Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Killin > Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Main Road
Killin
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK21 8TN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 95
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 66 Reviews
                9/10 from 66 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Trev.jones 8 reviews from this member

One of our favourite sites on the road to the north of Scotland. Good facilities and layout, all excellently maintained. Friendly and very helpful site team. We selected a pitch facing the river Lochay and spent ages watching red squirrel and red deer on the far bank.

The Coach House at the site entrance continues to do excellent food and had two local real ales.

Killin is a 10-minute walk down the high street or a little longer via the loch road (next to site entrance) and old railway track, coming out via the car park opposite the shops. There are several places to eat and the Falls of Dochart with accompanying hotel at the far end of the town. Also, there are several shops and well stocked co-op on the high street.

Unfortunately, the site power failed on Monday night during a heavy rain storm – lucky we were on gas heating… Our post was okay after reconnecting to it – a few other posts did not recover and they were waiting for an electrician as we left.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: WOBBLE 22 reviews from this member

We had a great stay at this site, pitches are mostly level, some back onto the river, the toilet block is the usual c. M. C. Standard. A small play park on site, while we stayed we had a big storm,

Some of the pitches flooded but soon dried out, only thing to watch out is the exit barrier is close to the rear of your unit when leaving the site, it was been repaired while we were their,

Also on exiting the site the site signpost blocks your view from traffic from the right, a pub opposite the site does good food and has music on a few night,

The village is a short walk 10 min. A few shops and a co-op, and another pub /hotel, 15 mins. From the site is the falls of dochart well worth the walk, a pub next to the falls selling meals as well.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Greg M 35 reviews from this member

This review was written against the background that we visited in torrential rain and obviously does not show the site in it's best light.

We chose a pitch adjacent to the river as when we arrived the rains had not really begun in earnest.

The showers and toilets were spotless for the three days we were there

Despite people carrying leaves and mud in on their shoes.

Pitches were of a good size but some were already showing signs of flooding. This was explained to us by the wardens as to which areas were prone to it they were also highlighted on the site map provided.

There is a Coop approximately half a mile away and a further walk brings you into the town with paper shop and bank, and down to the bridge where the white water is spectacular.

I was treated to the sight one morning of an eagle circling the site.

Just to demonstrate what the wardens are up against a gentleman came in with a folding camper and after about twenty attempts to site his van he had left huge furrows in the already waterlogged field opposite and to the side of his pitch.

A warden was soon there trying to repair the damage in the pouring rain.

We thought it prudent to move for the third night as the river had risen dramatically over the second night and was close to the top of the bank. Thankfully for the people that didn't move it subsided throughout the day.

I must praise the wardens as they were out the morning it rose very early monitoring the river and warning people.

Would I return, most definitely, but I would hope for better weather.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mandy MacP 7 reviews from this member

Just back from a very pleasant 3 night stay at this site. It's a pretty well kept site within easy walking distance of Killin with its hotels and few shops.

There is also a well stocked co-op for supplies. We had a pitch next to the river which was lovely and were often visited by the ducks who freely wander about the site. The pitches are hard standing and spacious.

Quiet and peaceful at night with just the hooting of the owls to be heard. We also watched the shooting stars on one of the clearer nights.

One very tiny negative - the toilets although clean are pretty tried and dated. Having said that there were adequate showers (6) all with unlimited hot water and I never had to queue once.

The showers themselves though are not the bonniest I've ever encountered on a campsite. Toilet cubicles also rather cramped.

Good site though, would return without hesitation.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Xander Boers 4 reviews from this member

Nice location, near Killin

We stayed here for two nights with our rented Motorhome. It's a real nice, clean and quiet site. Killin on walking distance.

There are a few restaurants, a shop and an outdoor shop where you can book activities.

We (family of 4, 2 children 15-17) did one of the hill climbs and in the afternoon kayak on the river and the loch. Very nice, with Sunshine.

Xander Boers, Netherlands

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hokyns 2 reviews from this member

Really stunning area around the loch Tay.

We have really enjoyed the stay in this caravan park.

We will visit this site again.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DandT 25 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 9 nights and would certainly go back. The site is next to the river Lochay which feeds into Loch Tay. There is a lovely walk to the loch and the village of Killin is also a short walk away.

The wardens were extremely welcoming and helpful and the facilities are excellent.

Dog walking is off site but very close by and there is a choice of routes depending on how far you want to go.

Killin has good facilities with a Co-op and a number of pubs and there is much to explore locally in the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Doakybhoy 1 review from this member

Stayed at Maragowan last weekend to give my motorhome its first outing. We were not disappointed one bit.

On arrival the on site staff were very friendly and helpful to this first time camper.

The site is quiet and the only noise seemed to be from the River Lochay that runs alongside the site. Tranquil to say the least. The site facilities are excellent. The toilet/shower/dishwashing facs are great and always clean.

Outside the campsite, Killin is a great wee village and it is a short walk from the campsite to get to the village centre. We hired Kayaks and paddled along the River Lochay to Loch Tay. The scenery is outstanding riverside.

There are many cycling tracks through forestry and river/lochside. There are a few Inns & Hotels to satisfy everyone's wants. Get up there and give it go, its brilliant and has got us hooked.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Barracudafish 7 reviews from this member

We have just come home from a wonderful 4 day stay at Marragowan campsite. The site is pristine as you would expect from a Caravan club site and accept motorhomes and caravans but not tents. The site is alongside the river just outside the village of Killin.

We chose a pitch by the river and my husband would go fishing on his paddle board along the river and into the loch. He bought a licence from the local newsagents as he was fishing outwith the immediate river at the campsite (otherwise no permit needed) He caught (and released) many big pike.

The village is a short walk away and worth a visit. The Dochart Falls in the village are fascinating as is the water mill.

We were very lucky with the weather which always helps.

The campsite appears busy and was full the night we left so booking in advance is advisable. Many of the restaurants locally offer a 10% discount if you are staying on the site and we had a wonderful meal at the Bridge of Lachay hotel just a 5 mins walk away.

All in all a lovely few days away and we will be back

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Podbods 13 reviews from this member

Stayed 2 nights as a quick weekend away. Very nice site with good facilities (clean toilets and showers).

Easy walk into Killin and the local amenities. Being close to the river, Midges may be a problem at certain times of the year.

Pub across the road has good beer and live music on Friday and Saturday evenings (can't be heard at the campsite).

Wardens were very helpful and pleasant.

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Stirlingshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5419 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019