Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Killin > Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Main Road
Killin
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK21 8TN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 95
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 66 Reviews
                9/10 from 66 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GordonW 1 review from this member

Super site, hard standing pitch accommodates car, caravan and full awning with room to spare. Wardens are very friendly and they keep the site and toilets tiptop. Great pub 2 minutes from site with entertainment on Friday and Saturday evenings 9pm to 1am. Whilst there is no dog walk on site, pier road, left as you leave site brings you to loch tay within 10 minutes. Butchers van visits the site on Friday evenings, quality of produce and cleanliness of vehicle would put many high street butchers to shame. Location and scenery A1, park the car and relax all you could wish for is within walking distance.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Buttercupw 12 reviews from this member

This site is excellent. Very friendly and helpful wardens. Spotless toilet block. Typical cc standards. Killin is a beautiful area. Site in a lovely spot. We have two dogs and found pubs and shops in the area were 'dog friendly'. We had a great weekend here and have already booked to go again. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 510 reviews from this member

This site is set in a beautiful location and the staff on site seemed to be helpful and friendly. However.

We had booked this site in advance and arrived after a long journey north to find the site completely flooded and told there was no way we'd be staying there! More infuriating was the fact that they'd allowed us to travel nearly 200 miles to the site without trying to notify us. We had booked in advance and they had all of our details, and tried to claim that 'someone will have tried to contact us', but they hadn't. We had our mobiles and on our arrival home, there were no messages on our answerphone or emails. Even worse, the site had been flooded four days earlier - this wasn't a freak change in weather that had just happened, yet still they'd let us arrive. All sorts of stories followed, such as. 'we can't contact you if you are away from home. Blah. Blah'.

On a more positive note they did advise me that there was another CC site an hour and a half away, and that they'd cancel my present booking so that I'd be free to book another.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dunky67 1 review from this member

Immaculate site in Killin. You pick your own pitch but book in advance to avoid disappointment, this site is popular and deservedly so. Toilet blocks spotless with plenty of showers. Playground not up to much, but there are plenty of things to go and do / see, walks etc, the great outdoors.
Lots of ducks on site which adds to it's charm, just don't mention the words 'crispy'!Good selection of pubs / eateries within walking distance. Surprisingly no butchers in Killin although you have a good sized Coop, either that or try a local butchers along the way for your BBQ meat.
Good one in Aberfeldy if you are coming from that direction. Highly recommend this site, we are going back at beginning October.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Clarkfamily 8 reviews from this member

This site was very expensive as we are not a member of the caravan club - over 30 for four of us for one night.

It is close to the river, had clean facilities and a small children's play area. There are no ball games allowed on this site.

There are a lot of ducks on this site - good for feeding bread to.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lochinvar23 13 reviews from this member

Brilliant site, nestling among beautiful hills and a river running past, make this a unique location.

Clubs usual first class facilities and shop sells all the essentials,there is a small play area for the kids.

Killin itself,is a gentle stroll away,with an array of hotels,shops and tea-rooms but dont look for M&S.

There is a limited bus service from the village,timetable is posted in sites info.Office.

This site will cater for many tastes and shall satisfy them all.It would be advisable to book in advance as the site was full on our stay.

It is also necessary to reserve a table if dining out, the Hotels are very busy at week-ends.

A truly memorable break and cannot recommend too highly.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aquamaria59 1 review from this member

Fantastic! The weather was more than kind, glorious sunshine and this was a huge bonus to us as it was only our second outing as 'caravanners'. Met some really nice people on site, in the village and at the pub!
The Coach House is very welcoming and not far to walk after a busy day exploring. Can also recommend the 'Killin Kuts' hairdressers and barbers. The Co-Op is well enough equipped and very friendly. The site was well kept and clean and as we had a neighbour who fished we were lucky enough to get a fresh trout for one of our bbq's. Take care when fishing as a high voltage power line runs adjacent to the bank. A great week in a lovely spot. Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jan28 7 reviews from this member

This is a brilliant site - level and nearly all hardstanding - we were on a pitch right next to the river Tay.

Facilities are usual CC standard - toilets & showers always clean.

I agree with previous reviewer to book in advance - site was pretty full while we were there.

The pub at the gates of the site 'The Old Coach House' was very friendly and the music night was really good (and popular). Turn right at site entrance and walk for 5 minutes to the pub 'the falls of Dochart' - lovely food and 10% discount to Caravan Site Holiday makers ! - it was very busy there (even midweek) and I would recommend booking.

The town of Kilin is about 10-15 minutes walk and there are adequate shops - Co-op is OK for essentials but doesnt stock a huge range!

Site is about 20 minute drive from Loch Lomond, and 1 hour from Oban. There is very good cycle paths near the site - especially good for beginners !

We will be back at this site hopefully in the summer, when its a bit warmer and then we can go on a boat trip on the loch!

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cathymac 18 reviews from this member

A fantastic site, a lovely site. The setting is beautiful, with hills all round and a river running by. It's a short walk into Killin,(5-10 mins) which is very attractive and has adequate shops; there is also a DOG FRIENDLY pub/hotel just opposite the entrance, excellent beer, great food and a welcome atmosphere. Good centre for exploring, as you can drive SW into the Trossachs or NE to Highland Perthshire, all within easy reach. Facilities are first class: it is a CC site after all! Definitely book; it was very full while we were there, even in March. Excellent !

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: IainM 22 reviews from this member

A real favourite - we even had our honeymoon here in 1994!

Nice open site, flooding can be an issue, but wardens are first class in getting you moved if there is a problem.

A nice summer site, I find the surrounding hills rather oppressive in the autumn but thats just a personal thing.

Easy access to Stirling, and Glasgow and Edinburgh fairly easy to get to.

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Killin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Stirlingshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5794 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019