Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Killin > Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Main Road
Killin
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK21 8TN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 95
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 228 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- From A85 turn right onto A827 towards Killin. At the Falls of Dochart on the entrance to the village there is a long narrow bridge which is one way at a time. Proceed through the village. The site is about a hundred metres on the right past the 40 miles per hour speed limit sign.

The Maragowan site is on the banks of the River Lochay and is just on the edge of the village of Killin. There are just under a 100 pitches on this site, all but two of them on hardstandings. The only two grass pitches seem to be next to the late arrivals area.

Electric points are convenient to all pitches, they are rated at 16 amps and use CEE17 blue sockets, some of which have a twist lock on them. Some of the bollards are raised higher off the ground because of possible flooding.

Pitches at the far end of the site, where TV reception is poor, have access to a TV booster system. On other parts of the site TV reception is fine. There is one central toilet block, which whilst kept perfectly clean and serviceable is of the older variety.

It contains an enclosed washing up area and a laundry. Service points are dotted at convenient places around the site and the motorhome service point has an open grate waste water point. There is site wide WiFi, it did work for me but it would drop the connection from time to time.

The 4G signal was quite good and provides a good data alternative to the site WiFi. For children there is a small playground. Reception sells a few essentials and next door there is an information room.

The village of Killin is a short walk from the site with several places to eat either meals or tea/coffee. For food shopping there is a handy Co-Operative food store.

At the far end of the Village are the Falls of Dochart which are a popular tourist attraction. After the Falls the rivers Dochart and Lochay join forces before they enter Loch Tay.

There are many opportunities for excursions from the site. Unfortunately there is only a limited bus service from Killen to Callander. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Trev.jones 8 reviews from this member

 One of our favourite sites on the road to the north of Scotland. Good facilities and layout, all excellently maintained. Friendly and very helpful site team. We selected a pitch facing the river Lochay and spent ages watching red squirrel and red deer on the far bank.

The Coach House at the site entrance continues to do excellent food and had two local real ales.

Killin is a 10-minute walk down the high street or a little longer via the loch road (next to site entrance) and old railway track, coming out via the car park opposite the shops. There are several places to eat and the Falls of Dochart with accompanying hotel at the far end of the town. Also, there are several shops and well stocked co-op on the high street.

Unfortunately, the site power failed on Monday night during a heavy rain storm – lucky we were on gas heating… Our post was okay after reconnecting to it – a few other posts did not recover and they were waiting for an electrician as we left. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: WOBBLE 22 reviews from this member

 We had a great stay at this site, pitches are mostly level, some back onto the river, the toilet block is the usual c. M. C. Standard. A small play park on site, while we stayed we had a big storm,

Some of the pitches flooded but soon dried out, only thing to watch out is the exit barrier is close to the rear of your unit when leaving the site, it was been repaired while we were their,

Also on exiting the site the site signpost blocks your view from traffic from the right, a pub opposite the site does good food and has music on a few night,

The village is a short walk 10 min. A few shops and a co-op, and another pub /hotel, 15 mins. From the site is the falls of dochart well worth the walk, a pub next to the falls selling meals as well. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Greg M 38 reviews from this member

 This review was written against the background that we visited in torrential rain and obviously does not show the site in it's best light.

We chose a pitch adjacent to the river as when we arrived the rains had not really begun in earnest.

The showers and toilets were spotless for the three days we were there

Despite people carrying leaves and mud in on their shoes.

Pitches were of a good size but some were already showing signs of flooding. This was explained to us by the wardens as to which areas were prone to it they were also highlighted on the site map provided.

There is a Coop approximately half a mile away and a further walk brings you into the town with paper shop and bank, and down to the bridge where the white water is spectacular.

I was treated to the sight one morning of an eagle circling the site.

Just to demonstrate what the wardens are up against a gentleman came in with a folding camper and after about twenty attempts to site his van he had left huge furrows in the already waterlogged field opposite and to the side of his pitch.

A warden was soon there trying to repair the damage in the pouring rain.

We thought it prudent to move for the third night as the river had risen dramatically over the second night and was close to the top of the bank. Thankfully for the people that didn't move it subsided throughout the day.

I must praise the wardens as they were out the morning it rose very early monitoring the river and warning people.

Would I return, most definitely, but I would hope for better weather. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mandy MacP 7 reviews from this member

 Just back from a very pleasant 3 night stay at this site. It's a pretty well kept site within easy walking distance of Killin with its hotels and few shops.

There is also a well stocked co-op for supplies. We had a pitch next to the river which was lovely and were often visited by the ducks who freely wander about the site. The pitches are hard standing and spacious.

Quiet and peaceful at night with just the hooting of the owls to be heard. We also watched the shooting stars on one of the clearer nights.

One very tiny negative - the toilets although clean are pretty tried and dated. Having said that there were adequate showers (6) all with unlimited hot water and I never had to queue once.

The showers themselves though are not the bonniest I've ever encountered on a campsite. Toilet cubicles also rather cramped.

Good site though, would return without hesitation. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Xander Boers 4 reviews from this member

 Nice location, near Killin

We stayed here for two nights with our rented Motorhome. It's a real nice, clean and quiet site. Killin on walking distance.

There are a few restaurants, a shop and an outdoor shop where you can book activities.

We (family of 4, 2 children 15-17) did one of the hill climbs and in the afternoon kayak on the river and the loch. Very nice, with Sunshine.

Xander Boers, Netherlands 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hokyns 2 reviews from this member

 Really stunning area around the loch Tay.

We have really enjoyed the stay in this caravan park.

We will visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DandT 25 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 9 nights and would certainly go back. The site is next to the river Lochay which feeds into Loch Tay. There is a lovely walk to the loch and the village of Killin is also a short walk away.

The wardens were extremely welcoming and helpful and the facilities are excellent.

Dog walking is off site but very close by and there is a choice of routes depending on how far you want to go.

Killin has good facilities with a Co-op and a number of pubs and there is much to explore locally in the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Doakybhoy 1 review from this member

 Stayed at Maragowan last weekend to give my motorhome its first outing. We were not disappointed one bit.

On arrival the on site staff were very friendly and helpful to this first time camper.

The site is quiet and the only noise seemed to be from the River Lochay that runs alongside the site. Tranquil to say the least. The site facilities are excellent. The toilet/shower/dishwashing facs are great and always clean.

Outside the campsite, Killin is a great wee village and it is a short walk from the campsite to get to the village centre. We hired Kayaks and paddled along the River Lochay to Loch Tay. The scenery is outstanding riverside.

There are many cycling tracks through forestry and river/lochside. There are a few Inns & Hotels to satisfy everyone's wants. Get up there and give it go, its brilliant and has got us hooked. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Barracudafish 7 reviews from this member

 We have just come home from a wonderful 4 day stay at Marragowan campsite. The site is pristine as you would expect from a Caravan club site and accept motorhomes and caravans but not tents. The site is alongside the river just outside the village of Killin.

We chose a pitch by the river and my husband would go fishing on his paddle board along the river and into the loch. He bought a licence from the local newsagents as he was fishing outwith the immediate river at the campsite (otherwise no permit needed) He caught (and released) many big pike.

The village is a short walk away and worth a visit. The Dochart Falls in the village are fascinating as is the water mill.

We were very lucky with the weather which always helps.

The campsite appears busy and was full the night we left so booking in advance is advisable. Many of the restaurants locally offer a 10% discount if you are staying on the site and we had a wonderful meal at the Bridge of Lachay hotel just a 5 mins walk away.

All in all a lovely few days away and we will be back 


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Killin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Stirlingshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7422 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement