Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby > Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping Reviews

Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping
Lydstep Beach
Tenby
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA70 7RY
Tel: 01834 871569
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 250
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 105 Reviews
                6/10 from 105 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  105 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Treacly 1 review from this member

 Nice big site; suitable for our large tent. New owners trying hard but still quite a way to go. Shop doesn't open until 10am, closes for lunch & then shuts at 5pm. The local shop benefited financially from our stay! Evening entertainment is focused on Bingo - every night which is too much. Teenagers well catered for with the Games Room.

The older shower block needed a really good clean, mouldy ceiling. (But they are trying with the new shower block). Outside dish washing area was not under cover - not good during a rainy August!

Ok for a short stay but not enough variety for us. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JMHO 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Whitewell about three years ago and were very pleased to see the improvements made. The site is so central for Tenby, Pembroke, Manorbier, Milford Haven and Haverfordwest. The buses for these areas are immediately outside the site.

The walk over the field and down to Lydstep Beach takes about fifteen minutes whether you walk dowm the roadway or down the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path. The beach is beautiful and sheltered with fabulous views over to Caldy.

The site now has more showers which were an improvement. There was still a wait sometimes for showers but why didn`t the owners of touring caravans use the showers in their caravans at busy times? The new owners were very friendly and this was their first full season.
The site has plenty of room between tents and for children to play safely. The clubhouse held a live show which was excellent and all the seasonal people were very friendly. I will definitely go back to Whitewell as long as the price corresponds with the facilities. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SMASH39 1 review from this member

 The good bits

This campsite is in a great location with some of the best beaches in west wales (Manobier, Lydstep and Freshwater east/west) within both walking and easy driving distance. Whitewell is also well placed to visit all the main attractions in the local area and further afield (Heatherton, Manor house safari park and Oakwood park). The staff were friendly and helpful despite the bad weather ! The on site clubhouse was small, but the prices were reasonable and it provided a welcome respite from the rain.

The site has three main fields. We were situated on the lower field below the seasonal pitches. Our pitch was small to say least, quickly got boggy (which caused problems once we came to leave) and was not flat (I needed several pieces of wood to level the van!). The toilets facilities were minimal.

In summary, great location with lots of potential. This could be a great site with everything going for it! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Majorburns 1 review from this member

 Family of 4 arrived in bad weather (thankfully got better), bottom part of site was flooded, but our pitch was luckily not affected, very spacious (we paid for double pitch), but other single pitches with electric hook up were relatively large anyway.

Friendly welcome from wife and son, but the husband was less than helpful.

Poor facilities for a site this size (3 showers not enough, low number of toilets, but were at least clean, 1 washing machine, 4 outside sinks, at least warm (not hot) water was free. Unfeasably small play area, didn't use bar / food/shop as opening hours and choice were limited )

Quiet in evenings

Site is 5 minute walk to nearest beach, then 5 minute unsafe decent from cliff top, unsuitable for children

Tenby itself (especially north beach) and surrounds were very clean safe and stunning, will be revisiting next year but not at whitewell.

Would recommend paddock inn, good food kids eat free 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Valleyblue 1 review from this member

 The facilities were great hot water in the showers all day long. Wonderful clubhouse warm and friendly atmosphere. Rural feel to the site but still close to tenby.

The owner was friendly and great fun he even helped with putting up the tent.

The nights were quiet no disturbances 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flashestsue 1 review from this member

 We went here for a long weekend the staff are very welcoming and friendly the facilities were clean and tidy at all times of the day. My daughter had lots of fun in the playground. The bar meals are very good and cheap we were only a short walk from the beach that was also clean (no nasty surprises) we are looking forward to spending a good few weekends there next year.

And will definitely recommend to all my friends and family. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bouquet 1 review from this member

 I have stayed at Whitewell holiday Park,on a few occasions over the past few years and have found since the new oweners have took over there's a vast improvement on the site. The toilet block in the top field was in the middle of being updated,and what an improvement, new toilets,sink units new showers etc

The site is clean and well maintained and the toilet / shower block are attended daily which is nice to see. There was a welcome surprise to have live entertainment, small bar snacks, pool competitions, bingo etc, which the new owners have introduced. This is a refreshing change.
All staff were very friendly and helpful, they really tried to make your holiday as pleasant as possible. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Honestjohn 2 reviews from this member

 After reading last year’s positive reviews on Whitewell, we decided to book a week in August.

Previous reports had stated that there were only 3 showers, but were doubling this amount for the 09 season. Despite the lack of showers, reviews stated how wonderful the site was and will be returning.

The website states that Lydstep beach is “…a few steps away”. The beach is actually a twenty minute walk down a narrow footpath cut into the side of a cliff. Not suitable for children’s buggies.

We booked in at the reception / shop without any problems.

The shop was stocked with unknown food brands. We didn’t purchase anything, so I cannot comment on the prices.

We pitched on a fairly level part of the sloping field, and had plenty of space around us.

We explored the site to find a toilet / shower block adjacent to the clubhouse and a newer toilet block within the static field.

It was apparent that work was in progress, converting toilet cubicles into showers. So the entire time, we had to make do with the older showers adjacent to the clubhouse, which provided hot water provided that the button was constantly pressed. The chemical disposal facility consisted of a WC located within an old redundant men’s toilet building.

The clubhouse was ok, provided that you were happy to grab a table early and are happy sitting through bingo & karaoke. We didn’t try any of the bar food. Drinks were reasonable prices.

We had pretty rotten weather during our stay, but fortunately our tent was up to the job & kept us all warm, dry & cosy.

Tenby & the surrounding areas are indeed lovely 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Timps53 4 reviews from this member

 Looking forward to this site as appeared more or less on the beach and it was after going down a steep overgrown path not suitable for anyone with mobility problems the beach was beautiful.

Toilet block clean there were two but the owners had decided to do a refurb on one not a good idea in high season but we managed.

Nice little club on site, good bus route to Tenby etc and that's a wonderful place.

It was a nice site and surrounding area wonderful. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sfennah 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed for just less than 2 weeks. We were allocated our pitch it later transpired that there were other (better) pitches available - we couldn't fit our awning annexe on our pitch. Our pitch was not level, close together and the land around was marshy after rain.

Electricity only 6amps - ours didn't trip but we don't use a microwave or kettle or heater

Only 3 showers which were in a pretty poor state - ladies be prepared for a long wait. There were 2 additional showers being fitted to the second toilet block, this will mean there are 5. The showers are hot (some may say scalding) and roomy. Plenty of toilets which were reasonably clean - the sanitary bins were small plastic swing top bins.

The shop has limited opening hours.

If you want to watch tv bring a satellite dish (or huge Ariel).

The club house needed a refurb. The noise from the gamesroom was intense! They had an extremely limited food menu, try the Swanlake pub a few miles up the road towards Pembroke - really nice.

Site is located in a great area to visit, there is loads to do from days at the beach to theme parks/castles etc. Pembroke Castle is a lovely day out and is great value too.

Pembrokeshire 10/10 would definitely go back 


Previous     105 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Whitewell Holiday Park Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tenby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3857 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement