properly, and she ended up using the laundrette in Lydstep instead. The dryer on-site is quite effective though.

Lydstep beach is not that close, and we needed to go by car or bike as our young children weren't able to walk all the way there and back. It's also uphill all the way back, which is a fairly tough cycle/walk. The beach itself is good fun if you like rock pools and clambering around. It's also east facing, so escapes the worst of the prevailing winds.

Tenby is very close and worth a visit. It has a nice feel and is mainly free from tacky amusement arcades. There's also a fairly large Sainsbury's, so it's easy to get reasonably priced supplies. The local leisure centre also has a fairly basic pool. The main pool is pretty chilly, but the baby pool is quite nice. Good for a rainy day! There's also a very good indoor play centre for younger children, in the old town.

Manorbier beach is good, and west facing, so better for surfing, etc. The castle is also a great place to visit, although the stairs in the towers are very steep and narrow.

Caldey Island is also worth a visit, especially if you like chocolate - the monks on the island make that, and some fantastic fudge too. The boats across are open to the elements, so best to wait for a fine day, if possible. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nurse11 1 review from this member

 The site is in fantastic location. The beach in Lydstep is lovely, great for rock pooling. Tenby is short drive away with lovely sandy beaches, great for kids. We had wet weather for a lot of our weeks stay but found lots to do in the area. Would definitely recommend Folly farm for young children, very good value for money and lots of indoor areas for bad weather.

The campsite facilities could do with a good face lift. There are still only 3 showers for ladies, although work in progress for 2 more. 4 washing up sinks, but not under cover and water only luke warm. Tent field exposed which wasn't good in wet/windy weather. Also although campsite had no noise after 1130pm rule, this was not adhered to during our stay 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jules1972 8 reviews from this member

 It had been raining before we arrived and the field we stayed in was like a mud pit. Even after a few days of sunshine the field had got nowhere near drying the drainage was that poor. The mosquitoes were going crazy it was that damp, not to mention 'a bit stale' after a couple of days sunshine. It got that bad they were asking us to park near the buildings and not on the fields for fear the cars would get stuck.

The family running the site were very friendly and helpful with recommendations on where to go and what to do, I will admit that. However the camp shop was poorly stocked, it opened at very irregular hours. 10am opening. One time they opened at 10am and had no milk or any of the obvious stuff.

The bar area was quite nice but they had taken a booking for a wedding on the Saturday night so anyone staying at the site could not get near the bar or tables! And the karaoke entertainment was completely overrun by the wedding party!

The simple footpath walk to the beach actually involves walking through a completely different campsite! Lydstep site has the path to the beach.

The shower block on our field had not been completed so the entire site shared one block of 3 showers per sex. So queuing at the 'normal' times usually involved a 20 minute wait. I understand that the new facilities should have been operating ready for summer 2009, but were not.

Location wise it is a good site. Only 10 minutes to Tenby, or Carmarthan in the other direction. A quaint pub called Swan Lake not far away and a good shop close by (thankfully).

It is a big site so larger tents are accommodated no problem on the unpowered fields. However the powered field, where we were, felt very compacted with little room between pitches.

We will be returning to Tenby as its a lovely place to camp. The south beach in Tenby is fantastic. Lovely sand and activities like boys vs girls tug of war. A long piece of rope with a couple of hundred people on it - great fun! Tenby itself has a fantastic old worldy town by the sea feel rather than just a commercial machine set up in the summer for our money. There are boat trips, including one to an island populated by monks who make chocolate! A winner for everyone there! Camarthan castle is a wonderful day out, plus an unusual glass shop selling jewellery and allsorts - really good for presents that are a little unique! 


Previous     105 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tenby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4354 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement