Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Killin > Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Main Road
Killin
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK21 8TN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 95
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 66 Reviews
                9/10 from 66 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Firefly555 6 reviews from this member

Only stayed here one night unfortunately but will definitely stay longer next time. It's in a lovely setting next to a river which you are able to fish if staying on site.

It's a easy short walk into Killin which is a fabulous little place with lots of places to eat & drink & a good size Coop, all in a beautiful natural setting.

If you want somewhere to relax & get away from it for a while this site would be perfect.

Had a very warm welcome from the warden & the facilities are very clean & warm & of typical Caravan Club standard.

We loved it. PS. We drove from Oban & it was a lovely drive.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Shirl56 7 reviews from this member

A lovely site that we often return to. Pleasant wardens who know the area well. Good clean facilities.

Within walking distance of the town of Killin with a good mix of shops, hotels and coffee shops. Good for dog walking as the quiet road just outside the site leads to Loch Tay.

The River Lochay runs through the site and fishing is free on site. The Killin Golf course is also within walking distance.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lucysmum 38 reviews from this member

This was a lovely site and the wardens were really helpful.

My only criticisms are that there was no dog walk and we had to walk along a small road at the side of the site.

Also the site is right next to a beautiful river, but there is nowhere to even see it, let alone access it. The only place to look at it was the wardens pitch!

We were only here one night, but we left thinking it was somewhere we would like to return to.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mike13 5 reviews from this member

Beautiful location, 10 minute walk from Killin, full up when we visited but toilet's and showers were available with no queues. Toilet block is dated but clean/tidy.

No tv signal for us but not bothered by this. Large pitches and appear to be pretty level, stunning backdrop but due to our weather couldn't really appreciate it, one of the few sites that I would return to, probably in peak summer time. Lovely wardens.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GrumpyBoaby 58 reviews from this member

We have local ties with this site and always enjoy returning what ever the weather, wardens friendly as ever and always have time to blether with you.

The site will feel a little compact to some tourers with cars and awnings however it is idea for our needs.

A few more local shops have appeared since our last visit and the post office has moved.

Always a beautiful walk up through the village and up to the falls of Dochart, lots of walks and cycle tracks along the glens and loch side.

Local cycle and Kayak hire from the village, the local building work seems to have finished from across the road at the far end of the site.

TV coax connections on some EHU towers at the far end of the site. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandyp50 5 reviews from this member

This was our second outing in our caravan and was our first time at a caravan club site and everything was perfect.

We arrived late and warden came and met us to let us on to our pitch which was appreciated.

The campsite is beautifully maintained with excellent facilities.

We went for a few walks along the old railway in both directions which was interesting and flat. Had to go and find out why the railway went all the Loch Tay and it turns out there were steamboats on the loch back in the day.

There is lots to do in Killin and a couple of pubs even had live music in April which only shows how popular Killin is.

The EE phone signal was patchy 3g and strong 2g but there was wifi throughout the site so internet wasn't a problem.

Will we be be back? definitely :-)

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GMD01 6 reviews from this member

If you like friendly wardens, good size pitches, nice location then go to Maragowan.

I have spent 3 nights here over the Easter weekend. The site was busy but given the size it didn't seem crowded. My wife had to wait for a free shower one morning, I never had a problem. Maybe men are quicker or don't bother the same as ladies.

Pitches are a good size with room for car, awning and caravan on a hard standing pitch. Pitches are standard with EHU but no individual drain or water point. TV signal was good.

Site is on the banks of a river with no fence or protection for children.

Killin has a number of bars, hotels, restaurants for food. Lunch at Capercaillie was Cullin Skink which was good. We ate out of the fish and chip van located in the village hall car park. It is not open for long, but everything was cooked fresh to order, so is worth a visit.

This is the second time we have been to Maragowan and wont be the last.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oxter 67 reviews from this member

First visit to this site and we were impressed with the standard. Beautifully kept site and the toilet block although not of recent vintage was very clean and fresh. Very helpful wardens and supplied a cylinder of gas on trust in the evening when we ran out.

Lovely walks in near vicinity and around the area. Bus circuit (free to Scottish Bus Pass holders) passes the door and will stop on request. (seasonal)

Delightful village with facilities within medium walking distance and also via adjacent railway line walkway.

Trossachs area with wonderful scenery and loads of nearby places to visit.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 52 reviews from this member

We had a great long weekend at this site. It is on the edge of Killin which is a very pretty village with a Co-op, a good outdoor shop and many places to eat and drink.

The site is level and in a fabulous setting with Ben Lawers in the background. The toilet block was very clean and tidy and there is a small play park for kids. We cycled to Kenmore along NCN 7, (c 16 miles) which follows the south of Loch Tay, on a fabulous quiet and scenic road. We came back along the north side of the loch which was a bit busier but not too bad.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JayneBerry 24 reviews from this member

This site is all about the area and the scenery. Killin is just a village really, nothing special about it although the Falls of Dochart Inn does excellent home-cooked food. If you were being unkind you could describe it as the a***-end of nowhere, but it is a great base for walking, canoeing, cycling and generally enjoying the natural beauty.

It's a very dark site at night and you need a torch to visit the loos - which are a bit of a trek away if you're pitched at the far end. Speaking of the loos, although spotlessly clean they are a bit gloomy and in need of brightening up a bit.

The site is sandwiched between a river and a busy-ish road, also some building work going on next to the road and the pitches adjacent could be quite noisy at times. The riverside pitches are definitely the best. No on-site dog walk but the wardens can suggest a nice walk right next to the site where dogs can be let off the lead safely.

It's a completely flat site and not difficult to manoeuvre your van to get pitched up, therefore good for the less physically able caravanner.

If you're prepared to get out and about and make the most of the area, this is a good place to say.

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Killin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Stirlingshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6058 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019